LibGuides: Speech & Presentations: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

7 Steps to Fearless Speaking "Lilyan Wilder has trained more broadcasters, politicians, and business executives than anybody." - Charles Osgood, Anchor, CBS News Sunday Morning. When people say they′d rather die than address an audience, they′re not kidding. Fear of public speaking has even topped death in some surveys. But now top communications consultant Lilyan Wilder offers some sound advice on how to overcome the crippling inhibition of public speaking. Her clients have included media icons Oprah Winfrey and Charlie Rose, former President George Bush, John Sculley, and Katharine Graham. 7 Steps to Fearless Speaking will teach you how to cope with the panic, avoidance, and trauma of speaking as you give the gift of your conviction and experience your voice for the first time. "Lilyan Wilder is the industry′s undisputed grand dame of broadcast coaching." -The New York Times. "Lilyan Wilder understands how to make the essential connection between a speaker and an audience. In this book, she tells you how to do it as she has told so well to so many famous communicators." -Charlie Rose. "7 Steps to Fearless Speaking has helped me to speak with persuasion and conviction....Follow Wilder′s sage counsel, and you′ll find your public speaking much improved and more rewarding." -Ivan Seidenberg, Chairman and CEO, Bell Atlantic. "Lilyan Wilder is simply the best. I continue to use many of her exercises on a daily basis. They′re wonderful." -Dr. Bob Arnot, Chief Medical Correspondent, NBC News. "Lilyan Wilder is simply awesome, personally and professionally." -Maria Shriver, Correspondent, NBC News.
The Art of Speeches and Presentations : The Secrets of Making People Remember What You Say Everyone dreads public speaking. But Phil Collins, former Chief Speech Writer to Tony Blair, knows that it doesn't have to be this way. We all tend to worry so much about how we're presenting, and not enough about what we're presenting. The secret to memorable, polished speeches is to think more about the material you're presenting. When the content's right, the confidence will follow. In The Art of Speeches and Presentations Phil Collins provides you with a concise set of tools, preparing you for any speaking occasion. Ranging from the ancient history of rhetoric to what makes Barack Obama such a good speaker, and packed with practical examples and tips, the Art of Speeches and Presentations is set to become the definitive guide to great speeches and presentations.
Clear and to the Point True or False? Most PowerPoint presentations are: * compelling * illuminating * informative * clear and to the point Answer: False Make a change following the principles of Stephen Kosslyn: * a world authority on the visual brain * a clear and engaging writer Making PowerPoint presentations that are clear, compelling, memorable, and even enjoyable is not an obscure art. In this book, Stephen Kosslyn, a renowned cognitive neuroscientist, presents eight simple principles for constructing a presentation that takes advantage of the information modernscience has discovered about perception, memory, and cognition. Using hundreds of images and sample slides, he shows the common mistakes many people make and the simple ways to fix them. For example, never use underlining to emphasize a word--the line will cut off the bottom of letters that havedescending lines (such as p and g), which interferes with the brain's ability to recognize text. Other tips include why you should state your conclusion at the beginning of a presentation, when to use a line graph versus a bar graph, and how to use color correctly. By following Kosslyn's principles,anyone will be able to produce a presentation that works!
Complete Idiot's Guide to Public Speaking You're no idiot, of course. You can hold your own in water cooler conversation, are the life of the party at get-togethers, and have no problem firing a quick comeback at your smart-alecky friends. But when it comes to standing onstage in front of a group of people, you feel like you're the one in your underwear, not the audience. Don't hide behind the lectern just yet. The'Complete Idiot's Guide to Public Speaking, Second Edition'helps you feel confident and build the skills you need to deliver winning speeches and presentations. In this completely revised and updated Complete Idiot's Guide, you'll find:-Professional guidance on identifying your audience and adapting to the situation.-Expert advice on effective wardrobe and body language.-Useful pointers on how to tell jokes.-Valuable tips on handling hecklers and negative audiences.-Cutting edge information on using Powerpoint and other visual aids.
Handy Answer: The Handy Communication Answer Book Whether it’s for a professional presentation, a school paper, an Internet blog or video, or something more personal, The Handy Communication Answer Book explains the concepts, provides insights, shares advice, and examines the skills needed to master effective and efficient communication for every setting and occasion.
How to Prepare, Stage, and Deliver Winning Presentations "Business growth is becoming increasingly dependent on partnerships, joint ventures, and other strategic alliances. Consequently, the ability of professionals to articulate their ideas well to others has become increasingly essential. How to Prepare, Stage, and Deliver Winning Presentations, now in a thoroughly updated edition, gives readers a proven and practical approach to increase their knowledge, capabilities, confidence, and success. The book provides proven, practical advice on communicating essential information when it matters most. Readers will learn how to: * Make their case using persuasive supporting materials that illuminate and inspire * Win over audiences with sound strategy, organization, and persuasive evidence * Use visual aids using current technologies such as computer graphics, LCD projectors, and Web-interactive methods * Create a positive impression through voice, language, and nonverbal impressions This is an essential book for all professionals seeking to influence decision makers, win contracts, and enhance their careers."
How to present : the ultimate guide to presenting your ideas and influencing people using techniques that actually work Learn the secrets of successful speaking, communicating and presenting  Do you get nervous when presenting at work? Do you want to showcase your knowledge, influence people and accelerate your career? How to Present reveals the winning formulas that ensure you are a confident, clear and influential presenter every time.  Presentation skills expert Michelle Bowden shares her internationally proven system for exceptional presenting, starting with analysis (plan what you would like to achieve), then design (put your presentation together) and delivery (communicate your message for results). This second edition is fully updated with all new strategies for presenting in online and hybrid sessions. Presenting online can be effective and engaging--you just need to know what to do, and then do it!  How to Present will help you:  maximise your impact in meetings, conferences and conversations  manage your nerves so you feel calm and confident  engage your audience and master the art of persuasion  structure your message cleverly and with deliver with authority  command attention and achieve your goals  Whether you're speaking to one person or thousands, live or online, this is the essential guide to becoming an outstanding presenter who is memorable for all the right reasons! 
How to Present to Absolutely Anyone : Confident Public Speaking and Presenting in Every Situation Master the art of public speaking with a mind- and content-based approach to success How to Present to Absolutely Anyone is the ultimate guide to successful public speaking. Presentations, talks, and speeches are unavoidable in school, work, and even social occasions (have you ever had to deliver a wedding toast?)--but fear of public speaking is statistically more common than fear of death. Author Mark Rhodes once pretended he had crashed his car to avoid doing a presentation! Permanent avoidance will eventually hold you back, but mastering the art of the successful presentation can take you to new heights! This book shows you how Mark eventually learned to love public speaking: by setting himself up for a self-sustaining cycle of presentation success. It takes more than stage presence to make a great presentation--you need great content. Without it, you won't get the result you're after, and you will dread the next talk. But if your presentation stands on its own two feet and you manage to banish the stage fright, you get a taste of success that ignites your passion and gets you excited to present every time! Packed with practical advice for both mental anguish and content creation, this book approaches public speaking holistically to arm you with real skills for success: Build confidence, reduce fear, and develop the right mindset for public speaking Engage your audience from the start, and reduce first-minute jitters Develop great content that you look forward to presenting each time Go beyond simple body language to reach your audience in a more authentic, organic way Don't mumble your way through a PowerPoint or try to put flash over substance. Craft an engaging, informative presentation that people want to see and that you want to present! This book covers performance anxiety, speaking skills, ideas/content, practice, preparation, and audience interaction. How to Present to Absolutely Anyone guides you from fear, to excitement, to success!
