Research assistance from your friendly COM Librarians! Learn how to research papers, cite sources, and much more… Research assistance from your friendly COM Librarians! Learn how to research papers, cite sources, and much more… Ask COM Library Browse All LibGuides Subjects Internet basics, eBooks, Google, public journals online, how to get the good stuff, search sites, tips and more. Search our catalog for books, read eBooks, find out what new books we have, suggest books, see what other libraries have and more. Access databases with thousands of full text articles, online journals, free articles on the Internet, and more.
This is the "Home" page of the "Find Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Find Books   Tags: books, research  

Get the overview of how to find books, search WorldCat, find eBooks, find books on the shelves, get books from other libraries and more.
Last Updated: Feb 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.com.edu/findbooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Go Social!

All Books LibGuides

All Books LibGuides
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated May 17, 2013
All Books LibGuides. Search our catalog for books, read eBooks, find out what new books we have, suggest books, see what other libraries have and more.
1,399 views this year
Banned Books
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Oct 18, 2012
Learn what banned books are, the history of banned, burned and challenged books, view a, interactive Google map of the United States that shows where books are being challenged or banned even today!
959 views this year
Books & eBooks
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 18, 2013
Search for print and eBooks.
174 views this year
eBooks
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated May 20, 2013
Read the full text of eBooks online 24/7. Get the best sources to access or download eBooks to your computer or mobile device.
796 views this year
Find & Get Items From Other Libraries
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Oct 18, 2012
If you can't find the book or article you want in COM Library, other libraries may have them and there are several options for getting them.
182 views this year
Find Books
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 18, 2013
Get the overview of how to find books, search WorldCat, find eBooks, find books on the shelves, get books from other libraries and more.
1,003 views this year
How to Use CREDO Reference
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Mar 19, 2013
Get CREDO basics, see what eBooks are available, learn how to use topics pages, concept map, image search or cite from CREDO.
258 views this year
How to Use EBSCO eBooks
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
How to access and use the over 38,000 eBooks in COM Library's EBSCO eBooks collection.
3,247 views this year
How to Use Google Books, Magazines, Newspapers
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 22, 2013
Discover Google’s hidden library of full text books, magazines and even newspapers.
644 views this year
How to Use GVRL eBooks
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 8, 2013
GVRL eBooks covers multiple topics, including some great history and literature eBooks. Entire chapters can be downloaded as HTML, PDF or MP3.
95 views this year
How to Use LearningExpress
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
Learn how to use LearningExpress Library to access practice exams, preparation, courses, guides, and skills improvement related to college, computers, software, citizenship and employment.
143 views this year
How to Use WorldCat
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 24, 2013
Use WorldCat to search for items in COM Library, including thousands of books, eBooks and Media items that were purchased specifically to support your classes at College of the Mainland.
735 views this year
Library Book Displays
by Erin McDaniel - Last Updated May 10, 2013
See our book displays in COM Library and get even more with articles, eBooks, websites and related LibGuides.
1,521 views this year
Library Collections & New Books
by Erin McDaniel, Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 29, 2013
Find out about COM Library collections, see what new books are available, suggest books, or access best seller lists and book reviews.
270 views this year
Mobile Research
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 31, 2013
Access the best resources for research from your mobile device.
415 views this year
 

How to Find Books

BooksHow to find books, eBooks, pamphlets and media materials in COM Library using WorldCat, find books on the shelves, get items from other libraries and more. Computers dedicated to searching for books are located near the Circulation desk.

 

Best Way to Find Books & eBooks

How to find books and eBooks for your classes and get answers for the Research Tutorial Quiz. 

  • How to Use WorldCat LibGuide
    Use the How to Use WorldCat LibGuide to get familiar with WorldCat and find some of your Research Tutorial Quiz answers.

    WorldCat is the best ways to find books in COM Library. Access WorldCat on or off campus and find thousands of books, eBooks and lots of Media items that were purchased specifically to support your classes at College of the Mainland. WorldCat will even provide APA and MLA style citations.

    You can also use WorldCat to find out which libraries have the books or journals you are interested in or find books on your topic from libraries all over the world.

  • How to Use EBSCO eBooks LibGuide
    Use the How to Use EBSCO eBooks LibGuide (link below) to get familiar with EBSCO eBooks and find some of your Research Tutorial Quiz answers.

    Most of the eBooks that COM Library has are EBSCO eBooks. eBooks can be viewed online in COM Library, on your computer and in many cases downloaded to computers or mobile devices.
  • How to Use GVRL eBooks
    GVRL eBooks covers multiple topics, including some great history and literature eBooks. Entire chapters can be downloaded as HTML, PDF or MP3.
  • Find & Get Items From Other Libraries
    If you can't find the book or article you want in COM Library, other libraries may have them and there are several options for getting them.
 

Your Book Questions Answered!

Real questions from COM students answered by COM Librarians. Click on the question to see the answers or view website to see all questions and answers.

Want to ask your own? Go to asklibrary.com.edu (make sure pop-up blockers are off to see answers).

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Tell Us!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Librarian

Profile Image
Kathryn Park

More Ways to Get Answers

Explore Knowledge Base: LibAnswers

Email:
ask@com.libanswers.com
Call: (409) 933-8448
Text:(409) 229-4142
Tweet:@asklibrary
 

 

© Copyright 1998-2013 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
(409) 933-8448 . FAX (409) 933-8030
Send comments and suggestions about COM Library to a Library Staff member.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip