Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering Design Chemical Engineering Design is one of the best-known and widely adopted texts available for students of chemical engineering. It deals with the application of chemical engineering principles to the design of chemical processes and equipment. Revised throughout, the fourth edition covers the latest aspects of process design, operations, safety, loss prevention and equipment selection, among others. Comprehensive and detailed, the book is supported by problems and selected solutions. In addition the book is widely used by professionals as a day-to-day reference.

Chemical Engineering Design : Principles, Practice and Economics of Plant and Process Design Chemical Engineering Design, Second Edition, deals with the application of chemical engineering principles to the design of chemical processes and equipment. Revised throughout, this edition has been specifically developed for the U.S. market. It provides the latest US codes and standards, including API, ASME and ISA design codes and ANSI standards. It contains new discussions of conceptual plant design, flowsheet development, and revamp design; extended coverage of capital cost estimation, process costing, and economics; and new chapters on equipment selection, reactor design, and solids handling processes. A rigorous pedagogy assists learning, with detailed worked examples, end of chapter exercises, plus supporting data, and Excel spreadsheet calculations, plus over 150 Patent References for downloading from the companion website. Extensive instructor resources, including 1170 lecture slides and a fully worked solutions manual are available to adopting instructors. This text is designed for chemical and biochemical engineering students (senior undergraduate year, plus appropriate for capstone design courses where taken, plus graduates) and lecturers/tutors, and professionals in industry (chemical process, biochemical, pharmaceutical, petrochemical sectors).

Chemical Process Equipment : Selection and Design Chemical Process Equipment is a results-oriented reference for engineers who specify, design, maintain or run chemical and process plants. This book delivers information on the selection, sizing and operation of process equipment in a format that enables quick and accurate decision making on standard process and equipment choices, saving time, improving productivity, and building understanding. Coverage emphasizes common real-world equipment design rather than experimental or esoteric and focuses on maximizing performance.

Chemical Process Simplification While emphasizing conservation and sustainable strategies, this book provides steps to improve the manufacturing technologies used in creating products. By simplifying the chemistry, process development, manufacturing practices and processes, the book provides a structured approach to producing quality products with little waste, making the process not only efficient but environmentally friendly. Illustrated with case studies, this is an essential resource for chemical engineers, chemists, plant engineers, and operating personnel in any chemical related businesses.

Handbook of Chemicals and Safety A host of chemical substances have become essential parts of human activities and requirements for societal development. Any kind of misuse and/or negligence in handling these substances can cause health disorders, poisoning, and fatalities among unprotected workers and members of the public exposed to contaminated food, water, and air. Carefully organized for ease of use, Handbook of Chemicals and Safety provides a tool for the management of a range of chemical substances commonly used, handled, stored, transported, and disposed of as wastes. Written in an accessible style with just the right amount of technical rigor, the book covers: General fundamentals and specific hazards and effects of chemical substances The basics of exposures and responses to chemical substances in the work environment Toxic responses in different body systems General perspective on the problem of chemical exposures and the possible health effects The author includes substances such as industrial solvents, pesticides, metals, air pollutants, toxic gases, drugs, and other items. He supplies the chemical abstract system (CAS) number, IUPAC name, molecular formula, synonyms and trade names, use and exposure, toxicity and health effects, and carcinogen factors. He also includes information on exposure limits, methods of proper storage, and waste disposal. An important reference on exposure to different categories of chemical substances, the book stresses the importance of preparedness in any safety program. Taking a broad and interdisciplinary approach to chemicals and workplace safety, it provides guidance on the judicious management of chemical substances.

Heat and Thermodynamics Everything, whether living or nonliving, is made of energy; in other words, matter is energy. Heat and thermodynamics is the study of what happens to that energy in the universe. To understand how matter behaves, we must understand how energy works, and energy, also known as atomic motion, is heat. Heat can do many things, such as cook food, melt ice, warm a cold room, or burn down a house. It can transform what it touches, move from one location to another, and excite atoms into greater activity or calm them down by leaving. Full-color throughout and filled with detailed features,Heat and Thermodynamics, Second Edition is the study of heat's behavior and how it impacts the movement of energy and, in particular, the movement of energy in and out of systems. Included is an analysis of the four Laws of Thermodynamics and how they affect the behavior of matter in our universe.

Integrating Green Chemistry and Sustainable Engineering This groundbreaking book covers the recent advances in sustainable technologies and developments, and describes how green chemistry and engineering practices are being applied and integrated in various industrial sectors. Over the past decade, the population explosion, rise in global warming, depletion of fossil fuel resources and environmental pollution have been the major driving force for promoting and implementing the principles of green chemistry and sustainable engineering in all sectors ranging from chemical to environmental sciences. It plays a growing role in the chemical processing industries. Green chemistry and engineering are relatively new areas focused on minimizing generations of pollution by utilizing alternative feedstocks, developing, selecting, and using less environmentally harmful solvents, finding new synthesis pathways, improving selectivity in reactions, generating less waste, avoiding the use of highly toxic compounds, and much more. In an effort to advance the discussion of green chemistry and engineering, this book contains 19 chapters describing greener approaches to the design and development of processes and products. The contributors describe the production of third generation biofuels, sustainable and economic production of hydrogen by water splitting using solar energy, efficient energy harvesting, mechanisms involved in the conversion of biomass, green nanocomposites, bio-based polymers, ionic liquids as green solvents, sustainable nitrogen fixation, bioremediation, and much more. The book aims at motivating chemists and engineers, as well as postgraduate and PhD students and postdocs to pay attention to an acute need for the implementation of green chemistry principles in the field of chemical engineering, biomedical engineering, agriculture, environmental engineering, chemical processing and material sciences.

Introduction to Chemical Engineering Computing Step-by-step instructions enable chemical engineers to master key software programs and solve complex problems Today, both students and professionals in chemical engineering must solve increasingly complex problems dealing with refineries, fuel cells, microreactors, and pharmaceutical plants, to name a few. With this book as their guide, readers learn to solve these problems using their computers and Excel, MATLAB, Aspen Plus, and COMSOL Multiphysics. Moreover, they learn how to check their solutions and validate their results to make sure they have solved the problems correctly. Now in its Second Edition, Introduction to Chemical Engineering Computing is based on the author's firsthand teaching experience. As a result, the emphasis is on problem solving. Simple introductions help readers become conversant with each program and then tackle a broad range of problems in chemical engineering, including: Equations of state Chemical reaction equilibria Mass balances with recycle streams Thermodynamics and simulation of mass transfer equipment Process simulation Fluid flow in two and three dimensions All the chapters contain clear instructions, figures, and examples to guide readers through all the programs and types of chemical engineering problems. Problems at the end of each chapter, ranging from simple to difficult, allow readers to gradually build their skills, whether they solve the problems themselves or in teams. In addition, the book's accompanying website lists the core principles learned from each problem, both from a chemical engineering and a computational perspective. Covering a broad range of disciplines and problems within chemical engineering, Introduction to Chemical Engineering Computing is recommended for both undergraduate and graduate students as well as practicing engineers who want to know how to choose the right computer software program and tackle almost any chemical engineering problem.

Principles of Chemical Engineering Practice Enables chemical engineering students to bridge theory and practice Integrating scientific principles with practical engineering experience, this text enables readers to master the fundamentals of chemical processing and apply their knowledge of such topics as material and energy balances, transport phenomena, reactor design, and separations across a broad range of chemical industries. The author skillfully guides readers step by step through the execution of both chemical process analysis and equipment design. Principles of Chemical Engineering Practice is divided into two sections: the Macroscopic View and the Microscopic View. The Macroscopic View examines equipment design and behavior from the vantage point of inlet and outlet conditions. The Microscopic View is focused on the equipment interior resulting from conditions prevailing at the equipment boundaries. As readers progress through the text, they'll learn to master such chemical engineering operations and equipment as: Separators to divide a mixture into parts with desirable concentrations Reactors to produce chemicals with needed properties Pressure changers to create favorable equilibrium and rate conditions Temperature changers and heat exchangers to regulate and change the temperature of process streams Throughout the book, the author sets forth examples that refer to a detailed simulation of a process for the manufacture of acrylic acid that provides a unifying thread for equipment sizing in context. The manufacture of hexyl glucoside provides a thread for process design and synthesis. Presenting basic thermodynamics, Principles of Chemical Engineering Practice enables students in chemical engineering and related disciplines to master and apply the fundamentals and to proceed to more advanced studies in chemical engineering.

Reference Book on Chemical Engineering : Volume 1 This book contains a large no. of information in 55 chapters. Topics chosen range from important data bases, manufacturing processes and various useful graphs as well as unit operation like Heat exchangers with design calculation, some basic equations etc. to process evaluation technique. Information on financial matters, contract types and project costing were also included. The book ends with ISO-9000 standards and SI units & relationship.

Reference Book on Chemical Engineering : Volume 2 This book is in Part I and Part II. The Part I comprises 189 Tables and Part II, 8 chapters, basic information on other engineering disciplines. The tables give information on various materials, physical data/analysis of organic and inorganic chemicals, plastics, minerals, metals and many more. The other engineering subjects give basic information on civil, mechanical, electrical and instrumentation. Basic information on elec. requirement for explosive atmosphere as per IS and IEC/EN standards were given as well as a chapter on glossary of terms in chemistry and others.

Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers, Fifth Edition, provides solutions, common sense techniques, shortcuts, and calculations to help chemical and process engineers deal with practical on-the-job problems. It discusses physical properties for proprietary materials, pharmaceutical and biopharmaceutical sector heuristics, and process design, along with closed-loop heat transfer systems, heat exchangers, packed columns, and structured packings. Organized into 27 chapters, the book begins with an overview of formulae and data for sizing piping systems for incompressible and compressible flow. It then moves to a discussion of design recommendations for heat exchangers, practical equations for solving fractionation problems, along with design of reactive absorption processes. It also considers different types of pumps and presents narrative as well as tabular comparisons and application notes for various types of fans, blowers, and compressors. The book also walks the reader through the general rules of thumb for vessels, how cooling towers are sized based on parameters such as return temperature and supply temperature, and specifications of refrigeration systems. Other chapters focus on pneumatic conveying, blending and agitation, energy conservation, and process modeling. Online calculation tools, Excel workbooks, guidelines for hazardous materials and processes, and a searchable Rules of Thumb library are included. Chemical engineers faced with fluid flow problems will find this book extremely useful.

Chemical engineering design : principles, practice, and economics of plant and process design Chemical Engineering Design, Second Edition, deals with the application of chemical engineering principles to the design of chemical processes and equipment. Revised throughout, this edition has been specifically developed for the U.S. market. It provides the latest US codes and standards, including API, ASME and ISA design codes and ANSI standards. It contains new discussions of conceptual plant design, flowsheet development, and revamp design; extended coverage of capital cost estimation, process costing, and economics; and new chapters on equipment selection, reactor design, and solids handling processes. A rigorous pedagogy assists learning, with detailed worked examples, end of chapter exercises, plus supporting data, and Excel spreadsheet calculations, plus over 150 Patent References for downloading from the companion website. Extensive instructor resources, including 1170 lecture slides and a fully worked solutions manual are available to adopting instructors. This text is designed for chemical and biochemical engineering students (senior undergraduate year, plus appropriate for capstone design courses where taken, plus graduates) and lecturers/tutors, and professionals in industry (chemical process, biochemical, pharmaceutical, petrochemical sectors).

Chemical process equipment : selection and design Chemical Process Equipment is a results-oriented reference for engineers who specify, design, maintain or run chemical and process plants. This book delivers information on the selection, sizing and operation of process equipment in a format that enables quick and accurate decision making on standard process and equipment choices, saving time, improving productivity, and building understanding. Coverage emphasizes common real-world equipment design rather than experimental or esoteric and focuses on maximizing performance.

A Dictionary of Chemical Engineering A Dictionary of Chemical Engineering is one of the latest additions to the market leading Oxford Paperback Reference series. In over 3,400 concise and authoritative A to Z entries, it provides definitions and explanations for chemical engineering terms in areas including: materials, energybalances, reactions, separations, sustainability, safety, and ethics. Naturally, the dictionary also covers many pertinent terms from the fields of chemistry, physics, biology, and mathematics.Useful entry-level web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website to expand the coverage of the dictionary. Comprehensively cross-referenced and complemented by over 60 line drawings, this excellent new volume is the most authoritative dictionary of its kind. It is anessential reference source for students of chemical engineering, for professionals in this field (as well as related disciplines such as applied chemistry, chemical technology, and process engineering), and for anyone with an interest in the subject.

Expanders for Oil and Gas Operations Effective methods for recovering gas energy using expanders Expanders for Oil and Gas Operations offers in-depth details on different types of expanders, addressing the background, mechanical design features, design and operating requirements, operational processes, and potential problems for each class of expander. The book also discusses rotor dynamics, vibration theory, material strength, life estimation, and probabilistic analysis. The information in this practical, illustrated resource will help you to maintain and improve existing expanders and implement design enhancements for increased expander capacity as well as lifespan and maximum energy reuse. Comprehensive coverage includes: CCU hot gas expanders Nitric acid expanders for chemical applications Turboexpanders/cryogenic turboexpanders Rotor dynamics Bladed disk vibration and reliability Damage in material and life analysis Probabilistic concept and risk assessment

Fine chemicals : the industry and the business Now updated - the authoritative reference on one of the most exciting and challenging areas of the modern chemical industry This highly readable and informative reference continues to take a comprehensive, in-depth view of the products, markets, and technology of the fine chemicals industry and business. Dr. Peter Pollak, one of the foremost authorities in the field, provides an insider's unique perspective on fine chemicals from both a technological and a commercial viewpoint, covering all recent developments. He provides ample facts and figures including sixty-three tables, thirty figures, and nineteen photo inserts - making this a well-illustrated and documented text. This reference is divided into three parts: Part One: The Industry discusses the types of fine chemical companies, the range of products and services, the role of research and development, the underlying technologies, and the challenges facing management Part Two: The Business explores the key markets for fine chemicals - such as the pharmaceutical, agrochemical, and animal health industries - and the relevant marketing strategies, as well as the ins and outs of pricing, distribution channels, intellectual property rights, account management, and promotion Part Three: Outlook examines trends such as globalization and outsourcing, forecasts future growth and development by industry segment, and discusses prerequisites for success in the field This new edition features both updated and new information on the offer/demand balance for fine chemicals and the escalating impact of emerging companies in Asia, particularly from China and India. It describes the inversion of the mergers and acquisitions scenario from a seller's to a buyer's market, the broadening of the fine chemical business model, and the expanding role of biotechnology, as well as the impact of increased outsourcing of chemical manufacturing and the growing consumption of pharmaceuticals and agrochemicals by the life science industry. Also included are numerous molecular structures, engineering diagrams, and tables to facilitate understanding. For a thorough understanding of the technology, the business, and the future of the fine chemicals industry, this book's insight is unprecedented. It is ideally suited for those in the industry - including employees, suppliers, customers, investors, and consulting companies - as well as academic and other research organizations, students and educators, public officials, media representatives, and anyone else who wants to understand the intricacies of the industry. Fine Chemicals has been recognized as Outstanding Academic Title 2012 (Choice, v.50, no. 05, January 2013).

Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology Substantially revising and updating the classic reference in the field, this handbook offers a valuable overview and myriad details on current chemical processes, products, and practices. No other source offers as much data on the chemistry, engineering, economics, and infrastructure of the industry.The Handbook serves a spectrum of individuals, from those who are directly involved in the chemical industry to others in related industries and activities. It provides not only the underlying science and technology for important industry sectors (30 of the book's 38 chapters), but also broad coverage of critical supporting topics. Industrial processes and  products can be much enhanced through observing the tenets and applying the methodologies found in new chapters on Green Engineering and Chemistry, Practical Catalysis, and Environmental Measurements; as well as expanded treatment of Safety and Emergency Preparedness. Understanding these factors allows them to be part of the total process and helps achieve optimum results in, for example, process development, review, and modification. Other new chapters include Nanotechnology, Environmental Considerations in Facilities Planning, Biomass Utilization, Industrial Microbial Fermentation, Enzymes and Biocatalysis, the Nuclear Industry, and History of the Chemical Industry.   Please note that this publication is available as print only OR online only OR print + online set. Save 75% of the online list price when purchasing the bundle. For more information on the online version please type the publication title into the search box above, then click on the "eReference" version in the results list.

Process Technology : Safety, Health, and Environment A full range of safety, health and environmental issues that relate to the process industry are thoroughly covered in this newly updated text. Process Technology: Safety, Health and Environment, 3rd edition includes new material such as responding to the use of weapons of mass destruction, hurricanes, tornados, and other natural disasters along with a comprehensive discussion on conducting a job hazard analysis. New safety problems, line-drawings, study/review questions and instructor directed applications that enhance learning and retention of new text material while integrating safety, science and theory with process equipment and systems. The addition of a thorough review of hazards associated with operating systems common to the chemical industry will make this book an invaluable resource.

Safety, Health, and Environmental Concepts for the Process Industry Practical and easy to understand, SAFETY, HEALTH, AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONCEPTS FOR THE PROCESS INDUSTRY, Second Edition is an essential text for anyone who apsires to work in process technology. Through a hands-on approach and direct writing style, the author succinctly covers all of the safety and regulatory issues essential to the industry. In addition, relevant topics such as OSHA regulations and analyzer technology are discussed in detail. Each chapter includes learning objectives, a list of the key terms , a chapter summary, and review questions. This thoroughly revised second edition also includes a chapter specific to OSHA and DOT, upgraded artwork, and relevant articles to enhance your understanding and demonstrate real world relevance.

A Working Guide to Process Equipment Chemical engineers and technicians often can't identify the source of equipment malfunctions because they don't understand how the equipment works. This guide explains the inner workings of equipment in continuous process facilities.