This is the "Find eBooks" page of the "Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing  Tags: nursing nurse  

This COM Library LibGuide describes resources available for Nursing. Find the best books, eBooks, articles, Internet resources on nursing, and access our APA style citation guide.
Last update: Aug 3rd, 2010 URL: http://libguides.com.edu/nursing  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Find eBooks            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

CREDO Reference

CREDO Reference

Award winning full text reference resource. CREDO Reference covers a wide range of topics and includes images and illustrations. A unique and time saving feature of CREDO is that after performing a search users can continue the same search in other COM Library resources, such as COMCat, the Library's catalog and our other databases. Search Tips (PDF) | Pocket User Guide (PDF).

Click on a title to access the eBook. If you are off campus you will be asked for your student ID and last name.

Jacket image

Churchill Livingstone's Dictionary of Nursing
Provides in-depth coverage of a variety of topics in A-Z entries and appendices. Entries have been carefully edited and illustrations selected to give a true nursing focus.

 

 

Jacket imageMosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
A combination of relevant, thorough definitions and vibrant color illustrations and line drawings that illuminate all subject areas.

 

 

More CREDO medical eBooks:

 

Featured NetLibrary eBooks

 

NetLibraryAccess thousands of eBooks in the College of the Mainland Collection, including a special Texana section. eBooks can be viewed online in COM Library or on your home or office computer. Just click on the covers to access the eBook. If you are off campus your will be asked for your student ID and last name.

 
1.   Book Cover
 
LPN Notes: Nurse's Clinical Pocket Guide
Davis's Notes; 2nd Ed.

1 Communication Lifespan Considerations ■ Be considerate of generational and gender differences. ■ When dealing with elderly Pts, be aware of cognitive impairment, but never assume that a Pt is cognitively impaired simply because of advanced age. ■ Approach children at their eye level. Address them by name and use language appropriate to their developmental level. Cultural Considerations ■ Be aware that culture has a strong influence on an individual’s interpretation of and responses to health care. ■ An interpreter may help ease anxieties of a language barrier.

 

2.
Book Cover
 
Nurse's Pocket Guide: Diagnoses, Prioritized Interventions, and Rationales
11Th Ed.

The Nursing Process Nursing is both a science and an art concerned with the physical, psychological, sociological, cultural, and spiritual concerns of the individual. The science of nursing is based on a broad theoretical framework; its art depends on the caring skills and abilities of the individual nurse. In its early developmental years, nursing did not seek or have the means to control its own practice. In more recent times, the nursing profession has struggled to define what makes nursing unique and has identified a body of professional knowledge unique to nursing practice.

 

3.
Book Cover
 
Assess Notes: Nursing Assessment & Diagnostic Reasoning
Davis's Notes

1 Assessment and the Functional Health Patterns Assessment is the collection and interpretation of information. It offers a glimpse into the perceptions, meanings, and logic patients use to organize and make sense of their world. Data are used in the three types of professional judgment within the nursing process: ■ Diagnostic judgment: Identification of an actual or potential health problem. ■ Therapeutic judgment: Decisions about intervention, outcome projection, and evaluation. ■ Ethical judgment: Identification of an actual or potential moral problem. Purpose of Assessment The information gathered during an assessment is not merely collected and recorded.

 

4.
Book Cover
 
MedSurg Notes: Nurse's Clinical Pocket Guide
Davis's Notes; 2nd Ed.

1 Legal Issues in MedSurg Care Legal issues affect all aspects of nursing care. Urgent care situations, in which the patient’s life may be lost or potential quality of life compromised, require even more vigilant attention to nursing standards of care and best practices. The nurse practice law of each state defines the scope of nursing practice for that state. Advanced practice nurses, such as nurse midwives, nurse anesthetists, and clinical nurse specialists, function under a broader scope of practice. ■ Know your state’s nurse practice law; contact your state board of nursing for a copy. ■ Know your state’s requirements for licensure, and maintain your nursing license as required.

 

5.
Book Cover
Nursing Diagnosis Manual: Planning, Individualizing, and Documenting Client Care
2Nd Ed.

The Nursing Process: The Foundation of Quality Client Care Defining the Profession In the world of healthcare, nursing has long struggled to establish itself as a profession. Dictionary terms describe nursing as “a calling requiring specialized knowledge and often long and intensive academic preparation; a principal calling, vocation, or employment; the whole body of persons engaged in a calling.” 1 Throughout the history of nursing, unfavorable stereotypes (based on the view of nursing as subservient and dependent on the medical profession) have negatively affected the view of nursing as an independent entity.
 

Librarian

Profile Image
Kathryn Park
Online Chat / Networks:
Facebook LogoTwitter Logo
Contact Info:
Ask via Phone (409) 933-8448
Ask via Text (409) 229-4142
Send Email
 

COM Library URL: http://library.com.edu
© Copyright 1998-2010 Library, College of the Mainland
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
(409) 933-8448 . FAX (409) 938-8918
Send comments and suggestions about COM Library to a Library Staff member.

Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait