Research assistance from your friendly COM Librarians! Learn how to research papers, cite sources, and much more… Research assistance from your friendly COM Librarians! Learn how to research papers, cite sources, and much more… Ask COM Library Browse All LibGuides Subjects Internet basics, eBooks, Google, public journals online, how to get the good stuff, search sites, tips and more. Search our catalog for books, read eBooks, find out what new books we have, suggest books, see what other libraries have and more. Access databases with thousands of full text articles, online journals, free articles on the Internet, and more.
This is the "Information Ethics" page of the "Information Ethics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information Ethics   Tags: english, information literacy, research, writing  

Learn how to evaluate and cite your sources, plagiarism and copyright.
Last Updated: Nov 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.com.edu/InfoEthics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Information Ethics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

So What's a College Student Supposed to Do?

Direction

Fake sites, propaganda sites, sites that lie. With stuff like this going on how are college students supposed to know what is true and what isn't?

Regardless of the format of your source (book, article or Internet), there are 5 steps that can help you determine if your sources are appropriate for college level research:

  1. Credentials
  2. Documentation
  3. Objectivity
  4. Timeliness
  5. Review and Editing: Scholarly and Professional Journals

Go to the 5 Steps to Evaluation.

     

    Why You Need To Evaluate

    EvaluateEvaluate Your Sources
    Why do you need to evaluate? It's one of your jobs as a college student. Your instructors expect you to be able to determine what sources are appropriate for college level research, as well as what is appropriate for your specific assignment. To determine this you will need to evaluate your sources.

    Evaluation and the Internet
    Internet resources are a special concern for your instructors because there are so many diverse organizations and individuals publishing Web pages. There is no screening process. You will be responsible for evaluating the sites you use. 

    Choosing Library Sources Can Make Evaluation Easier, But....
    Books and periodicals in the library have gone through at least two screening processes: someone had to decide that the work was publishable; someone had to decide the work would be of value in the library’s collection. Even so, not all books and articles are suitable for your research. Even books and articles can be biased and once in a while things get published in print that aren't true.

     

    Case Study: Wikipedia

     You Love Wikipedia
    Who does not love Wikipedia? It's fast, it's easy, it's got everything. Sadly, though, it does not come up to college level research standards. It's a great example of some of the best and worst of the web. In case you don't know, Wikipedia is a free encyclopedia that anyone can edit. Some entries are written by experts with lots of detail; others are written by people who don't know very much about the subject, are deliberately misleading you or are added as a prank. Theoretically, over time, the inaccurate stuff will go away. Eventually the goal is to publish it in print, and it may end up being the best encyclopedia ever written--time will tell.

    JImage of USA Today storyohn Siegenthaler Sr.
    Meanwhile there is still stuff in Wikipedia that is inaccurate. In fact, an entry had to be removed from Wikipedia that was false: John Siegenthaler Sr. was listed in Wikipedia as having been a suspect in the JFK assassination. This was not only untrue, but slanderous. Read the editorial Siegenthaler wrote in USA Today about it or this Wikipedia entry, Wikipedia Seigenthaler biography incident.

    Colbert v. Wikipedia
    Stephen Colbert edited Wikipedia live on The Colbert Report until he was finally banned by Wikipedia. See Colbert speaks, America follows: All hail Wikiality!. In response Colbert created a mock site: Wikiality, The Truthiness Encyclopedia. Watch the video, below.

    “For God sake, you’re in college; don’t cite the encyclopedia.”
    In a Chronicle of Higher Education article, Wikipedia founder, Jimmy Wales, states that he continuously gets emails from college students complaining that they have failed their papers because the information they found in Wikipedia was inaccurate.

    Wales says that he has no sympathy, “For God sake, you’re in college; don’t cite the encyclopedia.”

    Author

    Profile Image
    Kathryn Park

     

    More Ways to Get Answers

    Explore Knowledge Base: LibAnswers

    Email: ask@com.libanswers.com
    Call: (409) 933-8448
    Text:(409) 229-4142
    Tweet:@asklibrary
     

     

    © Copyright 1998-2014 COM Library
    1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
    (409) 933-8448 . FAX (409) 933-8030
    Send comments and suggestions about COM Library to a Library Staff member.

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.


    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip