Surgical Technology

ABC of Wound Healing ABC of Wound Healing, Second Edition ABC of Wound Healing is a practical, highly illustrated guide to assessment, diagnosis and management of all common types of acute and chronic wounds. This concise yet comprehensive reference covers all essential aspects of wound healing care, including epidemiology, pathophysiology, assessment, treatment, long-term management, and prevention This revised second edition contains several new chapters on lymphoedema, nutrition, skin care, continence, and scarring. Updated and expanded chapters cover a wider range of devices and therapies, and discuss additional factors that impact wound healing processes, offering new clinical photographs as a visual guide. Applying a multidisciplinary approach to the provision of wound care, ABC of Wound Healing: Covers common wounds including traumatic wounds, surgical wounds, diabetic foot ulcers, pressure injuries, and venous and arterial leg ulcers Emphasises the importance of reaching a diagnosis, the fundamental step in managing any wound Provides up-to-date information on physical, chemical, biological and emerging therapies for patients with various types of wounds Contains hundreds of full-colour illustrations and clinical photographs of wounds and treatments ABC of Wound Healing, Second Edition, remains a must-have guide for junior doctors, specialist registrars in medicine and surgery, specialist nurses, general practitioners and medical students.

Ballenger's Otorhinolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery The first edition of William Lincoln Ballenger's Diseases of the Nose, Throat and Ear: Medical and Surgical was published in 1908 and has since sold over 150,000 copies worldwide in 11 languages. The 18th edition has expanded to 114 chapters, continuing the tradition of excellence and applying Ballenger's original concept of combining an atlas with text to produce a comprehensive reference for practitioners of the 21st century. Color plates, illustrations, endoscopic photographs, and other color photographs illuminate surgical concepts, the foundations of underlying disease, and procedures. Section editors and senior authors were selected for their valuable contributions and international leadership in their disciplines. This edition blends state-of-the-art clinical techniques, methods, and outcomes with scientific foundations in an accessible, reader-friendly manner for both developing specialists and seasoned practitioners. New to this edition: More than 1,000 full-color clinical illustrations and photographs Emphasis on the role of molecular biology in the pathogenesis of disease and therapy Coverage of the genetic, virology, bacterial and immunologic basis of disease Expanded presentation of the basic science underlying clinical practice Expansion of the Rhinology and Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology sections New chapters on: cochlear, auditory brainstem and vestibular prostheses; allergy evaluation; immunotherapy; medical management of chronic sinusitis; upper and lower blepharoplasty; cleft lip; drooling, dysphagia and aspiration; otoplasty; functional rhinoplasty; navigational systems, surgical simulators and robotic surgery New pediatric chapters on: Speech and resonance disorders in children; voice disorders in children; pediatric head and neck neoplasms; aerodigestive tract foreign bodies and caustic ingestions; vascular tumors and malformations of the head and neck; infectious and inflammatory disorders of the larynx and trachea; congenital anomalies of the nose and nasal airway; congenital anomalies of the external, middle and inner ear; congenital anomalies of the mandible and maxilla; acquired anomalies of the larynx and trachea.

Careers in Healthcare

Careers in Medical Technology

Decker: Surgery Recommendations on current surgical care from master surgeons. Includes drawings, graphs, photos, and decision-making algorithms.

The Fundamentals of SURGICAL INSTRUMENTS This book provides a sound introduction to surgical instrumentation, including their recognition, use and care. It provides useful information that is essential for operating department practitioners, nurses, scrub practitioners, surgeons under training, surgical technologists, junior doctors and medical students. Descriptions of how and where the instruments are used will also aid in the knowledge required for their application, providing an understanding of instruments for specific procedures. The book is relevant to surgical practice around the world. It also aligns with the core curriculum of the Association of Surgical Technologists in the United States. This book provides the fundamental knowledge required for students and qualified staff working within the perioperative environment, to ensure the safe and efficient use of surgical instrumentation and ultimately the care of the surgical patient as a result.

Hand Hygiene: A Handbook for Medical Professionals The first comprehensive, authoritative review of one of the most fundamental and important issues in infection control and patient safety, hand hygiene. Developed and presented by the world's leading scholar-clinicians, Hand Hygiene is an essential resource for all medical professionals. Developed and presented by the world leaders in this fundamental topic  Fully integrates World Health Organization (WHO) guidelines and policies Offers a global perspective in tackling hand hygiene issues in developed and developing countries Coverage of basic and highly complex clinical applications of hand hygiene practices Includes novel and unusual aspects and issues in hand hygiene such as religious and cultural aspects and patient participation Offers guidance at the individual, institutional, and organizational levels for national and worldwide hygiene promotion campaigns

Medical-Surgical Nursing Made Incredibly Easy Feeling anxious or unsure about medical-surgical nursing care? Get grounded in the latest best practices, with the freshly updated Medical-Surgical Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!®, 5th Edition. This colorful fully illustrated guide offers clear, concise descriptions of crucial medical-surgical nursing concepts and procedures, with learning aids that help you grasp skills and concepts easily, in an enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. From assessment and diagnostics to current evidence-based treatments and interventions, this is the perfect backup to class materials, helpful support for new nurses, and a handy refresher for experienced nurses.

Mulholland and Greenfield's Surgery Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! \ Newly streamlined and focused on quick-access, easy-to-digest content, Mulholland and Greenfield's Surgery: Scientific Principles & Practice, 7th Edition, remains an invaluable resource for today's residents and practicing surgeons. This gold standard text balances scientific advances with clinical practice, reflecting rapid changes, new technologies, and innovative techniques in today's surgical care. New lead editor Dr. Justin Dimick and a team of expert editors and contributing authors bring a fresh perspective and vision to this classic reference. Presents the science that underpins the practice of surgery alongside practical clinical content. Features newly streamlined and condensed information with a clear, concise focus, as well as additional tables, procedural summaries of key steps, and pearls and pitfalls throughout. Covers general scientific principles such as inflammation, shock, nutrition, pain management, and much more, followed by surgical practice chapters arranged by organ system. Contains 2,100 full-color illustrations, anatomic drawings, and intraoperative photographs that visually support the text and make complex concepts easier to grasp. Chapters begin with Key Points and decision-making algorithms are listed in the front of the book for quick reference. eBook version features over 40 "Morbidity and Mortality" case discussions and an Interactive Question Bank with nearly 900 questions.

Pocket Guide to the Operating Room "...an invaluable reference book for the novice perioperative nurse or surgical technologist. For someone studying for the CNOR, this is a tremendous resource book and study guide." -- The AORN Journal "As a surgical tech, this book saved me so many times. It has great descriptions of surgical procedures and suggestions for instrument trays. I used this book daily after landing my first job and still use it as my first point of reference today." -- Amazon Reviewer This pocket guide presents more than 500 surgical procedures! State-of-the-art revisions familiarize the reader with new standards of excellence for care of the surgical patient in the perioperative environment. For each procedure, you'll find a definition, discussion, description of the surgery, preparation of the patient, skin preparation, draping technique, instrumentation, supplies, and special notes pertinent to that surgery. Comprehensive patient care is addressed, including psychological care of the patient in surgery, safety measures for the patient and perioperative personnel, the written record of intra-, pre- and postoperative care, The Joint Commission's Universal Protocol and AORN's standards and recommended practices, (including correct site and laterality considerations). Its in-depth coverage also encompasses charting as a legal document, patient teaching, detailed surgical patient positioning with drawings, anesthesia and anesthetic agents, laser application, robotics, endoscopy (including laparoscopic, hysteroscopic, thoracoscopic, and arthroscopic procedures), microsurgery (including microendoscopy and microneuroendoscopy), harmonic scalpel, argon beam coagulator, special considerations for the pediatric patient in surgery, (including anesthesia modifications and surgical procedures). See what users are saying... Great resource for surgical procedures. "Love this book! It gives a nice overview of some of the most routine surgeries along with a general guideline of instrumentation. Very helpful for anyone who is thinking about a career in the surgical services!" - Amazon Reviewer A must-have! "As a student, I referred to this book to review cases throughout the day for supplies needed, positioning and what is expected. Even after graduation from the program I still use this book to brush up on procedures I haven't performed in a while." -- Amazon Reviewer Best book for a Surgical Technologist "This book is the best book for any Surgical Technologist. Use it for school but never get rid of it because you will use it a lot in your practice for reference. Keep it in your locker always!" -- Amazon Reviewer Perfect for practice OR prep "I am new to the OR and I found this to be an excellent resource to review the night before my cases." -- Amazon Reviewer

