Research assistance from your friendly COM Librarians! Learn how to research papers, cite sources, and much more… Research assistance from your friendly COM Librarians! Learn how to research papers, cite sources, and much more… Ask COM Library Browse All LibGuides Subjects Internet basics, eBooks, Google, public journals online, how to get the good stuff, search sites, tips and more. Search our catalog for books, read eBooks, find out what new books we have, suggest books, see what other libraries have and more. Access databases with thousands of full text articles, online journals, free articles on the Internet, and more.
This is the "Home" page of the "How to Use Google Books, Magazines, News Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Use Google Books, Magazines, News Archives   Tags: books, ebooks, google, how to  

Discover Google’s hidden library of full text books, magazines and even newspapers.
Last Updated: Jun 20, 2014 URL: http://libguides.com.edu/googlebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Google LibGuides

Google
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jun 14, 2014
How to get the most out of Google searches, drive and much more!
472 views this year
How to Use Google Books, Magazines, News Archives
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jun 20, 2014
Discover Google’s hidden library of full text books, magazines and even newspapers.
1,308 views this year
How to Use Google Scholar
by Kathryn Park - Last Updated Jun 20, 2014
Get the most from Google Scholar: learn how to set preferences, grab citations, get documents for free from TexShare databases and more.
3,639 views this year
 

Link to a Google Book

You can link to a Google book:

Freakonomics

Here's how:

1. Find the book to which you'd like to link. In the Upper right hand corner of the book's page, click on Link and copy the code.

2. Back in Libguides, type in the book title, highlight the text and select the link icon to input an active hyperlink to your article or cover.

Explore Google Books now.

 

Inside Google Books

The latest from Google Books.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

How to Use Google Books, Magazines & News Archives

Google BooksGoogle is scanning the entire collection of some of the world's greatest libraries: Harvard, Oxford, Stanford, University of Michigan, New York Public Library and more. Google has millions of books online already. Magazines and newspapers are also available. Go to Google Books now.

Google Books have different levels of accessibility: no preview available, snippet, limited or full view. The views for each book are based on the copyright and copyright owner of each book. If out of copyright, full view. If publisher agrees, limited view. Basic information about the book only, no preview available. The best results tend to be historical, so this feature is best used for subjects like literature and history. Public domain books can even be downloaded in EPUB and PDF format.

There's More!
Google Books provides many opportunities to enrich any Web page, even Blackboard pages. You can: 




 

Embed Google Books Available in COM Library

If you perform a search on your topic in COMCAT and see a book cover on the result list, you can go to Google and grab the code to embed it.

Here's How
Click on Limited Preview or Preview to go to the book in Google. In the Upper right hand corner of the book's page, click on link and copy the embed code. Back on your web page add the code, and Voila, the book is embedded. Now anyone can access the Table of contents of the book or search it, and read as much of it as the copyright allows from your page. Explore Google Books now.

 

Watch Advanced Search in Google Books

Click to start.

Author

Profile Image
Kathryn Park

 

More Ways to Get Answers

Explore Knowledge Base: LibAnswers

Email: ask@com.libanswers.com
Call: (409) 933-8448
Text:(409) 229-4142
Tweet:@asklibrary
 

 

© Copyright 1998-2013 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
(409) 933-8448 . FAX (409) 933-8030
Send comments and suggestions about COM Library to a Library Staff member.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip