Try these books and eBooks to get started. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
See all books from the American Library Association.
Want more on finding books? Try Books & eBooks.
Academic Libraries for Commuter Students
Did you know that more than 85% of U.S. undergraduates commute to college? Yet the literature geared to academic libraries overwhelmingly presumes a classic, residential campus. This book redresses that imbalance by providing a research-based look at the specific academic needs of commuter students. Edited by a team of librarians and anthropologists with City University of New York, the largest urban public university in the U.S, it draws on their ongoing research examining how these students actually interact with and use the library. The insights they've gained about how library resources and services are central to commuter students' academic work offer valuable lessons for other institutions. Presenting several additional case studies from a range of institution types and sizes, in both urban and suburban settings, this book provides rigorous analysis alongside descriptions of subsequent changes in services, resources, and facilities. Topics include why IUPUI interior designers decided to scrap plans to remove public workstations to make way for collaborative space; how ongoing studies by University of North Carolina anthropologist Donna Lanclos shaped the design of the Family Friendly Library Room, where students may bring their children; ways that free scanners and tablet lending at Brooklyn College supports subway studiers; ideas from students on how best to help them through the use of textbook collections; using ACRL's Assessment in Action model to learn about student engagement and outcomes with library instruction at a community college; and guidance on enlisting the help of anthropology students to conduct interviews and observations in an ethnographic study. With its emphasis on qualitative research, this book will help readers learn what commuter students really need from academic libraries.
Academic Library Services for First-Generation Students
Presenting strategies for improving academic library services for first-generation students, this timely book focuses on programs and services that will increase student academic engagement and success. Demographic data and secondary school graduation rates suggest that colleges and universities will enroll growing numbers of first-generation students over the next decade. Academic Library Services for First-Generation Students focuses on ways academic libraries can uniquely contribute to the successful transition to college and year-to-year retention of first-generation students. The practical recommendations in this book include a wide range of ideas for the design and modification of library services and facilities to be more inclusive of the needs of first-generation students. All of the recommendations are specifically aimed at addressing challenges faced by first-generation students. Topics covered range from study spaces and service points to information literacy instruction and campus partnerships. The book makes the case--both explicitly and implicitly--that academic libraries can help address known risk factors (e.g., by helping students build academic cultural competencies) and thereby improve success, persistence, and retention for first-generation students. Academic library professionals in both leadership roles and public service positions will benefit from the actionable strategies presented here. Includes practical strategies for modifying existing library services to be more inclusive of first-generation student needs Incorporates suggestions for new services targeted toward first-generation students Offers insight into first-generation students' perspectives on academic libraries Builds understanding of the role libraries can play in first-generation student success and retention
Coaching Copyright
From researching to remixing, library users need your guidance on a wide range of copyright topics. The way to move beyond "yes, you can" or "no, you can't" is to become a copyright coach. In this collection librarian and attorney Smith teams up with information literacy expert Ellis to offer a framework for coaching copyright, empowering users to take a practical approach to specific situations. Complete with in-depth case studies, this collection provides valuable information rooted in pragmatic techniques, including in-depth discussion of the five questions that will help you clarify any copyright situation; storytelling techniques to enliven copyright presentations, plus ways to use music or YouTube to hook students into copyright topics; three coaching scenarios that tie into ACRL's Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education and bring real-world applications to your library instruction; how-to guidance on leading mock negotiations over real journal publishing agreements; a 90-minute lesson plan on author rights for writers in a student journal; tips for teaching instructional designers how to apply copyright and fair use principles to course management systems; and an LIS copyright course assessment model. This resource will help you become a copyright coach by showing you how to discern the most important issues in a situation, determine which questions you need to ask, and give a response that is targeted to the specific need.
The Community College Library: Assessment
Community colleges are a cornerstone of higher education and serve the unique needs of the communities in which they reside. In 2019, community colleges accounted for 41 percent of all undergraduate students in the United States. Community college librarians are engaged in meaningful work designing and delivering library programs and services that meet the needs of their diverse populations and support student learning. The Community College Library series is meant to lift the voices of community college librarians and highlight their creativity, tenacity, and commitment to students. The Community College Library: Assessment explores the research, comprehensive plans, and new approaches to assessment being created by community college librarians around the U.S. Chapters include sample activities and materials and cover topics including assessing student learning while shifting from Standards to Framework; investigating and communicating library instruction's relationship to student retention; and building librarian assessment confidence through communities of research practice. This book demonstrates the innovative and replicable ways community college librarians are measuring, evaluating, and reflecting on the services they provide, and how to use these assessments to demonstrate the value and impact of library services and advocate for resources.