The Lost Art of the Great Speech "Splashy slides, confident body language, and a lot of eye contact are fine and well. But if a speech is rambling, illogical, or just plain boring, the impact will be lost. Now everyone can learn to give powerful, on-target speeches that capture an audience's attention and drive home a message. The key is not just in the delivery techniques, but in tapping into the power of language. Prepared by an award-winning writer, this authoritative speech-writing guide covers every essential element of a great speech, including outlining and organizing, beginning with a bang, making use of action verbs and vivid nouns, and handling questions from the audience. Plus, the book includes excerpts from some of history's most memorable speeches--eloquent words to contemplate and emulate."
Mastering the Art of Oral Presentations Proven techniques to win over any audience and make any sale Mastering the Art of Oral Presentations is your expert guide to delivering memorable and effective speeches and presentations. Whether selling a product, offering a service, or bidding for a contract, your oral presentation skills can often determine success or failure. This invaluable resource delivers real-world advice and proven strategies to elevate your game and close the deal. Comprehensive coverage of preparation procedures, delivery techniques, and presentation strategies provide you with the tools and knowledge to motivate and persuade your audience. Emphasizing real-world versatility, this unique book delivers methods equally effective to both individual and team presentations. Drawing from decades of experience, authors John Parker Stewart and Don Fulop offer keen insight into the process of winning over an audience. From topics ranging from rhetorical devices and visual cues to body language and stage presence, this expert guide will help convey a take-home message that resonates and endures long after your presentation has concluded. A must-have resource for government contractors, sales and marketing professionals, and anyone seeking to raise the level of their oral presentation skills, this book will help you: Develop winning approaches to oral presentations regardless of experience or skill level Build the confidence to present your ideas to individuals, teams, and large audiences Incorporate your personal and professional lives into your communication strategies Create and deliver messages that will win the hearts and minds of any audience Mastering the Art of Oral Presentations: Winning Orals, Speeches, and Stand-Up Presentations is an indispensable tool for those who speak to influence, to promote, and to sell--aiding you in making positive and lasting impressions on potential customers, team members, and decision makers. 
PowerSpeak : Engage, Inspire, and Stimulate Your Audience What is the secret to being a captivating and credible speaker? Never be boring! If you are boring, people will not listen. The central message and focus of PowerSpeak is the importance of engaging, stimulating, and maintaining an audience's attention. This book focuses on the elements of speaking effectively from a design and a delivery perspective. Dorothy Leeds isolates these essential elements to assure that any speaker can gain and keep the audience's attention. She focuses on the trouble spots of any presentation and the six major faults speakers make. This book also includes tips on the following: Breaking the fear barrier. Ten steps that guarantee a complete presentation. How to avoid weak, passive language and make humor your ally. Voice and speech exercises. How to handle the Q & A portion of a presentation. How to develop your own style and project positive body language. How to incorporate (or not incorporate) new technology into presentations.
Present Like a Pro: The Modern Guide to Getting Your Point Across in Meetings, Speeches, and the Media Highly accessible, full of memorable examples, and at times amusing, this book presents ten powerful techniques for getting your point across in all venues--including new media. * Clearly explains how to identify the best approach for a presentation, gear your speech toward your audience, and ensure a presentation is a resounding success * Describes how to make your voice more powerful, clear, and appealing by employing techniques used by broadcasters, voice artists, and singers * Identifies strategies for going beyond the old-fashioned "public speaking" mode into the modern world of the media-savvy presenter who integrates different formats and technologies into his or her approach--a particularly valuable skill set for entrepreneurs * Teaches how to develop flexible skills that will allow you to persuade, captivate, and entertain, regardless of the specific purpose of your presentation
Reference Shelf: Representative American Speeches, 2020-21 The most memorable speeches from a variety of speakers are discussed in this issue, allowing an opportunity to analyze the year's most pressing and controversial topics. Speakers from many walks of life are featured, including education, politics, science and research, and popular culture.
