Skip to main content

Cite MLA Style 7th Edition

MLA style according to the 7th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers from the Modern Language Association.

Articles from Databases & Online

Just as in the print versions, publications that appear at regular intervals like newspapers, magazines and journals are periodical publications. Web versions require slightly altered information when cited.

The Basics

Author's name. "Title of the Article." Periodical Title Series number or name if available Volume number if available Issue number if available Date of publication: inclusive page numbers. Web. Date of Access [day month year].

Examples for Most COM Library Database Content

* Databases with an asterisk have both Nonperiodical and periodical content. These examples are for periodical content in library databases like magazine and journal articles. You will find the nonperiodical examples below.

CQ Researcher
Billitteri, Thomas J. "The Value of a College Education." CQ Researcher 19.41

(2009): 981-1004. CQ Researcher. Web. 7 Dec. 2009.

EBSCOhost*
Brinkworth, Russell, et al. “First year expectations and experiences: student

and teacher perspectives.” Higher Education 58.2 (2009): 157-73.

Academic Search Complete. Web. 17 Aug. 2009.

Facts on File
"Genetic Testing." Issues & Controversies On File: n. pag. Issues &

Controversies. 4 Aug. 2006. Web. 9 Dec. 2009.

Gale Databases*
Berman, Lauren. “Dragons and serpents in J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter Series:

are they evil?” Mythlore 27.1 (2008): 45. LiteratureResource Center.  Web.

17 Aug. 2009

Literature Online*
Brown, Pamela Allen. “Shakespeare's Practical Jokes: An Introduction to the

Comic in His Works.” Comparative Drama 43.1 (2009): 133-36. 

Literature Online Reference Edition. Web. 14 Aug. 2009.

eBooks, most web sites, ebooks or pamphlets from databases

Resources on the web that are not released on a regular schedule such as eBooks, most web sites, and some database resources are examples of nonperiodical publications. Please note that while MLA wants each of the elements listed below for web that you cite, many web pages do not have all the elements available. If any of the elements below are unavailable, skip to the next item.

The Basics

Author's name. Title of the work (italicized if the work is independent; in roman type and quotation marks if the work is part of a larger work). Title of the main Web site (italicized), if different from the title of the work). Version if available. Publisher or sponsor of the site—if not available use N.p., Date of publication if available—n.d. if no date is available. Web. Date of access.

Examples for books and other non-article content in COM Library Databases

* Databases with an asterisk have both Nonperiodical and periodical content. These examples of for nonperiodical content in library databases like books and pamphlets.

EBSCOhost eBooks
Gauld, Malcolm. College Success Guaranteed : 5 Rules To Make It Happen.

Rowman & Littlefield Education, 2011. eBookCollection (ebscohost).

Web. 7 Feb. 2012.

Encyclopædia Britannica Online
“United States.” Encyclopaedia Britannica Online. Encyclopaedia Britannica,

2009. Web. 17 Aug. 2009.

Gale Databases (Book in Gale)*
Howard, Lillie. “Zora Neale Hurston.” Dictionary of Literary Biography:

Afro-American Writers from the Harlem Renaissance to 1940.

Ed. Trudier Harris. Detroit: Gale, 1987. Literature Resource Center.

Web. 26 Jan. 2009.

Literature Online* (biographical entry)
Labbe, Jackie. “Alcott, Louisa May, 1832-1888.” Literature Online biography.

Cambridge:  Chadwyck-Healey, 2000. Literature Online Reference

Edition. Web. 22 Aug. 2009.

Oxford Reference Online
"William Shakespeare and London." The Oxford Guide to Literary Britain & 

Ireland. Oxford University Press, 2009. Oxford Reference Online. Web.  

9 Aug. 2009. 

Examples for Most Websites

 

 CNN.com
“Obama Follows Clinton's Path But Hopes for a Different Ending.” CNN.com.

Cable News Network, 18 Aug. 2009. Web. 18 Aug. 2009.

Google Maps
“Texas City, Texas.” Map. Google Maps. Google, 15 May 2008. Web. 15 Aug.

            2009.