Quick Links to Databases

Finding time for research can be a real juggling act. Use COM Library's databases to get the college level articles you need for your research faster. Use the menu below to access our top databases. Many eBooks and articles in the databases require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader. Must be on campus or have a COM ID to access off campus.
You Might Like:
- Last Updated Jan 31, 2013
Access the best resources for research from your mobile device.
397 views this year
Make Your Computer Database Ready
You will probably be able to use most library resources on your computer without making any changes, but some resources in the databases such as eBooks, streaming videos, concept maps, audio files and more may have additional requirements. The software and configurations listed below will ensure that your computer is database ready.
In order to use all library resources, computers should meet the following minimum requirements (+ symbols indicate “or higher”):
- Adobe Flash 10.0+ (Optimize Adobe Flash by opening port: 1935)
- PDF reader: Adobe Acrobat Reader 9.0+; Schubert|It PDF plug-in for MAC
- Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1+ (to download/check out EBSCO eBooks)
- Windows Media Player 9+; iTunes for MAC
- Java
- Screen resolution: 1024x768
- 500 kbps + connectivity
- A browser: IE 7.0+, Mozilla Firefox 8.0+, Google Chrome 16+, Apple Safari 5.1+
- Cookies enabled in browser
- JavaScript enabled in browser
- Disable Compatibility View under Tools menu in Internet Explorer if the films do not play on your IE browser.
Your Article Questions Answered
Real questions from COM students answered by COM Librarians. Click on the question to see the answers or view website to see all questions and answers.
Want to ask your own? Go to asklibrary.com.edu (make sure pop-up blockers are off to see answers).
Loading...
All Articles & Databases LibGuides
Access databases with thousands of full text articles, online journals, free articles on the Internet, and more.
The Databases by Subject LibGuide is where most of our students like to start, or use the Quick Link to Databases (on the top left) to start searching a database right away.
For books and eBooks, go to All Books LibGuides.
Find Articles by Subject
- Last Updated May 15, 2013
Get articles in the best databases for your subject.
8,627 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
Find articles on hot topics and controversial issues in COM Library databases. Step by step instructions for the top Hot Topics Databases included!
3,746 views this year
- Last Updated May 15, 2013
How to use Literature Databases. Step by step instructions for the top Literature Databases included!
2,532 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
How to use our top reference databases and access all COM Library reference databases.
78 views this year
Find Articles
- Last Updated Oct 19, 2012
Access COM Library's journals online. Great for when you are interested in a specific journal.
1,622 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 1, 2013
Find out which databases are the best for biographies, media, quotations, timelines, and much more.
271 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 21, 2013
Get the overview of how to find articles including databases basics, how to get more or fewer articles, hot topics and databases by subject.
1,849 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 1, 2013
Find publicly accessible online journals and magazines using Google and open access sources.
3,986 views this year
How to Use Article Databases
- Last Updated Jan 24, 2013
COM Library databases are great for college level research. Find out what's in the databases, special features, get access to databases help and tutorials and more!
79 views this year
- Last Updated May 15, 2013
How to use EBSCO Academic Search Complete, EBSCO Mobile, EBSCO eBooks, cite from EBSCO and get the complete list of all EBSCO databases available from COM Library.
2,495 views this year
- Last Updated May 15, 2013
How to use EBSCO CINAHL, the definitive nursing database.
374 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
How to use Facts on File Issues & Controversies, link to Facts on File, cite from Facts on File and get help.
1,978 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 30, 2013
How to use Health Reference Center, Gale Literature Resources, Gale Opposing Viewpoints, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale AML College Edition, cite from Gale and get the complete list of all Gale databases available from COM Library.
1,446 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 22, 2013
Discover Google’s hidden library of full text books, magazines and even newspapers.
610 views this year
- Last Updated May 14, 2013
Get the most from Google Scholar: learn how to set preferences, grab citations, get documents for free from TexShare databases and more.
277 views this year
Tell Us!
Librarian |
More Ways to Get Answers
Links: Profile & Guides |
How can I check to see if I can log on remotely?
Q How can I check to see if I can log on remotely?
Topics:
When on campus, go to the login page and try you COM ID and last name. If your COM ID number does not add up to 7 digits, put enough zeroes in front of the number to add up to seven. Example: 1234 would be entered 0001234.
If you get a new page that says "You're logged on! You'll know that you record is current and you can access all our databases off campus.
If you get a page that says " Invalid COM ID - Last Name combination. Please try again," you'll know you need to Contact the library:
- call (409) 938-8448
- email askcirc@com.libanswers.com
You can get more info from our Find Articles LibGuide (link below) on the Off Campus Access tab.
More Info Links:
Find & Get Items from Other Libraries
If you can't find the book or article you want in COM Library, other libraries may have them and there are several options for getting them. Go to the Find & Get Items From Other Libraries LibGuide to find out how:







Loading...
