LibGuides: Economics: Open Access

How to Evaluate Sources

As a college student you know that your job is to evaluate the sources you use for your papers, presentations and research. But how do you do it?

These steps are most appropriate for sources available from the library, but they can be tweaked for web and news sources. Get tips for spotting fake sites, fake news and media bias.

1. Credentials
What does the author know about the subject?
2. Objectivity
Does the author have an agenda?
3. Documentation
Where did the author get the information?
4. Timeliness
When was the material written?
5. Review and Editing
Has the material been reviewed for publication?

Current Data

The latest from the U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis.

Domestic Data

Economic Indicators From the Government Printing Office. Prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee, this monthly publication provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) FRED is an online database consisting of more than 61,000 economic data time series from 53 national, international, public, and private sources.
Tax Statistics From the IRS. Provides a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis Source of US economic statistics including national income and product accounts (NIPAs), gross domestic product, corporate profits, and personal income.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics The principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
U.S. Census Bureau Access city, county, state, and national demographic data through interactive data tools.
U.S. Department of the Treasury: Data and Charts Center Charts about many aspects of the U.S. economy and federal fiscal policy.

International Data

CIA World Factbook
Global Economic Indicators From the Federal Reserve Bank of New York. Provides basic charts of economic data for the United States, Japan, and several European nations.
International Monetary Fund : Data and Statistics The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.
UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics From the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development. This is an annual publication that provides a comprehensive collection of statistical data relevant to the analysis of international trade, investment and development, for individual countries and for economic and trade groupings.
- This link opens in a new window
World Databank From the World Bank. Access hundreds of types of data about countries across the world.

Economics Podcasts

Cato Institute Daily Podcast Podcasts from the libertarian think tank.
EconTalk Weekly podcasts from the Library of Economics and Liberty.
Freakonomics Radio From the authors of the bestselling book of the same name. Biweekly podcasts that explore the economics behind diverse subjects.
Mises Media From the Ludwig Von Mises Institute. Economic podcasts with a libertarian perspective.
Planet Money From NPR. Two new podcasts each week about current events in economics.
Trade and Economics Audio From the Center for Strategic and International Studies and Economics. Requires iTunes.
Vox Talks Collection of interviews about economics from the Centre for Economic Policy Research.