Try these eBooks to get started. Must be on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access. for eBooks.
Want more on finding books? Try Books & eBooks.
Crime and Punishment in America
Covering some of the most hotly contested topics in crime and criminal justice, including proposed sentencing and prison reforms, controversial developments like Stand Your Ground laws, and Supreme Court decisions, this work supplies essential background, current data, and a range of viewpoints on these important issues. * Provides readers with a thorough analysis of the most controversial topics in criminal justice that includes contributions from renowned scholars, activists, victim service providers, and other experts * Addresses current trends and problems in America's criminal justice system * Includes tables, graphs, and charts tracking the most important developments related to crime, sentencing, and the prison system
Crime Classification Manual
A thorough revision of the landmark book that standardized the language, terminology, and classifications used throughout the criminal justice system, Crime Classification Manual, Third Edition now adds new coverage of areas affected by globalization and new technologies, as well as new crime scene examples and analyses. Coauthored by accomplished experts in the field, it is the definitive crime classification text for law enforcement personnel, mental health professionals, forensic scientists, and those whose work brings them into contact with either offenders or victims of violent crime.
The Criminal Justice System
The Criminal Justice System, completely updated, covers the most important aspects of criminal justice in the United States. It details the commission and frequency of crimes through the investigation, apprehension, prosecution, and punishment of wrongdoers.
DNA and the Criminal Justice System
Is DNA technology the ultimate diviner of guilt or the ultimate threat to civil liberties? Over the past decade, DNA has been used to exonerate hundreds and to convict thousands. Its expanded use over the coming decade promises to recalibrate significantly the balance between collective security and individual freedom. For example, it is possible that law enforcement DNA databases will expand to include millions of individuals not convicted of any crime. Moreover, depending on what rules govern access, such databases could also be used for purposes that range from determining paternity to assessing predispositions to certain diseases or behaviors. Thus the use of DNA technology will involve tough trade-offs between individual and societal interests. This book, written by a distinguished group of authors including U.S. Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer, explores the ethical, procedural, and economic challenges posed by the use of DNA evidence as well as future directions for the technology. After laying the conceptual historical, legal, and scientific groundwork for the debate, the book considers bioethical issues raised by the collection of DNA, including the question of control over DNA databases. The authors then turn to the possible genetic bases of human behavior and the implications of this still-unresolved issue for the criminal justice system. Finally, the book examines the current debate over the many roles that DNA can and should play in criminal justice.
Ethics and Criminal Justice
This textbook looks at the main ethical questions that confront the criminal justice system - legislature, law enforcement, courts, and corrections - and those who work within that system, especially police officers, prosecutors, defence lawyers, judges, juries, and prison officers. John Kleinig sets the issues in the context of a liberal democratic society and its ethical and legislative underpinnings, and illustrates them with a wide and international range of real-life case studies. Topics covered include discretion, capital punishment, terrorism, restorative justice, and re-entry. Kleinig's discussion is both philosophically acute and grounded in institutional realities, and will enable students to engage productively with the ethical questions which they encounter both now and in the future - whether as criminal justice professionals or as reflective citizens.
Explaining Crime : A Primer in Criminological Theory
This book provides a concise but comprehensive review of the full range of classic and contemporary theories of crime. With separate chapters on the nature and use of criminological theory as well as theoretical application, the authors render the difficult task of explaining crime more understandable to the introductory student. All of the main theories in criminology are reviewed including classical and rational choice, biological, psychological, and evolutionary, social structural, social process, critical, general, and integrated approaches. Copious examples of the spirit of the theories are supplied, many with a popular culture (e.g., film and music) connection.
The Handbook of Criminology of Terrorism
The Handbook of the Criminology of Terrorism features a collection of essays that represent the most recent criminological research relating to the origins and evolution of, along with responses to, terrorism, from a criminological perspective. Offers an authoritative overview of the latest criminological research into the causes of and responses to terrorism in today's world Covers broad themes that include terrorism's origins, theories, methodologies, types, relationship to other forms of crime, terrorism and the criminal justice system, ways to counter terrorism, and more Features original contributions from a group of international experts in the field Provides unique insights into the field through an exclusive focus on criminological conceptual frameworks and empirical studies that engage terrorism and responses to it
Introduction to Criminology
A basic guide - written with newcomers, lay people and those working within the criminal justice field in mind. Acquaint yourself with some key strands of this literally enormous topic and how it interacts with real life situations by reading the chapters of this book as follows: 1. Introduction 2. Classicism 3. Positivism 4. Strain Theories 5. Control Theories 6. Gender, Subcultures, Labelling and Differential Association 7. Conflict and Radical Criminology 8. Victimology, Fear of Crime, Restorative Justice - and A Look at Some Statistics 9. Criminology: Aspects of Criminal Justice (Criminal Justice Models; Police, Policing and Law and Order; Public Disorder; Bail or Custody; Punishment and Sentencing; Prisons; Crime Prevention and Community Safety; White Collar Crime). Plus a brief Bibliography. Reviews 'Most helpful and readable . . . . fascinating and thought-provoking': The Magistrate
Is America Really So Punitive? Exploring a Continuum of US State Criminal Justice Policies
Kutateladze explores variations in punitiveness among American states. He uses state punitiveness to refer to criminal justice policies that target suspects, defendants, convicts, inmates, and releasees. Based on the examination of 44 variables across 50 states and the four regions, into which these states were grouped, Florida emerged as the most punitive, and Maine as the least punitive. The study also suggests that the American South is highly punitive, the West and the Midwest moderately punitive, and the Northeast relatively non-punitive. The success of this method in measuring state punitiveness suggests that the instrument may be useful for both within-nation and between-nation comparisons.
Negotiating Responsibility in the Criminal Justice System
These essays present a study of the issue of responsibility for actions in the criminal justice system. Attacking the problem on various levels, the contributors look at the assumptions made by institutions regarding offender responsibility, and then turn to the views of the offenders.
Opinions Throughout History: Law Enforcement in America
This volume of Opinions Throughout History takes a look at the history and philosophy of policing in America from the vigilante slave catchers of the American South, to the first modern police departments of the Northeast, to the drug war of the 1980s and 1990s.
Police Brutality, Racial Profiling, and Discrimination in the Criminal Justice System
In order to protect and defend citizens, the foundational concepts of fairness and equality must be adhered to within any criminal justice system. When this is not the case, accountability of authorities should be pursued to maintain the integrity and pursuit of justice. Police Brutality, Racial Profiling, and Discrimination in the Criminal Justice System is an authoritative reference source for the latest scholarly material on social problems involving victimization of minorities and police accountability. Presenting relevant perspectives on a global and cross-cultural scale, this book is ideally designed for researchers, professionals, upper-level students, and practitioners involved in the fields of criminal justice and corrections.
The Police in a Free Society
An unprecedented look at the evolution of American police from filling their intended role as peacekeepers and guardians of citizen rights to calling themselves--and acting primarily as--"law enforcement officers." * Reveals realities and myths about the police in America, their role in our society, and what can--and can't--be done to improve relations and public confidence in our police * Provides an unbiased examination that presents BOTH sides of the issues and represents the perspectives and responsibilities of the police alongside those of the citizens they serve * Enables readers to see the evolution of police over time and grasp the various positions in the debate about the proper role of police in modern society * Presents solutions to the widespread problem of eroding respect for police agencies, discussing the issue in the broader context of how government and culture play key roles in ensuring that police agencies are competent and trustworthy
Prisons in the United States
Offering perspectives from a range of experts, both academic and nonacademic, this reference book examines the development of prisons in the United States and addresses the principal contemporary issues and controversies of our prisons and prison systems. * Presents a comprehensive yet succinct history of the development of men's and women's prisons in the United States * Offers a range of author perspectives that identify and explore the principal issues associated with prisons and imprisonment * Documents the shift from an intent to reform inmates in prisons to retribution and an attempt to remove all criminals from society, using prisons for "warehousing" of undesired elements * Provides a complete reference guide for the understanding of prisons and imprisonment as a punishment
Profiling and Criminal Justice in America
An unbiased examination of profiling in the criminal justice system--one of the most hotly contested public policy issues--on the streets, in the courts, and in the jails and prisons of America. * Presents essays from scholars in the field on both sides of the debate to provide fair and objective information that allow readers to consider the interests of equality and fairness on one side versus public safety and crime fighting on the other * Examines profiling along a wide range of variables--race, religion, gender, and sexual orientation--rather than addressing only racial profiling * Covers more recent events in profiling such as Arizona SB 1070, the "Stop and Frisk" policy in New York City, and the TSA's profiling of Muslims as well as older cases such as Whren vs. United States * Provides summaries and analyses of key court cases relating to the permissibility and impermissibility of profiling
Speaking of Crime : The Language of Criminal Justice
Why do so many people voluntarily consent to searches by have the police search their person or vehicle when they know that they are carrying contraband or evidence of illegal activity? Does everyone understand the "Miranda" warning? How well can people recognize a voice on tape? Can linguistic experts identify who wrote an anonymous threatening letter? "Speaking of Crime" answers these questions and examines the complex role of language within our criminal justice system. Lawrence M. Solan and Peter M. Tiersma compile numerous cases, ranging from the Lindbergh kidnapping to the impeachment trial of Bill Clinton to the JonBen(r)t Ramsey case, that provide real-life examples of how language functions in arrests, investigations, interrogations, confessions, and trials. In a clear and accessible style, Solan and Tiersma show how recent advances in the study of language can aid in understanding how legal problems arise and how they might be solved. With compelling discussions current issues and controversies, this book is a provocative state-of-the-art survey that will be of enormous value to legal scholars and professionals throughout the criminal justice system.
The Use and Abuse of Police Power in America
Providing a timely and much-needed investigation of how U.S. law enforcement carries out its public safety and crime fighting mandates, this book is an invaluable resource for students, educators, and concerned citizens. * Provides a single-volume, go-to source for insight into police-citizen relations in the United States, from the 17th century through to today * Documents major turning points and historical events influencing the evolution of police power * Provides both supportive and critical perspectives on contemporary trends in law enforcement activities, attitudes, and practices * Enables a fuller comprehension of law enforcement in an era of significant political and social upheaval, much of which is tied to racial, ethnic, or economic factors
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice
The Third Edition of The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice is a reference every student of the criminal justice system should own. Like any good dictionary, this resource will assist students in a variety of courses - as well as in writing papers and understanding terminology in journal articles. Over 5,000 terms, concepts, and names are included in the new edition, as well as over 125 new U.S. Supreme Court cases. The dictionary's interdisciplinary approach greatly enhances its effectiveness as a one-stop resource. Students will no longer need to waste precious study time seeking out definitions in numerous specialized sources. Many definitions are accompanied by examples from the research literature, illustrating how the terms apply in particular contexts. This dictionary is useful for any criminology or criminal justice course with applications in sociology, public administration, political science, and the administration of justice. forensics, gangs, computers and computer crime, criminal investigations, criminology, criminological theory, corrections, probation and parole, courts and sentencing, rules of criminal procedure, constitutional law, policing and police-community relations, jails and prisons, white-collar crime, sodomy laws, civil rights, tort law, victimization, juvenile law, Section 1983 actions, capital punishment, electronic surveillance, fines and asset forfeiture, deadly force, search and seizure, wrongful convictions, the Prison Litigation Reform Act of 1995, and the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996. The dictionary includes numerous illustrations, figures, and tables that provide readers with visual portrayals of important criminal justice facts. A comprehensive listing of over 30 doctoral programs in criminal justice is provided, together with useful contact information. An extensive listing of Internet sites is provided for locating useful information regarding important topics associated with law enforcement, the courts, and corrections. departments and relevant contact information. Finally, this section provides listings of leading criminological theorists, a summary of their major theoretical contributions, and brief synopses of their written works. Many theorists are cross-referenced with other scholars studying similar phenomena.
Class, Race, Gender, Crime : The Social Realities of Justice in America
A remote Siberian town with a darkly fascinating history teems with life in this luminous linked debut collection Kseniya Melnik's Snow in May introduces a cast of characters bound by their relationship to the port town of Magadan in Russia's Far East, a former gateway for prisoners assigned to Stalin’s forced-labor camps. Comprised of a surprising mix of newly minted professionals, ex-prisoners, intellectuals, musicians, and faithful Party workers, the community is vibrant and resilient and life in Magadan thrives even under the cover of near-perpetual snow. By blending history and fable, each of Melnik's stories transports us somewhere completely new: a married Magadan woman considers a proposition from an Italian footballer in '70s Moscow; an ailing young girl visits a witch doctor’s house where nothing is as it seems; a middle-aged dance teacher is entranced by a new student’s raw talent; a former Soviet boss tells his granddaughter the story of a thorny friendship; and a woman in 1958 jumps into a marriage with an army officer far too soon. Weaving in and out of the last half of the twentieth century, Snow in May is an inventive, gorgeously rendered, and touching portrait of lives lived on the periphery where, despite their isolation—and perhaps because of it—the most seemingly insignificant moments can be beautiful, haunting, and effervescent.
Crime Analysis and Crime Mapping
Crime analysis is an emerging profession in policing and a growing topic of interest in the criminal justice field. This book offers a thorough introduction to the field as well as guidelines for its practice, making it a useful asset for current and future crime analysts and police practitioners as well as for students.
Crime in Texas : Your Complete Guide to the Criminal Justice System
From reviews of the first edition: "There is nothing modest about the title of a new book by Ken Anderson - Crime in Texas: Your Complete Guide to the Criminal Justice System. But in only [208] pages, the book comes pretty close to living up to its [title]. It is a handy, readable reference for crime victims, elected officials, and anyone else with more than a passing interest in the criminal justice system. Anderson mixes comprehensive crime statistics and explanations of criminal laws and courtroom procedures with accounts of actual crimes." - Houston Chronicle Using clear, easily understood language, Crime in Texas describes all aspects of the criminal justice system - officials (police, prosecutors, judges), criminal procedure, criminal law, criminal punishments, victims' rights, and the juvenile system. This edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect changes in the law since the first edition was published in 1997. To make the book even more relevant to readers, Ken Anderson illustrates his points with real-life stories of crime and punishment from his more than two decades as a district attorney.
Criminal Justice
The authors in this anthology examine controversial issues such as whether the U.S. criminal justice system needs reform, the effectiveness of prison as a deterrent to crime, whether sentencing laws should be reformed, and what legal rights should be a part of the criminal justice system.
The Handbook of Crime and Punishment
The Handbook of Crime and Punishment is a comprehensive professional/reference work designed for those interested in the study of crime--its causes, effects, trends, and institutions; in the forms and philosophies of punishment, and in crime control. Although primarily American in itsorientation, many of this book's articles are of a broader, more international nature. The Handbook is expansive in its coverage, providing the reader with information about the context, contemporary crime problems, causes of crime, methods of crime reduction, the processes and institutions thatdeal with accused and convicted criminals, and techniques of punishment. The book consists of 28 articles, each written by an expert in the field and including a short selected reference list, as well as a general introduction to the work written by editor Michael Tonry. The Handbook will be anindispenible reference work for academics, graduate students, and undergraduate students in criminology.
The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness
Named one of the most important nonfiction books of the 21st century by Entertainment Weekly, Slate, Chronicle of Higher Eduction, Literary Hub, Book Riot, and Zora A tenth-anniversary edition of the iconic bestseller--"one of the most influential books of the past 20 years," according to the Chronicle of Higher Education--with a new preface by the author Seldom does a book have the impact of Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow. Since it was first published in 2010, it has been cited in judicial decisions and has been adopted in campus-wide and community-wide reads; it helped inspire the creation of the Marshall Project and the new $100 million Art for Justice Fund; it has been the winner of numerous prizes, including the prestigious NAACP Image Award; and it has spent nearly 250 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list. Most important of all, it has spawned a whole generation of criminal justice reform activists and organizations motivated by Michelle Alexander's unforgettable argument that "we have not ended racial caste in America; we have merely redesigned it." As the Birmingham News proclaimed, it is "undoubtedly the most important book published in this century about the U.S." Now, ten years after it was first published, The New Press is proud to issue a tenth-anniversary edition with a new preface by Michelle Alexander that discusses the impact the book has had and the state of the criminal justice reform movement today.
Race and Ethnicity in the Juvenile and Criminal Justice Systems
Over the last few decades, the racial and ethnic composition of the United States has changed dramatically. This seismic transformation has important implications for theory, research, policy, and public opinion ¿ perhaps most crucially around the topic of race/ethnicity and our justice systems. Recent national events ¿ from Ferguson, to ferocious public debate about racism, to media depictions of police violence ¿ have reawakened the tense question of race relations in the 21st century. This edited collection of research aims to highlight contemporary issues surrounding the overrepresentation of racial and ethnic minorities throughout both the juvenile and adult criminal justice systems. Our contributors cover both formal sources of social control (e.g. police, courts, correction facilities) and perceptions and public opinions of the relationship between race/ethnicity and offending behaviors. As the intellectual sphere ignites with fresh debate, old questions redefined and new ones asked, this publication provides innovative insight into how race and ethnicity interconnect with all aspects of criminology and criminal justice. Furthermore it helps encourage directions for future research, practice, and public policy. This book was originally published as a special issue of the Journal of Crime and Justice.
The Rich Get Richer and the Poor Get Prison: Ideology, Class, and Criminal Justice
The basic premise of this text is that the Criminal Justice system is biased against the poor from start to finish - from the definition of what constitutes a crime through the process of arrest, trial, and sentencing.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
