Black's Medical DictionaryA reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.
Publication Date: 2018
A Dictionary of NursingThe new edition of this bestselling and trusted dictionary has been fully revised to take account of recent developments in nursing practice and related fields. Updates to this edition cover many areas, with a particular focus on radiography, public health and the NHS, theoretical concepts familiar in nursing education, and key vocabulary used in the 2018 Nursing & Midwifery Council (NMC) Standards of Proficiency for Registered Nurses. Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,500 clear and concise entries on nursing theory and practice, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also many entries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, dentistry, statistics, and pharmacology. Almost 100 helpful illustrations and tables, and 16 appendices covering the calculation of drug dosages, religion and nursing practice, recommended alcohol intake, and much more, help to make this an essential reference tool for all nursing students and professionals.
Publication Date: 2021
Encyclopedia of Medical TerminologyThe book is an encyclopedic dictionary of all fields of study and research in medicine. In fact, it is a broad collection of over 127 special dictionaries containing terms of all medical titles and specialties with common alphabetical order that have been carefully selected from professionally relevant websites.
Publication Date: 2020
Medical Terminology for DummiesTake the intimidation out of medical terminology Every job in the medical field needs some background in medical terminology. From the check-in desk to the doctor to the pharmaceutical sales rep, and everyone around and in between, healthcare professionals and those in adjacent fields use a common and consistent vocabulary to improve quality, safety, and efficiency. Medical Terminology For Dummies is a powerful resource for current and prospective healthcare professionals. It provides different ways to memorize the words and their meanings, including ideas for study materials, flash cards, quizzes, mind maps, and games. Plus, you'll discover how to identify, pronounce, define, and apply words in proper context. Grasp the standardized language of medicine Find the easiest way to remember tongue-twisting terms Benefit from lots of definitions and examples Understand, retain, and put this knowledge to use If you're one of the millions of professionals hoping to succeed in this booming field, this book gets you talking the talk so you can walk the walk!
Publication Date: 2019
Medical Terminology Systems : A Body Systems ApproachMedical Language Lab for Medical Terminology Systems, 8th Edition A word building and body systems approach! A true blend of words, art, and technology, Medical Terminology Systems + The Medical Language Lab work together to create an immersive, multimedia experience that tracks your progress until you've mastered the language of medicine. Medical Terminology Systems, 8th Edition You'll begin by learning the parts of words roots, combining forms, suffixes, and prefixes. Then, use your understanding of word parts to learn medical terminology. Mnemonic devices and engaging, interactive activities make word-building fun and easy, ensuring you retain the information you need for success. See what students are saying about the previous edition... The Right Way to Learn Medical Terminology!"...if I had to be asked again to purchase this book I would do it all over again. Unlike most of my other textbooks that I bought throughout the school year that just sit in the back of my closet collecting dust once the class is over, this book, I still continue to use every day. It definitely helps me out in my anatomy classes and even in some of my biology classes too. Fantastic book!"--Taylor Berlinger Worth the Purchase"I love this book a lot. I am currently using [it] for my college course class on medical terminology. The illustrations are awesome and the breakdown of suffix and prefix format [are] as well."--Jonnita The Medical Language Lab Online. Interactive. Progressive. Based on proven language methodology, The MLL guides you step by step from basic through advanced levels of proficiency to become a confident medical language speaker. A special code in the front of the book unlocks The MLL for you...including an ebook of the text and lecture videos. Instructors can use it with their current learning management system or with its integrated grade book. They can also customize it to meet the needs of their course. Want to learn more? Visit www.medicallanguagelab.com now.
Publication Date: 2017
Mosby's Pocket Guide to Nursing Skills and ProceduresMosby's Pocket Guide to Nursing Skills & Procedures, 9th Edition, is a concise, pocket-sized study tool and clinical reference based on the best-selling textbook Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, 9th Edition! This spiral-bound presents 85 key nursing skills in a convenient, A-to-Z format. Step-by-step instructions include full-color photos plus rationales explaining why and how to use specific techniques to help you troubleshoot potential problems and take appropriate actions to address them. With the latest in evidence-based practice this essential guide is a great tool to help you safely and effectively perform core nursing skills. Clear, two-column format shows you how to perform skills, with rationales for each step explaining the reason behind the practice and the benefit to patients. Alphabetical organization of skills makes it easy to find information quickly, with each skill beginning on a new page. A convenient pocket size and spiral binding allow the book to fit easily into your coat pocket and to stay open on the page you want. Safety alerts highlight important information for patient safety and effective performance of skills. Special Considerations address teaching, the home care setting, and care modifications for pediatric and geriatric patients. Documentation guidelines include a bulleted list of what should be reported and recorded in the patient records. Unexpected outcomes and related interventions help you to troubleshoot potential problems and take appropriate actions to address them. NEW! Additional nursing skills cover Obtaining a 12-lead Electrocardiogram (ECG) and Applying a Cardiac Monitor to address these vital elements of cardiac care. NEW! Up-to-date content is based on the most recent edition of Perry & Potter's Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, the bestselling nursing skills text.
Publication Date: 2018
Nursing Fundamentals DeMystifiedNursing success begins with the fundamentals! Nursing Fundamentals Demystified, Second Edition offers a fast and interesting way for you to understand the foundational concepts and information that will be the cornerstone of your entire nursing education and career. It helps you sort through the mountain of information nursing students face and focus on the essentials - that which you truly must know to be a successful nurse. You'll also learn how apply this information to real-world clinical situations. In order to make the learning process as effective as possible, you'll find learning aids such as learning objectives, key terms, tables and boxed information which summarize important concepts; nursing alerts which detail critical safety information; spotlights on evidence-based practice; nursing care plans which help you identify key assessment data, nursing diagnoses, and interventions; procedure tips to assist you with the clinical application of content; questions throughout each chapter to help you evaluate your comprehension; and NCLEX®-style questions for exam preparation.
Publication Date: 2018
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical DictionaryTaber's brings meanings to life. In hand, online or mobile...the all-in-one, go-to source for classroom, clinic, and beyond. Put the language of nursing, medicine, and the healthcare professions at your fingertips. In hand, online, or on your mobile device--anywhere and everywhere, Taber's 24 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants representing nearly every health care profession ensures that the content reflects today's most current and relevant information. An access code inside new, print texts unlocks a FREE, 1-year subscription to Taber's Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, the complete Taber's database for quick reference when and where you need it. See what students and practitioners are saying about the previous edition... Five Stars "What every medical student, student nurse, paramedic student, and medical professional should have."--Kelly, Online Reviewer EVERYTHING A NURSING STUDENT NEEDS. "My school did not recommend this book, but I remembered this book from LPN school and how much it helped with care planning. It's much easier to carry than all the textbooks to clinicals too! LOVE this newest version too!!"--Melissa A. B., Online Reviewer Nursing school life saver. "This book has been a great for my clinical experience databases. I love how it's broken into sections for easy access and understanding. My school offers an electronic edition for free to us, but I like hard copy books."--P.M., Online Reviewer Gotta Have It! "I have thoroughly used this dictionary already in my schooling! I am sure it will help me in many days to come."--Christina M., Online Reviewer Very Informative! "Love that I have access to the online version that makes it quicker to find terms needed for class."--Kelly V., Online Reviewer Great book. "I use it for nursing school during my clinicals and it is perfect."--Online Reviewer
Medical TerminologyThis book uses a consistent and logical system to help readers build their understanding of medical terminology as it relates to the human body. It also has a real-world focus that relates medical terminology to various health professions, thereby capturing the users' interest and providing information about potential future health careers. Facilitates comprehension through the use of charts and tables and online exercises. Each books comes with a free Cross-platform CD-ROM that offers a host of interactive study aids: practice tests, labeling exercises, word building, spelling bee, flashcards, and audio glossary. Each body system chapter is organized in the same format and includes important subtopics related to the system presented such as anatomy and physiology, word building, vocabulary, pathology, procedures, diagnostic/lab tests and abbreviations. Special Topics chapter (15) presents medical terminology specific to various healthcare industries. There is a new Pharmacology chapter (14). Med Term Tips—brief scenarios and hints interspersed throughout—maintain readers' interest by providing quick facts about medical terminology. Pharmacology terms representing the 200 most commonly prescribed drugs in the country have been added to each body systems chapter (3-14). Medical Terminology reference book for those in various healthcare professions.
