Research assistance from your friendly COM Librarians! Learn how to research papers, cite sources, and much more… Research assistance from your friendly COM Librarians! Learn how to research papers, cite sources, and much more… Ask COM Library Browse All LibGuides Subjects Internet basics, eBooks, Google, public journals online, how to get the good stuff, search sites, tips and more. Search our catalog for books, read eBooks, find out what new books we have, suggest books, see what other libraries have and more. Access databases with thousands of full text articles, online journals, free articles on the Internet, and more.

LibGuides - Browse By Tag
Choose a tag for a list of related guides.

  Search: 
 

Browse By Tag

academic successacsactive learningadult educationafrican americanamericanamerican historyamerican literatureanatomyapaarchivedarchivesartarticlesasian americanassignmentbannedbeatlesbibliotecabiologyblackboardbooksbritishbullybullyingbusinesscancercareerchemistrycinahlcinco de mayocirculationcitationcivil rightscollege of the mainlandcollege studentscommunicationcomputerscriminal justiceculturecurrent eventsdatabasesdedisasterdisastersdistance eddramaebooksebscoeducationelectionsemailemergency medical servicesemploymentemsemtenglishenglish 0360english 1301english 1302english 2311english 2322english 2323english 2327english 2328english 2332english 2333environmentenvironmental geologyeslespañolethicsethniceventsexecutive branchfacts on filefacultyfeedbackfilmfine artsfrankensteinfreegalegedgenealogygeographygeologygooglegothicgovernmentgreengsahaitihealthhispanichispanic americanhist 1301hist 1302historical geologyhistoryhorrorhot topicshow tohuman resourceshumanitieshurricaneinformation literacyinternetjobjournalsjuneteenthlablanguagelegallibrariesliteraturemapsmathmath/sciencemediamedicalmedical terminologymeteorologymexicanmicrobiologymicrosoft accessmicrosoft excelmicrosoft officemicrosoft outlookmicrosoft powerpointmicrosoft wordmilitarymlamobilems powerpointms wordmusicnative americannewsnursenursingnutritionoff campus accessofficepaperpathophysiologyphilosophyphotographyphysicsphysiologyplayspoetrypoliticspresentationpresidencypresidentsprimary sourceprimary sourcesprintingprofessional developmentproquestpsychologypublic service careersqrreadingreferencereligionresearchreservesscanscienceskillssocial sciencessociologyspeechstaffsuccesssuffragesurveytaxesteachingtechnologytestingtexastheatertipstutorialsundeadunited statesvampireveteransvideoweatherwebadvisorwomenworldwritingzombie
Research
Ask Us
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 17, 2015
Lost on the Internet? Can't find the articles you need in our databases? At COM Library questions are welcome--ask us!
Tags: libraries, reference, research
Current Awareness
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 15, 2015
How to use EBSCO, Gale and Google tools to receive journal, author and/or news alerts on topics of your choice.
Tags: faculty, professional development, research
Databases
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 25, 2015
Get articles in the best databases for your subject.
Tags: articles, databases, off campus access, research
Distance Ed Student's Guide to the Library
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Nov 25, 2014
The best library resources for Distance Ed students.
Tags: de, distance ed, libraries, off campus access, research
eBooks
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 29, 2015
Read the full text of eBooks online 24/7. Get the best COM Library and free sources to access or download eBooks to your computer or mobile device.
Tags: books, ebooks, off campus access, research
EBSCO Databases LibGuides
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 5, 2015
Access all EBSCO databases and LibGuides.
Tags: articles, databases, ebooks, ebsco, how to, off campus access, research
Gale Databases LibGuides
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Dec 11, 2014
Access all Gale databases and LibGuides.
Tags: articles, databases, ebooks, gale, how to, off campus access, research
Getting Started with College Level Research
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jul 24, 2014
How to begin college level research.
Tags: english, research
Google
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Nov 7, 2014
How to get the most out of Google searches, drive and much more!
Tags: google, internet, research
How to Find Articles
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jul 30, 2014
Get the overview of how to find articles including databases basics, how to get more or fewer articles, hot topics and databases by subject.
Tags: articles, databases, how to, research
How to Find Books
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 23, 2015
Get the overview of how to find books, search WorldCat, find eBooks, find books on the shelves, get books from other libraries and more.
Tags: books, how to, research
How to Find Internet Resources
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 10, 2015
Internet basics, how to get the good stuff, search sites and tips.
Tags: internet, research
How to Research Hot Topics
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 2, 2015
Find articles on hot topics and controversial issues in COM Library databases. Step by step instructions for the top Hot Topics Databases included!
Tags: current events, databases, english 1301, hot topics, how to, research
How to Use Academic Search Complete
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 6, 2015
How to use Academic Search Complete. Get the basics, how to cite, how to link to articles and more.
Tags: current events, databases, ebsco, english 1301, hot topics, how to, research
How to Use Artemis Literary Sources
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 2, 2015
Artemis brings together all Gale literature related content in a single interface with great features that can save you time. Get the basics, advanced features and how to cite from Artemis.