Data-Driven Decisions : A Practical Toolkit for Librarians and Information Professionals
Data-Driven Decisions: A Practical Toolkit for Library and Information Professionals is a simple, jargon-free guide to using data for decision making in library services. The book walks readers step-by-step through each stage of implementing, reviewing and embedding data-driven decisions in their organisation, providing accessible visualisations, top tips, and downloadable tools to support readers on their data journey. Starting with the absolute basics of using data, the author creates a framework for building skills and knowledge slowly until the reader is comfortable with even complex uses of data. The book begins with an exploration of the foundations of data-driven decisions in libraries including a look at the impact of the current financial climate on resources, theoretical foundations of data collection and analysis, and how this book can be used in practice. The next section takes readers through the data-driven decisions model, providing a guide for understanding and a manual for implementation of the model. Finally, the book provides further perspectives and reading surrounding analysis and implementation of data-driven decisions. This section aims to give supplementary and focused information on different areas of data-driven decisions which can be included in processes once the reader understands the foundation of the book from earlier chapters. Highly practical and written in an accessible style, this book is an essential resource for librarians and information professionals who increasingly need to justify decisions on programmes and services through quantifiable data.
Designing Effective Library Learning Spaces in Higher Education
Modern academic libraries must respond not only to pedagogical changes, but to technological changes. Accommodating advances in technology into library space, design, and management is a critical challenge. How can modern libraries successfully integrate traditional learnings forms with digital ones? This book presents case studies and empirical evidence which focus on the current landscape and future potential posed by the changing face of libraries. Readers are invited to learn how the re-modelling and new architectural design of existing libraries can revitalise the library space and inculcate digital literacy development within their walls. The authors offer an engaging account of how libraries' meet users' needs and utilize stakeholder inputs to design truly innovative library spaces.
Designing Libraries for the 21st Century
The 21st century has seen a transformational shift in the design of college and research libraries, one focused more on user experience and engagement than on collections. Dramatic changes in library design have been driven by changes in the core functions of universities and colleges: the reliance on digital tools and content, integration of technologies into pedagogy and research, and emphasis on the active and social aspects of learning, inclusion, and community engagement. Planning for these vibrant spaces needs to incorporate new program and staffing strategies, robust technical infrastructure, human-centered design, and flexibility to enable ongoing change. Designing Libraries for the 21st Century explores these trends and identifies promising strategies for new or renovated library space. The book features an impressive array of authors drawn largely from the conference of the same name, providing guidance, principles, and a wealth of creative ideas for spaces, technology, programs, and partnerships. Twenty-nine chapters packed with full color images and illustrations explore these themes: 21st-Century Academic Libraries in an Evolving Environment Aligning with the Institutional Vision Working with Architects, Designers, and Planners Key Issues in Planning Collaborations and Convergence Leadership, Organizational Change, and New Staff Roles Programming for Research, Learning, and Community Looking Ahead Often major building projects focus primarily on the physical facility, but this volume makes the case for designing libraries in a much more holistic fashion. Today all types of libraries are engaged in reimagining their roles and the spatial design through which this new vision will be realized. Both inspirational and practical, Designing Libraries for the 21st Century is a must read for librarians, architects, planners, academic leaders, and anyone interested in the future of libraries. This book is also available as an open access edition at https://bit.ly/DesigningLibraries
Emerging Issues in Academic Library Cataloging and Technical Services
This study profiles the cataloging and metadata efforts of five universities in the United States: George Washington University, the University of Pennsylvania, the University of Illinois at Springfield, the University of Utah and Oregon State University.The study focuses on challenges posed by the quickly changing playing field of traditional metadata and cataloging services as new technologies, approaches and expectations impact traditional technical services. For each of the libraries listed, detailed interviews were conducted with one or more major player in technical services and cataloging, exploring recent changes and developments in managerial lines of authority and work flow organization, technology, database maintenance, error detection, training, linked data, and the integration of archives, special collections and institutional digital repositories into the overall library metadata effort. The study also looks at required skills for catalogers and how this skill set is expected to evolve. Other important issues covered include: transitioning to Alma, the increasingly important logistics of working within cataloging consortia, the role of technical services and cataloging staff in electronic information acquisition and processing, use of applications and software to enhance university-wide communications for all players in technical services/metadata effort, programming skills for catalogers and tools for assessment and customer service.
Library Services for Immigrants and New Americans
Wondering what your library can do for your community's immigrant population? This book is replete with resources, tips, and suggestions providing valuable guidance to librarians who want to better serve this still-growing part of America's population. This up-to-date guide to developing and implementing a wide variety of services to immigrants and new Americans focuses on the practical steps of creating and promoting programs. Illustrated by success stories in libraries throughout the country, the book discusses both traditional (ESOL and citizenship classes) and transformative (legal aid and workforce development) programs and services in terms of size, type, and local political climate (e.g., sanctuary cities) at a variety of public libraries as well as in select school libraries. As changes unfold in regard to how the federal government and local communities view and treat immigrants and new Americans in their midst, this topic deserves a fresh take from the profession. The author meets that need, providing practical ideas that range from creating more accessible websites and improving wayfaring and customer service in order to overcome cultural roadblocks to dealing with backlash in communities as libraries extend outreach and partnership-building goals. Outlines practical steps to take regardless of library size and type Shares ideas for community outreach initiatives designed both to draw in program participants and to educate local-born residents about their new community members Describes accessibility changes that are easily implementable and will help all users, including immi-grants and new Americans
Student Wellness and Academic Libraries Case Studies and Activity
Postsecondary institutions are high stress environments for many students: Undergraduates may be living on their own for the first time, coping with demanding academic requirements, and experimenting with drugs, alcohol, and new social relationships and identities. Advanced degree students tend to have a high level of job insecurity and are also more likely than other students to be juggling family obligations on top of their studies, research, and teaching. Mental health disorders have their peak onset during the university and college years, and severe anxiety is on the rise.Many university libraries across North America are expanding their service offerings to include student wellness initiatives or are making their space available to other campus entities to provide wellness support as mental health issues and awareness of mental health challenges on campus have increased. Student Wellness and Academic Libraries gathers multiple perspectives on wellness programming and discussions of current activities, with case studies, commentary, and research on student wellness initiatives in academic libraries. Some chapters explore one initiative in detail, and others look at a variety of activities and how they fit within a strategy; some focus on a particular aspect of wellness, and others on a particular at-risk group.Academic libraries have always promoted student success through teaching and research support and through instruction in information literacy, a skill that is understood to be useful not just for academic success but also for life success. For college and university students, learning to live well and attend to their mental health are life skills they can and should develop during this time, and academic libraries are increasingly playing a role in this part of the student experience. Student Wellness and Academic Libraries can help those charged with leading these efforts gain valuable insight into ideas and directions the library can take in pursuit of that goal.
Supporting Neurodiverse College Student Success : A Guide for Librarians, Student Support Services, and Academic Learning Environments, Library Services Chapter
The basic premise of neurodiversity is that there is no "normal" baseline for brain processes, but that all individual brains vary and therefore are diverse. The CAST organization estimates that 11% of college students enrolling in post-secondary campuses having a learning disability or learning difference. As neurodiverse students enroll in post-secondary education, the environments within which these students learn, can either support or impede their ability to succeed. Simply put, a neurodiverse campus population means that educators recognize that all students process and learn differently and must adapt our approaches and services in order to reach and support all students enrolled on our campuses. Neurodiverse students are a growing population on today's college campus. Their growing presence prompts new approaches to support their success and change traditional student services and collegiate experiences. This practical guide: Assists readers in better understanding neurodiverse students and the way campus services can create welcoming environments Explores the role Universal Design for Learning (UDL) and Executive Functioning (EF) plays in student success, and Focuses on specific collegiate offices and services that effectively address the needs of neurodiverse learners. Chapters cover tutoring, learning supports, academic coaching, academic advising, career services, residential living, and classroom experiences that impact and assist neurodiverse college students.
Supporting Student Parents in the Academic Library:
Student parents are a socioeconomically, racially, and financially diverse group. What they have in common is the drive to work hard to overcome steep barriers in obtaining a college education. Supporting Student Parents in the Academic Library: Designing Spaces, Policies, and Services is part toolkit, part treatise, and part call to action. In four parts: The Higher Education Landscape The Role of Academic Libraries Looking Outward to Community, For-Profit, and International Organizations Evaluating Needs and Measuring Success It includes templates, sample policy language, budgets, survey instruments, and other immediately useful tools and examples. There are field notes from academic librarians from institutions of varying sizes and resources demonstrating different ways of supporting these students, and the voices of students themselves. Student parents can feel unwelcome and invisible in their institutions. And for every student parent who is struggling to complete an education despite these hurdles, there are many others who have not been able to find a way. Supporting Student Parents is a guide to engaging with and aiding the student parents in your libraries and leading the charge in making your institutions more family friendly.
Supporting Students on the Autism Spectrum: a Practical Guide for Academic Libraries
This book will be invaluable for those in the academic library who want to understand how best to serve students on the autism spectrum and how those students can contribute to the library. As a large number of students on the autism spectrum come of age and enter college, increased awareness of autism spectrum disorder is necessary among those who work in academic libraries so that they can respond to and meet the unique needs of these students. This book fills a scholarship gap while serving as a practical resource for working with the neurodivergent student population in academic libraries. McMullin and Walton explain issues that are likely to arise when interacting with students on the autism spectrum and offer practical solutions for handling them. They discuss how to work with neurodiverse students in different contexts, including at service points, in the classroom, as employees, and through outreach programs. They highlight possible concerns about the physical environment of the library and demonstrate ways that the library can be an especially positive place for students with ASD. Personal anecdotes from students with autism as well as library faculty and staff round out this valuable work. Serves as an essential resource on how to serve students with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) Offers an overview of characteristics of students with ASD that is tailored to those working in academic libraries and shows how those characteristics will affect various types of interactions Provides practical solutions for common issues that librarians/ and staff may encounter when communicating with ASD students Features tips and ideas for librarians and library staff working at service points (e.g.i.e., reference desk, circulation, etc.) and in the instruction classroom
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