Medical Terminology: A Short CourseQuickly master the basics of medical terminology and begin speaking and writing terms almost immediately! Using Davi-Ellen Chabner's proven learning method, Medical Terminology: A Short Course, 7th Edition omits time-consuming, nonessential information and helps you build a working medical vocabulary of the most frequently encountered prefixes, suffixes, and word roots. Medical terms are introduced in the context of human anatomy and physiology to help you understand exactly what they mean, and case studies, vignettes, and activities demonstrate how they're used in practice. With all this plus medical animations, word games, and flash cards on the Evolve companion website, you'll be amazed at how easily medical terminology becomes part of your vocabulary. Self-teaching text/workbook approach reinforces learning every step of the way with labeling diagrams, pronunciation tests, and review sheets throughout the book. Clear, non-technical explanations demystify medical terminology even if you've had little or no background in science or biology. Picture Show activities, practical case studies, and vignettes demonstrate real-life applications of medical terms in describing describe pathology and procedures. Full-color images illustrate anatomical and pathological terms. Principal Diagnosis feature shows how medical terms are used in clinical practice by asking you to read physician notes about a case and determine the patient's principal diagnosis. First Person narratives help you understand diseases and conditions from the patient's perspective. Spotlight feature identifies and clarifies potentially confusing terminology. Medical Terminology Check Up at the end of each chapter reinforces your understanding of key concepts. Labeled illustrations in the Spanish glossary present Spanish terms for major anatomical structures. A tablet-optimized Evolve companion website includes word games, learning exercises, audio pronunciations, animations, an anatomy coloring book, electronic flash cards, and more. NEW and UPDATED medical information keeps you current with today's healthcare terminology, and includes new illustrations clarifying difficult concepts and procedures. IMPROVED! Evolve resourcesare now optimized for tablet use, and mobile-optimized versions of the flash cards and quick quizzes make it easier for on-the-go study and review.
Medical Terminology Complete!The book may be used as a text to support lectures or as an independent student workbook. Today's visual, learn-at-your-own-pace guide to medical terminology Concise and conversational, Medical Terminology Complete! teaches the most current language of healthcare, using a self-guided, programmed learning approach that has helped thousands of students prepare for health careers. It emphasizes the key medical terms used in hospitals and clinics, while providing only the most essential A&P information. With its interactive format and its wealth of clear definitions, vivid images, practical examples, and challenging exercises, it provides everything students need to become proficient in speaking and understanding the language of medicine. Also available with MyMedicalTerminologyLab This title is also available with MyMedicalTerminologyLab--an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with this text to engage students and improve results. Within its structured environment, students practice what they learn, test their understanding, and pursue a personalized study plan that helps them better absorb course material and understand difficult concepts. No matter their learning style, students will build a solid foundation of medical language through MyMedicalTerminologyLab's interactive games, Dynamic Study Modules, and narrated lectures. NOTE: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyMedicalTerminologyLab does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MedicalTerminologyLab search for ISBN-10: 0134045645/ISBN-13: 9780134045641. That package includes ISBN-10: 0134042387/ISBN-13: 9780134042381 and ISBN-10: 0134088069/ISBN-13: 9780134088068. MyMedicalTerminologyLab should only be purchased when required by an instructor.
Medical Terminology DemystifiedThere's no easier, faster, or more practical way to learn the really tough subjects Medical Terminology Demystified covers all the basic terms of disease and injury, abnormal anatomy and physiology, surgical techniques, drugs, and other therapies--in the context of real, practical health issues. This self-teaching guide comes complete with key points, background information, quizzes at the end of each chapter, and even a final exam.
Medical Terminology for Dummies®Grasp and retain the fundamentals of medical terminology quickly and easily Don't know a carcinoma from a hematoma? This friendly guide explains how the easiest way to remember unfamiliar, often-tongue-twisting words is to learn their parts: the prefix, root, and suffix. Medical Terminology For Dummies breaks down the words you'll encounter in your medical terminology course and gives you plain-English explanations and examples to help you master definitions, pronunciations, and applications across all medical fields. For many, the language of medicine and healthcare can be confusing, and frequently presents the greatest challenge to students - this guide was designed to help you overcome this problem with ease! Packed with ideas, study materials, quizzes, mind maps, and games to help you retain the information, Medical Terminology For Dummies quickly gets you up to speed on medical prefixes, suffixes, and root words so you'll approach even unfamiliar medical terms with confidence and ease. Bone up on words that describe and are related to the body's systems Correctly pronounce and understand the meanings of medical terms Find tricks and study tips for memorizing words Build your knowledge with helpful word-building activities If you're working toward a certification or degree in a medical or healthcare field, or if you're already on the job, Medical Terminology For Dummies is the fast and easy way to learn the lingo.
Medical Terminology Made Incredibly EasyThis comprehensive guide covers key concepts of medical terminology, including commonly used prefixes, suffixes, and root words used in medical terms. Terms are divided by body system, and a handy miniguide identifies important anatomic terms in detailed, full-color illustrations. Contains award-winning Incredibly Easy! features such as abundant illustrations and charts, memory joggers, eye-catching icons, and crossword puzzles and word scrambles to test comprehension.