Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
50 Classics Series: 50 Economics Classics
From Karl Marx to Naomi Klein, from The Wealth of Nations to Piketty's Capital, here are the 50 most important titles on finance and world economy distilled.
Big Ideas Simply Explained: The Economics Book
From Aristotle and Thomas Aquinas, to Adam Smith and John Maynard Keynes, to the top economic thought leaders of today, The Economics Book is the essential reference for students and anyone else with an interest in how economies work. Easy-to-follow graphics, succinct quotations, and thoroughly accessible text throw light on the applications of economics, making them relatable through everyday examples and concerns. Employing DK's trademark visual approach, The Economics Book takes a frequently confusing subject and makes sense of it, clearly highlighting both historically important and emerging ideas in this critical field of science.
Deciphering Economics
This guide offers a thorough and understandable overview of basic economic concepts and principles, providing building blocks for understanding the systems of economics in today's complex world. It then explores contemporary, economics-related topics, issues, and challenges that exist within local communities, the U.S. economy, and the global economy.
Disorder: Hard Times in the 21st Century
Getting to grips with the overlapping geopolitical, economic, and political crises faced by Western democratic societies in the 2020s.Disorder: Hard Times in the 21st Century explains the historical origins of the political shocks of the past decade, showing how the Covid-19 crisis blew apart fault lines in western democracies, the US-China relationship, NATO, and the European Union that had been accumulating for decades.The book tells three historical stories.The geopolitical story begins with the inherent difficulties the United States faced as an ascendant non-Eurasian power in the early twentieth century, especially in the Middle East, and culminates in the American turn away from China in a world in which the United States is simultaneously adeclining military power and a resurgent energy and financial power.The economic story begins in the 1970s and explains how the rise of the Eurodollar system and the decade's energy crises remade the monetary world and the European Union, and how the Federal Reserve and China's response to the 2007-8 crash in preventing an economic collapse let lose a succession ofeconomic and energy problems that cannot now be resolved.The final story situates the present instability in the need for democracies to maintain 'losers' consent' and to be repaired when they become unbalanced. It also shows why such repair is so difficult under present geopolitical and economic conditions.
Economic Growth & Development
This series is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various business topics. This volume offers an overview of economic growth and development. It outlines the differences between developing and developed nations, examine the trends in regional, urban, and private sector development, and detail the processes businesses undergo to determine effectiveness.
Global Economy in Turbulent Times
A leading authority's answer to today's global economic challenges. In Global Economy in Turbulent Times, Harvard economist Dr. See-Yan Lin offers his timely and incisive views on today's key economic issues. Adapted from his hugely popular column in the Malaysia Star newspaper, these articles offer fresh and entertaining perspectives on perennial economic problems. The discussion covers the world economy, with particular attention to the US, EU, Japan, and the international monetary system, as Dr. Lin explains how the economy is broken and offers multiple paths to repair. Coverage includes emerging East Asia, ASEAN (especially Malaysia), and BRICS nations, plus the author's own views on global demography, the need for quality education, corporate governance in Malaysia, and more. Dr. Lin's expertise in strategic and financial issues is renowned and actively sought in the academic, economic, banking, and business realms. In this book, he presents his observations and analysis of the global economy, and the most pressing issues facing the world's financial future. Consider the issues faced by the world's leading economies. Examine the factors underlying inadequacy of political will to act. Gain insight into the middle class that's emerging across the globe. Get new perspective on CSR and management from a leading authority. Opinions on the world's economic problems are abundant, but seldom do they come from such an authoritative source. Dr. Lin draws upon decades of economic experience and the knowledge gained through three post-graduate Harvard degrees to give you a deeper understanding of the current state of the economy. Gain the insight of a multi-awarded scholar and economist with the deep discussion and expert analysis in Global Economy in Turbulent Times.
