Are you interested in reading more poetry but don't know where to start? Here is a small sample of the classic poets that the library collection has to offer.
Selected Poems of Langston Hughes, feature some of the highlight lights of Hughes' work. Hughes is an icon of the Harlem Renaissance. His poetry celebrated the life of Black Americans during the era.
The Poems of T.S. Eliot, Eliot won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1948. Eliot's most famous works are included in this collection, The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock, The Wasteland, and Ash Wednesday.
The Collected Poems of William Wordsworth, Wordsworth was a founder of the English Romanticism movement. This collection includes some of his most famous poems, such as "London, 1802", "Composed Upon Westminster Bridge", and "I wandered Lonely As a Cloud."
Complete Poems by Edgar Allan Poe. This collection includes some of Poe's iconic poems, such as "Annabel Lee", "The Raven", "Eldorado", and "Alone."
The Lais of Marie de France is the earliest known French Women poet. Marie's works focus on courtly love, whose main characters or lords, ladies, and knights.
The Complete Poems of John Keats, Keats is one of the most famous English poets from the 19th Century. "Bright star, would I were steadfast as thou art", "Ode to a Grecian urn", and "To Autumn."
The Collected Works of Phillis Wheatley, Wheatley was the first African-American to publish a book of poetry in the American Colonies who mainly wrote about the lifes of slaves in the American Colonies. This collection includes her most famous works such as, "On Being Brought from Africa to America", "An Hymn to Humanity" and "On Virtue."
Want to learn more about poetry? Check out our Poetry guides.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
0 Comments.