Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
CPT 2021 Professional Edition
CPT® 2021 Professional Edition is the definitive AMA-authored resource to help health care professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services. Providers want accurate reimbursement. Payers want efficient claims processing. Since the CPT® code set is a dynamic, everchanging standard, an outdated codebook does not suffice. Correct reporting and billing of medical procedures and services begins with CPT® 2021 Professional Edition. Only the AMA, with the help of physicians and other experts in the health care community, creates and maintains the CPT code set. No other publisher can claim that. No other codebook can provide the official guidelines to code medical services and procedures properly. Features and Benefits. The CPT® 2021 Professional Edition codebook covers hundreds of code, guideline and text changes and features: CPT® Changes, CPT® Assistant, and Clinical Examples in Radiology citations provides cross-referenced information in popular AMA resources that can enhance your understanding of the CPT code set E/M 2021 code changes gives guidelines on the updated codes for office or other outpatient and prolonged services section incorporated A comprehensive index, aids you in locating codes related to a specific procedure, service, anatomic site, condition, synonym, eponym or abbreviation to allow for a clearer, quicker search Anatomical and procedural illustrations, help improve coding accuracy and understanding of the anatomy and procedures being discussed Coding tips throughout each section, improve your understanding of the nuances of the code set Enhanced codebook table of contents, allows users to perform a quick search of the codebook's entire content without being in a specific section Section-specific table of contents, provides users with a tool to navigate more effectively through each section's codes Summary of additions, deletions and revisions, provides a quick reference to 2020 changes without having to refer to previous editions Multiple appendices, offer quick reference to additional information and resources that cover such topics as modifiers, clinical examples, add-on codes, vascular families, multianalyte assays and telemedicine services Comprehensive E/M code selection tables, aid physicians and coders in assigning the most appropriate evaluation and management codes Adhesive section tabs, allow you to flag those sections and pages most relevant to your work More full color procedural illustrations Notes pages at the end of every code set section and subsection
CPT Professional 2023 and e/M Companion 2023 Bundle
CPT® 2023 Professional Edition is the definitive American Medical Association (AMA)-authored resource to help health care professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services. Health care professionals want accurate reporting of services rendered and reimbursement. Payers want efficient claims processing. Correct reporting and billing of medical procedures and services begins with CPT® 2023 Professional Edition. Only the AMA, with the help of physicians and other experts in the health care community, creates and maintains the Current Procedural Terminology (CPT®) code set. No other codebook has the accurate, complete official guidelines for the latest and current procedural terminology for procedures and services to help you code and report medical services and procedures properly. The AMA also takes the copyright protection of its content very seriously and is committed to providing the most effective anti-piracy efforts for its authors and readers, such as inclusion of the Amazon Anti-Counterfeit Sticker and nonintrusive light-yellow dots on almost every page to reduce print reproduction in accordance with current copyright rules and laws. NEW IN 2023 EDITION! Recognizing that racism is a threat to the advancement of health equity and a barrier to appropriate medical care, as well as the power of images in contributing and limiting what bodies physicians, medical professionals, and students learn to see and define as normal and standard, the CPT 2023 Professional Edition will feature 19 diversity-related illustrations to counter a deep-seated, culturally, and systemically biased norm. These 19 diversity-related images are but the first step in advancing inclusive and equitable representation of a diverse range of skin tones in our medical educational resources for everyone who uses our codebook in their daily work, practice, and education. The CPT E/M Companion 2023 is the definitive AMA-authored supplement reference guide to the Current Procedural Terminology (CPT®) 2023 Professional Edition. It is designed to help users understand the changes to certain evaluation and management (E/M) services; how to report these new and revised or consolidated codes; and how to apply the revised and new guidelines effective Jan 1, 2023. To enable consistency with the 2021 revisions to the E/M office and other outpatient codes, the 2023 E/M changes will provide users with a streamlined set of E/M