Bartleby Modern American PoetryModern American Poetry contains over 130 poems from American masters such as Ezra Pound, Sara Teasdale, Stephen Vincent Benét, Emily Dickinson, and many others.
Bartleby Modern British PoetryUntermeyer introduces this collection: “It goes back to traditions as old as Chaucer or tendencies as classic as Drayton, Herrick and Blake. And if English poetry may be compared to a broad and luxuriating river, it will be inspiring to observe how its course has been temporarily deflected in the last forty years; how it has swung away from one tendency toward another; and how, for all its bends and twists, it has lost neither its strength nor its nobility.”
Bartleby Poetry Anthologies and Thousands of Poems"the most comprehensive reference publisher on the web..." This site includes a full text collection of classic literature and reference works (formerly Project Bartleby). Special interest: Modern American Poetry, Modern British Poetry, Oxford Book of English Verse, The Oxford Book of English Mystical Verse, and Yale Book of American Verse.
Bartleby The Oxford Book of English Mystical VerseComprising 390 poems by 162 authors, this unique anthology strings together “such poems as contain intimations of a consciousness wider and deeper than the normal.” Spanning five centuries, every era of the great spiritualists is represented: from the Metaphysical Poets, like Donne and Traherne, to the Romantics, including Tennyson and Browning, to the Moderns, such as Yeats and Noyes.
Bartleby The Oxford Book of English Verse: 1250–1900From Arthur Quiller-Couch’s 1919 Introduction to this extensive collection: “For this Anthology I have tried to range over the whole field of English Verse…. To bring home and render so great a spoil compendiously has been my capital difficulty. It is for the reader to judge if I have so managed it as to serve those who already love poetry and to implant that love in some young minds not yet initiated.”
Bartleby Yale Book of American VerseThomas Lounsbury is perhaps best known for his vigorous commitment to making English a recognized and respected course of study. With his passion for the study of literary history and the American language, Lounsbury proves to be the ideal editor for this all-inclusive collection of American verse through 1912.
Canadian Poetry ArchiveAn archived version--some links may no longer work. Biographies of some of the more prominent poets in the database have also been provided.
Early Twentieth Century American SonnetsAccess the sonnets of Edwin Arlington Robinson, Robert Frost, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Paul Laurence Dunbar and Rupert Brooke.
HTI American Verse ProjectPart of the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative site. This portion includes verse by American poets who began publishing before 1920, such as Carl Sandburg and Stephen Vincent Benét. Search the site or browse by author.
The Internet Poetry ArchiveFind poems and hear readings from the poets Czeslaw Milosz, Seamus Heaney, Philip Levine, Robert Pinsky, Margaret Walker and Yusef Komunyakaa.
Poetic Schools & Movements- Poets.org - Poetry, Poems, Bios & MorePart of the Academy of American Poets site. Read about major literary movements started by black writers, biographies and poetry from the poets such as: Gwendolyn Brooks, Sterling Brown, Countee Cullen, Robert Hayden, Langston Hughes, James Weldon Johnson, Claude McKay, and Jean Toomer. Go to: Black Arts Movement, Dark Room Collective, Harlem Renaissance, Jazz Poetry, Negritude, Slam Poetry.
Poets' Corner - Home Page: Introduction, Overview, and Index SummaryThis site collects links to the works of poets from around the world, with an emphasis on British and American poets. This page is the beginning of the alphabetical listing of the poets by name. Access more of the list by clicking on other letters of the alphabet. Find such poets as Conrad Aiken, Sarojini Naidu, and A.W.E. O'Shaughnessy.
Representative Poetry On-lineBased at the Department of English, University of Toronto, Representative Poetry On-line includes about 1,650 English poems by about 260 poets from the early medieval period to the beginning of the twentieth century. This page is the index by poet page, but other indexes may also be accessed: by First Line; by Title; by Date; by Keyword; or by Criticism on Poetry.
Sonnet CentralThe main portion of this site is devoted to English sonnets divided into the following time periods: Early, Elizabethan, 1615-1780, Romantic Era, Victorian, World War I, Early 20th Century. It also includes links to Sonnets from Ireland, Australia and New Zealand, Nineteenth Century Americans and Early Twentieth Century Americans.
Twentieth-century Poetry in EnglishThis site is based at Kobe University, Japan, created by Professor Eiichi Hishikawa. It has archived some works by W. H. Auden, Hart Crane, T. S. Eliot, Robert Frost, James Joyce, Robert Lowell, Marianne Moore, Ezra Pound, Wallace Stevens, William Carlos Williams and William Butler Yeats, but also has an excellent set of links to the works of other Twentieth-Century Poetry in English.
