Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must be on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
APA Style and Citations for Dummies
Write right in for scholarly success While world-renowned for the precision and clarity it lends to scholarly writing, keeping track of APA style's exacting standards can be demanding (at times even excruciating!) for initiates and seasoned writers alike. Created and governed by the American Psychological Association, it provides a universal style for formatting, citations, and footnotes in psychological research, behavioral and social science journals, and beyond. Getting up to speed is tough stuff, but once you've got it, your work will have that easy-to-follow scholarly authority that will get high marks from your professors and peers alike. Your friendly, frustration-free guide for this adventure in simplifying APA style is Joe Giampalmi, who has taught more than 100 APA-style composition courses to college students. He takes the pain of following APA style away by breaking it down to its essential elements and focusing on the important stuff students encounter most. You'll work through specific, real-life examples of using APA style for psychology, criminology, business, and nursing papers. In addition to demystifying the intricacies of formatting and citation, APA Style & Citations For Dummies has got you covered in all matters of grammar and punctuation--as well as guidance on how APA style can help you negotiate issues around the ethics of authorship and the importance of word choice in reducing bias. Develop conciseness and clarity Pay attention to flow, structure, and logic in your writing Know when, why, how, and what to cite Keep your writing ethically conscious and bias-free Writing in APA style is something that almost all students will need to do at some point: APA Style & Citations For Dummies is a must-have desk reference to know how to win the approval of your professors--and earn the marks you need for success!
College & University Writing Super Review
College & University Writing Super Review contains an in-depth review that fully explains everything high school and college students need to know about the subject. Written in an easy-to-read format, this study guide is an excellent refresher and helps students grasp the important elements quickly and effectively.
College Research Papers for Dummies
Get ready to take on your first college research paper like a pro Just got assigned your first college research paper? Don't sweat it! College Research Papers For Dummies has your back with the perfect companion to these not-as-hard-as-they-look assignments. Discover how to research, argue, problem-solve, analyze, and synthesize your way through even the densest material. Find out how to best revise and rework your paper until it's a polished gem. Plus, get some quick tips on higher-level research papers, such as literature reviews and white papers. Accurately cite references using APA, MLA, and Chicago styles Take advantage of all the resources available to you as you write your first research paper, from your university's library databases to your local college center's support services Develop common research paper writing techniques, including argumentation, research questions, and thesis statements Don't wait until the night before your paper is due! Grab a copy of College Research Papers For Dummies today and ace that first research paper like we all know you can.
The College Student's Guide to Writing a Great Research Paper
Staring at a blank word processing document on your computer screen can create an uneasy feeling, especially as you wish for words to magically fill your 20-page assignment. For the majority of college students, whether you go to Harvard or to community college, this is a universal feeling. This complete guide was created just for you the college student. In this new book, you will learn tips for formatting your research paper, as well as how to complete a cohesive, well-structured assignment for any college course.
College Writing for Dummies
Transform your next college essay into an A+ masterpiece Taking a 100-level English composition course? Just doing your best to get ready for the rigors of college-level writing? Then it's probably time you picked up College Writing For Dummies, the single greatest roadmap to writing high-quality essays, reports, and more! This book is the ideal companion for any introductory college writing course and tracks the curriculum of a typical English Composition, College Writing, English 101, or Writing & Rhetoric course. You'll learn composition techniques, style, language, and grammar tips, and discover how to plan, write, and revise your material. You'll also get: Ten can't-miss resources for improving your college writing Strategies for revising and repairing inadequate essays on your own Techniques to help non-native English speakers master the challenging world of English essay writing Full of real-world examples, lessons in essay structure, grammar, and everything in between, this book is a must-read for every incoming college freshman looking for a head start in one of the most important skills you'll need over the next few years. Grab a copy of College Writing For Dummies today.
The Concise APA Handbook
"Most students struggle with learning how to find references, use them effectively, and cite them appropriately in a required format. One of the most common formats is that of APA. The authors all have vast experience teaching writing courses to various levels of students from undergraduates to graduates in other countries. However, there was lacking a book that could explain the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language for non-native speakers of English, who are often unfamiliar with using references and formatting an essay in a particular method. In order to offer English Learner student writers a source of information that is appropriate for their level, and is cost-effective, this updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing. Much of the published materials on the market targets native speakers of English. The problem with this is that they present the nitpicky details of APA in ways that do not make sense to native speakers of English, let alone to those for whom English is not their first language, because the information is presented in very technical terms that are not easy to understand. This handbook presents the same information in simplified terms with images and step-by-step instructions in ways that make sense to both native and non-native English speaking student writers. Additionally, student writers often struggle with understanding the concept of plagiarism, as well as how to find sources, evaluate the appropriateness of sources, and use sources in effective ways (e.g., how to integrate quotes, when to paraphrase, among others). This book provides this important information that is concise and easy to understand."--
Effective Writing for Business, College, and Life
International best-selling author William Stanek helps you get the edge you need. Whether we like it or not, writing is a part of our every day lives and to get by you need an edge. Enter Effective Writing for Business, College & Life: the down in the trenches writing resource you need to be successful. Use this concise guide to help you: write essays, papers, and dissertations; create reports and presentations; develop articles, stories, and novels; publish online, and CD-ROM. Business, college and life always give us writing challenges and it is time you took control. This indispensable resource will help you be creative, get organized, be effective, and complete the task at hand.
How to Prepare, Stage, and Deliver Winning Presentations
"Business growth is becoming increasingly dependent on partnerships, joint ventures, and other strategic alliances. Consequently, the ability of professionals to articulate their ideas well to others has become increasingly essential. How to Prepare, Stage, and Deliver Winning Presentations, now in a thoroughly updated edition, gives readers a proven and practical approach to increase their knowledge, capabilities, confidence, and success. The book provides proven, practical advice on communicating essential information when it matters most. Readers will learn how to: * Make their case using persuasive supporting materials that illuminate and inspire * Win over audiences with sound strategy, organization, and persuasive evidence * Use visual aids using current technologies such as computer graphics, LCD projectors, and Web-interactive methods * Create a positive impression through voice, language, and nonverbal impressions This is an essential book for all professionals seeking to influence decision makers, win contracts, and enhance their careers."
How to Write Better Essays
For every student who needs to write essays, from whatever discipline, this book is an essential resource, offering the help and inspiration they need to tackle their essays with confidence. This book takes the reader carefully through each landmark stage of the essay writing process from the interpretation of the question, to the research, planning and revision. They are shown not just how to improve their study skills such as note-taking, reading, organisation and writing, but their thinking skills too. Full of techniques and worked examples, this bestselling guide teaches students how to analyse difficult concepts, criticise and evaluate arguments, use evidence and develop more ideas of their own. It provides clear and practical advice throughout and gives students the confidence they need to tackle written assignments. New for this edition The fifth edition includes a new chapter on staying focused and managing distractions. It also features new techniques for reading sources that will help you form your own judgements and craft strong and original arguments.
Present Like a Pro: The Modern Guide to Getting Your Point Across in Meetings, Speeches, and the Media
Highly accessible, full of memorable examples, and at times amusing, this book presents ten powerful techniques for getting your point across in all venues--including new media. * Clearly explains how to identify the best approach for a presentation, gear your speech toward your audience, and ensure a presentation is a resounding success * Describes how to make your voice more powerful, clear, and appealing by employing techniques used by broadcasters, voice artists, and singers * Identifies strategies for going beyond the old-fashioned "public speaking" mode into the modern world of the media-savvy presenter who integrates different formats and technologies into his or her approach--a particularly valuable skill set for entrepreneurs * Teaches how to develop flexible skills that will allow you to persuade, captivate, and entertain, regardless of the specific purpose of your presentation
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
101 Secrets of Highly Effective Speakers : Controlling Fear, Commanding Attention
Organized according to each step in the preparation process and augmented with examples to clarify the points made, this book pulls together major principles and techniques used by today's effective speakers.
Academic Research and Writing : Inquiry and Argument in College
This text shows that research is important beyond the classroom and is a necessary component in any career. Beginning with coverage of skills and techniques, this comprehensive text then moves into specific kinds of academic research tasks, showing the generic features and constraints of academic writing. The main issues necessary for understanding how to read and construct research projects are discussed, including plagiarism, copyright and patents, conventions used by different discourse communities, and how writers use sources in different ways.
Essential Writing Skills for College and Beyond
Hone Your Writing Skills for Success in College and in Life! Every student knows that writing a successful college paper is no small undertaking. To make the grade, you need to express your ideas clearly and concisely. So how do you do it? In Essential Writing Skills for College and Beyond, you'll learn down-to-earth strategies for organizing your thoughts, researching the right sources, getting it down on paper...and earning an A. Write any type of college paper: Techniques for writing term papers, essays, creative assignments, and more. Improve your writing: Brainstorm ideas, research like a pro, draft and structure your paper, and polish your writing. Master the nuts and bolts: Avoid common mistakes in grammar, spelling, and punctuation. Turn it in on time: Stay organized with timelines tailored for a variety of papers. Take it to the next level: Get advice for writing effectively after graduation and on the job. College writing may seem daunting, but it doesn't have to be. No matter what your major or field of study, Essential Writing Skills for College and Beyond will help you take charge of your writing, your grades, and your path to success.
The Exceptional Presenter
It's often reported that the number one fear among American adults is public speaking, but in today's competitive business world, effective communication is a crucial skill -- and the cost of being less than effective is high. From the White House to boardrooms worldwide, Tim Koegel has strengthened the presentations, media relations, and communications skills of CEOs and leaders with his renowned coaching abilities. THE EXCEPTIONAL PRESENTER lays out his techniques in a format perfectly suited to today's busy world. Originally released in limited distribution, THE EXCEPTIONAL PRESENTER has sold over 50,000 copies and has been an airport business bestseller with Hudson Group for more than a year. In this no-nonsense, blow-by-blow handbook, readers will learn how to infuse any type of presentation with energy, confidence, and verve. Whether speaking at a local PTA meeting or national press conference, you will exceed your audience's expectations every time.
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association : the official guide to APA style, 7th edition
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Writing Papers in College : A Brief Guide
Writing Papers in College provides clear, concise guidance on a comprehensive range of composition topics--writing, research, and grammar--in a portable size and at a low price. Writing Papers in College guides students through all stages of the writing process--while also offering essential organizational strategies--using brief instruction that delivers just enough detail to help students be effective writers. Rather than weigh students down with an overly complicated presentation or belabored concepts, Writing Papers keeps advice short and sweet so that students spend less time reading about writing and more time focusing on their own work.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
