Guides - Browse By Tag
Choose a tag for a list of related guides.

  Search: 
 

Browse By Tag

abstractacademic successaccountingacsactingactive learningadult educationafricaafrican americanalgebraallied healthamericanamerican historyamerican literatureanatomyancientannotated. bibliographyapaapplied physicsappsarchivedarchivesartart appreciationart historyarticlesasiaasian americanassignmentbannedbaroquebasicsbeatlesbiasbibliotecabiologyblackboardbluesbooksborrowingbritishbullybullyingbusinessbyzantinecacancercardiaccareercelticceramicschemistrychildrencinahlcinco de mayocinemacitationcitizencivil rightsclassicalclinical procedurescollectionscollege of the mainlandcollege physicscollege studentscoloringcom historycomicscommunicationcomputersconstitutioncopiescosmetologycountrycoursecriminal justicecsacubismculturecurrent eventsdadadatabasesdedigitaldisastersdistance eddramadvdeasybibebooksebscoecon2301econ2302economicseducationelectionsemailemergency medical servicesemotional intelligenceemploymentemsemtenglishenglish 0360english 1301english 1302english 2311english 2322english 2323english 2327english 2328english 2332english 2333environmentenvironmental geologyeslespañolessaysethicsethniceuropeevaluationeventsexecutive branchexpressionismfacts on filefacultyfashionfauvismfederalfederal governmentfeedbackfeedlyfilmfinancefine artsfitnessflexibilityfolkfrankensteinfreegalaxiesgalegalvestongamesgedgendergenealogygeologygooglegothicgovernmentgrammargraphic novelsgreengsaguidelineshairstyleshazardshealthhealth information managementhelphigh school equivalencyhip hophispanichispanic americanhist 1301hist 1302historical geologyhistoryhorrorhot topicshourshoustonhow tohumhuman resourceshumanitieshurricaneimpressionisminfobaseinformation literacyinternetirish americanislamjazzjobjournalsjuneteenthlablaboratory procedureslanguagelawlegallgbtlibrarieslibrarylife long learningliteraturelocalmacroeconomicsmagazinesmangamannerismmapsmarketingmathmath/sciencemediamedicalmedical administrative supportmedical assistantmedical terminologymedievalmeteorologymethodologymexicanmexican americanmicrobiologymicroeconomicsmicrosoft accessmicrosoft excelmicrosoft officemicrosoft outlookmicrosoft powerpointmicrosoft wordmilitarymineralsmlamobilemodernmotownmulticuturalmusicmusic theorymusicalsnative americanneoclassicalnewsnursenursingnutritionoceaniaoff campus accessofficeonlineopen accessoperaoverdrivepaperpathophysiologyperformancepharmacologyphilosophyphotographyphysicsphysiologyplayspoetrypoliticspoppost impressionismpotteryprehistoricpresidencypresidentsprimary sourcesprintingprofessional developmentpronunciatorproquestpsyc2301psyc2306psyc2314psyc2317psychologypublic service careersqrquotationsr&breadingrealismreferencereligionrenaissanceresearchreservesrockrocksrococoromanesqueromanticismrssscansciencesciencesskillssoci 1301social sciencessocial sciences. legislationsociologysolar systemssoulspacesspainspanishspecial interestspeechstaffstagecraftstarstat!refstatisticsstreamingstudentstudysubject guidesuccesssuffragesurrealismsurveytaxesteachingtechnical theatertechnologytestingtexastexas citytexas historytextbooktextbookstheatertipstopicstraumatutorialsundeadunited statesusovampirevampiresveteransvideovocabularyweatherwebadvisorweight controlweight trainingweldingwellnesswomenwomen's historyworldworld historywritingyogayoung adultziniozombiezombies
Research
Academic & Scholarly Articles (3:17)
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 2, 2016
What scholarly and academic articles are and how to find them. Features a quick demo in EBSCO Academic Search Complete.
Tags: research, tips, video
Ask COM Library
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jul 27, 2016
Lost on the Internet? Can't find the articles you need in our databases? At COM Library questions are welcome--ask us!
Tags: libraries, library, reference, research
Cite Your Sources
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 2, 2017
Citation, plagiarism, copyright and fair use.
Tags: english 1301, research, tutorials
College Level Research
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 2, 2017
College level research, scholarly & peer reviewed articles and more.
Tags: english 1301, research, tutorials
College Level Research (4:59)
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 2, 2016
What is college level research, the stages of research and how to get started with college level research. Features a quick demo in Films on Demand.
Tags: research, tips, video
COM Library
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated May 25, 2017
Great college level resources and help when you need it.
Tags: college of the mainland, information literacy, libraries, research
Current Awareness
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 25, 2017
How to use EBSCO, Gale and Google tools to receive journal, author and/or news alerts on topics of your choice.
Tags: faculty, professional development, research
Databases by Subject
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 18, 2017
Get articles from the best databases for your subject. Accessible 24/7, on or off campus.
Tags: articles, databases, off campus access, research
Distance Ed Student's Guide to the Library
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 7, 2017
The best library resources for Distance Ed students.
Tags: de, distance ed, libraries, off campus access, research
Evaluate Your Sources
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 2, 2017
Evaluating your sources and spotting fake sites, fake news and media bias.
Tags: english 1301, research, tutorials
Fake News
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 28, 2017
Fake news is not new, but it's never been so pervasive or harder to spot. Find out how to spot fake news.
Tags: english, hot topics, information literacy, news, research, special interest
Find Your Sources
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated May 4, 2017
Find college level books, eBooks, articles and media for your research assignments.
Tags: english 1301, research, tutorials
Getting Started with College Level Research
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 1, 2017
How to begin college level research.
Tags: english, research
Google Basics
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 1, 2016
How to get the most out of Google searches, drive and much more!
Tags: google, internet, research
Grab a Citation (2:44)
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 2, 2016
How to grab citations from databases and tweak them. Features a quick demo in Science Online.
Tags: research, tips, video
How to Find Articles
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 1, 2017
Get the overview of how to find articles including databases basics, how to get more or fewer articles, hot topics and databases by subject.
Tags: articles, databases, how to, research
How to Find Books
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 15, 2017
Get the overview of how to find books, search WorldCat, find eBooks, find books on the shelves, get books from other libraries and more.
Tags: books, how to, research
How to Find Internet Resources
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 1, 2017
Internet basics, evaluate websites and search tips.
Tags: internet, research
How to Use Britannica Academic
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 29, 2016
Get Britannica basics, cite from Britannica and more.
Tags: databases, how to, reference, research
How to Use COMCat
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 25, 2017
How to use COMCat to find Books, eBooks and Media and to view your account.
Tags: books, how to, reference, research
How to Use CQ Researcher
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated May 6, 2016
How to use CQ Researcher. Get the basics, grab citations and help.
Tags: current events, databases, english 1301, hot topics, how to, research
How to Use EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Mar 29, 2017
How to use Academic Search Complete. Get the basics, how to cite, how to link to articles and more.
Tags: current events, databases, ebsco, english 1301, hot topics, how to, research
How to Use EBSCOhost Databases
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Aug 30, 2016
Access all EBSCOhost databases and Guides such as Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, EBSCOhost eBooks and Literary Reference Center (LRC).
Tags: articles, databases, ebooks, ebsco, how to, off campus access, research
How to Use EBSCOhost eBooks
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated May 8, 2017
How to access and use the thousands of eBooks in COM Library's EBSCOhost eBooks collection.
Tags: books, ebooks, ebsco, how to, off campus access, research
How to Use EBSCOhost Literary Reference Center (LRC)
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Mar 29, 2017
Get the basics, advanced features, most studied authors, works, full text classics and how to cite from LRC.
Tags: articles, databases, ebsco, english 2322, english 2323, english 2327, english 2328, english 2332, english 2333, how to, humanities, literature, research
How to Use Films on Demand (FOD)
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 26, 2017
How to access thousands of high quality academic, technical and archival streaming videos 24/7 on or off campus.
Tags: databases, how to, media, research, video
How to Use Gale Databases
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Aug 24, 2016
Access all Gale databases and Guides such as Artemis, GVRL eBooks, Opposing Viewpoints and Science in Context.
Tags: articles, databases, ebooks, gale, how to, off campus access, research
How to Use Gale GVRL eBooks
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 3, 2016
How to access and use the eBooks in COM Library's Gale GVRL eBooks collection.
Tags: books, databases, ebooks, gale, how to, literature, off campus access, research
How to Use Gale Literary Sources
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Mar 28, 2017
Literary Sources brings together all Gale literature related content in a single interface with great features that can save you time. Get the basics, advanced features and how to cite from Artemis.
Tags: databases, english 2322, english 2323, english 2327, english 2328, english 2332, english 2333, gale, how to, literature, research
How to Use Gale Opposing Viewpoints
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
How to use Opposing Viewpoints. Get the basics, grab citations and help.