guidelines that apply across multiple sites of service; revisions to code descriptors that reflect the structure approved in the office visit revisions; and a uniform Medical Decision Making (MDM) table for all the sites of services noted, as well as office or other outpatient visits. This AMA-authored publication is designed with intermediate users in mind. Therefore, this publication''s content is written and organized in a manner that will make sense to all intermediate users familiar with the E/M section of the CPT code set. To conserve space and to maximize the value-added content, this publication does not reproduce most of the tables or guidelines in the CPT 2023 Professional Edition. In addition to the CPT E/M Companion 2023, the AMA has also created a special section for E/M 2023 in the CPT Knowledge Base. For more information on this you can go to ama-assn.org/cpt-knowledge-base. FEATURES AND BENEFITS The CPT® 2023 Professional Edition codebook covers hundreds of code, guideline and text changes and features: CPT® Changes, CPT® Assistant, and Clinical Examples in Radiology citations -- provides cross-referenced information to popular AMA resources that can enhance your understanding of the CPT code set. A comprehensive index -- locate codes related to a specific procedure, service, anatomic site, condition, synonym, eponym or abbreviation quickly. Anatomical and procedural illustrations -- help improve coding accuracy and understanding of the anatomy and services/procedures discussed. Overall codebook table of contents -- enable a quick search of the entire codebook''s content for quick access. Section table of contents -- provide a useful tool to navigate effectively and quickly through each section''s codes. Complete list of the additions, deletions and revisions for codes and code descriptors -- provide a summary and quick reference of the 2023 changes in the codes without having to compare editions. Multiple appendices -- offer additional information for modifiers, add-on codes, images vascular families, re-sequenced codes, MAAAs and PLA services, COVID-19 vaccines and administration codes, and digital medicine-services taxonomy. New Appendix S -- Artificial Intelligence Taxonomy (AI) for Medical Services and Procedures -- provide guidance for classifying various AI applications of AI for medical services and procedures. New Appendix T -- Synchronous Telemedicine Service Rendered Via Telephone or Other Real-Time Interactive Audio-Only Telecommunications System -- list all audio-only telemedicine CPT codes. Comprehensive E/M code selection tables -- aid physicians and coders in assigning the most appropriate evaluation and management codes. Notes pages at the end of every code set section and subsection. CPT E/M Companion 2023 is intended to help users understand and navigate the 2023 E/M revisions that have been made across numerous service groups, namely inpatient and observation care services; consultations services; emergency department services; nursing facility services; home and residence services; and prolonged services. Hence, this book is divided into six chapters detailing review of the changes, along with key practical coding and reporting considerations to support correct use of these new and revised codes, are included in this supplement.
Dictionary of Health Insurance and Managed Care
Designated a Doody's Core Title To keep up with the ever-changing field of health care, we must learn new and re-learn old terminology in order to correctly apply it to practice. By bringing together the most up-to-date abbreviations, acronyms, definitions, and terms in the health care industry, the Dictionary offers a wealth of essential information that will help you understand the ever-changing policies and practices in health insurance and managed care today. For Further Information, Please Click Here
Medical Billing and Coding for Dummies
The definitive guide to starting a successful career in medical billing and coding With the healthcare sector growing at breakneck speed--it's currently the largest employment sector in the U.S. and expanding fast--medical billing and coding specialists are more essential than ever. These critical experts, also known as medical records and health information technicians, keep systems working smoothly by ensuring patient billing and insurance data are accurately and efficiently administered. This updated edition provides everything you need to begin--and then excel in--your chosen career. From finding the right study course and the latest certification requirements to industry standard practices and insider tips for dealing with government agencies and insurance companies, Medical Billing & Coding For Dummies has you completely covered. Find out about the flexible employment options available and how to qualify Understand the latest updates to the ICD-10 Get familiar with ethical and legal issues Discover ways to stay competitive and get ahead The prognosis is good--get this book today and set yourself up with the perfect prescription for a bright, secure, and financially healthy future!
