LibGuides: Human Sexuality : Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

50 Great Myths of Human Sexuality 50 Great Myths of Human Sexuality seeks to dispel commonly accepted myths and misunderstandings surrounding human sexuality, providing an enlightening, fascinating and challenging book that covers the fifty areas the author's believe individuals must understand to have a safe, pleasurable and healthy sex life. Dispels/Explores commonly accepted myths and misunderstandings surrounding human sexuality. Includes comparisons to other countries and cultures exploring different beliefs and how societies can influence perceptions. Areas discussed include: pre-marital sex, masturbation, sexual diseases, fantasy, pornography, relationships, contraception, and emotions such as jealousy, body image insecurity, passionate love and sexual aggression. Covers both heterosexual and same-sex relationships.
Gender Roles in American Life [2 Volumes] This two-volume set examines how the evolution of gender roles in the United States has changed family dynamics, business practices, and our concepts of womanhood and manhood as well as affected debates about equality, political and military service, and childrearing roles and practices. Addresses an important, high-interest topic for students as well as general audiences: how and why gender roles have evolved dramatically in American culture; Presents essential and illuminating primary documents from multiple perspectives--male and female, conservative and progressive, historical and current; Includes original headnotes and essays that provide essential context for a more complete understanding of documents and events.
Handbook on Sexuality: Perspectives, Issues and role in Society Sexuality can be defined as a process of integrating emotional, somatic, and intellectual and social aspects in ways that enhance one's own self. It incorporates intimacy, romance, sensuality, eroticism and relationships, and is an important contributing factor to an individual's quality of life and sense of well-being. In this book, the authors explore perspectives, issues and the role in society of sexuality. Topics discussed in this compilation include the functional measurement to cognitive mechanisms underlying attitudes toward sexuality and intellectual disability; the impact of rheumatic disease on sexual function; adolescent sexual behavior; queer sexuality and online pedagogy; sexual upbringing and sexual satisfaction; and sexuality and ageing within correctional facilities.
The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality This Encyclopedia is a comprehensive A-Z reference with over 500 entries that define sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems. Contains entries ranging from short definitions of scientific, clinical, cultural, and colloquial terms to extended explorations of major concepts; Covers 13 key areas of content, from clinical medicine and body modification to the language of sexuality and the history of sexology; Serves as an essential resource for students, scholars, and researchers with contributions from an international team of top scholars and practitioners.
Multicultural Gender Roles: Counseling and Psychotherapy Techniques Practical applications for mental health professionals and educators in helping clients and students understand and construct their roles within their schools, families, and communities. Edited by Dr. Marie Miville'a recognized authority on multicultural issues in counseling and psychology. Multicultural Gender Roles provides mental health professionals, educators, and students entering these fields with a solid research grounding on how people of color can reframe their gender roles in today's world. Featuring personal experiences and stories based on interviews with over sixty individuals from various racial-ethnic backgrounds, Multicultural Gender Roles explores: Gender role construction among men and women of color; Latino and Latina gender roles; Gender roles among Asian/Asian American men and women; Gender roles among African American men and women and negotiating multicultural gender roles. Utilizing current theory and new research, Multicultural Gender Roles provides practical applications for mental health professionals and educators working with diverse populations.
The Psych 101 Series: Psychology of Love 101 This incisive text provides a comprehensive tour of both classic and contemporary theories and research on the how and why of human love. In addition to presenting the major biological, social, and cultural theories that have been developed on this topic, the book looks at what research has shown us about such essential issues as basic attraction, the life course of relationships, how personality and environment affect love, and how therapeutic interventions can sometimes improve relationships.
When Women Sexually Abuse Men Revealing the shocking and detailed accounts of how adult women stalk, sexually assault, and even rape adult men, this book portrays an eye-opening reality: women can act as aggressive predators and victimize men. Details the rape trials of two women as well as other personal accounts and interviews; Utilizes careful analysis of research to determine the extent of this crime by adult women against adult men; Addresses a range of actions in which adult women sexually abuse or assault adult men, and offers advice and counsel to these victims; Provides surprising information that will be of value to law enforcement and corrections practitioners, social workers, business administrators, human resources personnel, academics in the fields of sociology, psychology, gender issues, and criminology, as well as general readers.

Featured Print Books

Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.

8 Rules of Love: How to Find it, Keep it and Let it Go This book offers a revelatory guide to every stage of romance, drawing on ancient wisdom and new science. Nobody sits us down and teaches us how to love. So we're often thrown into relationships with nothing but romance movies and pop culture to help us muddle through. Until now. Instead of presenting love as an ethereal concept or a collection of cliches, Jay Shetty lays out specific, actionable steps to help you develop the skills to practice and nurture love better than ever before. He shares insights on how to win or lose together, how to define love, and why you don't break in a break-up. Inspired by Vedic wisdom and modern science, he tackles the entire relationship cycle, from first dates to moving in together to breaking up and starting over. He also shows us how to avoid falling for false promises and unfulfilling partners. By living Jay Shetty's eight rules, we can all love ourselves, our partner, and the world better than we ever thought possible.
Bitch: On the Female of the Species A fierce, funny, and revolutionary look at the queens of the animal kingdom. Studying zoology made Lucy Cooke feel like a sad freak. Not because she loved spiders or would root around in animal feces; all her friends shared the same curious kinks. The problem was her sex. Being female meant she was, by nature, a loser. Since Charles Darwin, evolutionary biologists have been convinced that the males of the animal kingdom are the interesting ones--dominating and promiscuous, while females are dull, passive, and devoted. In Bitch, Cooke tells a new story. Whether investigating same-sex female albatross couples that raise chicks, murderous mother meerkats, or the titanic battle of the sexes waged by ducks, Cooke shows us a new evolutionary biology, one where females can be as dynamic as any male. This isn't your grandfather's evolutionary biology. It's more inclusive, truer to life, and, simply, more fun.
Emergency Contraception: The Story of a Global Reproductive Health Technology Despite its safety and efficacy, emergency contraception (EC) continues to spark political controversy worldwide. In this edited volume, authors explore how emergency contraception has been received, interpreted, and politicized, through the in-depth examination of the journey of women in 16 individual countries.
For Goodness Sex: Changing The Way We Talk to Teens About Sexuality, Values, and Health A progressive, effective, and responsible approach to sex education for parents and teens that challenges traditional teaching models and instead embraces 21st century realities by promoting healthy sexuality, values, and body image in young people. Sex education today generally falls into one of two categories: abstinence-only or abstinence-based education--both of which tend to withhold important, factual information and leave young adults ill-equipped to make safe decisions. Al Vernacchio, a high school sexuality educator who holds a Master's degree in Human Sexuality from the University of Pennsylvania, has created a new category: sex-positive education. In For Goodness Sex, he refutes the "disaster prevention" model of sex ed, offering a progressive and realistic approach: Sexuality is a natural part of life, and healthy sexuality can only develop from a sex-positive, affirming appreciation. Curious yet fearful of being judged, young people turn to peers, the Internet, and the media, where they receive problematic messages about sex: boys are studs, girls are sluts; real sex should be like porn; hookups are better than relationships. Without a broader understanding to offset these damaging perceptions, teenagers are dangerously unprepared intellectually and emotionally to grow and develop as sexual beings. For Goodness Sex offers the tools and insights adults need to talk young people and help them develop healthy values and safe habits. With real-life examples from the classroom, exercises and quizzes, and a wealth of sample discussions and crucial information, Vernacchio offers a guide to sex education for the twenty-first century.
Hooking Up: The Psychology of Sex and Dating This book is an engaging and comprehensive resource for high school and college students on modern topics in human sexuality, covering subjects such as gender roles and dating to sexual orientation and sex itself. Part of Greenwood's The Psychology of Everyday Life series, this book gives readers a single-stop resource for learning about the intersections of psychology, human attraction, sexuality, cultural norms, and sexual behavior. Written in a compelling and straightforward style, readers will enjoy learning about the subject and come away with a new perspective on sex and sexuality. This overview covers popular topics in human sexuality such as the ubiquitous forms of sex in society (e.g., gender roles, sexual orientation, media and technology, cultural norms about sex), the importance of sex in every individual's life, the positive and negative effects of sex, specific psychological theories and theorists, sex over the developmental lifespan, and different cultural perspectives on topics in human sexuality. The presentation of topics in the book builds logically on previously covered material; however, the information is presented so that students looking for specific information can read chapters out of order and still understand the primary content areas. Provides an easy-to-read, comprehensive overview of prominent topics in human sexuality and relationships, presenting a modern perspective on a traditional topic Presents research and science-based coverage of human sexuality without use of complex terminology or unfamiliar jargon Enables upper high school and college-level students to develop a better understanding of human sexuality and appreciate the myriad ways it relates to their everyday lives.
Hormones: A Very Short Introduction Hormones play an integral part in the balance and workings of the body. While many people are broadly aware of their existence, there are many misconceptions and few are aware of the nature and importance of the endocrine system. In this Very Short Introduction, Martin Luck explains what hormones are, what they do, where they come from, and how they work. He explains how the endocrine system operates, highlighting the importance of hormones in the regulation of water and salt in the body, how they affect reproduction and our appetites, and how they help us adjust to different environments, such as travel across time zones. In this fresh and modern treatment, Luck also touches on the ethical and moral issues surrounding research methods, testing on animals, and hormone misuse.
Sexually Transmitted Diseases Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health Information About Sexual Health and The Screening, Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prevention of Common Sexually Transmitted Diseases Provides basic consumer health information about risk factors, symptoms, testing, and treatment of sexually transmitted diseases and related complications, along with facts about prevention strategies. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Understanding Asexuality Asexuality can be defined as an enduring lack of sexual attraction. Thus, asexual individuals do not find (and perhaps never have) others sexually appealing. Some consider "asexuality" as a fourth category of sexual orientation, distinct from heterosexuality, homosexuality, or bisexuality. However, there is also recent evidence that the label "asexual" may be used in a broader way than merely as "a lack of sexual attraction." People who say they have sexual attraction to others, but indicate little or no desire for sexual activity are also self-identifying as asexual. Distinct from celibacy, which refers to sexual abstinence by choice where sexual attraction and desire may still be present, asexuality is experienced by those having a lack or sexual attraction or a lack of sexual desire. More and more, those who identify as asexual are "coming out," joining up, and forging a common identity. The time is right for a better understanding of this sexual orientation, written by an expert in the field who has conducted studies on asexuality and who has provided important contributions to understanding asexuality. This timely resource will be one of the first books written on the topic for general readers, and the first to look at the historical, biological, and social aspects of asexuality. It includes firsthand accounts throughout from people who identify as asexual. The study of asexuality, as it contrasts so clearly with sexuality, also holds up a lens and reveals clues to the mystery of sexuality.