Idiot's Guides: Economics
conomics plays a part in so many news topics-- both domestically and worldwide-- and the need to know the basics is becoming more and more important. Ideal for both the high school and college student, as well as armchair readers, Idiot's Guides: Economics offers an easy-to-understand exploration of this always-complex topic. Covering both microeconomics and macroeconomics, the book incorporates infographics and illustrations where appropriate to make concepts clear and easy to understand. Economics topics include: - Benefits of Trade - Supply and Demand - Elasticity - Government Intervention in Markets - Market Efficiency - Taxes and the Market - International Trade - Externalities - Public Goods and Common Resources - The Basics of the Tax System - The Costs of Production - Perfect Competition - Monopoly - Tracking the Economy - Unemployment and Inflation - Long-Run Economic Growth - Savings, Investment Spending, and the Financial System - Short-Run Economic Fluctuations - Income and Expenditure - Aggregate Demand and Aggregate Supply - Stabilization Policy - Fiscal Policy - Money, Banking, and the Federal Reserve System - Monetary Policy - Inflation, Disinflation, and Deflation In addition, such issues as global climate change. the environment, natural disaster recovery, and the social safety net are covered from an economic policy perspective.
A New Principles of Economics: The Science of Markets
Despite the dynamic development of the discipline of economics, the ways in which economics is taught and how it defines its basic principles have hardly changed, resulting in economics being criticised for its inability to provide relevant insights on global challenges. In response, this book defines 'a new principles of economics' and seeks to establish economics as the 'science of markets'. A New Principles of Economics provides an alternative conceptual framework for the study of economics, integrating recent developments and research from both economics and neighbouring social sciences. Adopting the structure of a standard principles text, it separates the study of markets as mechanisms and markets in their wider contexts. In doing so, a number of new perspectives are introduced, including approaching the economy as part and parcel of the Earth System; directly connecting the analysis of production with an analysis of technology and thermodynamic principles; explicitly treating markets as forms of social networks mediated by the institution of money; and reinstating the central role of distribution in political economy analysis. Drawing on the latest theories and research on the economy, with the inclusion of both the natural sciences and social sciences, this text provides a holistic introduction suitable for postgraduates and other advanced students.
Principles of Business: Economics
Provides students and researchers with easy-to-understand entries on hundreds of important terms, principles and concepts allowing readers to develop a deeper understanding of the field. The study of economics involves understanding and predicting the behavior of economies, markets, and economic variables. With engaging, comprehensive entries written by experts in the field, Principles of Business: Economics is an invaluable resource for those seeking an introduction to economics with a focus on its relevance to business. This volume includes 100 accessible entries that provide readers with a solid understanding of the topic, including: The US Financial Crisis of 2007-2010, Managerial Economics Business Cycle, Economic Growth, Principles of Macroeconomics, Evolution of Economic Thought, Globalization of Emerging Markets, Economics of Business Regulations, Market Failure Money, Banking and the Economy. Principles of Business: Economics covers essential topics that will be of interest to anyone who wants to know more about what is involved in running a business, keeping accounts, or for those who are considering starting a business of their own.
Public Law and Economics
This comprehensive textbook applies economic analysis to public law. The economic analysis of law has revolutionized legal scholarship and teaching in the last half-century, but it has focused mostly on private law, business law, and criminal law. This book extends the analysis to fundamental topics in public law, such as the separation of government powers, regulation by agencies, constitutional rights, and elections. Every public law involves six fundamental processes of government: bargaining, voting, entrenching, delegating, adjudicating, and enforcing. The book devotes two chapters to each process, beginning with the economic theory and then applying the theory to a wide range of puzzles and problems in law. Each chapter concentrates on cases and legal doctrine, showing the relevance of economics to the work of lawyers and judges. Featuring lucid, accessible writing and engaging examples, the book addresses enduring topics in public law as well as modern controversies, including gerrymandering, voter identification laws, and qualified immunity for police.
Theories in Finance & Economics
This series is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various business topics. This volume offers an introduction to the major theories of finance that studies the economy at the microeconomic and macroeconomic levels. The collection begins by examining how individuals behave in the market economy and then turns to examine the economic systems and theories at play on a larger scale.
Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.
Basic Economics: A Common Sense Guide to the Economy
Basic Economics is a citizen's guide to economics, written for those who want to understand how the economy works but have no interest in jargon or equations. Bestselling economist Thomas Sowell explains the general principles underlying different economic systems: capitalist, socialist, feudal, and so on. In readable language, he shows how to critique economic policies in terms of the incentives they create, rather than the goals they proclaim. With clear explanations of the entire field, from rent control and the rise and fall of businesses to the international balance of payments, this is the first book for anyone who wishes to understand how the economy functions. This fifth edition includes a new chapter explaining the reasons for large differences of wealth and income between nations. Drawing on lively examples from around the world and from centuries of history, Sowell explains basic economic principles for the general public in plain English.
The Basics of Bitcoins and Blockchains: An Introduction to Cryptocurrencies and the Technology That Powers Them
Understand Bitcoin, blockchains, and cryptocurrency with this clear and comprehensible guide. Learn the history and basics of cryptocurrency and blockchains. There's a lot of information on cryptocurrency and blockchains out there. But, for the uninitiated, most of this information can be indecipherable. The Basics of Bitcoins and Blockchains provides an accessible guide to this new currency and the revolutionary technology that powers it: Bitcoin, Ethereum, and other cryptocurrencies. Gain an understanding of a broad spectrum of Bitcoin topics. The Basics of Bitcoins and Blockchains covers topics including the history of Bitcoin, the Bitcoin blockchain, and Bitcoin buying, selling, and mining. It also answers how payments are made and how transactions are kept secure. Other cryptocurrencies and cryptocurrency pricing are examined, answering how one puts a value on cryptocurrencies and digital tokens. Blockchain technology underlies all cryptocurrencies and cryptocurrency transactions. But what exactly is a blockchain, how does it work, and why is it important? The Basics of Bitcoins and Blockchains answers these questions and more. Learn about notable blockchain platforms, smart contracts, and other important facets of blockchains and their function in the changing cyber-economy. The Basics of Bitcoins and Blockchains offers trustworthy and balanced insights into Bitcoin investing or investing in other cryptocurrency. Discover the risks and mitigations, learn how to identify scams, and understand cryptocurrency exchanges, digital wallets, and regulations.
An Economic History of the United States
The economy of the United States is constantly evolving in response to wars, technological innovations, cultural revolutions, and political maneuverings. Tracing the economic machine of the United States from its first experiments in the colonies to the post Great Recession era of today, Frederick S. Weaver creates a dynamic narrative of this country's progression through times of feast and times of famine. Weaver explores diverse areas of the market beyond the financial sector, examining historical fluctuations in distribution of income, how the ebb and flow of specific industries have influenced the shape of the market, and, ultimately, how the economy of the United States has made America the nation we know today. Conquest, Conflict, and Struggles for Equality: An Economic History of the United States is a thoughtful and accessible introduction to the subject of American economic history, suitable for undergraduate courses in US political and economic history.
Economics for Dummies
Understand the science of wealth and prosperity. Find free quizzes for every chapter online. Learn about good markets, bad monopolies, and inflation. Decode budget deficits and trade gains. This book gives you everything you need to understand our rapidly evolving economy--as well as the economic fundamentals that never change. What's the best way to fight poverty? How can governments spur employment and wage growth? What can be done to protect endangered species and the environment? This book explains the answers to those questions--and many more--in plain English. Get the fascinating scoop on behavioral economics. Understand the model of supply and demand. See how governments use monetary and fiscal policy to fight recessions. Discover game theory and the secrets of cooperation.
Economics for the Common Good
A bold new agenda for the role of economics in society. When Jean Tirole won the 2014 Nobel Prize in Economics, he suddenly found himself being stopped in the street by complete strangers and asked to comment on issues of the day, no matter how distant from his own areas of research. His transformation from academic economist to public intellectual prompted him to reflect further on the role economists and their discipline play in society. The result is Economics for the Common Good, a passionate manifesto for a world in which economics, far from being a "dismal science," is a positive force for the common good. Economists are rewarded for writing technical papers in scholarly journals, not joining in public debates. But Tirole says we urgently need economists to engage with the many challenges facing society, helping to identify our key objectives and the tools needed to meet them. To show how economics can help us realize the common good, Tirole shares his insights on a broad array of questions affecting our everyday lives and the future of our society, including global warming, unemployment, the post-2008 global financial order, the euro crisis, the digital revolution, innovation, and the proper balance between the free market and regulation. Providing a rich account of how economics can benefit everyone, Economics for the Common Good sets a new agenda for the role of economics in society.
Economics in the 21st Century: A Critical Perspective
Economics has always been nicknamed the "dismal science," but today the field seems a little more dismal than usual as governments, social movements, and even students complain that the discipline is failing to make sense of the major economic problems of today. In Economics in the Twenty-First Century, Robert Chernomas and Ian Hudson demonstrate how today's top young economists continue to lead the field in the wrong direction. The recent winners of the John Bates Clark medal, economics' "baby Nobel," have won that award for studying important issues such as economic development, income inequality, crime, and health. Examining this research, Chernomas and Hudson show that this work focuses on individual choice, ignores the systematic role of power in the economic system, and leads to solutions that are of limited effectiveness at best and harmful at worst. An accessible summary of the latest debates in economics, Economics in the Twenty-First Century takes on what is missing from mainstream economics, why it matters, and how the discipline can better address the key concerns of our era.
Good Economics For Hard Times
The winners of the Nobel Prize show how economics, when done right, can help us solve the thorniest social and political problems of our day. Figuring out how to deal with today's critical economic problems is perhaps the great challenge of our time. Much greater than space travel or perhaps even the next revolutionary medical breakthrough, what is at stake is the whole idea of the good life as we have known it. Immigration and inequality, globalization and technological disruption, slowing growth and accelerating climate change--these are sources of great anxiety across the world, from New Delhi and Dakar to Paris and Washington, DC. The resources to address these challenges are there--what we lack are ideas that will help us jump the wall of disagreement and distrust that divides us. If we succeed, history will remember our era with gratitude; if we fail, the potential losses are incalculable. In this revolutionary book, renowned MIT economists Abhijit V. Banerjee and Esther Duflo take on this challenge, building on cutting-edge research in economics explained with lucidity and grace. Original, provocative, and urgent, Good Economics for Hard Times makes a persuasive case for an intelligent interventionism and a society built on compassion and respect. It is an extraordinary achievement, one that shines a light to help us appreciate and understand our precariously balanced world.
The Ordinary Business of Life: A History of Economics From the Ancient World to the Twenty-First Century
In some of Western culture's earliest writings, Hesiod defined the basic economic problem as one of scarce resources, a view still held by most economists. Diocletian tried to save the falling Roman Empire with wage and price fixes--a strategy that has not gone entirely out of style. And just as they did in the late nineteenth century, thinkers trained in physics renovated economic inquiry in the late twentieth century. Taking us from Homer to the frontiers of game theory, this book presents an engrossing history of economics, what Alfred Marshall called "the study of mankind in the ordinary business of life." While some regard economics as a modern invention, Roger Backhouse shows that economic ideas were influential even in antiquity--and that the origins of contemporary economic thought can be traced back to the ancients. He reveals the genesis of what we have come to think of as economic theory and shows the remarkable but seldom explored impact of economics, natural science, and philosophy on one another. Along the way, he introduces the fascinating characters who have thought about money and markets, including theologians, philosophers, politicians, lawyers, and poets as well as economists themselves. We learn how some of history's most influential concepts arose from specific times and places: from the Stoic notion of natural law to the mercantilism that rose with the European nation-state; from postwar development economics to the recent experimental and statistical economics made possible by affluence and powerful computers. Vividly written and unprecedented in its integration of ancient and modern economic history, this book is the best history of economics--and among the finest intellectual histories--to be published since Heilbroner's The Worldly Philosophers. It proves that economics has been anything but "the dismal science."