Resonate : Present Visual Stories That Transform Audiences Reveals the underlying story form of all great presentations that will not only create impact, but will move people to action Presentations are meant to inform, inspire, and persuade audiences. So why then do so many audiences leave feeling like they've wasted their time? All too often, presentations don't resonate with the audience and move them to transformative action. Just as the author's first book helped presenters become visual communicators, Resonate helps you make a strong connection with your audience and lead them to purposeful action. The author's approach is simple: building a presentation today is a bit like writing a documentary. Using this approach, you'll convey your content with passion, persuasion, and impact. Author has a proven track record, including having created the slides in Al Gore's Oscar-winning An Inconvenient Truth Focuses on content development methodologies that are not only fundamental but will move people to action Upends the usual paradigm by making the audience the hero and the presenter the mentor Shows how to use story techniques of conflict and resolution Presentations don't have to be boring ordeals. You can make them fun, exciting, and full of meaning. Leave your audiences energized and ready to take action with Resonate.
A Student's Guide to Presentations : Making your Presentation Count Are you daunted by the prospect of doing a presentation or just keen to improve your presentation skills? This book gives you a detailed guide to the preparation and delivery of both individual and group presentations.  It takes you through all the practical stages necessary to complete a presentation and obtain excellent marks. Key features include: Real life examples illustrating effective presentation techniques Helpful tips and illustrations throughout A 10 step guide to preparing your presentation Tips on using PowerPoint effectively A companion website complete with a student resource centre. Written in a clear and accessible style this book is essential reading for both undergraduate and postgraduate students who have to conduct graded presentations. Visit the companion websiteat www.sagepub.co.uk/chiversandshoolbred for free online support resources.SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills website for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
Teach Yourself: Public Speaking in a Week: Presentation Skills In Seven Simple Steps Write a speech to which people will want to listen that is well-researched, uses stimulating content and is tailored to the needs of the audience
Toastmasters International Guide to Successful Speaking Offers tips and suggestions for writing and giving speeches.
Voice & Speaking Skills For Dummies® This guide highlights the importance of your voice, explains how to use it effectively, to give you confidence in public speaking. It also helps you use your voice to make a great first impression in all aspects of your life.

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

10,000 Ideas for Term Papers, Projects, Reports, and Speeches : Intriguing, Original Research Topics for Every Student's Need Geared to college and high school students.
101 Secrets of Highly Effective Speakers : Controlling Fear, Commanding Attention Organized according to each step in the preparation process and augmented with examples to clarify the points made, this book pulls together major principles and techniques used by today's effective speakers.
Active Listening : Improve Your Ability to Listen and Lead Active listening is a person's willingness and ability to hear and understand. At its core, active listening is a state of mind that involves paying full and careful attention to the other person, avoiding premature judgment, reflecting understanding, clarifying information, summarizing, and sharing. By learning and committing to the skills and behaviors of active listening, leaders can become more effective listeners and, over time, improve their ability to lead.
Painless Presentations : The Proven, Stress-Free Way to Successful Public Speaking A simple road map to the world of professional presentations What happens when you're asked to give a speech, professionally or personally? If you get nervous, start sweating, and hope it's all just a bad dream then you aren't alone, but you need help. Painless Presentations proves that speaking doesn't have to be painful, or even stressful. A speech is a means to giving great, helpful material to an audience and the speaker is the vehicle to achieve that goal. This simple-to-read book guides those just beginning their journey into the world of speaking. Painless Presentations teaches the "Dozen Deadly Dangers" to avoid and much more. Explains how to gather information and materials Details the structure of a presentation Describes uses of visual aids and vocal variety Demonstrates how to handle questions Painless Presentations offers wisdom derived from Lenny Laskowski's thirty-five-year speaking career, delivering more than 2,700 programs to clients in over 178 countries. It will give you no-sweat tips for delivering speeches that win over your audiences every time and teaches you that giving speeches doesn't have to be painful.