Skip to main content

Cite MLA Style 7th Edition

MLA style according to the 7th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers from the Modern Language Association.

Grab a Citation

COM Library databases will help you cite your articles, books or eBooks, but the quickest and easiest way to get your citation is to export directly to EasyBib from the database.

Most databases have transition to MLA 8, as have most instructors at COM. Go to the MLA 8 guide.

ebrary eBook

To gab a citation for an ebrary eBook:

  1. Click on the book from the result list.
  2. On the book detail page, select Cite Book.
  3. The citation window will pop up and you can grab you citation in APA, Chicago/Turabian, Harvard or MLA format.


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.


It Should Look Like APA

Halpern, P. (2015). Einstein's Dice and Schrödinger's Cat : How

Two Great Minds Battled Quantum Randomness to Create

a Unified Theory of Physics. Boulder, US: Basic Books.

Retrieved from http://www.ebrary.com


It Should Look Like MLA

Halpern, Paul. Einstein's Dice and Schrödinger's Cat : How

Two Great Minds Battled Quantum Randomness to Create

a Unified Theory of Physics. Boulder, US: Basic Books, 2015.

ProQuest ebrary. Web. 6 July 2016.

Gale Databases

Every Gale article has an MLA citation available at the bottom of the page. Just scroll down until you see it:

 Gale Citation

Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like

Berman, Lauren. “Dragons and serpents in J.K.

Rowling's Harry Potter Series: are they evil?”

 Mythlore 27.1 (2008): 45. Literature

Resource Center.  Web. 17 Aug. 2009

GVRL eBooks

In GVRL use Citation Tools to grab your citation. Here's how:

  1. From the Tools menu, select Citation Tools.
  2. Use the Choose Citation Format: pull down menu to select MLA 7 and click on it. 
  3. Grab your citation.


"Action and Adventure Films." Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film. Ed. Barry Keith Grant. Vol. 1. New York: Schirmer Reference, 2007. 27-35. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 30 June 2017.

URL
https://ezproxy.com.edu/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=txshracd2496&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX2587600011&asid=ab5d7033dc111c71550b7c6958ea28bf

Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4. Delete the URL (unless your instructor asked you to inlcude).

It Should Look Like

"Action and Adventure Films." Schirmer Encyclopedia of

Film. Ed. Barry  Keith Grant. Vol. 1. New York:

Schirmer Reference, 2007. 27-35. Gale

Virtual Reference Library. Web. 31 Jan. 2013.

Opposing Viewpoints

Cite

To get a citation in Opposing Viewpoints:

1. Click Citation Tools on the top right side of the article page.

2. Copy the MLA citation from the pop up window and paste it into your paper. You will not need the Document URL unless your instructor specifically request s it. See the change it tips, below, to make it just right.

Citation

Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like

Steinfels, Margaret O'Brien. "Unfriendly skies: have we

learned to stop worrying and love the drone?"

Commonweal 140.8 (2013): 6. Opposing

Viewpoints in Context. Web. 31 July 2014.

The Quickest Way to Get Citations

Exporting citations from a database into EasyBib is the quickest and easiest way to get your citations. Once you are signed up, you can get EasyBib to:

  • Save your sources Automatically
  • Generate citations for our sources
  • Automatically convert from one citation style to another
  • Automatically generate your bibliography, works cited or references page
  • Automatically generate your title page in APA, Chicago/Turabian and MLA styles
  • Automatically generate a parenthetical (in text) citation for APA and MLA styles.

How you export from a database is very easy, but varies by database. Get step by step instructions below.

ProQuest Research Library & SciTech Premium Collection

These instructions work for all ProQuest Research Library databases as well as the SciTech Premium Collection.

1. Click Cite on the right side of your article page:

Cite

2. By default, APA comes up in the pop up window. To change to MLA style, click on the pull down menu and hit Change. Copy the citation and paste it into your paper. See the change it tips, below, to make it just right.

Cite

Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like:

Corthell, Ronald. "John Donne's Articulations of the Feminine."

JEGP. Journal of English and Germanic Philology

100.2 (2001): 280-2. ProQuest.Web. 22 Sep. 2014.

Science in Context

To get a citation:

1. Click Citation Tools at the top right of the page under Tools.

Cite Tool

2. Copy the MLA style citation from the pop up window and paste it into your paper. See the change it tips, below, to make it just right.

Citation

Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like

Sumner, Thomas. "Impacts probably stifled early life: giant

asteroids hit Earth until about 4.3 billion years ago."

Science News 23 Aug. 2014: 13. Science in Context.

Web. 6 Sept. 2014.