Tags: current events, databases, english 1301, hot topics, how to, research
How to Use Google Scholar
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 24, 2016
Get the most from Google Scholar: learn how to set preferences, grab citations, get documents for free from COM Library databases and more.
Tags: google, how to, internet, research
How to Use HeritageQuest Online
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jul 28, 2016
HeritageQuest Online is designed for genealogy and family history research.
Tags: databases, genealogy, history, how to, primary sources, proquest, research
How to Use Issues & Controversies
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Aug 26, 2016
How to use Issues & Controversies. Get the basics, grab citations and help.
Tags: articles, current events, databases, english 1301, facts on file, hot topics, how to, research
How to Use ProQuest Research Library
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
Get the basics, grab citations and help.
Tags: articles, databases, how to, off campus access, proquest, research
How to Use ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 3, 2016
Get the basics, grab citations and help.
Tags: articles, databases, how to, off campus access, proquest, research
How to Use Swank
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 1, 2017
Stream feature films chosen by faculty to support COM courses from studios like MGM, Paramount, and Sony. Stream 24/7 on or off campus.
Tags: databases, how to, media, research, video
How to Use WorldCat
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Aug 1, 2016
Use WorldCat to search for items in COM Library, including thousands of books, eBooks and Media items collected to support your classes at College of the Mainland.
Tags: books, databases, ebooks, how to, research
Library Jargon
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Nov 18, 2015
Baffled by Boolean? Confused about call numbers? Library jargon defined.
Tags: libraries, library, reference, research
Open Access eBooks
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 12, 2017
Read the full text of eBooks online 24/7 with Internet access for free! Get the best free sources to access or download eBooks to your computer or mobile device.
Tags: books, ebooks, off campus access, research
Paper Calculator
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jul 25, 2016
Your step by step guide to getting your paper done!
Tags: paper, research, student, writing
Peer Reviewed Articles (2:50)
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 2, 2016
What are peer reviewed articles and how to find them. Features a quick demo in ProQuest Research Library.
Tags: research, tips, video
Primary Sources (1:40)
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 2, 2016
What primary sources are and how to find them. Features a quick demo in American History Online.
Tags: research, tips, video
Quick Videos
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jun 28, 2016
Watch quick videos on what college level research is and how to find it, how to find scholarly articles, peer reviewed articles, primary sources or how to grab citations at COM Library.
Tags: research, tips, video
Research Tutorial
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated May 16, 2017
Your introduction to college level research.
Tags: english 1301, research, tutorials
Tips for Evaluating Information
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Mar 30, 2016
Get tips on the specific characteristics needed to evaluate sources for your research assignments and how to find them.
Tags: evaluation, research, tips
Tips for Finding & Using Opinion, Pro & Con Sources
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 3, 2017
Your best bets for hot topics research, plus tips to save you time and get the sources you need.
Tags: assignment, how to, research, tips
Tips for Finding Academic & Scholarly Articles
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 26, 2017
Your best bets for finding academic & scholarly articles, plus step by step tips to save you time and get the sources you need.
Tags: assignment, how to, research, tips
Tips for Finding Articles with Methodology & Results
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 1, 2017
Your best bets for finding articles with methodology and results, plus step by step tips to save you time and get the sources you need.
Tags: assignment, how to, methodology, research, tips
Tips for Finding Peer Reviewed Articles
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jan 26, 2017
Your best bets for finding peer reviewed articles, plus step by step tips to save you time and get the sources you need.
Tags: assignment, how to, research, tips
Tips for Finding Primary Sources
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 26, 2016
Your best bets for finding primary sources from the library, plus step by step tips to save you time and get the sources you need.
Tags: assignment, history, how to, primary sources, research, social sciences, tips
Tips for Finding Primary Sources Open Access
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Mar 30, 2016
Your best bets for finding primary sources that are open access, plus step by step tips to save you time and get the sources you need.
Tags: assignment, history, how to, primary sources, research, social sciences, tips
Tips for Using Sources in Your Paper or Presentation
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Feb 15, 2017
Get tips on using sources in your paper or presentation.
Tags: evaluation, research, tips
Top Tips
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Sep 23, 2016
All the top tips to help with your papers and research.
Tags: how to, paper, research, tips
Your Research Assignment
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Apr 2, 2017
Understanding your research assignment and picking a topic.
Tags: assignment, english 1301, research, tutorials