A Practical Guide to Surgical Instruments, X-Rays and Operative Interventions This book provides medical students with a concise overview of surgical instruments, X-rays, and operative procedures. Divided into four sections, the text begins with discussion on metallic instruments such as forceps, stone retrieval forceps, and retractors. The next section covers non-metallic instruments, describing catheters, drains, bags, sutures, and more. Section three provides students with detail on X-rays for gastrointestinal, hepatobiliary, genitourinary, and chest disorders, and the final section explains various operative procedures for different anatomical systems. Topics are presented in bullet point format, highlighting procedures, salient features, contraindications, advantages, disadvantages, and key points. The book is further enhanced by nearly 200 clinical photographs and figures. Key points Concise overview of surgical instruments, X-rays and operative procedures for medical students Covers various different anatomical systems Presented in bullet point format to assist learning Highly illustrated with nearly 200 clinical photographs and figures

Surgery and Operating Room Innovation This book presents cutting-edge surgical techniques and the new operating rooms supporting them, as well as their future developments. In recent years, with the advances in surgical medicine, surgical techniques have undergone great changes. However, safety and reliability are still the major requirements of the operating room, and these are closely linked to the patients' wellbeing. The new medical instruments and medical materials being developed to perform surgery more safely, reliably and efficiently are vital technologies supporting this. "New techniques" involve the introduction of innovative medical instruments and medical materials, and these, too, are increasing in terms of performance and size every year. Surgery and Operating Room Innovation discusses these issues from the perspective of various professionals involved with operating rooms. 

The Surgical Handbook A patient-focused practical handbook for rapid acquisition of broad surgical knowledge The Surgical Handbook by Michael Karsy and esteemed colleagues addresses training gaps by exposing early trainees, medical students, residents, advanced practice providers, and non-specialists to a diverse array of surgical subspecialty diseases and acute management topics. The impressive breadth of content presented in this resource reflects multidisciplinary contributions. The text covers far more than existing medical handbooks, while featuring concise distillation of key points conducive to learning. The book is organized by 16 sections starting with general perioperative and operative management of topics that apply to all surgeons, such as critical care, trauma, and general surgery. Subsequent chapters encompass a full spectrum of surgical specialties--from vascular and cardiothoracic--to neurosurgery and orthopaedics, as well as handy evidence-based reference guides. The focused collection of topics within each section serves as a useful resource for learning about management of specific diseases and also a starting point for self-directed learning. Key Highlights Bullet points, illustrations, diagrams, and figures enhance rapid acquisition of knowledge Tables on acute diagnosis and management of common inpatient scenarios such as electrolyte and acid/base disturbances provide easy-to-use tools Clinical references include practice pearls on trauma management, key medications for common inpatient conditions, acute patient events (e.g. cardiac and stroke), anesthesia and intubation medications, and preoperative and post-anesthesia issues This backpack companion will benefit medical students and junior surgical residents during rotations and clerkships and help early-career clinicians gain insights into timely disease recognition, initial management, surgical risks, and when to make referrals. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.

Surgical Notes : A Pocket Survival Guide for the Operating Room

Surgical Technology : A QuickStudy Reference Guide Quick reference to the answers you need for your education as a surgical technologist, also known as a scrub, scrub tech, surgical technician or operating room tech. Working in an operating room for surgery requires organized precision and skill to be part of a lifesaving team. In digital format this tool will keep the most important core elements of your education at your fingertips for easy and quick review at a moment's notice in the classroom, as a last-minute review or during marathon study sessions. Frequent reviews will commit these answers to your memory for class tests, the CST exam for certification, and beyond to job interviews and ultimately the operating room. Ensure success in this exciting and growing field with a study tool that offers more value per page than any surgical tech study tool out there. Digital guide includes: Introduction Operating Room (OR) Team CST-Associated Organizations Medical Terminology Used in the OR Prefixes, Suffixes & Abbreviations OR Layout, Furniture & Air Quality Control Anatomy for the Surgical Technician Patient Positions on the OR Table Surgical Instruments in the OR Anesthesia & Pharmacology Hemostasis Disinfection & Sterilization The Instrument Cycle

Surgical Technology Review: Certification and Professionalism

Textbook of Surgery Textbook of Surgery is a core book for medical and surgical students providing a comprehensive overview of general and speciality surgery. Each topic is written by an expert in the field. The book focuses on the principles and techniques of surgical management of common diseases. Great emphasis is placed on problem-solving to guide students and junior doctors through their surgical training.

The Trauma Manual: Trauma and Acute Care Surgery Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Covering all areas of trauma, critical care, and emergency surgery, The Trauma Manual: Trauma and Acute Care Surgery, 5th Edition, brings you fully up to date with recent changes in the field. This pocket manual is an indispensable resource for everyone on the trauma/acute care team, with practical, easy-to-read coverage of the wide range of patients seen daily with urgent presentation - whether from injury, emergency general surgical disease, or a major complication. This user-friendly manual is one that every trauma surgeon, surgical resident, surgical critical care specialist, emergency medicine physician, and emergency or trauma nurse will want to keep close at hand for daily use.   Up-to-date coverage of trauma, critical care, and emergency general surgery from a newly expanded group of national and international experts in the field. Organized in a chronological fashion following the usual events and phases of care after injury or acute surgical illness. Many new and revised chapters throughout the book, plus an entirely new section on surgical rescue and management of frequent complications. Evidence-based recommendations backed by extensive clinical experience, presented in a quick-reference format for ease of use. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.

Wound Care Essentials Awards Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Awarded First Place in the 2020 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Medical-Surgical Nursing Category Awarded Second Place in the 2020 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Advance Practice Nursing Category. Looking for an up-to-date, how-to, evidence-based wound care reference? The newly revised Wound Care Essentials, 5th Edition is the comprehensive seminal resource, offering the latest evidence, guidelines and information to assist the interprofessional skin and wound care team translate knowledge into practice.  A crucial guide for all skin and wound care professionals, this essential resource provides authoritative science and practical instruction on wound care best practices.    This must-have guide offers the latest, skin and wound care research-backed insights on prevention and management strategies...  Three New Chapters--Skin, Challenging Skin Conditions and Lymphedema  More chapter contributions from global wound care opinion leaders More (now 50) helpful color photos in the wound gallery  Comprehensive end-of-book certification practice exam, including new review questions Chapter features that include:  All chapters have been updated with the latest available research and educational enablers Visual aids, mnemonics, tables boxes, diagrams. and charts to highlight key concepts Practice Point Boxes - quick summaries of knowledge for best practices that assist in retaining knowledge Show What You Know - review questions at the end of each chapter and answers with explanations at the end of the book Patient Scenario - case studies that illustrate clinical data and discuss application of information Skin and Wound Care Concepts--every chapter has been updated with the most current international guidelines especially for pressure injuries and skin tears Essential content for training staff at wound centers and in every healthcare practice setting - ideal for updating skin and wound care policies and procedures   About the Authors   Sharon Baranoski, MSN, RN, CCNS-APN, CWCN, MAPWCA, FAAN, is a Board-certified, Advanced Practice Nurse specializing in skin & wound care. Her experience crosses all health care setting.  She is a well-known consultant, lecturer, author and educator. She is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing.  She is a former President of the International Skin Tear Advisory Board and the National Pressure Injury Advisory Panel and remains an active member of both organizations.  Sharon has received numerous accolades and awards for her 35 plus years of work in the field of wound care.     Elizabeth A. Ayello, PhD, MS, BSN, RN, CWON, ETN, MAPWCA, FAAN, is a Board-certified wound and ostomy nurse who believes in the interprofessional team approach to skin and wound care practice and education. A fellow in the American Academy of Nursing, she is an internationally known prolific author, editor, researcher, consultant  (including to CMS) and innovative, interactive educator who is the current Co- Editor in Chief of Advances in Skin and Wound Care, President of the World Council of Enterostomal.  

Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery Prepare for success on your CNOR certification exam and in perioperative nursing! Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery, 16th Edition is the definitive resource for nurses and surgical technologists training to assist in the operating room. Illustrated, step-by-step instructions cover patient care in more than 400 surgical interventions, including positioning, instrumentation, and postoperative care. New to this edition is additional coverage of robotic surgery and of cultural awareness, along with the latest standards of practice. From well-known educator Jane C. Rothrock - and with every chapter authored by an expert surgeon/nurse writing team - Alexander's gives you the tools you need to provide safe, high-quality care in the surgical setting. Over 400 general and specialty surgical interventions are covered, as well as many minimally invasive surgical procedures, whether performed in a hospital, outpatient clinic, or in a doctor's office. 900 full-color photos and illustrations show surgical anatomy, procedures, and methods. Comprehensive coverage includes basic perioperative nursing principles, such as patient and environmental safety, infection prevention and control, positioning, anesthesia and pain management, the unique needs of special populations such as pediatric and geriatric patients, and more. Comprehensive practice exams on the Evolve companion website include 300 exam-style questions with rationales. Perioperative nursing considerations include assessment, nursing diagnosis, outcome identification, planning, implementation, evaluation, discharge planning, and patient and family education. Sample plans of care include nursing diagnoses, outcomes, and interventions. Surgical Pharmacology tables summarize the drugs most commonly used for each surgical procedure, including generic and trade names, indications, and pharmacokinetics. Patient and Family Education boxes include specific guidelines for preprocedural and postprocedural care, side effects and complications, home care, discharge instructions, and psychosocial care. Patient Safety boxes highlight Joint Commission initiatives for patient and staff safety in the surgical setting. Best Practice and Research Highlight boxes apply the latest scientific research to patient care. Critical thinking questions at the end of each chapter let you assess your understanding of important material. NEW! Robotic-Assisted Surgery boxes highlight a rapidly expanding surgical modality. NEW! Enhanced Recovery After Surgery boxes promote review of protocols for early recovery for patients undergoing major surgery. NEW! Patient Engagement Exemplar boxes optimize surgical outcomes by addressing AORN guidelines on the issues of patient care and involvement of the patient's family. NEW standards and AORN toolkits cover topics ranging from enhanced post-surgical recovery to prevention of pressure ulcers.

Berry & Kohn's Operating Room Technique * Fundamentals of theory and practice * The perioperative patient care team * The patient as a unique individual * The perioperative environment * Surgical asepsis and sterile technique * Surgical instrumentation and equipment * Preoperative patient care * Pharmacology and anesthesia * Intraoperative patient care * Surgical site management * Perianesthesia and postprocedural patient care * Surgical specialties

Elsevier's Surgical Technology Exam Review The all-in-one surgical technology review you've been waiting for is finally here! Elsevier's Surgical Technology Exam Review combines comprehensive content review, worktext practice, and customizable simulated testing options to give you the 360-degree preparation needed for success on the CST exam. Content chapters offer a thorough review of the CST exam focus areas - including medical terminology, basic science, asepsis, surgical technique, and surgical procedures - all in a helpful outline format. Each chapter also features full-color images and illustrations, review questions with rationales, and surgical concept maps., A sample exam at the end of the book provides a simulated test-day experience. The realistic preparation continues online with a testing engine that lets you access exam questions by category or create custom-generated exams that match the format of the CST exam. If you're looking to pass the CST and be fully prepared for clinical practice, this is the one Surgical Technology review book that you can't afford to be without! UNIQUE! All-in-one resource incorporates content discussions, worktext practice, review questions, and six full practice exams to fully prepare users for the certification exam. UNIQUE! Surgical concept maps in the worktext help emphasize the critical thinking skills needed for clinical success by combining relevant medical terminology, anatomy, pathophysiology, microbiology, and pharmacology for each surgical procedure and helping users learn how to apply that foundational knowledge to the operating room. Content chapters offer a thorough review of the CST exam focus areas - including medical terminology, basic science, asepsis, surgical technique, and surgical procedures - all in an outline format. National Board format utilizes the exam blueprint for the National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting's CST exam to organize content and practice exams. Six practice exams (each with 175 questions) help users improve familiarity with answering exam-style questions and build test-taking confidence. Realistic testing experience utilizes an online, computer-based testing environment and timing function to mimic the actual testing experience. Practice exam customization enables users to practice specific CST blueprint categories in practice mode or use an auto-generator for full CST-style tests in exam mode. Answer keys and rationales for each chapter review question and practice test question help users fully comprehend the information being asked and why a specific choice is best. UNIQUE! Full-color photos and illustrations offer vivid images of instruments, equipment, clinical situations, concept maps, and basic science to help improve comprehension. Chapter review questions allow users to test their level of comprehension before moving onto the next chapter and provide practice for the simulated exams.

LANGE Q&A: Surgical Technology Examination Pass the Surgical Technology Certification (CST) exam with ease! Featuring more than 1,700 Q&As and summaries of important points for each chapter, this valuable resource provides the most complete review available for the surgical technology certification (CST) exam. The book is divided into six core sections to facilitate more effective studying and review. LANGE Q&A Surgical Technology Examination, Eighth Edition includes detailed answer explanations and covers all major areas of the surgical technology curriculum. This is an essential resource for students preparing for the certification exam as well as surgical technologists looking for the latest information on specific procedures such as orthopedics, plastic surgery, and emergency procedures. 1,700+ exam-style questions with detailed answer explanations prepare you for what you will actually see on the exam. Organized into six core sections for the most effective study possible: Fundamental Knowledge, Infection Control, Concepts of Patient Care, Preoperative Preparation, Intraoperative and Postoperative Procedures, and Technology in the Operating Room. Chapter synopses summarize key topics, terms, and objectives in quick-read bulleted text. Thorough coverage of cutting-edge topics such as robotics and endoscopic surgery Ideal for use during coursework and for intensive exam preparation.