Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Accident and Emergency Informatics
Time is short in emergency situations; the need for action becomes imperative. Biomedical Informatics can be invaluable in supporting the management of emergency medicine, and the need for the creation of Accident and Emergency Informatics (A&EI) as a novel subfield became obvious. As in all areas of Biomedical Informatics, A&EI must deal with issues such as relevant data collection, the management of data extracted from accident sites, health records or sensors, wearables and apps, and appropriate data processing, with the dual purpose of preventing harm and decision support. This book is an introduction to the research and application domain of A&EI, and is the product of three years' work by the Working Group in A&EI of the International Medical Informatics Association (IMIA). The book presents ten chapters organized in four sections. The first section explores the framework for achieving an emergency-informatics health information infrastructure; the second focuses on the gathering of critical clinical data related to the building up of a smart environment for A&EI; the third introduces state-of-the-art technologies for integration into virtual emergency registries; and the final part considers the delicate issues of patient safety raised by the introduction of surveillance technologies into clinical care, along with other issues presenting challenges to the domain of A&EI for the future. The book is an important contribution to the field of A&EI, and will be of interest to healthcare professionals, informaticians, and all those who want a better understanding of the domain of Accident and Emergency Informatics.
Context Sensitive Health Informatics: the Role of Informatics in Global Pandemics
The COVID-19 pandemic has disrupted many global industries, none more so than healthcare, and has necessitated the need for health informatics innovations that can bridge time and space to provide timely care. It has also emphasized the need for a system-level informatics infrastructure to support the healthcare management of populations at a macro level, while also providing the necessary support for front line care delivery at a micro level. However, the need for change at a fast pace does not remove the need for an evidence base to support health technologies. This raises fundamental questions about how the informatics tools required can be delivered at pace without compromising the quality and safety of such tools.This book presents papers from the biennial conference on Context Sensitive Health Informatics, CSHI 2021, held as a virtual event on 15 and 16 November 2021. The theme of the 2021 conference was: The Role of Informatics in Global Pandemics, and this book includes 18 papers on a variety of topics, divided into 4 sections: health information management in the COVID-19 context; implementation of new practices and technologies in healthcare; sociotechnical analysis of task performance and workload in healthcare; and innovations in design and evaluation methods of health technologies.The book provides an overview of innovative health information systems rooted in robust scientific research on context and health information technology, and will be of interest to all those working in the field of health informatics.
Empowering Nurses with Technology
Nursing informatics is the specialty that integrates nursing science with multiple information management and analytical sciences to identify, define, manage, and communicate data, information, knowledge, and wisdom in nursing practice.
Informatics and Technology in Clinical Care and Public Health
Data, informatics, and technology are now among the most important aspects inspiring health professionals and informaticians to improve healthcare for the benefit of patients. This book presents the proceedings of the 19th annual International Conference on Informatics, Management, and Technology in Healthcare (ICIMTH 2021), held as a virtual event due to COVID-19 pandemic restrictions on 16 and 17 October 2021 in Athens, Greece. The ICIMTH conferences are a series of scientific events which bring together scientists working in the field of biomedical and health informatics from around the world. The 2021 conference examined the field of biomedical and health informatics in a very broad framework, presenting the research and application outcomes of informatics from cell to populations, and including a number of technologies such as imaging, sensors and biomedical equipment, as well as management and organizational aspects, including legal and social issues and the setting of research priorities in health informatics. A significant number of the papers included here relate to the COVID-19 pandemic.Providing an insight into the latest developments in biomedical and health informatics, the book will be of interest to all those working in the field.
The Project Manager's Guide to Health Information Technology Implementation
This book focuses on providing information on project management specific for software implementations within the healthcare industry. It can be used as a guide for beginners as well as a reference for current project managers who might be new to software implementations. Utilizing the Project Management Institute's (PMI) methodology, process groups and knowledge areas are defined as they relate to implementing custom and commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) software. The Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) is a standard for developing custom software, but can also be followed for implementing COTS applications as well. How will the system be set up from an architecture and hardware standpoint? What environments will be needed and why? How are changes managed throughout the project and after? These questions and more will be reviewed. The differences between types of testing are defined as well as when each are utilized. Planning for the activation and measuring the success of the project and how well the strategic need has been met are key activities that are often not given the time and effort as the other parts of the implementation project. This new edition updates the current content to better align with the newest version of the PMI's Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK), as well as the latest technology and concepts. In addition, this new edition includes additional chapters on agile management, stakeholder management, and choosing the right methodology.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
Nursing Informatics
This new edition of the classic textbook on health informatics provides readers in healthcare practice and educational settings with an unparalleled depth of information on using informatics methods and tools. However, this new text speaks to nurses and -- in a departure from earlier editions of this title -- to all health professionals in direct patient care, regardless of their specialty, extending its usefulness as a textbook. This includes physicians, therapists, pharmacists, dieticians and many others. In recognition of the evolving digital environments in all healthcare settings and of interprofessional teams, the book is designed for a wide spectrum of healthcare professions including quality officers, health information managers, administrators and executives, as well as health information technology professionals such as engineers and computer scientists in health care. The book is of special interest to those who bridge the technical and caring domain, particularly nurse and medical informaticians and other informaticians working in the health sciences. Nursing Informatics: An Interprofessional and Global Perspective contains real-life case studies and other didactic features to illustrate the theories and principles discussed, making it an ideal resource for use within health and nursing informatics curricula at both undergraduate and graduate level, as well as for workforce development. It honors the format established by the previous editions by including a content array and questions to guide the reader. Readers are invited to look out of the box through a dedicated global perspective covering health informatics applications in different regions, countries and continents.
Nursing Informatics and the Foundation of Knowledge
Nursing Informatics and the Foundation of Knowledge, Fifth Edition is a foundational text for teaching nursing students the core concepts of knowledge management while providing an understanding of the technology tools and applications where a certain level of proficiency is required. A practical guide for understanding how to leverage modern technology, the text teaches students how to acquire, process and disseminate knowledge. Grounded in the Foundation of Knowledge Model, the authors leverage this framework throughout as an organizational structure by which to teach and learn nursing informatics. The Fifth Edition gives nurses the tools and knowledge they need to succeed in the information age. Each chapter has been carefully updated to reflect the most current advances in technology, healthcare and reimbursement services. The authors also highlight the timely and impactful contribution of informatics to quality improvement, interprofessional collaboration, and the pandemic response. Finally, a thought-provoking chapter ties all of the elements of informatics together and asks students to consider the future impact of technology on the patient care experience by examining care bots, cyborgs and artificial intelligence.
Nursing Informatics for the Advanced Practice Nurse
Awarded first place in the 2022 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Informatics This award-winning resource uniquely integrates national goals with nursing practice to achieve safe, efficient quality of care through technology management. The heavily revised third edition emphasizes the importance of federal policy in digitally transforming the U.S. healthcare delivery system, addressing its evolution and current policy initiatives to engage consumers and promote interoperability of the IT infrastructure nationwide. It focuses on ways to optimize the massive U.S. investment in HIT infrastructure and examines usability, innovative methods of workflow redesign, and challenges with electronic clinical quality measures (eCQMs). Additionally, the text stresses documentation challenges that relate to usability issues with EHRs and sub-par adoption and implementation. The third edition also explores data science, secondary data analysis, and advanced analytic methods in greater depth, along with new information on robotics, artificial intelligence, and ethical considerations. Contributors include a broad array of notable health professionals, which reinforces the book's focus on interprofessionalism. Woven throughout are the themes of point-of-care applications, data management, and analytics, with an emphasis on the interprofessional team. Additionally, the text fosters an understanding of compensation regulations and factors. New to the Third Edition: Examines current policy initiatives to engage consumers and promote nationwide interoperability of the IT infrastructure Emphasizes usability, workflow redesign, and challenges with electronic clinical quality measures Covers emerging challenge proposed by CMS to incorporate social determinants of health Focuses on data science, secondary data analysis, citizen science, and advanced analytic methods Revised chapter on robotics with up-to-date content relating to the impact on nursing practice New information on artificial intelligence and ethical considerations New case studies and exercises to reinforce learning and specifics for managing public health during and after a pandemic COVID-19 pandemic-related lessons learned from data availability, data quality, and data use when trying to predict its impact on the health of communities Analytics that focus on health inequity and how to address it Expanded and more advanced coverage of interprofessional practice and education (IPE) Enhanced instructor package Key Features: Presents national standards and healthcare initiatives as a guiding structure throughout Advanced analytics is reflected in several chapters such as cybersecurity, genomics, robotics, and specifically exemplify how artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning (ML) support related professional practice Addresses the new re-envisioned AACN essentials Includes chapter objectives, case studies, end-of-chapter exercises, and questions to reinforce understanding Aligned with QSEN graduate-level competencies and the expanded TIGER (Technology Informatics Guiding Education Reform) competencies.
Statistics and Data Analysis Literacy for Nurses
Takes the fear out of statistics through a combination of visual and practical learning! "Statistical acumen and confidence have evaded many nurses for multiple reasons requiring educators to find alternate ways to bridge this knowledge gap. [This book] fills a void and meets this need. Students and educators alike will benefit from its straightforward, pragmatic style in explaining applied statistical analysis. Drawing on the deep expertise of its authors, the book should become a go-to reference for anyone looking to gain knowledge in applied statistics." --Mary Ellen Smith Glasgow, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, ANEF, FAAN Dean and Professor Duquesne University School of Nursing The only biostatistics resource written specifically for MSN and DNP nursing students, this text provides a unique graphic representation of data to help students understand difficult analytic information. Modelled on an effective and proven method of learning--graphical illustrations first, technical details second--the text helps students understand appropriate research design, measurement, and analysis of how results are calculated. Providing a gentle progression into the complexities of statistics, it builds upon concepts step-by-step, helping students to reinforce prior knowledge before moving on the new information. Chapters initially focus on the practical application of content to illustrate how statistics are used, followed by working examples--addressing both research and evidence-based content and epidemiology and population health content--to enhance understanding and underscore the importance of the methodology. The book integrates the latest changes from the ASA related to statistical significance tested and addresses recent deliberations about sample size. Abundant Instructor Resources include PowerPoints, a test bank, data sets, information on how to obtain online programming classes, and sample lesson plans and activities. Key Features: Uses a proven, step-by-step method including a graphic representation of data followed by analytic content Follows graphical representation with examples of appropriate research design, measurement, and analysis of how results are calculated Includes a basic review checklist Provides chapter objectives, summaries, review questions, and key terms Offers data sets for those instructors/students who wish to do analyses Addresses SPSS and other software, including open source (JAMOVI, JASP, and R-Studio) Includes a comprehensive Instructor Resource Package to ensure faculty have the tools they need to work with students
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
