Your Article Questions Answered
You Might Like
- Last Updated Jun 12, 2014
All the Articles LibGuides. Access databases with thousands of full text articles, online journals, free articles on the Internet, and more.
1,852 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 23, 2015
Access COM Library's journals online. Great for when you are interested in a specific journal.
1,735 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 9, 2015
Get articles in the best databases for your subject.
9,068 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 31, 2015
Find out which databases are the best for biographies, media, quotations, timelines, and much more.
236 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 23, 2015
If you can't find the book or article you want in COM Library, other libraries may have them and there are several options for getting them.
120 views this year
- Last Updated Jul 30, 2014
Get the overview of how to find articles including databases basics, how to get more or fewer articles, hot topics and databases by subject.
2,045 views this year
- Last Updated Dec 8, 2014
Get the most from Google Scholar: learn how to set preferences, grab citations, get documents for free from TexShare databases and more.
3,150 views this year
- Last Updated Nov 25, 2014
Access the best resources for research from your mobile device.
51 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 25, 2015
Find publicly accessible online journals and magazines using Google and open access sources.
3,980 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 25, 2015
Your best bets for finding scholarly & peer reviewed articles, plus step by step tips to save you time and get the sources you need.
156 views this year
COM Library Journals Online
The emphasis here is on COM resources, including journals available online through EBSCO, Gale and Literature Online databases, The Chronicle of Higher Education and the TexShare Electronic Journals tool. Through these resources over 15,000 journals are accessible.
Learn step by step how to find out if COM Library has your favorite journal online or what journals are available in your field. These journals can be accessed on or off campus 24/7.
Don't Forget About Public Journals Online!
Access library, news, medical and science journals as well as Google Scholar, Google Magazines and Google News Archives. All journals listed include full text articles, varying from one or two sample articles to all the articles contained in the print version.
To access, see the Public Journals & Magazines LibGuide.
Scholarly Journals v. Popular Magazines
When researching for college, keep in mind that scholarly journals and magazines are quite different. Scholarly journals have content that has been written by scholars or experts in their field. The most authoritative scholarly journals are peer reviewed. See the chart below for a comparison of scholarly journals to popular magazines.
Was the material reviewed, edited or fact checked for publication?
Reviewed or edited articles are more closely scrutinized for accuracy and value. Professional or scholarly journals have more reviewed and edited articles than popular magazines (see the chart below).
Where to find review/editing for articles or books
Check the front of the periodical or book for information on the editing, review and selection process for that periodical. Some databases such as EBSCO Academic Search Complete and ProQuest Research Library let you limit your search to scholarly or peer reviewed journals.
Where to find review/editing for web sites
Web sites may have this information at the beginning or end of a page or on the home page of the site, but are much less likely to have been reviewed.
The chart below lists criteria that can be used to tell whether you have an article from a scholarly journal or from a popular magazine. Most of the criteria listed for scholarly journal articles can also be applied to books and Internet resources to help determine their value. The more criteria your resource has listed under the Scholarly Journals column, the more likely it will be a good resource.
|Lengthy, detailed articles||Brief articles|
|References and sources listed||References and sources seldom given|
|Graphs, charts, usually no photographs||Photographs|
|Articles written by an expert, always signed (author's name listed)||Articles usually written by staff or freelance writer, frequently unsigned (author's name not listed)|
|Credentials of author listed||Credentials usually unlisted|
|Aimed at people in the field||Aimed at general public|
|Few or no ads||Lots of Ads|
|May be peer reviewed||Not peer reviewed|
Example Scholarly Journals:
Journal of Applied Psychology
Modern Fiction Studies
Example Popular Magazines: