LibGuides: How to Succeed in College!: Home

Books & eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

100% Student Success 100% Student Success promotes student achievement by addressing practical student tasks such as note-taking and reading strategies, while encouraging students to develop skills like critical thinking, goal-setting, time management, and balancing life responsibilities with school-all skills that will serve them well beyond college. The third edition of 100% Student Success retains important features such as self-assessment questions and Apply It! exercises, and now features earlier presentation of communication skills, more on avoiding plagiarism, and coverage of social media.
College Success Guaranteed : 5 Rules to Make It Happen As a lifelong teacher, Malcolm Gauld has watched thousands of kids go off to college. Some return to visit after their first year exuding the vibe of conquering heroes. Others look, well, pretty bummed out. This book offers a plan to help the new college student complete Year #1 as a member of the first group. With anecdotes from current college students and recent graduates, the book presents five simple rules: Rule #1: Go to Class - I've never known a kid who flunked out of college who attended all his or her classes. Rule #2: Study 3 Hours X 5 days per week - How to transition from homework to study. Rule #3: Commit to Something - Don't drown in free time. Here's how to stay afloat. Rule #4: Get a Mentor - How to set up a support system. Rule #5: Procrastination Kills - How to rise above. The book is a short, non-preachy, fun, and tad irreverent primer that can help you get off to a strong start toward the 'best four years of your life.'
Community college companion : everything you wanted to know about succeeding in a two-year school Enrollment at community colleges is booming. but as students of all ages pursue this path many don't know how to pick the right program, juggle classes with other responsibilities, or succeed academically. This book guides students through these areas and shows them how to make the most of the community college experience. Students will explore certificate and degree options; connect their needs, plans, and personalities to courses and programs; and gain tips for enhancing their financial aid package and scoring scholarships. Community College Companion also takes students beyond the early stages of their experience to set themselves up for success in college and their future careers. Readers learn how to make the most of online courses; take advantage of campus resources; avoid commuting inefficiencies; play it smart during the transfer process; and develop a career plan.
The Complete Idiot's Guide® to College Survival Offers survival tips on adjusting to college life, on- and off-campus housing, the Greek scene, studying, exams and papers, finances, partying, and balancing work and leisure time.
Dean's List : Eleven Habits of Highly Successful College Students With a solid GPA, numerous extracurricular achievements, and an acceptance letter from an excellent college, it seems that all of your hard work in school has paid off. Now what? What can you expect from college life, and how can you get the most out of it? This book answers these questions to help you excel in college. Deans at America's top institutions tell you what you need to know to have a rich and rewarding college experience. Armed with an insider's perspective, you will develop habits critical for college success, including: * Focusing on learning, not on grades* Building an adult relationship with your parents* Working the system by understanding the system* Learning from diversity at home and abroad* Coping with failure * Planning boldly for life after college Dean's List offers a thoughtful, common-sense approach to higher education that allows every student to achieve. Many books will tell you how to get an "A" in class, but this book encourages you to do more--to explore college life, embrace new challenges, and become independent. Includes expert advice from deans at top U.S. colleges: Barnard College * Brown University * Bryn Mawr College * Columbia University * Cornell University * Dartmouth College * Duke University * Georgetown University * Harvard University * The Johns Hopkins University * Mount Holyoke College * Northwestern University * Oberlin College * Pomona College * Princeton University * Rice University * Smith College * Stanford University * University of Pennsylvania * University of Rochester * Wellesley College * Yale University
A Freshman Survival Guide for College Students with Autism Spectrum Disorders How do you know which college is right for you? What happens if you don't get on with your roommate? And what on earth is the Greek system all about? As a university student with High-Functioning Autism, Haley Moss offers essential tips and advice in this insider's guide to surviving the Freshman year of college. Chatty, honest and full of really useful information, Haley's first-hand account of the college experience covers everything students with Autism Spectrum Disorders need to know. She talks through getting ready for college, dorm life and living away from parents, what to expect from classes, professors and exams, and how to cope in new social situations and make friends. This book is a must-read for all students on the autism spectrum who are about to begin their first year of college, parents and teachers who are helping them prepare, and college faculty and staff.
The Guide to Learning and Study Skills - For Higher Education and at Work Skills in learning and studying are vital to ensure success in higher education study, whether at undergraduate or postgraduate level, in university, college or in the workplace. Skills are needed in reflection, analysis, communication and recording information to produce good work, to engage effectively in a group, to carry out a project or perform well in exams; personal skills are needed to handle time and pressure and to relate to others on a course or in the workplace. This new guide builds on the hugely successful materials the authors have developed over the last 15 years. Along with highly practical guidance on traditional learning skills, The Guide to Learning and Study Skills provides direction for students on learning in a blended environment; the increased use of personal and professional development planning, continuing professional development and work-based learning.
Say this, not that to your professor : 36 talking tips for college success For First-Year Experience, College Success, Student Development and any course where learning effective communication skills for college is a priority. In this award-winning book, tenured communication professor takes students "inside the faculty mind," and provides the words professors wish students would say to manage their classroom experience with confidence. Say This, NOT That to Your Professor gives students inside tips on how to interact so professors will respond in a positive manner. They'll learn to create opportunities and properly stand up for themselves, rather than fumble over excuses. Students will have improved relationships with professors, better grades, and an amazing college experience!
Under Pressure and Overwhelmed: Coping with Anxiety in College Several recent studies have found that anxiety is increasing among college students. In today's competitive college environment, students frequently find themselves overwhelmed with worry and anxiety as they struggle to make the grade academically, fit in socially, discover who they are, and ponder their futures. This book helps students (and their parents and counselors) deal effectively with predictable anxieties associated with college. The authors offer suggestions and techniques, based on extensive research on the treatment of anxiety, to help students cope more effectively with the common sources of anxiety. In addition, the book describes the most common and debilitating disorders of anxiety, such as panic attacks, phobias, and obsessive-compulsive disorder, that affect more than 10% of Americans and most frequently have their onset during the college years. The initial section of the book begins by describing the scope of the problem of anxiety as it relates to college students. The next section discusses the nature of anxiety reactions, noting the contribution of factors such as biological predisposition and developmental factors. Finally, the third section provides general strategies for managing anxiety such as doing relaxation exercises, challenging negative thoughts and perspectives, and facing fears. Vignettes about college students dealing with anxiety are included throughout.
Your college experience : strategies for success Written by the leading authorities on the first-year seminar and grounded in research, Your College Experience by John Gardner and Betsy Barefoot offers today's diverse students the practical help they need to make the transition to college and get the most out of their time there. While maintaining its hallmark theme of goal setting, the Eleventh Edition reflects a focus on practical strategies across all topics of the book to help students be successful from the start. Chapters on Time Management, Communication and Information Literacy, and Careers and Majors have all been thoroughly updated to fully incorporate the tools and strategies students use on campus right now. A full package of instructional support materials--including an Instructor's Annotated Edition, Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, videos, and a Test Bank--provides new and experienced instructors all the tools they will need to engage students in this course and increase student retention. See what's in the LaunchPad