Pediatric Coding Basics
Pediatric Coding Basics was developed for pediatric health care professionals who are new to coding or have taken on additional coding responsibilities in their practice. This new resource begins with an overview of medical coding, followed by a more detailed review of the different types of codes commonly used in pediatrics. The book then discusses how to effectively use the different types of codes together for billing purposes. Each chapter includes Coding Challenge questions to reinforce key content. Users can earn a certificate of completion upon successfully passing an online quiz.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
Buck's Coding Exam Review 2022
Prepare to succeed on your coding certification exam with Buck's Coding Exam Review: The Physician and Facility Certification Step! This extensive exam review provides complete coverage of all topics included on the physician and facility coding certification exams - including anatomy, terminology, and pathophysiology for each body system; reimbursement issues; CPT, HCPCS, and ICD-10-CM/PCS coding; and more. Six full practice exams (with answers and rationales) simulate the testing experience and provide enough practice to reassure even the most insecure exam-taker. It's the only coding exam review you need! UNIQUE! Six full practice exams on Evolve simulate the experience of taking the actual coding certification exams, allowing you to assess your strengths and weaknesses in order to develop a plan for focused study. Answers and rationales to questions on the practice exams let you check your work. Concise outline format helps you access key information quickly and study more efficiently. Mobile-optimized quick quizzes offer on-the-go practice with more than 350 medical terminology, pathophysiology, CPT, HCPCS, and ICD-10-CM questions. "Real-life" coding reports simulate the reports that you will encounter on the job, and challenge you to apply key coding principles to actual cases. Test-taking tips in the Success Strategies section guide you step-by-step through the entire exam process. NEW! Updated content features the latest coding information available, promoting accurate coding and success on the job. Full coverage and exam prep for facility and physician coding
Buck's Step-By-Step Medical Coding, 2020 Edition
Take your first step toward a successful career in medical coding with guidance from the most trusted name in coding education! The bestselling Buck's Step-by-Step Medical Coding is a practical, easy-to-use resource that shows you exactly how to code using all current coding sets. To reinforce your understanding, practice exercises follow the explanations of each coding concept. In addition to coverage of reimbursement, ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS, and inpatient coding, an Evolve website includes 30-day access to TruCode® Encoder Essentials. No other book so thoroughly covers all coding sets! Theory and practical review questions (located at the end of each chapter) focus on recalling important chapter information and application of codes. A step-by-step approach makes it easier to build your coding skills and remember the material. 30-day trial to TruCode® Encoder Essentials gives you experience with using an encoder (plus access to additional encoder practice exercises on the Evolve website). UNIQUE! "Real-life" coding reports simulate the reports you will encounter as a coder and help you apply coding principles to actual cases. Online activities on Evolve provide extra practice with assignments, including coding reports. More than 450 illustrations help you understand the types of medical conditions and procedures being coded, and include examples taken directly from Elsevier's professional ICD-10 and HCPCS manuals. Learning objective and glossary review questions reinforce your understanding of key chapter concepts and terms UNIQUE! Four coding-question variations - covering both single-code questions and multiple-code questions and scenarios - develop your coding ability and critical thinking skills. UNIQUE! Coders' Index in the back of the book makes it easy to quickly locate specific codes. Official Guidelines for Coding and Reporting boxes show the official guidelines wording for inpatient and outpatient coding alongside in-text explanations. Exercises, Quick Checks, and Toolbox features reinforce coding rules and concepts, and emphasize key information. Valuable tips and advice are offered in features such as From the Trenches, Coding Shots, Stop!, Caution!, Check This Out, and CMS Rules. Sample EHR screenshots (in Appendix D) show examples similar to the electronic health records you will encounter in the workplace. NEW! Coding updates include the latest information available, promoting accurate coding and success on the job.
CPT Professional 2020
CPT® 2020 Professional Edition is the definitive AMA-authored resource to help health care professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services. Providers want accurate reimbursement. Payers want efficient claims processing. Since the CPT® code set is a dynamic, everchanging standard, an outdated codebook does not suffice. Correct reporting and billing of medical procedures and services begins with CPT® 2020 Professional Edition. Only the AMA, with the help of physicians and other experts in the health care community, creates and maintains the CPT code set. No other publisher can claim that. No other codebook can provide the official guidelines to code medical services and procedures properly. Features and Benefits: The CPT® 2020 Professional Edition codebook covers hundreds of code, guideline and text changes and features: CPT® Changes, CPT® Assistant, and Clinical Examples in Radiology citations - provides cross-referenced information in popular AMA resources that can enhance your understanding of the CPT code set A comprehensive index - aids you in locating codes related to a specific procedure, service, anatomic site, condition, synonym, eponym or abbreviation to allow for a clearer, quicker search Anatomical and procedural illustrations - help improve coding accuracy and understanding of the anatomy and procedures being discussed Coding tips throughout each section - improve your understanding of the nuances of the code set Enhanced codebook table of contents - allows users to perform a quick search of the codebook's entire content without being in a specific section Section-specific table of contents - provides users with a tool to navigate more effectively through each section's codes Summary of additions, deletions and revisions - provides a quick reference to 2020 changes without having to refer to previous editions Multiple appendices - offer quick reference to additional information and resources that cover such topics as modifiers, clinical examples, add-on codes, vascular families, multianalyte assays and telemedicine services Comprehensive E/M code selection tables - aid physicians and coders in assigning the most appropriate evaluation and management codes Adhesive section tabs - allow you to flag those sections and pages most relevant to your work More full color procedural illustrations Notes pages at the end of every code set section and subsection
CPT Professional 2024
CPT® 2024 Professional Edition is the definitive American Medical Association (AMA)-authored resource to help health care professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services. Health care professionals want accurate reporting of services rendered and reimbursement. Payers want efficient claims processing. Correct reporting and billing of medical procedures and services begins with CPT® 2024 Professional Edition. Only the AMA, with the help of physicians and other experts in the health care community, creates and maintains the Current Procedural Terminology (CPT®) code set. No other codebook has the accurate, complete official guidelines for the latest and current procedural terminology for procedures and services to help you code and report medical services and procedures properly. The AMA also takes the copyright protection of its content very seriously and is committed to providing the most effective anti-piracy efforts for its authors and readers, such as inclusion of the Amazon Anti Privacy Sticker and nonintrusive light-yellow dots on almost every page to reduce print reproduction in accordance with current copyright rules and laws. Recognizing that racism is a threat to the advancement of health equity and a barrier to appropriate medical care, as well as the power of images in contributing and limiting what bodies physicians, medical professionals, and students learn to see and define as normal and standard, the CPT 2024 Professional Edition will feature diversity-related illustrations to counter a deep-seated, culturally, and systemically biased norm. These diversity-related images continue advancing inclusive and equitable representation of a diverse range of skin tones in our medical educational resources for everyone who uses our codebook in their daily work, practice, and education. FEATURES AND BENEFITS The CPT® 2024 Professional Edition codebook covers hundreds of code, guideline and text changes and features: CPT® Changes, CPT® Assistant, and Clinical Examples in Radiology citations -- provides cross-referenced information to popular AMA resources that can enhance your understanding of the CPT code set. A comprehensive index -- locate codes related to a specific procedure, service, anatomic site, condition, synonym, eponym or abbreviation quickly. Anatomical and procedural illustrations -- help improve coding accuracy and understanding of the anatomy and services/procedures discussed. Overall codebook table of contents --enable a quick search of the entire codebook''s content for quick access. Section table of contents -- provide a useful tool to navigate effectively and quickly through each section''s codes. Complete list of the additions, deletions and revisionsfor codes and code descriptors -- provide a summary and quick reference of the 2024 changes in the codes without having to compare editions. Multiple appendices -- offer additional information for modifiers, add-on codes, images vascular families, re-sequenced codes, MAAAs and PLA services, COVID-19 vaccines and administration codes, and digital medicine-services taxonomy. New Appendix S -- Artificial Intelligence Taxonomy (AI) for Medical Services and Procedures -- provide guidance for classifying various AI applications of AI for medical services and procedures. New Appendix T -- Synchronous Telemedicine Service Rendered Via Telephone or Other Real-Time Interactive Audio-Only Telecommunications System---list all audio-only telemedicine CPT codes. Comprehensive E/M code selection tables -- aid physicians and coders in assigning the most appropriate evaluation and management codes. Notes pages at the end of every code set section and subsection.
