LibGuides: Computer Basics: Books & eBooks

Books & eBooks

Try these books and eBooks to get started. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access. for eBooks.

Want more on finding books? Try Books & eBooks.

Basics of Computer Organization and Architecture Problems and Solutions is the result of several years of teaching, laboratory experience and evaluating the performance of the students. This book starts with a brief history of electronic computers and covers all units of digital computers including history of computers, number systems and codes, fixed point arithmetic, floating point arithmetic, decimal arithmetic, ALU Design, control unit, hardwired and micro-programmed control unit configurations and design, memories, memory interfacing, buses, examples of standard serial and parallel buses, input and output devices and I/O modes, introduction to 8 bit microprocessors and microcontrollers, etc. The problems are in graded form staring from simple to a reasonably complex level. Even though this book deals with problems and solutions, if one looks at the book in its totality it also serves as a text book on this topic.
Computing Fundamentals: Digital Literacy Edition The Basic Computing Skills You Need to Enhance Your Academic Education. Computing Fundamentals provides students with the basic computing skills needed to get the most from their educational endeavors, regardless of field of study. Written by Microsoft Office Master Instructor Faithe Wempen, this detailed resource helps you develop a strong understanding of how computers work and how they affect our society. In addition to helping you master essential computing tasks such as working with operating systems, applications, and the Internet, this book also provides you with all the knowledge you need for computing basics. Learn the types of computer hardware and how they work together. Understand operating systems and application software. Get a complete introduction to Windows® 7. Learn the basics of Microsoft® Office applications. Understand the essential technologies behind networking, the Internet, and the web. Learn how to protect your online privacy and security. Explore legal, ethical, and health issues of computing. Each chapter includes a summary, list of key terms, and sample questions to help you master basic computer skills.
Dictionary of Computing The Dictionary of Computing provides coverage of the terms used in computing, including hardware, software, programme languages, networks and applications, e-commerce and the Internet.
Digital Literacy for Dummies Develop and implement essential computer technology with confidence Do you want to develop an understanding of technology to enhance your education, career, or personal life, but feel inhibited byyour digital literacy? Fear not! Written in plain English and absent of undecipherable high-tech jargon, Digital Literacy For Dummies makes it easy to get a grip on computer basics, the Internet, the Cloud, browsing the web, productivity programs and applications for school and the workplace, computer security and privacy, the latest in digital lifestyle topics, and so much more. Walks you through the basics of developing essential compute rtechnology skills. Shows you how to gain the digital literacy skills required to succeed in education, at home, and in the workforce. Explains how the use of smartphones and digital cameras contribute to digital literacy. With the introduction of 3G and 4G services in emerging countries like India, worldwide Internet usage is increasing exponentially. With this technological growth comes an opportunity for people of all ages and from all walks of life to learn new skills to keep them ahead of the curve. Packed with easy-to-follow explanations and seasoned with a bit of humor and fun, Digital Literacy For Dummies makes it easy and accessible for anyone to harness the power of technology to remain relevant in school or at work.
How to Speak Tech : The Non-Techie's Guide to Key Technology Concepts Things you've done online: ordered a pizza, checked the weather, booked a hotel, and reconnected with long-lost friends. Now it's time to find out how these things work. Vinay Trivedi peels back the mystery of the Internet, explains it all in the simplest terms, and gives you the knowledge you need to speak confidently when the subject turns to technology.
Laptops for Dummies The latest on getting the most from laptops and tablets  Not that long ago, laptops were seen as luxuries. Now they're practically an essential for many people, and--as faster computing power and super-sharp displays make many of them the equal of a desktop--the new wave of lightweight laptops is increasingly replacing the home PC with its bulky tower and multiple cords. Plus, you can use your laptop when chilling on the couch or venturing out for a quick coffee!  In this fully updated edition of Laptops For Dummies, bestselling tech writer Dan Gookin takes a friendly walk through everything you need to know, from the basics (if you're new to laptops) all the way up to the latest hardware and tech updates--including the recent release of Windows 10. Along the way you'll learn how to synchronize your laptop with other machines, coordinate email pickup across devices, and beef up your security. You'll also learn how to  Choose the right laptop  Check out tablet options  Troubleshoot problems  Maintain and upgrade  Whether you're choosing a new laptop or want to maximize what you're getting from the one you have, Laptops For Dummies has you covered, wherever you want to work--or play!  
PCs for Dummies The bestselling PC reference on the planet--now available in its 13th edition. Completely updated to cover the latest technology and software, the 13th edition of PCs For Dummies tackles using a computer in friendly, human terms. Focusing on the needs of the beginning computer user, while also targeting those who are familiar with PCs, but need to get up to speed on the latest version of Windows. This hands-on guide takes the dread out of working with a personal computer. Leaving painful jargon and confusing terminology behind, it covers Windows 10 OS, connecting to and using services and data in the cloud, and so much more. Written by Dan Gookin, the original For Dummies author, it tells you how to make a PC purchase, what to look for in a new PC, how to work with the latest operating system, ways to protect your files, what you can do online, media management tips, and even basic topics you're probably too shy to ask a friend about. Determine what you need in a PC and how to set it up. Configure your PC, hook up a printer, and connect to the Internet. Find your way around Windows 10 OS with ease and confidence. Play movies and music, view photos, and explore social media. If you're a first-time PC user at home or at work or just need to brush up on the latest technological advancements, the new edition of this bestselling guide gets you up and running fast.