Examples of library resources that may be used as supplemental materials. All library resources listed have 24/7 access on or off campus.
eBooks with the U icon have unlimited access.Want more? Top sources for unlimited access eBooks are Ebook Central, Gale eBooks and Salem Online eBooks. Not finding what you need? Ask us!
Collins Spanish Dictionary
First published in 1971, the Collins Spanish Dictionary pioneered a new approach to bilingual dictionary publishing which continues to inspire millions of language users today. With wide-ranging coverage of contemporary Spanish and English, a wealth of examples and idioms, and a clear colour layout, this remains the ideal dictionary for advanced learners and professionals using Spanish.
Companion to Hispanic Studies
What is 'Hispanic Studies'? This companion gives a concise and accessible overview of the discipline as taught today and suggests new directions for future developments. 'Hispanic Studies' is broadly concerned with the languages and cultures of the vast 'Hispanic' world, extending chronologically from Roman Hispania to today, and geographically from Roman Hispania to today, and geographically from California in the North to Patagonia in the South, and from Majorca in the East to the Andes in the West. This essential book provides all the necessary introductory information on the subject and will be especially useful for students who have already started courses in Spanish / Hispanic Studies, or who are considering doing so in the future. Written by a team of leading scholars each with established teaching experience this collection of short essays explores topics as diverse as the history of the Spanish language, Islamic Andalusia, race and class in the Spanish Golden Age, Catalan nationalism, the Madrid 'movida', Latin America cinema, tango in Argentina, Evita Per n, 'testimonio' and the cultural significance of the US-Mexican border. The emphasis is on literature and texts, including film and photography. In addition, the book includes time-lines, summary boxes adn suggestions for further reading.
Modern Spanish Grammar
This new edition of the bestselling Modern Spanish Grammar: A Practical Guide is an innovative reference guide to Spanish, combining traditional and function-based grammar in a single volume. The Grammar is divided into two parts. Part A covers traditional grammatical categories such as word order, nouns, verbs and adjectives. Part B is carefully organized around language functions and notions such as: * Giving and seeking information * Putting actions into context * Expressing likes, dislikes and preferences With a strong emphasis on contemporary usage, all grammar points and functions are richly illustrated with examples. Implementing feedback from users of the first edition of the grammar, this second edition now features: * More functional items * Clearer explanations and more accessible descriptors * Greater emphasis on areas of particular difficulty for learners of Spanish, such as tense usage, ser and estar and the reflective. This is the ideal reference grammar for learners of Spanish at all levels, from elementary to advanced. No prior knowledge of grammatical terminology is assumed and a glossary of grammatical terms is provided.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
