Research assistance from your friendly COM Librarians! Learn how to research papers, cite sources, and much more… Research assistance from your friendly COM Librarians! Learn how to research papers, cite sources, and much more… Ask COM Library Browse All LibGuides Subjects Internet basics, eBooks, Google, public journals online, how to get the good stuff, search sites, tips and more. Search our catalog for books, read eBooks, find out what new books we have, suggest books, see what other libraries have and more. Access databases with thousands of full text articles, online journals, free articles on the Internet, and more.
Copy Writing Boxes
Add Media
Google MagazinesPublic Domain Google Books
This is the "Home" page of the "LibGuides Toolbox" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LibGuides Toolbox   Tags: faculty  

You LibGuides Toolbox. Aimed at faculty and librarians. Examples of each type of box and it's content to give you an idea of what you can actually do with LibGuides.
Last Updated: Apr 22, 2013 URL: http://libguides.com.edu/toolbox Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Interactive Poll Example: Which Came First?

Which of the following battles was fought first in the Civil War?

 

RSS Feed: News Example

Get up to date headlines> here is CNN's complete list: http://www.cnn.com/services/rss/.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Podcast Feed Example

You can add podcast feed to libguides. Try PBS and CNN.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Rich Text/Dynamic Content Example

 

This is Your Toolbox for Libguides

LibguidesWhat are LibGuides?
A new library guide format that allows both student and faculty input. Ultimately all existing COM Library will be converted to this exciting new format.

More Social
The LibGuides format is more social in nature and allows for more interactivity with students and faculty. Every single box on every page can be commented on by students of faculty. The guide can also be judged helpful or not; there is a place for suggestions; questions can be asked directly from the librarian box, polls can be created. These new guides could even be used as a tool for faculty student interaction in class. And I would love to get tips and favorites from faculty to make the guides more relevant to our students. LibGuide widgets can be created to embed in Blackboard or other web pages.

More Media
These guides are also more media friendly and can feature embedded videos, podcast feeds, RSS feed, books from the library catalog, search boxes formatted to your specification and more!

More Collaboration
LibGuides can be taken even farther—you can create your own individual course pages using LibGuides. All pages are created online using WYSWIG editors. Or librarians and faculty can collaborate and create a course page.

Examples
All of the other boxes on this page are examples of each type of box and it's content to give you an idea of what you can actually do with LibGuides. The other tabs in this guide focus on specific sources you can use to enrich your LibGuides. You can even steal boxes from other guides to use in yours!

 

RSS Feed Example: Chronicle of Higher Ed

Use RSS Feed to provide automatically updated content from news sources, blogs, twitter (even your own). The example below is from the Chronicle of Higher Education. Don't know who to find feeds? When the orange slice shows up in your browser, that means a feed is present. You can also try The Feed Directory, Yahoo's Directory of feeds or search Google Reader. Feeds may be news headlines, tweets, blog entries, articles or even features like this day in history, quote of the day.

 

Did you know?
COM Faculty get full text access to the Chronicle of Higher Ed using this link, on or off campus.

Here are the latest headlines from the Chronicle of Higher Ed:

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Embed Video Example: Watch the Video: Plagiarism: Don't Do It

Grab a Video from YouTube and embed it! Check out YouTube's YouTube EDU channle: http://www.youtube.com/channels?s=ytedu_mv.

 

Rich Text/Dynamic Content Example

This COM Library Libguide provides access to the best books, eBooks, articles, Internet resources and media on African American History.

The image below from the Library of Congress Wolcott, by photographer Marion Post, depicts a 4th of July celebration, St. Helena Island, S.C., 1939 July.

4th of July celebration, St. Helena Island, S.C. (LOC)

 

Featured ESL Books in COM Library

Books you can check out from COM Library.

Cover Art
Basic American grammar and usage : an ESL/EFL handbook
ISBN: 0764133586
Many students of English as a second language are daunted by the complexities of English grammar and its terminology. This user-friendly book was written especially for them. TShort quizzes for self-testing appear throughout the text, with answers given at the back of the book.

Cover Art
English grammar for ESL learners
ISBN: 0071441328
Here you will find clear explanations accompanied by highlighted examples and boxed summaries of key points. You also get numerous exercises in a variety of formats. Answers to all questions are provided in the back of the book.

Librarian

Profile Image
Kathryn Park

More Ways to Get Answers

Explore Knowledge Base: LibAnswers

Email:
ask@com.libanswers.com
Call: (409) 933-8448
Text:(409) 229-4142
Tweet:@asklibrary
 

What We're Reading

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

RSS Example: This Day in History

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

RSS Feed Articles from EBSCO Example

Any search in an EBSCO database can be turned into an RSS feed. Links are direct links to articles with COM Library's proxy link automatically include so off campus access is available. See example, below:

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Documents & Files Example

The Glossary is divided into two parts:

  1. The Language Table presents a list of library terms in six languages.
  2. Definitions gives explanations in English for each of the terms.

From ACRL's Intruction Section.

 

© Copyright 1998-2013 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
(409) 933-8448 . FAX (409) 933-8030
Send comments and suggestions about COM Library to a Library Staff member.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip