All Internet & Technology LibGuides
- Last Updated Apr 13, 2012
All Internet LibGuides. Internet basics, eBooks, Google, public journals online, how to get the good stuff, search sites, tips and more.
651 views this year
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Read the full text of eBooks online 24/7. Get the best sources to access or download eBooks to your computer or mobile device.
793 views this year
- Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Internet basics, how to get the good stuff, search sites and tips.
771 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 22, 2013
How to get the most out of Google searches, docs and much more!
560 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
How to access and use the over 38,000 eBooks in COM Library's EBSCO eBooks collection.
3,120 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 22, 2013
Discover Google’s hidden library of full text books, magazines and even newspapers.
610 views this year
- Last Updated May 14, 2013
Get the most from Google Scholar: learn how to set preferences, grab citations, get documents for free from TexShare databases and more.
277 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 8, 2013
GVRL eBooks covers multiple topics, including some great history and literature eBooks. Entire chapters can be downloaded as HTML, PDF or MP3.
94 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 20, 2013
Find out what hardware and software are available, lab hours, get help with computer and tech issues and ask us a tech question!
375 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 1, 2013
Find publicly accessible online journals and magazines using Google and open access sources.
3,986 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 23, 2012
Learn about Qr codes, get a QR app for your phone, make your own QR code.
50 views this year
- Last Updated Jul 6, 2012
You're always on the go so save time and money with these top free tools.
247 views this year
Internet & Tech Dictionaries
Want to know what PPP is? What about BIOS or Hypertext Transfer Protocol? Access these dictionaries to look them up.
- Netdictionary Home
- Dictionaries Computers and Internet in the Yahoo! Directory
- WhatIs.com - The Tech Dictionary and IT Encyclopedia
- Grantastic Designs: Glossary of graphic design and web page design terms
- Webopedia: Online Computer Dictionary for Computer and Internet Terms and Definitions
- TechEncyclopedia from TechWeb
Internet Basics
On the plus side you have probably been using the Internet for years, so you are very familiar with it. You use Google or Bing or Wikipedia all the time. Piece of cake.
However, using Internet resources for your college research can actually be more challenging than usig books or articles. It all goes back to the quality of information required for college research. This guide covers how to get the good stuff, search tips, and provides some background information on the Internet, search engines and directories.
What Is the Internet?
The Internet is global network connecting millions of computers. This includes but is not limited to the Web. The Web is the largest portion of the Internet and that with which we are most familiar. It uses HTML and can include other types of files such as graphic, audio and video files.
- Internet Archive: Wayback Machine
- Frequently asked questions by the Press - Tim BL
- The World-Wide Web: Origins and Beyond by Lenny Zeltser
- Nerds 2.0.1: A Brief History of the Internet
- Internet Society (ISOC): History of the Internet
- Internet Society (ISOC) All About The Internet: Legal Guide
- Hobbes' Internet Timeline
- Pew Research Center's Internet & American Life Project
Your Internet Questions Answered
Real questions from COM students answered by COM Librarians. Click on the question to see the answers or view website to see all questions and answers.
Want to ask your own? Go to asklibrary.com.edu (make sure pop-up blockers are off to see answers).
Loading...
Watch Internet History
Librarian |
More Ways to Get Answers
Links: Profile & Guides |







Loading...