ICD-10-CM 2020: The Complete Official Codebook
ICD-10-CM 2020: The Complete Official Codebook provides the entire updated code set for diagnostic coding, organized to make the challenge of accurate coding easier. This codebook is the cornerstone for establishing medical necessity, determining coverage and ensuring appropriate reimbursement. Each of the 21 chapters in the Tabular List of Diseases and Injuries is organized to provide quick and simple navigation to facilitate accurate coding. The book also contains supplementary appendixes including a coding tutorial, pharmacology listings, a list of valid three-character codes and additional information on Z-codes for long-term drug use and Z-codes that can only be used as a principal diagnosis. Official coding guidelines for 2020 are bound into this codebook. Features and Benefits: Full list of code changes. Quickly see the complete list of new, revised, and deleted codes affecting the FY 2020 codes. QPP symbol in the tabular section. The symbol identifies diagnosis codes associated with Quality Payment Program (QPP) measures under MARCA. The addition of more than 100 coding tips. Obtain insight into coding for physician and outpatient settings. The addition of more than 300 new definitions in the tabular listing. Assign codes with confidence based on illustrations and definitions designed to highlight key components of the disease process or injury. Intuitive features and format. This edition includes full-color illustrations and visual alerts, including color-coding and symbols that identify coding notes and instructions, additional character requirements, codes associated with CMS hierarchical condition categories (HCC), Medicare Code Edits (MCEs), manifestation codes, other specified codes, and unspecified codes. Placeholder X. This icon alerts the coder to an important ICD-10-CM convention-the use of a "placeholder X" for three-, four- and five-character codes requiring a seventh character extension. Coding guideline explanations and examples. Detailed explanations and examples related to application of the ICD-10-CM chapter guidelines are provided at the beginning of each chapter in the tabular section. Muscle/tendon translation table. This table is used to determine muscle/tendon action (flexor, extensor, other), which is a component of codes for acquired conditions and injuries affecting the muscles and tendons Appendices. Supplement your coding knowledge with information on proper coding practices, risk adjustment coding, pharmacology, and Z codes.
ICD-10-CM 2024: The Complete Official Codebook
ICD-10-CM 2024: The Complete Official Codebook provides the entire updated code set for diagnostic coding, organized to make the challenge of accurate coding easier. This codebook is the cornerstone for establishing medical necessity, correct documentation, determining coverage and ensuring appropriate reimbursement. Each of the 22 chapters in the Tabular List of Diseases and Injuries is organized to provide quick and simple navigation to facilitate accurate coding. The book also contains supplementary appendixes including a coding tutorial, pharmacology listings, a list of valid three-character codes and additional information on Z-codes for long-term drug use and Z-codes that can only be used as a principal diagnosis. Official 2024 coding guidelines are included in this codebook. FEATURES AND BENEFITS Full list of code changes. Quickly see the complete list of new, revised, and deleted codes affecting the CY2024 codes, including a conversion table and code changes by specialty. QPP symbol in the tabular section. The symbol identifies diagnosis codes associated with Quality Payment Program (QPP) measures under MACRA. New and updated coding tips. Obtain insight into coding for physician and outpatient settings. Chapter 22 features U-codes and coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) codes. Improved icon placement for ease of use. New and updated definitions in the tabular listing. Assign codes with confidence based on illustrations and definitions designed to highlight key components of the disease process or injury and provide better understanding of complex diagnostic terms. Intuitive features and format. This edition includes color illustrations and visual alerts, including color-coding and symbols that identify coding notes and instructions, additional character requirements, codes associated with CMS hierarchical condition categories (HCC), Medicare Code Edits (MCEs), manifestation codes, other specified codes, and unspecified codes. Placeholder X. This icon alerts the coder to an important ICD-10-CM convention--the use of a "placeholder X" for three-, four- and five-character codes requiring a seventh character extension. Coding guideline explanations and examples. Detailed explanations and examples related to application of the ICD-10-CM chapter guidelines are provided at the beginning of each chapter in the tabular section. Muscle/tendon translation table. This table is used to determine muscle/tendon action (flexor, extensor, other), which is a component of codes for acquired conditions and injuries affecting the muscles and tendons. Index to Diseases and Injuries. Shaded guides to show indent levels for subentries. Appendices. Supplement your coding knowledge with information on proper coding practices, risk-adjustment coding, pharmacology, and Z-codes.
ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS Coding Handbook 2023, Without Answers
Handbook content reflects revisions of the Official Guidelines for Coding and Reporting as well as AHA Coding Clinic® for ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS content published through June 2022. The handbook’s format and style of presentation follows that of previous editions inspired by the Faye Brown approach to coding instruction. The text leads students to logical answers and provides primary supporting sources. This logical approach has enabled the Handbook to become the most popular textbook for training hospital and physician office coding professionals.
Medical Billing and Coding Demystified
Clueless? Feel Like a Dummy? Get Demystified! This handy resource clearly explains the principles and practicesused by medical offices, hospitals, and health facilities to encodemedical services in order to receive payment from governmentagencies and insurance companies.
Medical Billing and Coding for Beginners 2023
FINALLY REVEALED THE STEP-BY-STEP BLUEPRINT TO LAUNCH YOUR FUTURE CAREER IN MEDICAL BILLING AND CODING Does the business behind the health-care field appeal to you? Do you want to acquire the skills for a job that is not only profitable, but will never feel the weight of any crisis? If YES, then you are in the right place at the right time! Currently in the United States there is no industry with greater growth in demand than the medical field, including not only those jobs physically performed in the health care setting such as doctor or nurse, but also those for which it is perfectly normal to work remotely. Among the latter are the indispensable medical billing and coding, which allow insurance companies to recognize claims to be given to patients! Preparing yourself properly to do such precise work of considerable importance will make you a good choice for the job positions that are created out there every day, which is precisely why in the book "Medical billing and coding for beginners 2023" you will discover: The 5 steps needed to become an expert medical coder who can handle any situation The 3 different types of coding you necessarily need to know to report patient data to insurance companies Manage the 5 different and most common types of certificates you will always have to deal with during your work The 7 steps to follow in the process of preparing invoices for performed procedures so that nothing is forgotten The flexible employment options available and how to qualify The 13 skills companies require of coding and billing applicants The #1 way to stay competitive and get ahead AND MUCH, MUCH MORE! When you have learned how to code and perform work that is complicated on the surface, but very understandable with a little study, it will be the hiring proposals that will come knocking on your door, and you will just have to choose the one that suits you best! What are you waiting for? Click on "Buy Now" and SECURE YOUR FINANCIALLY HEALTHY FUTURE!
Medical Coding : What it is and How it Works
In clear and straightforward language, Medical Coding: What It Is and How It Works, Second Edition provides an overview of the evolution of medical coding and all the various coding systems, how they relate, and how they function. Reasoning and consequences of the delayed ICD-10 implementation are explained along with a sound overview of the ICD-10-CM and PCS classification systems. For those contemplating a career in the coding field, this book is ideal as a basic orientation. Other individuals in healthcare management and administration will also benefit from a basic understanding of how coding works. Unlike other publications that focus only on coding, this book integrates coding guidelines and principles into the billing and reimbursement process, giving the student a more practical foundation in the rationale for correct coding. Healthcare fraud and abuse is addressed as well, to assure that readers understand ethical concerns inherent in coding for reimbursement. Instructor Resources: Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, Test Bank
Medical Coding Decoded
Being a physician is hard and involves important work that affects many people's lives. As a physician, you deserve to be appropriately compensated for the many hours of effort you put in and the positive impact you have. In order to get maximally compensated, a solid understanding of medical coding and billing is necessary.The world of medical billing and coding is complicated, but Dr. Charlotte Akor lays out everything you need to know in an easy-to-understand manner in Medical Coding Decoded. This book covers the ins and outs of medical decision-making, obtaining medical history, conducting physical exams, . Ttelemedicine, co-pays and deductibles, electronic medical records, modifiers, and documentation are also explained, and more. Every physician should have Medical Coding Decoded in their toolkit in order to help them do their job to the best of their ability and be rewarded accordingly.
Medical Insurance : An Integrated Claims Process Approach
The sixth edition of Medical Insurance: An Integrated Claims Process Approach emphasizes the medical billing cycle--ten steps that clearly identify all the components needed to successfully manage the medical insurance claims process. The cycle shows how administrative medical professionals "follow the money." Medical insurance specialists must be familiar with the rules and guidelines of each health plan in order to submit proper documentation, which then ensures that offices receive maximum, appropriate reimbursement for services provided. Each part of the book is dedicated to a section of the cycle followed by case studies to apply the skills discussed in each section. These case studies can be completed with the electronic CMS-1500 at www.mhhe.com/valerius6e or using simulated Medisoft exercises in Connect Plus, McGraw-Hill's homework and assessment platform.
Medical Transcription Guide : Do's and Don'ts
A quick reference for the medical transcriptionist, this book provides basic rules of grammar as well as current trends in the field. It's especially useful in searching for help with an obscure rule or in reinforcing a common practice. Using short chapters, this text provides the Do's - the grammatical rule, its exceptions, and its variations, along with examples; and the Don'ts - any common contradictions of that rule. Examples are taken from medical writing rather than general writing. Easy-to-use format provides numbered topics in each chapter, which are followed by Do's and Don'ts in quick, easy sentences. Spiral binding allows book to lay flat so MT's can refer to a rule without taking their hands off the keyboard. Clear examples are given to clarify difficult-to-understand concepts and rules. HIPAA Guidelines chapter provides general information about HIPAA legislation, with rules explaining its impact on topics such as e-mail, faxing, patient records, and privacy/security. Content has been updated to reflect changes in technology (such as use of the Internet), slang terms, and new medical terms that affect the rules of medical transcription. A table lists dangerous abbreviations to avoid, all banned by JCAHO. Homonyms and Sound-alike Words in the appendix focus on the many homonyms in medical language that can confuse a medical transcriptionist and cause a document to be transcribed incorrectly, leading to incorrect treatment of the patient. Appendices are lettered and thumb-tabbed for ease of use, to differentiate from the body of the text. Content reflects the AAMT style, the standard among major employers of medical transcriptionists.
Pearson's Comprehensive Medical Coding
For courses in medical coding. A proven, active-learning approach to coding education Pearson's Comprehensive Medical Coding: A Path to Success is a comprehensive text on the healthcare industry's coding systems: ICD-10-CM/PCS, CPT, and HCPCS. Its flexible organization makes the text useful for either a comprehensive coding course or separate courses in diagnosis coding, physician procedure coding, and inpatient hospital procedure coding. Chapters walk students through the entire coding process, from the diseases of organ systems and the analysis of medical records, to assigning and sequencing codes. With more than 6,300 coding exercises, the 2nd edition has been updated with 2019 ICD-10 CM/PCS, CPT, and HCPCS code sets. Also available with MyLab Health Professions By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. Developed for allied health students and instructors, MyLab Health Professions supports students' mastery and application of the skills they'll need for a successful career in health care. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab Health Professions does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab Health Professions, ask your instructor to confirm the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLab Health Professions, search for: 0134879309 / 9780134879307 Pearson's Comprehensive Medical Coding Plus MyLab Health Professions with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package, 2e Package consists of: 0134818806 / 9780134818801 Pearson's Comprehensive Medical Coding, 2e 0134868919 / 9780134868912 MyLab Health Professions with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for Pearson's Comprehensive Medical Coding, 2e
© 2023 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
Class Poll
