Skip to main content

About COM Library

Library hours, who can use the library, what you can do in the library and more.

What's in the Library?

COM Library has lots of great resources for COM students, faculty, and staff:

Guide1. COM Library Guides

Our guides are great one stop resources designed by COM Librarians with COM students in mind, to help you find the best resources for your projects and save you time.

2. LibAnswers

You've got questions, we've got answers. You can tweet, text, chat and more to get answers to your question. Go to LibAnswers to ask a question or see some we've already answered from real live COM students!

3. Face 2 Face Help 

Librarians are available to help with research issues and Lab Managers and Assistants are available to help with software and other tech issues. While classes and researchers are given first priority, COM students, faculty, staff and community are welcome to use the computers.

4. Databases

Our databases include subscriptions to thousands of full text journals, primary sources, and streaming media through subscription. Access our Articles & Databases.

books 5. Books & eBooks

The library has thousands of books and eBooks that support COM courses, as well as bestsellers that are made available in the library while they are popular. All COM Library eBooks can be accessed remotely. Access our book and eBook collections.

6. Library Classroom

The Library Classroom is used for the instruction of Information Literacy, the ability to locate, evaluate, and use information to become an independent life-long learner.

7. A Place to Study

The library has several study rooms available for students on the mezzanine, as well as various tables and carrels throughout the library.

8. Wi-Fi

On campus with a mobile device? The library is a hotspot. Spread out on our round tables on the mezzanine, plug into an outlet and go Wi-Fi!

9. Library Lab & Tech Help

LabThe main purpose of the Library Lab is to provide access to college level research for COM students. Computers in the lab and classroom provide access to the Internet, Library catalog and databases with hundreds of thousands of articles, thousands of eBooks and the extensive COM Library web site, designed to help users find the information they need. There are numerous software applications available for use including word processing, spreadsheets, presentations, AutoCAD, and GIS software. Best of all, you can get tech help from our great Library Lab staff! Go to the Library Lab Guide.

What Can You Do in the Library?

  1. Do college level research, accessing thousands of full text articles online from our online Databases.

  2. Get research help from the research experts--librarians! Ask COM Library.

  3. Check your email.

  4. Play games from our collection like chess, checkers, backgammon, board games or put a puzzle together.

  5. Charge your mobile devices at our free charging stations.

  6. Get techy help in the Library Lab.

  7. Get Wi-Fi access, with places to plug in and charge up. Read thousands of eBooks online.

  8. Find a quiet place to study in our study rooms, our large tables where you can spread out, or our study carrels.

  9. Check out, renew or return books.

  10. Listen to audio on any of our computers--headphones are available on each computer--or bring your own.

  11. Stream video from our media & streaming video collection.

  12. Make copies on our copier (5 cents/page).

  13. Work on your paper or other class projects using MS Office on library computers.

  14. Read books, eBooks, magazines and more from our Colección Española.

  15. Print out B&W (5 cents/page) or color (10 cents/page) documents.

  16. Relax in our lounge area near the main entrance.

  17. Read paperbacks, magazines or bestsellers from our leisure collection located in the lounge area.

  18. Check out DVDs.

  19. Scan documents with our scanner in the the Library Lab.

  20. Check out a copy of your textbook.