Twentieth Century Poetry
WorldCat searches our print books and eBooks, some of which are, or include, primary sources. There are a few things you can try to make it easier to pull up primary sources. Here's how:
In Worldcat you can put au: in front of the author's name and search to see if we have anything written by them.
Example: Try au:William Shakespeare
Want more on WorldCat? Try the How to Use WorldCat Guide.
Guides with Full Text Literary Works
COM Library has Guides that include full text literature. Look for the Read the Classics and Open Access tabs.
- Last Updated Mar 31, 2017
Great for English 2327 and 2328. Get the best books, eBooks, articles, media and Internet resources for an overview of American Literature.
133 views this year
- Last Updated Oct 7, 2016
Great for English 2322 and 2323. Get the best books, eBooks, articles, media, and open access sources on British Literature.
52 views this year
- Last Updated Oct 7, 2016
Learn how to find the best books, articles, media, and Internet sources on World Literature.
35 views this year
Free Downloadable Classics
Search EBSCOhost eBooks. There are lots of great classics that you can find in EBSCOhost eBooks that you can read online or check to download to your device. Must be on campus or have a COM ID to access off campus.
- Under the EBSCOhost search box, click on Advanced Search.
- Type in the author's name, and use the Select a field pull down menu to choose Author.
- Hit Search to get your results.
Example search: edgar allen poe
Alternatively, you can type a command in the basic search box like this to get the same results:
AR "Poe, Edgar Allan"
In the reuslt list you'll find the eBook Edgar Allan Poe: Selected Tales. Now you can read stories like The Tell-Tale Heart, The Masque of the Read Death, and The Pit and the Pendulum.
Use the links below to see lists of many classics available from these large collections:
Literary Works in EBSCO Literary Reference Center
Search Literary Reference Center to access full text classics such as Aesop's Fables or A Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle by browsing the list. Must be on campus or have a COM ID to access off campus. You can browse by:
1. To get started click the Full Text Classics link in the Browse box.
2. Browse by title, genre or locale by selecting the tab and either typing in what you want, or if you are not yet sure, just scroll down the list to see what is available.
3. Click below the title on Full Text Classic to get the actual work (may be divided into chapters); click on the title to get information about the work such as plot summaries.
Classics from Google Play
Using Google Play Books you can find, read and download free classic works of literature and other primary sources like first hand accounts of historical events, autobiographies, correspondence, diaries, are more.
Good to Know
|A work will be free if it is out of copyright or the author or publisher choose to make it free. This brief explanation of length of copyright & publications can help you determine if an author's work might be available for free, full text online.||
Works Published After 1978
Works Published 1923-1978
Works Published Before 1923
Here's how to get started:
- Enter your author or work title in the search box.
- At the top of your result list, select the All prices pull down menu and select free.
- Click on the free eBook you want, click on the Free button and start reading or download to your Google Play app. Some free Google Play eBooks will require an existing account with a payment method, but will charge $0.00 to your account.
Access free full text collections of literature online. Collections that focus on specific periods or authors can be found on each of the tabs by period in the Web sites box.