LibGuides: Algebra: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Algebra Demystified MASTER ONE LIFE'S MOST USEFUL SKILLS--EVEN IF YOU'VE NEVER BEEN GOOD AT MATHKnowing algebra gives you a better choice of jobs, helps you perform better in science, computing, and math courses, ups your score on competitive exams, and improves your ability to do daily computations. And there's no faster or more painless way to master the subject than "Algebra Demystified! Entertaining author and experienced teacher Rhonda Huettenmueller provides all the math background you need and uses practical examples, real data, and a totally different approach to life the "myst" from algebra. With "Algebra Demystified, you master algebra one simple step at a time--at your own speed. Unlike most books on the subject, general concepts are presented first --and the details follow. In order to make the process as clear and simple as possible, long computations are presented in a logical, layered progression with just one execution per step. THIS ONE-OF-A-KIND SELF-TEACHING TEXT OFFERS: * Questions at the end of every chapter and section to reinforce learning and pinpoint weaknesses * A 100-questions final exam for self-assessment * An intensive focus on word problems and fractions--help where it's most often needed * "Detailed examples and solutions Whether you want to learn more about algebra, refresh your skills, or improve your classroom performance, "Algebra Demystified is the perfect shortcut.
Algebra I All-In-One for Dummies Solve for 'X' with this practical and easy guide to everything algebra  A solid understanding of algebra is the key to unlocking other areas of math and science that rely on the concepts and skills that happen in a foundational Algebra class. Algebra I All-In-One For Dummies is the key! With it, you'll get everything you need to solve the mystery of Algebra I.   This book proves that algebra is for everyone with straightforward, unit-based instruction, hundreds of examples and practice problems, and two quizzes for every chapter - one in the book and another (totally different!) online. From graph and word problems to the FOIL method and common algebra terminology, Algebra I All-In-One For Dummies walks you step-by-step through ALL the concepts you need to know to slay your Algebra I class.   In this handy guide, you'll also:  Receive instruction and tips on how to handle basic and intermediate algebraic tasks such as factoring and equation simplification  Banish math anxiety forever by developing an intuitive understanding of how algebra works  Get a handle on graphing problems and functions, as well as inequalities and word problems  Algebra I All-In-One For Dummies is a must-read for Algebra students looking for an everything-in-one-book supplement to their coursework, as well as anyone hoping to brush up on their math before tackling a related subject, such as physics, chemistry, or a more advanced math topic.  
Algebra Success in 20 Minutes a Day This volume picks up where Practical Math Success leaves off by getting into greater detail on algebra. There are hundreds of practice exercises without a lot of theory or math jargon that provide essential practice in solving algebra problems, especially word problems. Also, learners will discover the practical applicability of algebra skills to real-world (and real work) problems.
Bob Miller's Algebra for the Clueless This algebra book is a prequel to the author's calculus series and presents a two-semester high school or college math course in algebra one and two. The author attempts to explain all topics clearly, and anticipate students' difficulties and confusions.
The Britannica Guide to Algebra and Trigonometry Calculating and manipulating the unknown has been the enterprise of the field of algebra since its earliest inception in Babylon and ancient Egypt. Trigonometry draws on principles presented in algebra and uses angle measurements to elaborate on geometric calculations. Essential to further mathematical and scientific study, both algebra and trigonometry provide crucial tools in managing variables and understanding the relationships between them. This volume presents the fundamentals of these fascinating areas of mathematics while chronicling their respective histories.
College Algebra : Co-Ordinate Geometry, Systems of Equations, and Radicals With a concise but rigorous approach, this group of four books on the fundamentals of algebra at the college level introduces the student to the full spectrum of mathematical tools that will serve him or her through all quantitative subjects at the university level, including as a preparation for first year calculus. Beginning with the basic elements of algebra including number theory and set theory, and going on through concepts of equations and functions and on to co-ordinate geometry and advanced algebraic expressions like polynomial equations, these books offer a comprehensive preparation for mathematics at the college level. Each of these four books presents clear explanations of fundamental concepts, followed by ample worked-out exercises to help reinforce the concepts as presented. This third book covers the relationship between algebra and geometry through the use of graphical representations of algebraic expressions and equations. It also covers the concepts of roots and their use in radical expressions and radical equations.