Real-World Decision Making: An Encyclopedia of Behavioral Economics
The first and only encyclopedia to focus on the economic and financial behaviors of consumers, investors, and organizations, including an exploration of how people make good--and bad--economic decisions. Traditional economic theories speculate how and when people should spend money. But consumers don't always behave as expected and often adopt strategies that might appear unorthodox yet are, at times, more effective than the rule prescribed by conventional wisdom. This groundbreaking text examines the ways in which people make financial decisions, whether it is because they are smart but atypical in their choices...or just irrational decision makers. A leading authority on behavioral economics, Morris Altman and more than 150 expert contributors delve into key concepts in behavioral economics, economic psychology, behavioral finance, neuroeconomics, experimental economics, and institutional economics to help inform economic models based on reality, not theory. Through 250 informative entries, the book explores various aspects of the subject including decision making, economic analysis, and public policy. In addition to introducing concepts to readers new to the subject, the book sheds light on more advanced financial topics in a manner that is objective, comprehensive, and accessible. Contains an informative introductory essay that familiarizes students with the various aspects of behavioral economics. Provides a list of additional readings for those interested in learning more about the topic. Includes cross-references in each entry to help readers make connections between related topics. Defines key terms that are likely to be unfamiliar to those without advance knowledge of the subject. Helps readers identify and study particular entry categories through accompanying Topic Finders.
The Road to Freedom: Economics & the Good Society
From one of the world's leading economists, a compelling new vision of personal and economic freedom. We are a nation born from the conviction that people must be free. But since the middle of the last century, that idea has been co-opted. Forces on the political Right have justified exploitation by cloaking it in the rhetoric of freedom, leading to pharmaceutical companies freely overcharging for medication, a Big Tech free from oversight, politicians free to incite rebellion, corporations free to pollute, and more. How did we get here? Whose freedom are we--and should we--be thinking about? In The Road to Freedom, Nobel prize winner Joseph E. Stiglitz dissects America's current economic system and the political ideology that created it, laying bare their twinned failure. "Free" and unfettered markets have only succeeded in delivering a series of crises: the financial crisis, the opioid crisis, and the crisis of inequality. While a small portion of the population has amassed considerable wealth, wages for most people have stagnated. Free and unfettered markets have exploited consumers, workers, and the environment alike. Such failures have fed populist movements that believe being free means abandoning any obligations citizens have to one another. As they grow in strength, these movements now pose a real threat to true economic and political freedom. As an economic advisor to presidents and as chief economist at the World Bank, Stiglitz has witnessed these profound changes firsthand. As he argues, the failures follow from the elites' unshakeable dedication to "the neoliberal experiment." Explicitly taking on giants such as Friedrich Hayek and Milton Friedman, Stiglitz exposes accepted ideas about our political and economic life for what they are: twisted visions that tear at the social fabric while they enrich the very few. The Road to Freedom breaks new ground, showing how economics--including recent advances in which Stiglitz has played such an important role--reframes how to think about freedom and the role of the state in a twenty-first century society. Drawing on the work of contemporary philosophers, Stiglitz explains a deeper, more humane way to assess freedoms--one that considers with care what to do when one person's freedom conflicts with another's. We must reimagine our existing economic and legal systems and embrace forms of collective action, including regulation and investment, if we are to create an innovative society in which everyone can flourish. The task could not be more urgent, and Stiglitz's latest book is essential reading for those committed to the American ideal of an economic and political system that delivers well-being, opportunity, and meaningful freedoms for all.
US National Debate Topic, 2023-2024. Wealth & Income Inequality
In 2023, the United States had the highest level of income and wealth inequality of all the developed nations of the world, with the bottom 50 percent of workers controlling only 2 percent of the nation's wealth overall. While wealth inequality has been a core political and economic issue in America from the very beginning, each generation also grapples with emerging ideas about how to address this perennial economic justice issue and, in 2023, as inflation and rising costs of living brought this issue to a head again, economists, politicians, and American citizens were increasingly asking if radical solutions might we warranted in order to expand access to the American Dream. This volume of Reference Shelf introduces the idea of wealth distribution through tax restructuring, regulations on corporate profits, minimum wage laws, and more radical potential solutions like the establishment of a universal basic income. Articles from American periodicals, blogs, and magazines introduce readers to the various aspects of this debate and will tie the income inequality debate of the 2020s to the historic American struggle for economic equity.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
