Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
American Law Yearbook
These annual supplements to West's Encyclopedia of American Law update and expand the content with dozens of new topics. The 2007 edition covers legal issues surrounding You Tube, athletic steroid scandals, a landmark free speech case, and continuing controversy over eminent domain law.
Constitutional Amendments: From Freedom of Speech to Flag Burning
Booklist/Reference Books Bulletin 20 Best Bets for Student Researchers 2002 Covering each of the 27 amendments, this 3-vol. resource provides the history and social context of the amendment process. The introduction includes a general essay on the Constitution and adopting new amendments, followed by chapters highlighting each amendment. Entries range in length from 10 to 15 pages and begin with the full text of the amendment, followed by an essay on the social and political climate that gave rise to its proposal. Also included is an overview of the unratified amendments, with an emphasis on issues that affect today's society and demonstrate the current applicability of the amendment. Significant issues, events, figures, movements and judicial/legislative actions in the history of the amendment are also covered chronologically. Entries feature illustrations, sidebars and a list of further resources.
Crime and Culpability: A Theory of Criminal Law
This book presents a comprehensive overview of what the criminal law would look like if organised around the principle that those who deserve punishment should receive punishment commensurate with, but no greater than, that which they deserve. Larry Alexander and Kimberly Kessler Ferzan argue that desert is a function of the actor's culpability, and that culpability is a function of the risks of harm to protected interests that the actor believes he is imposing and his reasons for acting in the face of those risks. The authors deny that resultant harms, as well as unperceived risks, affect the actor's desert. They thus reject punishment for inadvertent negligence as well as for intentions or preparatory acts that are not risky. Alexander and Ferzan discuss the reasons for imposing risks that negate or mitigate culpability, the individuation of crimes, and omissions.
Crime Reduction and the Law
This innovative and pioneering new book establishes links between crime reduction and the law, uniquely offering a detailed examination of how specific legislation and performance targets aid or undermine attempts at crime reduction. Providing a sustained analysis, this ground-breaking book considers the social policy, politics and legislation that surround and drive the crime reduction agenda. It analyzes: the creation of 'safe environments' through Town and Country Planning legislation the role of local authorities in crime reduction initiatives the nature of drug policy, paedophilia legislation and programs to control mental disorder crime. Bringing together the work of internationally renowned experts in this field, this book will prove very useful to students of criminology and sociology, as well as crime prevention and reduction practitioners, police officers and community safety partnership professionals.
Criminal Law Conversations
Criminal Law Conversations provides an authoritative overview of contemporary criminal law debates in the United States. This collection of high caliber scholarly papers was assembled using an innovative and interactive method of nominations and commentary by the nation's top legal scholars.Virtually every leading scholar in the field has participated, resulting in a volume of interest to those both in and outside of the community. Criminal Law Conversations showcases the most captivating of these essays, and provides insight into the most fundamental and provocative questions ofmodern criminal law.
Foundations of Criminal Law
Foundations of Criminal Law is a collection of readings, including expert commentary. Addresses theory and evidence of the crime problem, as well as crime itself and its punishment. Discusses the principle of liability, including accomplice, attempt, and conspiracy liability. Also explores justification and excuse, and sentencing theory and practice.
A Layperson's Guide to Criminal Law
Mack explains criminal law in an easy-to-read format, complete with numerous examples that clarify some of the more difficult concepts. It is designed for anyone interested in exploring the basics of criminal law for personal, academic, or professional reasons. High-profile criminal trials have placed criminal law in the national spotlight. While these trials may contain straightforward factual circumstances, often the legal issues surrounding the criminal charges and defenses are complex and confusing. This book explains the basics of criminal law in an easy-to-understand format designed especially for the nonlawyer who has an interest in criminal law. The book approaches criminal law by discussing basic crimes and their elements to help readers understand the necessary requirements for charging and prosecuting crimes. To aid in understanding many of the concepts, the book includes numerous hypothetical situations that place some of the more difficult concepts in an everyday context, thereby making them more understandable. Criminal law defenses are also explored, in order to give readers an awareness of how and why some of the more popular defenses are presented in the criminal justice system. The book also provides an overview of the criminal trial process, from the arrest to the final verdict. Mack succeeds in demystifying criminal law by presenting it in an understandable format designed for the nonlegal scholar.
Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.
The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice: Key Terms and Major Court Cases
The Third Edition of The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice is a reference every student of the criminal justice system should own. Like any good dictionary, this resource will assist students in a variety of courses - as well as in writing papers and understanding terminology in journal articles. Over 5,000 terms, concepts, and names are included in the new edition, as well as over 125 new U.S. Supreme Court cases. The dictionary's interdisciplinary approach greatly enhances its effectiveness as a one-stop resource. Students will no longer need to waste precious study time seeking out definitions in numerous specialized sources. Many definitions are accompanied by examples from the research literature, illustrating how the terms apply in particular contexts. This dictionary is useful for any criminology or criminal justice course with applications in sociology, public administration, political science, and the administration of justice. forensics, gangs, computers and computer crime, criminal investigations, criminology, criminological theory, corrections, probation and parole, courts and sentencing, rules of criminal procedure, constitutional law, policing and police-community relations, jails and prisons, white-collar crime, sodomy laws, civil rights, tort law, victimization, juvenile law, Section 1983 actions, capital punishment, electronic surveillance, fines and asset forfeiture, deadly force, search and seizure, wrongful convictions, the Prison Litigation Reform Act of 1995, and the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996. The dictionary includes numerous illustrations, figures, and tables that provide readers with visual portrayals of important criminal justice facts. A comprehensive listing of over 30 doctoral programs in criminal justice is provided, together with useful contact information. An extensive listing of Internet sites is provided for locating useful information regarding important topics associated with law enforcement, the courts, and corrections. departments and relevant contact information. Finally, this section provides listings of leading criminological theorists, a summary of their major theoretical contributions, and brief synopses of their written works. Many theorists are cross-referenced with other scholars studying similar phenomena.
The Criminal Law Handbook: Know Your Rights, Survive the System
The 5th edition provides the latest in the law and court findings. Find out if police can use high-tech devices to search for evidence in your house, whether school officials can search students without warrants, and how the post-9/11 Patriot Act expands the power of federal agents.
Criminal Procedure and the Supreme Court: A Guide to the Major Decisions on Search and Seizure, Privacy, and Individual Rights
In any episode of the popular television show Law and Order, questions of police procedure in collecting evidence often arise. Was a search legal? Was the evidence obtained lawfully? Did the police follow the rules in pursuing their case? While the show depicts fictional cases and scenarios, police procedure with regard to search and seizure is a real and significant issue in the criminal justice system today. The subject of many Supreme Court decisions, they seriously impact the way police pursue their investigations, the way prosecutors proceed with their cases, and the way defense attorneys defend their clients. This book answers these questions and explains these decisions in accessible and easy to follow language. Each chapter explores a separate case or series of cases involving the application of the Fourth Amendment to current police investigatory practices or prosecutorial conduct of the criminal trial. The police-related cases involve topics such as searches of suspects (both prior and incident to arrest), pretext stops, the knock-and-announce rule, interrogation procedures, and the parameters of an individual's reasonable expectation of privacy. The prosecutor-related cases involve topics such as jury selection, the right to counsel, and sentencing. This important overview serves as an introduction to the realities and practicalities of police investigation and the functioning of the criminal justice system when search and seizure becomes an issue.
The Handbook of Crime and Punishment
The Handbook of Crime and Punishment is a comprehensive professional/reference work designed for those interested in the study of crime--its causes, effects, trends, and institutions; in the forms and philosophies of punishment, and in crime control. Although primarily American in itsorientation, many of this book's articles are of a broader, more international nature. The Handbook is expansive in its coverage, providing the reader with information about the context, contemporary crime problems, causes of crime, methods of crime reduction, the processes and institutions thatdeal with accused and convicted criminals, and techniques of punishment. The book consists of 28 articles, each written by an expert in the field and including a short selected reference list, as well as a general introduction to the work written by editor Michael Tonry. The Handbook will be anindispenible reference work for academics, graduate students, and undergraduate students in criminology.
The Handy Law Answer Book
Combining practical legal tips with an exhaustive review of the law in the United States, this comprehensive reference answers more than 1,200 questions ranging from Where did the word tort come from? and How are state court judges selected? to Where did the first U.S. Supreme Court meet? Useful advice includes how to find a lawyer, how to file a complaint against a lawyer, how to document discrimination in the workplace, and how to handle oneself in court. Interspersed throughout are fun sidebars highlighting important cases and explanations of legal terms as well as entertaining information on bizarre and frivolous lawsuits, including one where a prisoner in Colorado sued prison officials after he injured himself during an escape attempt. With a wide range of information suitable for various knowledge bases--from junior high to junior college--this is an ideal source for anyone looking to get a better understanding of the law.
Law 101
In each of the first three editions of the bestselling Law 101, Jay Feinman gave readers an upbeat and vivid examination of the American legal system. Since the third edition was published in 2010, much has happened: several key Supreme Court cases have been decided, we've seen sensational criminal trials, and the legal system has had to account for the latest developments in Internet law. This fully updated fourth edition of Law 101 accounts for all this and more, as Feinman once again provides a clear introduction to American law. The book covers all the main subjects taught in the first year of law school, and discusses every facet of the American legal tradition, including constitutional law, the litigation process, and criminal, property, and contracts law. To accomplish this, Feinman brings in the most noteworthy, infamous, and often outrageous examples and cases. We learn about the case involving scalding coffee that cost McDonald's half a million dollars, the murder trial in Victorian London that gave us the legal definition of insanity, and the epochal decision of Marbury vs. Madison that gave the Supreme Court the power to declare state and federal law unconstitutional. A key to learning about the law is learning legal vocabulary, and Feinman helps by clarifying terms like "due process" and "equal protection," as well as by drawing distinctions between terms like "murder" and "manslaughter." Above all, though, is that Feinman reveals to readers of all kinds that despite its complexities and quirks, the law is can be understood by everyone. Perfect for students contemplating law school, journalists covering legislature, or even casual fans of "court-television" shows, Law 101 is a clear and accessible introduction to the American legal system. New to this edition: Featured analysis of: -the Obamacare case -Citizens United -the DOMA decision -the Trayvon Martin case As well as recent legal developments pertaining to: -online contracting -mortgages -police investigations -criminal sentencing
© 2023 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
Class Poll
