Skip to Main Content

COM History

The history of the College of the Mainland.

1960s Photo Album

Go to the 1960's Album to see images of College of the Mainland in the past.

See all 60's

1960's Timeline


  • Galveston County Union Junior College District created January 16, 1965.


  • Named changed to College of the Mainland October, 1966.
  • Voters approve $2.85 million bond issue December 10, 1966.


  • Temporary offices open at the Bank of the Mainland Building in La Marque January, 1967.
  • COM BOT selects Dr. Herbert F. Stallworth in March to serve as the first president of the College.
  • Doors open to 414 students at the temporary Booker T. Washington campus September, 1967.


  • COM breaks ground for first phase of construction on Palmer Highway campus (LRC, Science, Administration and Tech-Voc building.)
  • COM Comets, the first baseball and basketball teams, debut (1968-1971).
  • First two students graduate from COM.


  • COM receives full accreditation from SACS in shortest possible time.
  • Texas Community College Cooperative Education Program in the Business and Computer Science Division begins.  Union Carbide is the first employer to cooperate and provide two training positions.
  • The Police Academy program started at the behest of Texas city Police Chief Rankin DeWalt.

  • First Full Graduation Ceremony at COM, Class of 1969.