College Algebra : Factoring and Equations With a concise but rigorous approach, this group of four books on the fundamentals of algebra at the college level introduces the student to the full spectrum of mathematical tools that will serve him or her through all quantitative subjects at the university level, including as a preparation for first year calculus. Beginning with the basic elements of algebra including number theory and set theory, and going on through concepts of equations and functions and on to co-ordinate geometry and advanced algebraic expressions like polynomial equations, these books offer a comprehensive preparation for mathematics at the college level. Each of these four books presents clear explanations of fundamental concepts, followed by ample worked-out exercises to help reinforce the concepts as presented. This second book covers the basics of factoring, setting up linear equations, the uses for inequalities, and use of rational expressions and equations.
College Algebra : Number Theory and Polynomials With a concise but rigorous approach, this group of four books on the fundamentals of algebra at the college level, introduces the student to the full spectrum of mathematical tools that will serve him or her through all quantitative subjects at the university level, including as a preparation for first year calculus. Beginning with the basic elements of algebra including number theory and set theory, and going on through concepts of equations and functions and on to co-ordinate geometry and advanced algebraic expressions like polynomial equations, these books offer a comprehensive preparation for mathematics at the college level. Each of these four books presents clear explanations of fundamental concepts, followed by ample worked-out exercises to help reinforce the concepts as presented. This first book covers number theory and various classes of numbers, as well as the concept of polynomials, and working with sets.
College Algebra : Special Equations, Functions, and Logarithms With a concise but rigorous approach, this group of four books on the fundamentals of algebra at the college level introduces the student to the full spectrum of mathematical tools that will serve him or her through all quantitative subjects at the university level, including as a preparation for first year calculus. Beginning with the basic elements of algebra including number theory and set theory, and going on through concepts of equations and functions and on to co-ordinate geometry and advanced algebraic expressions like polynomial equations, these books will offer a comprehensive preparation for mathematics at the college level. Each of these four books presents clear explanations of fundamental concepts, followed by ample worked-out exercises to help reinforce the concepts as presented. This fourth book builds on the basic elements of algebraic expressions and equations to introduce special classes of equations like the quadratic equation and the equations of conic sections and then on to the concepts of functions, including exponential functions and the use of the logarithm.
College Algebra Crash Course Suitable for test preparation, pre-exam review, and handling those last-minute cram situations, this work gives you the essence of algebra the easy way. It also includes: quick study tips; at-a-glance tables; and, a student-friendly style.
Fundamentals of Linear Algebra FUNDAMENTALS OF LINEAR ALGEBRA is a comprehensive Text Book, which can be used by students and teachers of All Indian Universities. The Text has easy, understandable form and covers all topics of UGC Curriculum. There are lots of worked out examples which helps the students in solving the problems without anybody's help. The Problem sets have been designed keeping in view of the questions asked in different examinations.
Homework Helpers: Algebra Homework Helpers: Algebra is a straightforward and easy-to-read review of arithmetic skills emphasizes the role that arithmetic plays in the development of algebra covering all of the topics in a typical Algebra I class.
How to Solve Word Problems in Algebra Solving word problems has never been easier than with Schaum's How to Solve Word Problems in Algebra! This popular study guide shows students easy ways to solve what they struggle with most in algebra: word problems. How to Solve Word Problems in Algebra, Second Edition, is ideal for anyone who wants to master these skills. Completely updated, with contemporary language and examples, features solution methods that are easy to learn and remember, plus a self-test.
Idiot's Guide to Algebra I REIMAGINED, ALL-NEW CONTENT IN ONE COLOURPerhaps no subject strikes so much fear in the hearts of students as algebra, the complex but mandatory math discipline that seems to bear little relevance to everyday life. Starting with the very basics and reinforcing concepts with practice and tips along the way, Idiot's Guides- Algebra Imakes a complex subject easier to grasp and helps students and adult learners clear the hurdle that can stand between them and their academic goals. Readers get- -- A natural transition from basic math to algebra, with a review of relevant concepts and operations. -- An introduction to linear equations and functions, including graphing and inequalities. -- Explanations of how to solve absolute-value equations and radical equations. -- Instructions on how to perform operations on polynomials and factoring. -- An exploration of how to work with quadratic equations and quadratic functions, and rational expressions, equations, and functions. -- Special sidebars pointing out the reasoning behind the techniques. -- Separate workbook section of extra Algebra practice problems - like getting two books in one!
Introduction to Algebra Developed to meet the needs of modern students, this Second Edition of the classic algebra text by Peter Cameron covers all the abstract algebra an undergraduate student is likely to need. Starting with an introductory overview of numbers, sets and functions, matrices, polynomials, and modulararithmetic, the text then introduces the most important algebraic structures: groups, rings and fields, and their properties. This is followed by coverage of vector spaces and modules with applications to abelian groups and canonical forms before returning to the construction of the number systems,including the existence of transcendental numbers. The final chapters take the reader further into the theory of groups, rings and fields, coding theory, and Galois theory. With over 300 exercises, and web-based solutions, this is an ideal introductory text for Year 1 and 2 undergraduate students inmathematics.
Introduction to Linear Algebra A text for a one-semester post-calculus course, based largely on the recommendations of the Linear Algebra Curriculum Study Group, with the main differences being early treatment of Euclidean vector geometry, extended treatment of determinants prior to eigenvalues, and ongoing material about linear
Master Math: Algebra Get ready to master the principles and operations of algebra! Master Math: Algebra is a comprehensive reference guide that explains and clarifies algebraic principles in a simple, easy-to-follow style and format. Beginning with the most basic fundamental topics and progressing through to the more advanced topics that will help prepare you for pre-calculus and calculus, the book helps clarify algebra using step-by-step procedures and solutions, along with examples andapplications. A complete table of contents and a comprehensive index enable you to quickly find specific topics, and the approachable style and format facilitate an understanding of what can be intimidating and tricky skills. Perfect for both students who need some extra help or rusty professionals who want to brush up, Master Math: Algebra will help you master everything from simple algebraic equations to polynomials and graphing.
Master Math Algebra This guide explains and clarifies algebraic principles in a simple, easy-to-follow style and format. Beginning with the most basic fundamental topics and progressing through to the more advanced topics that will help prepare you for pre-calculus and calculus, the book helps clarify algebra using step-by-step procedures and solutions, along with examples and applications.
Schaum's Outline of Theory and Problems of College Mathematics : Algebra, Discrete Mathematics, Precalculus, Introduction to Calculus Schaum's Outline of French Grammar delivers a comprehensive and efficient review of French grammar, with exercises, quick drills, and helpful verb charts. The fifth edition includes the latest usages and carefully explains challenging grammatical topics.
Schaum's Outline of Theory and Problems of Linear Algebra If you want top grades and thorough understanding of linear algebra, this powerful study tool is the best tutor you can have It takes you step-by-step through the subject and gives you 1360 accompanying related problems with fully worked solutions. You also get plenty of practice problems to do on your own, working at your own speed. (Answers at the back show you how you're doing.) Famous for their clarity, wealth of illustrations and examples, and lack of dreary minutiae, Schaum s Outlines have sold more than 30 million copies worldwide and this guide will show you why "
Teach Yourself: Algebra: A Complete Introduction Algebra--A Complete Introduction provides everything you need to broaden your skills and gain confidence. Assuming only a basic level of arithmetic, this carefully graded and progressive book guides you through the basic principles of the subject with the help of exercises and fully worked examples.

Featured Print Books

Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.

Algebra : Introductory and Intermediate : An Applied Approach As in previous editions, the focus in ALGEBRA: INTRODUCTORY & INTERMEDIATE remains on the Aufmann Interactive Method (AIM). Students are encouraged to be active participants in the classroom and in their own studies as they work through the How To examples and the paired Examples and You Try It problems. The role of "active participant" is crucial to success. Presenting students with worked examples, and then providing them with the opportunity to immediately work similar problems, helps them build their confidence and eventually master the concepts.To this point, simplicity plays a key factor in the organization of this edition, as in all other editions. All lessons, exercise sets, tests, and supplements are organized around a carefully-constructed hierarchy of objectives. This "objective-based" approach not only serves the needs of students, in terms of helping them to clearly organize their thoughts around the content, but instructors as well, as they work to design syllabi, lesson plans, and other administrative documents.The Eighth Edition features a new design, enhancing the Aufmann Interactive Method and the organization of the text around objectives, making the pages easier for both students and instructors to follow.
Algebra II for Dummies Your complete guide to acing Algebra II Do quadratic equations make you queasy? Does the mere thought of logarithms make you feel lethargic? You're not alone! Algebra can induce anxiety in the best of us, especially for the masses that have never counted math as their forte. But here's the good news: you no longer have to suffer through statistics, sequences, and series alone. Algebra II For Dummies takes the fear out of this math course and gives you easy-to-follow, friendly guidance on everything you'll encounter in the classroom and arms you with the skills and confidence you need to score high at exam time. Gone are the days that Algebra II is a subject that only the serious 'math' students need to worry about. Now, as the concepts and material covered in a typical Algebra II course are consistently popping up on standardized tests like the SAT and ACT, the demand for advanced guidance on this subject has never been more urgent. Thankfully, this new edition of Algebra II For Dummies answers the call with a friendly and accessible approach to this often-intimidating subject, offering you a closer look at exponentials, graphing inequalities, and other topics in a way you can understand. Examine exponentials like a pro Find out how to graph inequalities Go beyond your Algebra I knowledge Ace your Algebra II exams with ease Whether you're looking to increase your score on a standardized test or simply succeed in your Algebra II course, this friendly guide makes it possible.
Beginning and Intermediate Algebra Pat McKeague's eighth edition of INTEMEDIATE ALGEBRA is the book for the modern student like you. Like its predecessors, the eighth edition is clear, concise, and patient in explaining the concepts. This new edition contains hundreds of new and updated examples and applications, a redesign that includes cleaner graphics and images (some from Google Earth) that allow you to see the connection between mathematics and your world. This includes references to contemporary topics like gas prices and some of today's most forward thinking companies like Google.
Linear Algebra for Dummies An easy-to-follow guide to practical, real-world applications of linear algebra Linear algebra is a branch of mathematics that uses matrices to solve systems of linear equations; it has applications in many disciplines, from sociology and game theory to computer programming, engineering, and business. Linear Algebra For Dummies maps to a typical, college-level linear algebra course, in which students first study matrices and matrix operations, then apply those fundamentals to abstract topics such as vector spaces, linear transformations, determinants, and, finally, eigenvalues and eigenvectors. It gives students theoretical and practical ways of approaching various types of problems, presenting the information in a way that allows readers to fully digest not just the how of solving linear algebraic problems, but also the why. Mary Jane Sterling (Peoria, IL) is the author of Algebra For Dummies (978-0-7645-5325-7), Business Math for Dummies (978-0-470-23331-3), and several other books. She has been teaching at Bradley University for almost 30 years.
Mastering Algebra: Intermediate Level "Linear and non linear equations, inequalities, factoring, quadratic equations, algebraic fractions, and logarithms"
McGraw-Hill's 500 Questions - College Algebra and Trigonometry 500 Ways to Achieve Your Best Grades We want you to succeed on your college algebra and trigonometry midterm and final exams. That's why we've selected these 500 questions to help you study more effectively, use your preparation time wisely, and getyour best grades. These questions and answers are similar to the ones you'll find on a typical college exam, so you will know what to expect on test day. Each question includes a concise, easy-to-follow explanation in the answer key. Whether you have been studying all year or are reviewing at the last minute, McGraw-Hill's 500 College Algebra and Trigonometry Questions will help you achieve the grade you desire. Sharpen your subject knowledge and build yourtest-taking confidence with: 500 essential college algebra and trigonometry questions Complete answer explanations Comprehensive coverage of first-year college algebraand trigonometry topics
Painless Algebra Titles in Barron's extensive Painless Series cover a wide range of subjects as they are taught on middle school and high school levels. These books are written for students who find the subjects unusually difficult and confusing--or in many cases, just plain boring. Barron's Painless Series authors' main goal is to clear up students' confusion and perk up their interest by emphasizing the intriguing and often exciting ways in which they can put each subject to practical use. Most of these books take a light-hearted approach to their subjects, often employing humor, and always presenting fun-learning exercises that include puzzles, games, and challenging "Brain Tickler" problems to solve. This title defines algebraic terms, shows how to avoid pitfalls in calculation, presents painless methods for understanding and graphing equations, and makes problem-solving fun. ATTENTION STUDENTS: You get a special FREE bonus when you purchase your copy of Barron's Painless Algebra Barron's is taking Painless to the next level: FUN! Sealed inside your copy of Painless Algebra, you'll find a code that gives you access to a FREE app. Simply key in that code on your iPhone, iTouch, iPad or Android device, and you download a fun-to-play Algebra arcade game challenge that will reinforce your skill in mastering Algebra!