Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Careers in Healthcare
Written for students in high school or undergraduate programs, Careers in Healthcare explores a variety of growing fields to help young adults gain a head start in learning more about the many career opportunities available and to help those make a better-informed decisions when selecting a career path or field of study.
Careers in Health Information Technology (HIT)
Describes 75 jobs and how to attain them Information technology is one of the fastest-growing segments of the labor market. This practical, one-stop career guide describes the depth and breadth of job opportunities and careers currently available in health information technology (HIT), and helps readers to enter and advance within this expanding field. The book offers guidance for students in higher education and currently employed individuals looking for mid-career opportunities. It includes a description of educational requirements for success in the HIT field and major themes of the HIT workforce such as informatics, provider-based jobs, vendor, government, and payer-based employment. The book describes quickest-route pathways for careers that require advanced training and professional associations that provide important information and resources. It examines the varied environments in which HIT careerists can work√>=hospitals, ambulatory care facilities, physician practices, the managed care and insurance sector, public health organizations, consulting firms and HIT vendors, and education and training√>=along with related job opportunities. Seventy-five jobs include a description, experience and/or education requirements, core competencies, salary, employment outlook, and references. Interviews with individuals in varied HIT careers present a human face that offers valuable advice. An international perspective on HIT workforce development addresses issues and challenges within other countries, and an industry expert sheds light on future expectations for the HIT industry. Links to job resources, and listings of professional conferences and meetings, add further value to the guide, as do job seeker "tips" throughout. Key Features: Provides comprehensive, practical information about health information technology (HIT) careers for students and mid-career job seekers Explores the great variety of work environments and job opportunities within them Details education requirements and quickest pathways to attain them Includes interviews with people currently in HIT careers, links to job resources, professional conferences and meetings, and helpful tips throughout Presents an international perspective on HIT career development and the future of HIT careers from industry experts
Careers in Nursing
Jobs in nursing are projected to grow 15% by 2026, much faster than the average for all occupations, because of an increased emphasis on preventive care; growing rates of chronic conditions, such as diabetes and obesity; and greater demand for healthcare services from the baby-boom population. This volume explores all levels of the nursing profession, to give students and adult job-seekers real-world information about their many career paths, including: Cardiovascular Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner, Geriatric Nursing, Neonatal Nursing, Oncology Nursing, Pediatric Nursing, Psychiatric Nursing and Women's Health Nursing.
Fast Facts for Making the Most of Your Career in Nursing
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. Optimize your career potential and inspire your career narrative! This how-to resource is brimming with practical strategies and guidance to help nurses advance in all stages of their professional journey. Written for professionals at all levels of education and experience, this book features a wide range of "Success Stories" from nurses who have experienced the challenges of role development firsthand. This book will be helpful to healthcare organizations in pursuing the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) Magnet Recognition Program(R) and Pathway to Excellence(R). It will provide insight on how healthcare organizations can best support nurses in developing professionally. This Fast Facts book addresses the importance of the Quadruple Aim throughout health care and its effects on individual nurses. It provides specific advice on confidently navigating opportunities and obstacles through networking, research, scholarly presentation, and certification. Special topics include self-care, nursing as a second career, and the transition of nurse immigrants into a career in the US.Key Features: Offers helpful advice to nurses who are "stuck" in their professional nursing journeyCandid and moving examples from knowledgeable, diverse nursesAddresses the importance of working in Magnet Recognition and Pathway to Excellence ProgramsExplains how to develop networks, competencies, and interpersonal skills
The Nurse Professional : Leveraging Your Education for Transition Into Practice
"Nursing school did not adequately prepare me for this role" and "Why didn't anyone tell me about this when I was a student?" are commonly heard complaints from new nurses during their first two "rite of passage" years following graduation. But this transition to professional practice--fraught with challenges, anxiety, triumphs, and tears--does not have to be so difficult. The Nurse Professional helps novices prepare for their transition into a "real world" role from being a student through graduation, NCLEX success, job search, first job, and beyond. It is the only book to cover all of the steps that new nurses must take to ensure a smooth transition into the professional role. The author is a nurse educator and mentor with extensive experience in recruiting and orienting nurses. Dr. Hunt is also co-founder of the Nurse Advocacy Forum, providing advocacy, support, networking, professional development, leadership, and mentoring to students and new graduate nurses. She offers sound advice regarding the most current issues facing new nurses and practical strategies for obtaining a job of one's choice, describes steps to take well before graduation to ensure a smooth transition to professional practice, and addresses the various indicators of academic achievement that are required for employment at some nursing facilities. She also discusses the benefits of externships, internships, professional development, and networking, how to develop a winning portfolio, and how to successfully transition into professional practice. This book provides information on workplace bullying and how to deal with it; the importance of self-care, self-advocacy, and networking; writing a resume; interview skills; and much more. "Top 10 Tips" in each chapter concisely highlight important topics. Samples of useful forms and documents are available in chapter appendices. A PowerPoint presentation and templates for role play/simulation scenarios for faculty use are also available. Key Features: - "Top 10 Tips" in chapters concisely highlight important topics - Samples of useful forms and documents are available in chapter appendices - Delivers specific, practical strategies and exercises for a successful transition and entry into practice - Written by an experienced nurse/educator and nurse mentor who has extensive experience regarding how new nurses transition into practice
Nursing Professionals
Welcome to the nursing field If you are interested in a career as a nurse, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Nursing Professionals: A Practical Career Guide, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. - RNs - LPNs - Nurse Practitioners - Nursing Assistants - Orderlies
Resumes for Nursing Careers
Breathe life into your resume! You've worked hard for your nursing degree; now it's time to take that education and put it to work. Get an edge on the other job applicants with Resumes for Nursing Careers, a resource packed with expert advice on creating a concise, stylish resume that will instantly get you noticed. With this go-to guide you'll: Get access to nearly 100 sample resumes and cover letters Organize and draft your resume with the aid of helpful worksheets Discover the common elements in the most popular resume formats Learn to use vivid, active verbs in your resume Find out how to format and submit resumes electronically In today's job market, an effective, eye-catching resume is essential for success. With the help of Resumes for Nursing Careers you'll make a strong first impression and take a confident step toward landing the job of your dreams. FIND A NURSING CAREER IN THE FIELD OF: Pediatrics * ER * Mental Health * ICU * Hospital Administration * Public Health* Post-Op * Home Health Care
Your Healthcare Job Hunt: How Your Digital Presence Can Make or Break Your Career
Did you know that more than half of employers won't hire a candidate who doesn't have an online presence, and most companies are using social media to screen job applicants? Healthcare job seekers--from new graduates to seasoned professionals--need to know how to successfully achieve their career aspirations in a highly digitized job market. Your Healthcare Job Hunt: How Your Digital Presence Can Make or Break Your Career focuses on getting the most out of the internet during a healthcare job search. With colorful, evocative examples specific to the field, this book covers information, tools, and online resources that can help you stand out and maximize your career advancement opportunities. Topics covered include: creating a digital presence that accurately reflects your career goals, professionalism, and skills; exploring the ins and outs of digital self-branding; using online tools and social media sites to find potential employers and job openings; optimizing job sites such as LinkedIn and Indeed; mastering online interviews and resumes; and networking and mentoring in the digital environment. A professional online presence is essential to career advancement. If you are ready to put forward your best online self and pair your online persona with your offline career aspirations, then this book is a must-read.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
Landing A Nurse Job: How To Write A Catchy Cover Letter Or Ace An Important Interview
If you want to become a nurse with excellent and professional care, this book is complete for you. You may be so focused on taking care of others that you forget to take care of yourself. Nursing professional-development specialist Beth Hawkes noticed this happening with recent nursing graduates. They may have been at the top of their class, but they neglected to learn the skills needed to advocate for themselves during the job hunt.
This book will show you
- how to write a catchy cover letter or ace an important interview.
- write a professional resume
- create an “elevator speech” for taking advantage of an unexpected opportunity
compile application materials when you have no working experience,
- dodge trick questions in interviews
- craft a narrative to show potential employers your unique story
The Secret Language of the Nursing Interview: A Step-by-Step Guide to Help You Get the Job
This book will guide you through the steps of preparing for an interview. If you have ever left an interview feeling like you didn't really communicate your value, then this is the book you need. You will learn: What to include (and what not to include) in your personal statement How to predict what questions you will be asked How to sound sincere when you talk about your greatest weakness What to wear - and what not to wear!
Health Careers Today
Find the healthcare career that's right for you! Health Careers Today, 7th Edition provides a complete overview of the most popular careers in health care, helping you make an informed decision in choosing a profession. Not only does this book discuss the roles and responsibilities of different occupations, it provides a solid foundation in the skills and competencies that each health career requires. Clear explanations of anatomy and physiology, disease processes, and treatments provide essential knowledge of the human body and show how health concepts apply to the work of various professionals. From experienced educator Judith Gerdin, this edition adds new coverage of skills and the changing healthcare environment; an Evolve website includes anatomy animations, videos of skills and careers, and more. Chapters on health careers focus on allied health professions and careers in high demand, including commonly performed skills, education requirements, and potential earnings of each. Skill Activities provide the opportunity to obtain hands-on experience, with detailed instructions on how to perform crucial tasks. Case studies let you practice critical thinking by solving real-world questions and problems. Health Careers in Practice boxes include profiles of working healthcare professionals and the pros and cons of specific careers. Brain Bytes reinforce concepts with facts and points of interest relating to the chapter content. Review questions in each chapter allow you to assess your understanding of the material. Additional resources include information on professional associations, accreditations, and government agencies for each healthcare profession. NEW! New and updated content covers health care systems, professionals, and patient workflow, including the latest reimbursement models and a discussion of future trends. NEW content on fundamental healthcare skills includes topics such as basic accounting, health insurance, and use of electronic health records. NEW! Expanded content addresses cultural competency, diversity awareness, and bias.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