Tags: databases, english 2322, english 2323, english 2327, english 2328, english 2332, english 2333, gale, how to, literature, research
How to Use Britannica Academic
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Oct 23, 2014
Get Britannica basics, cite from Britannica and more.
Tags: databases, how to, reference, research
How to Use COMCat
by Kathie Goldfarb - Last Updated Jun 20, 2014
How to use COMCat to find Books, eBooks and Media and to view your patron records
Tags: books, how to, reference, research
How to Use CQ Researcher
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 5, 2015
How to use CQ Researcher. Get the basics, grab citations and help.
Tags: current events, databases, english 1301, hot topics, how to, research
How to Use EBSCO eBooks
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 9, 2015
How to access and use the thousands of eBooks in COM Library's EBSCO eBooks collection.
Tags: books, ebooks, ebsco, how to, off campus access, research
How to Use Films on Demand (FOD)
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 13, 2015
How to access thousands of high quality academic, technical and archival streaming videos 24/7 on or off campus.
Tags: databases, how to, media, research, video
How to Use Google Scholar
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Dec 8, 2014
Get the most from Google Scholar: learn how to set preferences, grab citations, get documents for free from TexShare databases and more.
Tags: google, how to, internet, research
How to Use GVRL eBooks
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Nov 25, 2014
How to access and use the eBooks in COM Library's GVRL eBooks collection.
Tags: books, databases, ebooks, gale, how to, literature, off campus access, research
How to Use HeritageQuest Online
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Nov 14, 2014
HeritageQuest Online is designed for genealogy and family history research.
Tags: databases, genealogy, history, how to, primary source, proquest, research
How to Use Issues & Controversies
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Dec 16, 2014
How to use Issues & Controversies. Get the basics, grab citations and help.
Tags: articles, current events, databases, english 1301, facts on file, hot topics, how to, research
How to Use Literary Reference Center (LRC)
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 2, 2015
Get the basics, advanced features, most studied authors, works, full text classics and how to cite from LRC.
Tags: articles, databases, ebsco, english 2322, english 2323, english 2327, english 2328, english 2332, english 2333, how to, humanities, literature, research
How to Use ProQuest Research Library
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Dec 4, 2014
How to use Research Library. Get the basics, grab citations and help.
Tags: articles, databases, how to, off campus access, proquest, research
How to Use Reference Databases
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated May 31, 2014
How to use our top reference databases and access all COM Library reference databases.
Tags: databases, how to, off campus access, reference, research
How to Use WorldCat
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jun 20, 2014
Use WorldCat to search for items in COM Library, including thousands of books, eBooks and Media items that were purchased specifically to support your classes at College of the Mainland.
Tags: books, databases, how to, research
Information Ethics
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 15, 2015
Learn how to evaluate and cite your sources, plagiarism and copyright.
Tags: english, information literacy, research
Information Literacy LibGuide
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Oct 8, 2014
Learn what information literacy is, get articles, books, eBooks and web sites on information literacy and see how COM Library supports information literacy at College of the Mainland.
Tags: information literacy, libraries, research
Library Jargon
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jun 14, 2014
Baffled by Boolean? Confused about call numbers? Library jargon defined.
Tags: libraries, reference, research
Mobile Research
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Nov 25, 2014
Access the best resources for research from your mobile device.
Tags: mobile, research
Opposing Viewpoints
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 9, 2015
How to use Opposing Viewpoints. Get the basics, grab citations and help.
Tags: current events, databases, english 1301, hot topics, how to, research
Paper Calculator
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 15, 2015
Your step by step guide to getting your paper done!
Tags: paper, research, writing
Research Tutorial
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 29, 2014
Your introduction to college level research.
Tags: english 1301, research
Tips for Finding Primary Sources
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 11, 2015
Your best bets for finding primary sources, plus step by step tips to save you time and get the sources you need.
Tags: assignment, history, primary sources, research, tips
Tips for Finding Scholarly & Peer Reviewed Articles
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 25, 2015
Your best bets for finding scholarly & peer reviewed articles, plus step by step tips to save you time and get the sources you need.
Tags: assignment, research, tips
Top Tips for Papers & Presentations
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 9, 2015
Get top tips on assignments, research, citation, Word, PowerPoint and Tech for papers and presentations.
Tags: assignment, ms powerpoint, ms word, paper, presentation, research, success, tips
 

 

© Copyright 1998-2015 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
(409) 933-8448 . FAX (409) 933-8030
Send comments and suggestions about COM Library to a Library Staff member.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.