Make Your Computer Database Ready
You will probably be able to use most library resources on your computer without making any changes, but some resources in the databases such as eBooks, streaming videos, concept maps, audio files and more may have additional requirements. The software and configurations listed below will ensure that your computer is database ready.
In order to use all library resources, computers should meet the following minimum requirements (+ symbols indicate “or higher”):
- Adobe Flash 10.0+ (Optimize Adobe Flash by opening port: 1935)
- PDF reader: Adobe Acrobat Reader 9.0+; Schubert|It PDF plug-in for MAC
- Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1+ (to download/check out EBSCO eBooks)
- Windows Media Player 9+; iTunes for MAC
- Java
- Screen resolution: 1024x768
- 500 kbps + connectivity
- A browser: IE 7.0+, Mozilla Firefox 8.0+, Google Chrome 16+, Apple Safari 5.1+
- Cookies enabled in browser
- JavaScript enabled in browser
- Disable Compatibility View under Tools menu in Internet Explorer if the films do not play on your IE browser.
Can't Think of a Topic?
Get ideas from a database! Try these databases (best for hot topics, social issues, current events) if you get stumped:
- Facts on File: Issues & Controversies Try Need a Research Topic? You can browse through topics until you find one you like. You can also use the Subject Index and Issues Pro and Con list to get ideas for topics.
- Gale: Opposing Viewpoints Get ideas from the Issues page. Access from the dark grey toolbar below the Opposing Viewpoints banner.
How to Use Hot Topics Databases
The best COM Library databases for hot topics and controversial issues are CQ Researcher, EBSCO:
Academic Search Complete, Facts on File and Gale: Opposing Viewpoints. Great for English 1301 and Social Sciences. Here are some of the things you'll find in the guide:
- Database comparison chart.
- Specific search techniques to get more or fewer articles on hot topics.
- Tips on ways to find a topic.
- Tips on ways to find pro and con articles.
- Databases are searchable directly from guide.
- Step by step instructions for each database.
Get Change it Tips for database citations from Cite MLA Style under the Cite the EZ Way tab.
How to Use Hot Topics Databases
The best COM Library databases for hot topics & controversial issues are EBSCO: Academic Search Complete, Facts on File Issues & Controversies and Opposing Viewpoints. Use the tabs above to find out more about each database.
Here is a comparison chart on the databases (click on the chart to see a larger version):
Your Hot Topics Questions Answered
Real questions from COM students answered by COM Librarians. Click on the question to see the answers or view website to see all questions and answers.
Want to ask your own? Go to asklibrary.com.edu (make sure pop-up blockers are off to see answers).
Loading...
Librarian |
More Ways to Get Answers
Links: Profile & Guides |









Loading...
