Guides - Browse By Tag
Choose a tag for a list of related guides.

  Search: 
 

Browse By Tag

abstractacademic successaccountingacsactingactive learningadult educationafricaafrican americanalgebraallied healthamericanamerican historyamerican literatureanatomyancientannotated. bibliographyapaapplied physicsarchivedarchivesartart appreciationart historyarticlesasiaasian americanassignmentbannedbaroquebasicsbeatlesbibliotecabiologyblackboardbluesbooksborrowingbritishbullybullyingbusinessbyzantinecacancercardiaccareercelticceramicschemistrychildrencinahlcinco de mayocinemacitationcitizencivil rightsclassicalclinical procedurescollectionscollege of the mainlandcollege physicscollege studentscoloringcom historycomicscommunicationcomputersconstitutioncopiescosmetologycountrycoursecriminal justicecsacubismculturecurrent eventsdadadatabasesdedisastersdistance eddramadvdeasybibebooksebscoecon2301econ2302economicseducationelectionsemailemergency medical servicesemotional intelligenceemploymentemsemtenglishenglish 0360english 1301english 1302english 2311english 2322english 2323english 2327english 2328english 2332english 2333environmentenvironmental geologyeslespañolessaysethicsethniceuropeevaluationeventsexecutive branchexpressionismfacts on filefacultyfashionfauvismfederalfederal governmentfeedbackfeedlyfilmfinancefine artsfitnessflexibilityfolkfrankensteinfreegalaxiesgalegalvestongamesgedgendergenealogygeologygooglegothicgovernmentgrammargraphic novelsgreengsaguidelineshairstyleshazardshealthhealth information managementhelphigh school equivalencyhip hophispanichispanic americanhist 1301hist 1302historical geologyhistoryhorrorhot topicshourshoustonhow tohumhuman resourceshumanitieshurricaneimpressionisminfobaseinformation literacyinternetirish americanislamjazzjobjournalsjuneteenthlablaboratory procedureslanguagelawlegallgbtlibrarieslibrarylife long learningliteraturelocalmacroeconomicsmagazinesmangamannerismmapsmarketingmathmath/sciencemediamedicalmedical administrative supportmedical assistantmedical terminologymedievalmeteorologymethodologymexicanmexican americanmicrobiologymicroeconomicsmicrosoft accessmicrosoft excelmicrosoft officemicrosoft outlookmicrosoft powerpointmicrosoft wordmilitarymineralsmlamobilemodernmotownmulticuturalmusicmusic theorymusicalsnative americanneoclassicalnewsnursenursingnutritionoceaniaoff campus accessofficeoperaoverdrivepaperpathophysiologyperformancepharmacologyphilosophyphotographyphysicsphysiologyplayspoetrypoliticspoppost impressionismpotteryprehistoricpresidencypresidentsprimary sourcesprintingprofessional developmentpronunciatorproquestpsyc2301psyc2306psyc2314psyc2317psychologypublic service careersqrquotationsr&breadingrealismreferencereligionrenaissanceresearchreservesrockrocksrococoromanesqueromanticismrssscansciencesciencesskillssoci 1301social sciencessocial sciences. legislationsociologysolar systemssoulspacesspainspanishspecial interestspeechstaffstagecraftstarstat!refstatisticsstreamingstudentstudysubject guidesuccesssuffragesurrealismsurveytaxesteachingtechnical theatertechnologytestingtexastexas citytexas historytextbookstheatertipstopicstraumatutorialsundeadunited statesusovampirevampiresveteransvideovocabularyweatherwebadvisorweight controlweight trainingweldingwellnesswomenwomen's historyworldworld historywritingyogayoung adultziniozombiezombies
How To
Cite ACS Style
by Erin McDaniel - Last Updated Oct 7, 2016
ACS guide according to The ACS Style Guide 3rd edition from the American Chemical Society.
Tags: acs, citation, how to, math/science, reference
Cite APA Style
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Nov 10, 2016
APA style according to the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual from the American Psychological Association.
Tags: apa, citation, how to, math/science, nursing, reference, speech
Cite GSA Style
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Oct 7, 2016
Guide to GSA style as developed by the Geological Society of America.
Tags: citation, geology, gsa, how to, math/science, science
Cite MLA Style 7th Edition
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Oct 7, 2016
MLA style according to the 7th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers from the Modern Language Association.
Tags: citation, ems, english, english 1301, english 1302, how to, mla, reference
Cite MLA Style 8th Edition
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Oct 8, 2016
MLA style according to the 8th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers from the Modern Language Association.
Tags: citation, ems, english, english 1301, english 1302, how to, mla, reference
How to Find Articles
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 2, 2016
Get the overview of how to find articles including databases basics, how to get more or fewer articles, hot topics and databases by subject.
Tags: articles, databases, how to, research
How to Find Books
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated May 23, 2016
Get the overview of how to find books, search WorldCat, find eBooks, find books on the shelves, get books from other libraries and more.
Tags: books, how to, research
How to Find Current Federal & Texas Legislation
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jul 28, 2016
How to find current Federal & Texas legislation in 3 steps.
Tags: government, how to, humanities, social sciences, speech
How to Use Britannica Academic
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 29, 2016
Get Britannica basics, cite from Britannica and more.
Tags: databases, how to, reference, research
How to Use COMCat
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Aug 1, 2016
How to use COMCat to find Books, eBooks and Media and to view your account.
Tags: books, how to, reference, research
How to Use CQ Researcher
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated May 6, 2016
How to use CQ Researcher. Get the basics, grab citations and help.
Tags: current events, databases, english 1301, hot topics, how to, research
How to Use CREDO Reference
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Oct 8, 2016
Get CREDO Reference basics, learn how to find books, use topic pages, mind map, image search or cite from CREDO Reference.
Tags: databases, ebooks, how to, reference
How to Use EasyBib
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Nov 14, 2016
With the full version of EasyBib (available with the COM Library code) you can automatically generate citations, works cited page and more in ACS, APA, Chicago, GSA, MLA 7, MLA 8, and more! Learn the basics and how to get free, full access.
Tags: citation, easybib, how to
How to Use EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
How to use Academic Search Complete. Get the basics, how to cite, how to link to articles and more.
Tags: current events, databases, ebsco, english 1301, hot topics, how to, research
How to Use EBSCOhost CINAHL
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Aug 30, 2016
How to use CINAHL, the definitive nursing database.
Tags: articles, cinahl, databases, ebsco, how to, nursing
How to Use EBSCOhost Databases
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Aug 30, 2016
Access all EBSCOhost databases and Guides such as Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, EBSCOhost eBooks and Literary Reference Center (LRC).
Tags: articles, databases, ebooks, ebsco, how to, off campus access, research
How to Use EBSCOhost eBooks
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Nov 28, 2016
How to access and use the thousands of eBooks in COM Library's EBSCOhost eBooks collection.
Tags: books, ebooks, ebsco, how to, off campus access, research
How to Use EBSCOhost Literary Reference Center (LRC)
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Aug 30, 2016
Get the basics, advanced features, most studied authors, works, full text classics and how to cite from LRC.
Tags: articles, databases, ebsco, english 2322, english 2323, english 2327, english 2328, english 2332, english 2333, how to, humanities, literature, research
How to Use Films on Demand (FOD)
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 15, 2016
How to access thousands of high quality academic, technical and archival streaming videos 24/7 on or off campus.
Tags: databases, how to, media, research, video
How to Use Gale Artemis Literary Sources
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 3, 2016
Artemis brings together all Gale literature related content in a single interface with great features that can save you time. Get the basics, advanced features and how to cite from Artemis.
Tags: databases, english 2322, english 2323, english 2327, english 2328, english 2332, english 2333, gale, how to, literature, research
How to Use Gale Databases
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Aug 24, 2016
Access all Gale databases and Guides such as Artemis, GVRL eBooks, Opposing Viewpoints and Science in Context.
Tags: articles, databases, ebooks, gale, how to, off campus access, research
How to Use Gale GVRL eBooks
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 3, 2016
How to access and use the eBooks in COM Library's Gale GVRL eBooks collection.
Tags: books, databases, ebooks, gale, how to, literature, off campus access, research
How to Use Gale Opposing Viewpoints
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
How to use Opposing Viewpoints. Get the basics, grab citations and help.
Tags: current events, databases, english 1301, hot topics, how to, research
How to Use Google Play Books, Magazines & Newspapers
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated May 9, 2016
Discover Google’s hidden library of full text books, magazines and newspapers.
Tags: books, ebooks, google, how to
How to Use Google Scholar
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 24, 2016
Get the most from Google Scholar: learn how to set preferences, grab citations, get documents for free from COM Library databases and more.
Tags: google, how to, internet, research
How to Use HeritageQuest Online
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jul 28, 2016
HeritageQuest Online is designed for genealogy and family history research.
Tags: databases, genealogy, history, how to, primary sources, proquest, research
How to Use Issues & Controversies
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Aug 26, 2016
How to use Issues & Controversies. Get the basics, grab citations and help.
Tags: articles, current events, databases, english 1301, facts on file, hot topics, how to, research
How to Use LearningExpress Library
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 19, 2016
Learn how to use LearningExpress Library to access practice exams, preparation, courses, guides, and skills improvement related to college, computers, software, citizenship and employment.
Tags: career, databases, how to, job, skills, testing, tutorials
How to Use OverDrive eBooks
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Nov 18, 2016
Get literature, fiction and nonfiction eBooks from COM Library's OverDrive collection.
Tags: ebooks, how to, overdrive
How to Use ProQuest Databases
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Aug 9, 2016
Access all ProQuest databases and guides such as ebrary, ProQuest Research Library and ProQuest Literature & Language.
Tags: databases, how to, proquest
How to Use ProQuest Literature & Language
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 5, 2016
How to use ProQuest Literature & Language. Get the basics, grab citations and my research.
Tags: english 2322, english 2323, english 2327, english 2328, english 2332, english 2333, how to, literature, proquest
How to Use ProQuest Research Library
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
Get the basics, grab citations and help.
Tags: articles, databases, how to, off campus access, proquest, research
How to Use ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 3, 2016
Get the basics, grab citations and help.
Tags: articles, databases, how to, off campus access, proquest, research
How to Use ProQuest Texas Digital Sanborn Maps
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 3, 2016
How to use ProQuest Texas Digital Sanborn maps.
Tags: databases, history, how to, maps, primary sources, proquest, texas
How to Use Swank Digital Campus
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Nov 29, 2016
Stream feature films chosen by faculty to support COM courses from studios like MGM, Paramount, and Sony. Stream 24/7 on or off campus.
Tags: databases, how to, media, research, video
How to Use WorldCat
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Aug 1, 2016
Use WorldCat to search for items in COM Library, including thousands of books, eBooks and Media items collected to support your classes at College of the Mainland.
Tags: books, databases, ebooks, how to, research
Tips for Finding & Using Opinion, Pro & Con Sources
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Mar 30, 2016
Your best bets for hot topics research, plus tips to save you time and get the sources you need.
Tags: assignment, how to, research, tips
Tips for Finding Academic & Scholarly Articles
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jul 7, 2016
Your best bets for finding academic & scholarly articles, plus step by step tips to save you time and get the sources you need.
Tags: assignment, how to, research, tips
Tips for Finding Articles with Methodology & Results
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Mar 30, 2016
Your best bets for finding articles with methodology and results, plus step by step tips to save you time and get the sources you need.
Tags: assignment, how to, methodology, research, tips
Tips for Finding Full Text Literary Works
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 26, 2016
Your best bets for finding full text classics and literary works in print or online.
Tags: how to, humanities, literature, tips
Tips for Finding Peer Reviewed Articles
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jul 7, 2016
Your best bets for finding peer reviewed articles, plus step by step tips to save you time and get the sources you need.
Tags: assignment, how to, research, tips
Tips for Finding Primary Sources
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 26, 2016
Your best bets for finding primary sources from the library, plus step by step tips to save you time and get the sources you need.
Tags: assignment, history, how to, primary sources, research, social sciences, tips
Tips for Finding Primary Sources Open Access
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Mar 30, 2016
Your best bets for finding primary sources that are open access, plus step by step tips to save you time and get the sources you need.
Tags: assignment, history, how to, primary sources, research, social sciences, tips
Tips for Finding the Full Text of an Article or Book
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Nov 18, 2015
Tips for finding an article or book you want but can't find the full text or just have a citation to it.
Tags: articles, books, databases, how to
Top Google Tricks
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 21, 2016
Learn the tricks that can save you time!
Tags: google, how to, internet, tips
Top Tips
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 23, 2016
All the top tips to help with your papers and research.
Tags: how to, paper, research, tips