Any Child Can Read Better : Developing Your Child's Reading Skills Outside the ClassroomReading, however fundamental the task may seem to everyday life, is a complex process that takes years to master. Yet, learning to read in the early stages is not an overwhelming problem for most children, especially when their classroom learning is coupled with a nurturing home environment in which reading is cherished, and pencil and paper are always available and fun to use. In fact, studies have shown that children score higher in reading if their parents support and encourage them at home. Unfortunately, though many parents want to involve themselves actively in their children's education, very few know just what to do. Now Dr. Harvey S. Wiener, author of the classic Any Child Can Write, provides an indispensable guide for parents who want to help their children enter the magic realm of words. In Any Child Can Read Better, Second Edition, Dr. Wiener offers practical advice on how to help children make their way through the maze of assignments and exercises related to classroom reading. In this essential book, parents learn how to be "reading helpers" without replacing or superseding the teacher--by supporting a child's reading habits and sharing the pleasures of fiction, poetry, and prose. Home learning parents also will find a wealth of information here. Through comfortable conversation and enjoyable exercises that tap children's native abilities, parents can help their child practice the critical thinking and reading skills that guarantee success in the classroom and beyond. For example, Dr. Wiener explains how exercises such as prereading warm-ups like creating word maps (a visual scheme that represents words and ideas as shapes and connects them) will allow youngsters to create a visual format and context before they begin reading. He shows how pictures from a birthday party can be used to create patterns of meaning by arranging them chronologically to allow the party's "story" to emerge, or how they might by arranged by order of importance--a picture of Beth standing at the door waiting for her friends to arrive could be displayed first, Beth blowing out the birthday cake placed toward the middle of the arrangement, and the pictures of Beth opening her gifts, especially the skates she's been begging for all year, would surely go toward the end of the sequence. Dr. Wiener shows how these activities, and many others, such as writing games, categorizing toys or clothes or favorite foods, and reading journals, will help children draw meaning out of written material. This second edition includes a new chapter describing the benefits of encouraging children to keep a journal of their personal reactions to books, the value of writing in the books they own (underlining, writing in the margins, and making a personal index) and a variety of reading activities to help children interact with writers and their books. Dr. Wiener has also expanded and updated his fascinating discussion of recommended books for children of all ages, complete with plot summaries. Written in simple, accessible prose, Any Child Can Read Better offers sensible advice for busy parents concerned with their children's education.
Building Literacy with LoveThis practical guide to understanding literacy uses plain language to outline the skills and processes intrinsic to learning to read and write. The authors (both: Nova Southeastern University, Florida) describes experiences that adults can provide for children to help them learn and include examples of how to establish relationships with children t
Chasing Literacy : Reading and Writing in an Age of AccelerationArguing that composition should renew its interest in reading pedagogy and research, Chasing Literacy offers writing instructors and literacy scholars a framework for understanding and responding to the challenges posed by the proliferation of interactive and multimodal communication technologies in the twenty-first century. Employing case-study research of student reading practices, Keller explores reading-writing connections in new media contexts. He identifies a culture of acceleration--a gathering of social, educational, economic, and technological forces that reinforce the values of speed, efficiency, and change--and challenges educators to balance new "faster" literacies with traditional "slower" literacies. In addition, Keller details four significant features of contemporary literacy that emerged from his research: accumulation and curricular choices; literacy perceptions; speeds of rhetoric; and speeds of reading. Chasing Literacy outlines a new reading pedagogy that will help students gain versatile, dexterous approaches to both reading and writing and makes a significant contribution to this emerging area of interest in composition theory and practice.
Handbook of Family LiteracyThe emerging field of family literacy, which cuts across early childhood education, early literacy development, parent education, adult education, and parent-child literacy interactions, has never had a comprehensive volume that pulls together and integrates its many interacting components. That is the mission of this handbook. It provides scholars, students, policymakers, and practitioners (both inside and outside the field) with an invaluable snapshot of its current boundaries and rapidly growing content. With contributions from experts in each of its component fields, it provides an up-to-date picture of existing family literacy programs, of the research and theories that guide these programs, of current issues, and of likely future directions. Key features of this outstanding new book include the following: *Comprehensive--Whereas many books deal with various components of this broad and loosely coupled field, until now there has never been a book that profiles and integrates its overlapping component fields. *Recommendations for Practice--Information essential to the development of curriculum and instructional strategies is integrated throughout the book. Practical guidance is offered in such diverse and intersecting areas as early literacy, the role of literature and storybook reading in literacy learning, adult learning needs and strategies, and professional development. *Cultural and Family Influences--The book examines cultural and family influences on literacy practices and provides effective ways of responding to family diversity, including the needs of bilingual and immigrant participants. *Program Implementation--Program recommendations cover such distinct topics as integrating the curriculum, enriching early childhood classrooms, enhancing parent-child literacy interactions, and coordinating with other agencies. *Assessment--To promote future research and evaluation, attention has been focused on ways of assessing children, adults, the educational setting, and implementation strategies. This book is intended for professionals (directors and staff) and graduate students in the areas of family literacy, early childhood education, child development, parenting, and adult education, as well as researchers and policymakers in child development and family literacy.
Intervening for Literacy : The Joy of Reading to Young ChildrenUnprecedented in the field, this book is addressed to those invaluable volunteers and first-time educational professionals in emergent literacy. Accessible and engaging, this book has been written out of concern that although our average achievements remain high, far too many children in the United States are not learning language and literacy to an adequate degree. Nearly 40% of our elementary school children lack basic reading skills and the language to support it. Differences between those who will make it and those who may not are already showing up in preschools and the gaps in teaching are increasingly being filled by volunteer tutors. The National Reading Panel report and the No Child Left Behind legislation have put children's success in reading on everyone's agenda. This timely book tells these tutors what they need to know about early intervention for literacy development, and what they need to do. The book has a further aim of giving volunteers and future teachers a realistic view of what teaching is like, especially in urban environments. The book also assists readers looking toward careers as teachers and as child-support workers.
Raising Kids Who Read : What Parents and Teachers Can DoHow parents and educators can teach kids to love reading in the digital age Everyone agrees that reading is important, but kids today tend to lose interest in reading before adolescence. In Raising Kids Who Read, bestselling author and psychology professor Daniel T. Willingham explains this phenomenon and provides practical solutions for engendering a love of reading that lasts into adulthood. Like Willingham's much-lauded previous work, Why Don't Students Like School?, this new book combines evidence-based analysis with engaging, insightful recommendations for the future. Intellectually rich argumentation is woven seamlessly with entertaining current cultural references, examples, and steps for taking action to encourage reading. The three key elements for reading enthusiasm'decoding, comprehension, and motivation'are explained in depth in Raising Kids Who Read. Teachers and parents alike will appreciate the practical orientation toward supporting these three elements from birth through adolescence. Most books on the topic focus on early childhood, but Willingham understands that kids' needs change as they grow older, and the science-based approach in Raising Kids Who Read applies to kids of all ages. A practical perspective on teaching reading from bestselling author and K-12 education expert Daniel T. Willingham Research-based, concrete suggestions to aid teachers and parents in promoting reading as a hobby Age-specific tips for developing decoding ability, comprehension, and motivation in kids from birth through adolescence Information on helping kids with dyslexia and encouraging reading in the digital age Debunking the myths about reading education, Raising Kids Who Read will empower you to share the joy of reading with kids from preschool through high school.
The Secret of LiteracyLiteracy? That's someone else's job, isn't it? This is a book for all teachers on how to make explicit to students those things we can do implicitly. In the Teachers' Standards it states that all teachers must demonstrate an understanding of, and take responsibility for, promoting high standards of literacy, articulacy, and the correct use of standard English, whatever the teacher's specialist subject. In The Secret of Literacy, David Didau inspires teachers to embrace the challenge of improving students' life chances through improving their literacy. Topics include: Why is literacy important? Oracy - improving classroom talk How should we teach reading? How to get students to value writing How written feedback and marking can support literacy.