Research assistance from your friendly COM Librarians! Learn how to research papers, cite sources, and much more… Research assistance from your friendly COM Librarians! Learn how to research papers, cite sources, and much more… Ask COM Library Browse All LibGuides Subjects Internet basics, eBooks, Google, public journals online, how to get the good stuff, search sites, tips and more. Search our catalog for books, read eBooks, find out what new books we have, suggest books, see what other libraries have and more. Access databases with thousands of full text articles, online journals, free articles on the Internet, and more.
This is the "Home" page of the "How to Use Gale Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Use Gale Databases   Tags: articles, databases, ebooks, gale, off campus access, research  

How to use Health Reference Center, Gale Literature Resources, Gale Opposing Viewpoints, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale AML College Edition, cite from Gale and get the complete list of all Gale databases available from COM Library.
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2013 URL: http://libguides.com.edu/Gale Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Follow Us

 

Make Your Computer Database Ready

computerYou will probably be able to use most library resources on your computer without making any changes, but some resources in the databases such as eBooks, streaming videos, concept maps, audio files and more may have additional requirements. The software and configurations listed below will ensure that your computer is database ready.

In order to use all library resources, computers should meet the following minimum requirements (+ symbols indicate “or higher”):

  1. Adobe Flash 10.0+ (Optimize Adobe Flash by opening port: 1935)
  2. PDF reader: Adobe Acrobat Reader  9.0+; Schubert|It PDF plug-in for MAC
  3. Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1+ (to download/check out EBSCO eBooks)
  4. Windows Media Player 9+; iTunes for MAC
  5. Java
  6. Screen resolution: 1024x768
  7. 500 kbps + connectivity
  8. A browser: IE 7.0+, Mozilla Firefox 8.0+, Google Chrome 16+, Apple Safari 5.1+
    1. Cookies enabled in browser
    2. JavaScript enabled in browser
    3. Disable Compatibility View under Tools menu in Internet Explorer if the films do not play on your IE browser.

You Migh Like

How to Use EBSCO
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated May 15, 2013
How to use EBSCO Academic Search Complete, EBSCO Mobile, EBSCO eBooks, cite from EBSCO and get the complete list of all EBSCO databases available from COM Library.
2,488 views this year
How to Use Facts on File: Issues & Controversies
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
How to use Facts on File Issues & Controversies, link to Facts on File, cite from Facts on File and get help.
1,969 views this year
How to Use HeritageQuest Online
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
HeritageQuest Online is designed for genealogy and family history research.
132 views this year
How to Use LearningExpress
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
Learn how to use LearningExpress Library to access practice exams, preparation, courses, guides, and skills improvement related to college, computers, software, citizenship and employment.
141 views this year
How to Use WorldCat
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 24, 2013
Use WorldCat to search for items in COM Library, including thousands of books, eBooks and Media items that were purchased specifically to support your classes at College of the Mainland.
727 views this year

How to Use Gale

GaleGale offers many individual databases as well as interfaces that search multiple databases simultaneously. This guide will show you how to use Gale Literature Resources from Gale, Gale Opposing Viewpoints, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale AML Academic Edition, cite from Gale and get the complete list of all Gale databases available from COM Library.

 

COM Library's Gale Playlist

Learn how to use Gale Literature Resource Center, Opposing Viewpoints, Health Reference Center Academic and Access My Library College Edition. Playback requires Adobe Flash.

 

Your Gale Questions Answered

Real questions from COM students answered by COM Librarians. Click on the question to see the answers or view website to see all questions and answers.

Want to ask your own? Go to asklibrary.com.edu (make sure pop-up blockers are off to see answers).

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Librarian

Profile Image
Kathryn Park

More Ways to Get Answers

Explore Knowledge Base: LibAnswers

Email:
ask@com.libanswers.com
Call: (409) 933-8448
Text:(409) 229-4142
Tweet:@asklibrary
 

Tell Us!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

© Copyright 1998-2013 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
(409) 933-8448 . FAX (409) 933-8030
Send comments and suggestions about COM Library to a Library Staff member.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip