Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
The Cambridge Introduction to Emily Dickinson
Emily Dickinson is best known as an intensely private, even reclusive writer. Yet the way she has been mythologised has meant her work is often misunderstood. This introduction delves behind the myth to present a poet who was deeply engaged with the issues of her day. In a lucid and elegant style, the book places her life and work in the historical context of the Civil War, the suffrage movement, and the rapid industrialisation of the United States. Wendy Martin explores the ways in which Dickinson's personal struggles with romantic love, religious faith, friendship and community shape her poetry. The complex publication history of her works, as well as their reception, is teased out, and a guide to further reading is included. Dickinson emerges not only as one of America's finest poets, but also as a fiercely independent intellect and an original talent writing poetry far ahead of her time.
The Cambridge Introduction to Harriet Beecher Stowe
Through the publication of her bestseller Uncle Tom's Cabin, Harriet Beecher Stowe became one of the most internationally famous and important authors in nineteenth-century America. Today, her reputation is more complex, and Uncle Tom's Cabin has been debated and analysed in many different ways. This book provides a summary of Stowe's life and her long career as a professional author, as well as an overview of her writings in several different genres. Synthesizing scholarship from a range of perspectives, the book positions Stowe's work within the larger framework of nineteenth-century culture and attitudes about race, slavery and the role of women in society. Sarah Robbins also offers reading suggestions for further study. This introduction provides students of Stowe with a richly informed and accessible introduction to this fascinating author.
The Cambridge Introduction to Herman Melville
Despite its indifferent reception when it was first published in 1851, Moby Dick is now a central work in the American literary canon. This introduction offers readings of Melville's masterpiece, but it also sets out the key themes, contexts, and critical reception of his entire oeuvre. The first chapters cover Melville's life and the historical and cultural contexts. Melville's individual works each receive full attention in the third chapter, including Typee, Moby Dick, Billy Budd and the short stories. Elsewhere in the chapter different themes in Melville are explained with reference to several works: Melville's writing process, Melville as letter writer, Melville and the past, Melville and modernity, Melville's late writings. The final chapter analyses Melville scholarship from his day to ours. Kevin J. Hayes provides comprehensive information about Melville's life and works in an accessible and engaging book that will be essential for students beginning to read this important author.
The Cambridge Introduction to Nathaniel Hawthorne
As the author of The Scarlet Letter, Nathaniel Hawthorne has been established as a major writer of the nineteenth century and the most prominent chronicler of New England and its colonial history. This introductory book for students coming to Hawthorne for the first time outlines his life and writings in a clear and accessible style. Leland S. Person also explains some of the significant cultural and social movements that influenced Hawthorne's most important writings: Puritanism, Transcendentalism and Feminism. The major works, including The Scarlet Letter, The House of the Seven Gables and The Blithedale Romance, as well as Hawthorne's important short stories and non-fiction, are analysed in detail. The book also includes a brief history and survey of Hawthorne scholarship, with special emphasis on recent studies. Students of nineteenth-century American literature will find this a rewarding and engaging introduction to this remarkable writer.
Critical Companion to Edgar Allan Poe
Edgar Allan Poe is one of America's best-loved authors. During Poe's short and turbulent life, he invented the modern detective story and horror genre with such immortal works as ""The Tell-Tale Heart,"" ""The Cask of Amontillado,"" ""The Pit and the Pendulum,"" ""The Murders in the Rue Morgue,"" and ""The Fall of the House of Usher."" He is also known for the haunting melody of his poetry, as in the classics ""The Raven,"" ""Annabel Lee,"" and many more. In addition, Poe wrote numerous critical articles, reviews, and essays on a variety of subjects. ""Critical Companion to Edgar Allan Poe"" covers all of the writer's major and most minor works. The entries also provide a wealth of information on his personal life, including relationships with friends, relatives, and associates. This updated and reorganized edition of the award-winning ""Edgar Allan Poe A to Z"" contains extensive new material, including new critical commentary on Poe's major poems and stories. Coverage includes: synopses and critical assessments of all Poe's major works, including poems and stories; descriptions of Poe's fictional characters, from C. Auguste Dupin to Montresor; discussions of Poe's influence on Baudelaire and other French poets; and, entries on places that influenced Poe, from Baltimore to New York City.
Critical Companion to Herman Melville
An excellent resource for scholars of Melville and for undergraduates and graduate students - ""Choice"". ""Critical Companion to Herman Melville"" examines the life and work of a writer who spent much of his career in obscurity. Herman Melville has since become known as one of America's greatest novelists, short story writers, and poets. The author of ""Moby-Dick"", ""Billy Budd"", ""Typee"", ""White-Jacket"", ""Bartleby the Scrivener,"" and many other classic works, Melville was rediscovered in the 1920s by a new generation of writers who saw in his writing an evolving sense of modernism. His work is now an integral part of the high school and college curriculum, and writers as diverse as Jack London, William Faulkner, Norman Mailer, and Cormac McCarthy have paid homage to Melville's poetry and prose. Entries in this comprehensive volume examine the characters and settings of Melville's novels and short stories, the critics and scholars who commented on his work, and his friends and associates, including such prominent literary figures as Oliver Wendell Holmes and Nathaniel Hawthorne. This book also contains all the text of the previously published ""Herman Melville A to Z"", organized in a more user-friendly fashion. New to this edition are critical commentary essays on all Melville's major stories, poems, and novels; an expanded biography of Melville; new illustrations; and new appendixes, including contemporary reviews of Melville's work, bibliographies, a chronology, a genealogy, and more. Its coverage includes: a biography of Melville; synopses and critical assessments of Melville's major and minor works; details about family, friends, and associates; analyses of the culture, times, and places in which Melville lived and wrote; and, descriptions of whaling, South Seas travel, and other experiences that shaped Melville's work.
Critical Companion to Nathaniel Hawthorne
Offers critical entries on Hawthorne's novels, short stories, travel writing, criticism, and other works, as well as portraits of characters, including Hester Prynne and Roger Chillingworth. This reference also provides entries on Hawthorne's family, friends - ranging from Herman Melville to President Franklin Pierce - publishers, and critics.
Critical Insights: Dickinson, Emily
Emily Dickinson's poetry, letters, and life have astounded readers and scholars alike for more than one hundred years. Though she rarely left her hometown of Amherst, Massachusetts, and in her later years never ventured beyond the fence encircling her family's home, Dickinson nevertheless wrote some of the world's most original, enigmatic, and expansive poems. And though she was certainly aware of her talent, she largely shunned publication, famously deriding it as 'the Auction/ Of the Mind of Man -,' and thus upon her death left it to her family to decide what to do with the nearly 1,800 poems she had hoarded in a locked dresser drawer. By turns strangely intimate, witty, sardonic, ebullient, and frighteningly sublime, the poems have since fascinated generations of readers and generated endless speculation about the poet's mind and life.
Critical Insights: Moby-Dick
Herman Melville's Moby-Dick is often considered the greatest American novel - a vast epic that combines deep philosophy and high adventure as well as rich comedy and profound tragedy. Containing numerous essays by many prominent Melville scholars, the book places Melville and his epic novel in their various historical contexts while also showing how the novel continues to be relevant-and powerful-today.
Critical Insights: The Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe
Edgar Allan Poe was a “literary figure in the most eclectic sense of the term: a writer of criticism and epistolary correspondence that doubled as literary theory as well as satire, tales, and even a novel titled The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym, he was also a magazine editor and a poet of significant renown in his time.
Critical Insights: The Tales of Edgar Allan Poe
Though many associate Edgar Allan Poe with his poems and his tales, his influence in the realm of formal literary aesthetics is vast and difficult to measure. In his brief but brilliant career as a writer and magazine editor, he wrote numerous reviews and prefaces that, taken together, formulate a complex but coherent conception of artistic practice and purpose, one that served to illuminate the Romanticism of his era and provide an impetus for a worldwide reconsideration of literary art and its nature. This was especially notable in the “aesthetic movement” in France under Charles Baudelaire, Stéphane Mallarmé, and Paul Verlaine, and in Britain under Oscar Wilde. It was also observable in the French Symbolist poets, including Paul Valéry, as well as in the rise of New Critical Formalism in the early twentieth century.
Dickinson's Misery : A Theory of Lyric Reading
How do we know that Emily Dickinson wrote poems? How do we recognize a poem when we see one? In Dickinson's Misery, Virginia Jackson poses fundamental questions about reading habits we have come to take for granted. Because Dickinson's writing remained largely unpublished when she died in 1886, decisions about what it was that Dickinson wrote have been left to the editors, publishers, and critics who have brought Dickinson's work into public view. The familiar letters, notes on advertising fliers, verses on split-open envelopes, and collections of verses on personal stationery tied together with string have become the Dickinson poems celebrated since her death as exemplary lyrics. Jackson makes the larger argument that the century and a half spanning the circulation of Dickinson's work tells the story of a shift in the publication, consumption, and interpretation of lyric poetry. This shift took the form of what this book calls the "lyricization of poetry," a set of print and pedagogical practices that collapsed the variety of poetic genres into lyric as a synonym for poetry. Featuring many new illustrations from Dickinson's manuscripts, this book makes a major contribution to the study of Dickinson and of nineteenth-century American poetry. It maps out the future for new work in historical poetics and lyric theory.
Edgar Allan Poe in Context
Edgar Allan Poe mastered a variety of literary forms over the course of his brief and turbulent career. As a storyteller, Poe defied convention by creating Gothic tales of mystery, horror and suspense that remain widely popular today. This collection demonstrates how Poe's experience of early nineteenth-century American life fueled his iconoclasm and shaped his literary legacy. Rather than provide critical explications of his writings, each essay explores one aspect of Poe's immediate environment, using pertinent writings - verse, fiction, reviews and essays - to suit. Examining his geographical, social and literary contexts, as well as those created by the publishing industry and advances in science and technology, the essays paint an unprecedented portrait of Poe's life and times.
Emily Dickinson : Comprehensive Research and Study Guide
This text challenges some of the more pious views of Emily Dickinson. The author examines her background, letters and poems from a social, cultural and historical perspective, and presents a more complex portrait of Dickinson and her work.
Idioms of Ontology : A Phenomenological Study of Whitman
Without a doubt, Walt Whitman is one of the most philosophical poets. His writings are overflowing with conceptions that range from the Presocratics to Hegel. Nevertheless, the philosophical aspect of his work has been neglected with scholars satisfying themselves in making loose allusions to transcendentalist ideas that are said to respire in his writings. Therefore, our attention has been drawn to the connection of his poetry with philosophy (phenomenology), since as Emanuel Levinas once stated, the whole of philosophy is only a meditation of Shakespeare. Therefore, this book throws the Whitmanesque self into a typically phenomenological context, silhouetting the notion of selfhood against the views of Martin Heidegger, Maurice Merleau-Ponty and Emanuel Levinas. Moreover, the book differentiates between the overall understanding of subjectivity and selfhood. The former corresponds to the representative capacities of the Cartesian cogito, which in itself is detached from the world of life. On the other hand, selfhood is defined though the idea of commitment to the overall mattering of the world, which in itself is not reduced to the materialist or idealist understanding. Rather, the world is what phenomenology - following Husserl - calls Lebenswelt, which corresponds to the general way in which the self finds itself attuned to the horizon of its existence.
Inscrutable Malice : Theodicy, Eschatology, and the Biblical Sources of Moby-Dick
In Inscrutable Malice, Jonathan A. Cook expertly illuminates Melville's abiding preoccupation with the problem of evil and the dominant role of the Bible in shaping his best-known novel. Drawing on recent research in the fields of biblical studies, the history of religion, and comparative mythology, Cook provides a new interpretation of Moby-Dick that places Melville's creative adaptation of the Bible at the center of the work. Cook identifies two ongoing concerns in the narrative in relation to their key biblical sources: the attempt to reconcile the goodness of God with the existence of evil, as dramatized in the book of Job; and the discourse of the Christian end-times involving the final destruction of evil, as found in the apocalyptic books and eschatological passages of the Old and New Testaments. With his detailed reading of Moby-Dick in relation to its most important source text, Cook greatly expands the reader's understanding of the moral, religious, and mythical dimensions of the novel. Both accessible and erudite, Inscrutable Malice will appeal to scholars, students, and enthusiasts of Melville's classic whaling narrative.
Nathaniel Hawthorne
This volume, brings together some of the representative high points of Hawthorne criticism, ranging chronologically from the 1940s to the present. The essays take a variety of critical and theoretical approaches: some ask biographical questions, while others examine Hawthorne's psychology; still others look at his historical and literary contexts. There are essays on mythology, on politics, and on theology. Together, they trace Hawthorne's reception through changing critical fashions, and illuminate some of the central concerns in Hawthorne criticism: the place of sin and Providence in his fiction, the genres in which he wrote, and the shape of his career as a whole. None of the essays presumes to be the final word on the subject. Instead, each is valuable for offering a starting point for thinking about Hawthorne's work, and for suggesting avenues for further exploration.
A Political Companion to Henry David Thoreau
The writings of Henry David Thoreau (1817-1862) have captivated scholars, activists, and ecologists for more than a century. Less attention has been paid, however, to the author's political philosophy and its influence on American public life. Although Thoreau's doctrine of civil disobedience has long since become a touchstone of world history, the greater part of his political legacy has been overlooked. With a resurgence of interest in recent years, A Political Companion to Henry David Thoreau is the first volume focused exclusively on Thoreau's ethical and political thought. Jack Turner illuminates the unexamined aspects of Thoreau's political life and writings. Combining both new and classic essays, this book offers a fresh and comprehensive understanding of Thoreau's politics, and includes discussions of subjects ranging from his democratic individualism to the political relevance of his intellectual eccentricity. The collection consists of works by sixteen prominent political theorists and includes an extended bibliography on Thoreau's politics. A Political Companion to Henry David Thoreau is a landmark reference for anyone seeking a better understanding of Thoreau's complex political philosophy.
The Scarlet Letter
This volume examines how The Scarlet Letter brings together many vital strands in American literature and culture: Puritanism and the rise of religious liberalism; philosophical Romanticism and Transcendentalism; the role of women and gender; the nature of justice and democratic governance; and the relationship between the United States and the wider world.
Student Companion to Edgar Allan Poe
The contributions of Edgar Allan Poe have withstood the test of time; his best poems and fiction are more popular and carry greater significance now than they did during his own era. This highly readable introduction to the life, times, and major works of Poe offers fresh interpretations of timeless masterpieces like The Raven and The Purloined Letter. Carefully considering important thematic elements as well as genre, this book organizes the works of Poe into four significant groupings: the poetry, Vampiric love stories, tales of psychological terror, and the detective stories. Close readings are given for a selection of the most important works that represent Poe's canon of writings, including the chilling Tell Tale Heart and The Black Cat. This introductory study to Edgar Allan Poe begins with a concise biographical chapter that explores Poe's troubled experiences. The Literary Heritage chapter chronicles Poe's influence on other writers, artists, and filmmakers who followed. This work examines the major poems from Poe's canon, with special attention to those works that are most often taught and anthologized. Poe's most famous tales of terror and revenge are juxtaposed because they all revolve around murders and the elements of terror associated with the act of killing. Likewise, his love stories are brought together in a chapter that deals with vampirisim and gender. The final chapter, The Origins of the Detective Tale, examines Poe's tales of ratiocination, and traces the evolution of many popular culture super sleuths to Poe's Dupin. A selective bibliography of biographical and critical works on Poe, including contemporary reviews, completes this thorough volume. Students, general readers, and fans of all things Gothic will enjoy the fascinating insights this volume offers.
Student Companion to Herman Melville
Student Companion to Herman Melville provides a critical introduction to the life and literary works of Herman Melville, the nineteenth-century American author of Moby-Dick, as well as nine other novels and numerous short stories and poems. In addition to providing an overview of Melville's life in relation to his literary works, the book places his writings within their historical and cultural contexts, and then examines each of his major works fully, at the level of the nonspecialist and generalist reader. The chapters that address major works by Melville feature close readings of the literary texts that include analysis of point of view, setting, plot, characters, symbolism, themes, and historical contexts when appropriate. In addition, the four chapters devoted to individual novels, as well as the chapter on Melville's poetry, feature alternate readings to introduce the reader to postcolonial, feminist, genre, reader response, and deconstructionist approaches to literary criticism. The book concludes with an extensive bibliography that includes lists of Melville's published works, biographies, contemporary reviews, and recent critical studies. -Early Narratives, from Typee to White Jacket -Moby Dick -Pierre -The Piazza Tales -Other magazine tales: I and My Chimney, The Paradise of Bachelors and the Tartarus of Maids, and Israel Potter -The Confidence-Man -Poetry, including
Three American Poets : Walt Whitman, Emily Dickinson, and Herman Melville
In Three American Poets, William C. Spengemann describes the very different sorts of poetry Whitman, Dickinson, and Melville wrote, their comparable reasons for writing as they did, and the posthumous critical effects of their having done so. By linking these utterly singular poets and their work--verse connected by shared qualities of oddity, complexity, and difficulty--Spengemann illuminates the poets' efforts to create verse equal to the demands of a changing nineteenth century. All three responded to a widespread sense of loss--loss, above all, of Christian understandings of the origins, nature, and purpose of human existence, both individual and collective. All three, too, regarded poetry as the sole means of dealing with that loss and of comprehending not only a changing world but the old world from which the new one had departed, and hence the connections between the vanished, discredited past, the baffling present, and the as yet inscrutable future. Spengemann suggests that the poetic eccentricities of Whitman, Melville, and Dickinson arose directly from their use of poetry as a vehicle of thought; each devised a poetic language either to attempt to recover a lost sense of assurance threatened by the collapse of traditional faith or to discover an altogether new ground of knowledge and being. Spengemann guides us in parsing their respective poetics with masterful readings closely attuned to diction, syntax, meter, and figure. His authoritative and empirical descriptions of the poets' verse and their respective characteristic aesthetics afford us heightened access to the poems and the pleasures peculiar to them, in the process making us better readers of poetry in general.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
Abraham Lincoln
Marking the two hundredth anniversary of Lincoln's birth, this marvelous short biography by a leading historian offers an illuminating portrait of one of the giants in the American story. Pulitzer Prize-winning author James M. McPherson follows the son of Thomas Lincoln and Nancy Hanks from his early years in Kentucky, Indiana, and Illinois, to his highly successful law career and his marriage to Mary Todd, to his one term in Congress.
The Adventures of Henry Thoreau : A Young Man's Unlikely Path to Walden Pond
Henry David Thoreau has long been an intellectual icon and folk hero. In this strikingly original profile, Michael Sims reveals how the bookish, quirky young man who kept quitting jobs evolved into the patron saint of environmentalism and nonviolent activism.
The Annotated Emerson
The #1 essayist and pure prose stylist in U.S. literature is on grand display in this lavish edition of essays, poems, and passages from Emerson's voluminous journals. The neophyte entering the Emersonian universe, as opposed to the scholar, is best served by Mikics's careful annotations and cogent commentary surrounding these selections, though even the most knowledgeable scholar would benefit.
The Cambridge Companion to Herman Melville
The Cambridge Companion to Herman Melville is intended to provide a critical introduction to Melville's work. The essays have been specially commissioned for this volume, and provide a comprehensive overview of Melville's career. All of Melville's key works, including Moby-Dick, Typee, White Jacket, The Tambourine in Glory and The Confidence Man, are examined, as well as most of his poetry and short fiction. Written at a level both challenging and accessible, the volume provides fresh perspectives on one of the most significant writers of nineteenth-century America whose work continues to fascinate readers and stimulate new study.
The Cambridge Companion to Nathaniel Hawthorne
The Cambridge Companion to Nathaniel Hawthorne, first published in 2004, offers students and teachers an introduction to Hawthorne's fiction and the lively debates that shape Hawthorne studies.
The Cambridge Introduction to Nathaniel Hawthorne
This introductory book for students coming to Hawthorne for the first time outlines his life and writings in a clear and accessible style.
A Companion to Walt Whitman
Comprising more than 30 substantial essays written by leading scholars, this companion constitutes an exceptionally broad-ranging and in-depth guide to one of America's greatest poets.
Edgar Allan Poe: A Critical Biography
Renowned as the creator of the detective story and a master of horror, the author of "The Red Mask of Death," "The Black Cat," and "The Murders of the Rue Morgue," Edgar Allan Poe seems to have derived his success from suffering and to have suffered from his success.
Edgar Allan Poe A to Z : The Essential Reference to his Life and Work
Few authors can claim Edgar Allan Poe's influence on literary and popular culture. During his short and turbulent life, he invented the modern detective story and horror genres with such immortal works as The Raven, The Tell-Tale Heart, and The Pit and the Pendulum. Best known for the haunting melody of his poetry and prose, Poe also wrote numerous critical articles and reviews, essays and magazine articles on a variety of subjects.
Harriet Beecher Stowe : A Spiritual Life
"So you're the little woman who started this big war," Abraham Lincoln is said to have quipped when he met Harriet Beecher Stowe. Her 1852 novel Uncle Tom's Cabin converted readers by the thousands to the anti-slavery movement and served notice that the days of slavery were numbered.
Harriet Jacobs : A Life
Harriet Jacobs's Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl remains the most-read woman's slave narrative of all time. Jean Fagan Yellin recounts the experiences that shaped Incidents-the years Jacobs spent hiding in her grandmother's attic from her sexually abusive master-as well as illuminating the wider world into which Jacobs escaped. Yellin's groundbreaking scholarship restores a life whose sorrows and triumphs reflect the history of the nineteenth century, from slavery to the Civil War, to Reconstruction and beyond. Winner of the 2004 Frederick Douglass Prize, presented by Yale University’s Gilder-Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition, awarded to the year’s best non-fiction book on slavery, resistance and abolition, the most prestigious award for the study of the black experience.
Herman Melville, Moby-Dick
The huge range of critical and academic debate about this monster of a novel confirms Moby-Dick's status as a vital and exhilarating exploration of the role of American ideology in defining modern consciousness.
Herman Melville : An Introduction
Offers a brief introduction to Melville, covering all his major works Showcases Melville's writing process through his correspondence with Nathaniel Hawthorne Provides a clear sense of Melville's major themes and preoccupations Focuses on Typee, Moby-Dick, and Billy Budd in individual chapters Includes a biography, summary of key works, interpretation, commentary, and an extensive bibliography.
James Fenimore Cooper: The Early Years
James Fenimore Cooper (1789-1851) invented the key forms of American fiction--the Western, the sea tale, the Revolutionary War romance. Furthermore, Cooper turned novel writing from a polite diversion into a paying career. H
Lincoln
A psychological portrait of the man from humble roots who slowly but determinedly found his niche as an attorney, then as a politician, & finally as president.
Longfellow : A Rediscovered Life
A study of one of America's greatest poets. The Longfellow of Calhoun's biography emerges as one of America's first powerful culture makers: a poet and teacher who helped define Victorian culture; a major conduit for European culture into America; a catalyst for the Colonial Revival movement in architecture and interior design; and a critic of both puritanism and the American obsession with material success.
Margaret Fuller: A New American Life
From an early age, Margaret Fuller provoked and dazzled New England's intellectual elite. Her famous Conversations changed women's sense of how they could think and live; her editorship of the Transcendentalist literary journal the Dial shaped American Romanticism. .
Mightier Than the Sword : Uncle Tom's Cabin and the Battle for America
Uncle Tom's Cabin is likely the most influential novel ever written by an American. In a fitting tribute to the two hundredth anniversary of Harriet Beecher Stowe's birth, Bancroft Prize-winning historian David S. Reynolds reveals her book's impact not only on the abolitionist movement and the American Civil War but also on worldwide events, including the end of serfdom in Russia, down to its influence in the twentieth century.
My Wars Are Laid Away in Books: The Life of Emily Dickinson
Emily Dickinson, probably the most loved and certainly the greatest of American poets, continues to be seen as the most elusive. Building on the work of former and contemporary scholars,My Wars Are Laid Away in Books brings to light a wide range of new material from legal archives, congregational records, contemporary women's writing, and previously unpublished fragments of Dickinson's own letters.
The Scarlet Letter and Other Writings: Authoritative Texts, Contexts, Criticism
The text of The Scarlet Letter is based on the 1850 third edition, the first set in stereotype plates and the basis of subsequent printings in Hawthorne's lifetime. An invaluable selection of contextual material includes five Hawthorne stories that are closely related to The Scarlet Letter, along with relevant letters and notebook entries.
Student Companion to James Fenimore Cooper
The Student Companion to James Fenimore Cooper At the dawn of America's continental empire, James Fenimore Cooper in the early 1800s became the new nation's first major novelist, inaugurating a great period in American literature and bequeathing a number of classic texts including the Leather-Stocking Tales.
Walt Whitman: The Song of Himself
Walt Whitman: The Song of Himself is the first full-length critical biography of Walt Whitman in more than forty years. Jerome Loving makes use of recently unearthed archival evidence and newspaper writings to present the most accurate, complete, and complex portrait of the poet to date.
Washington Irving: An American Original
The first American writer to make his pen his primary means of support, Washington Irving rocketed to fame at the age of 26. In 1809 he published A History of New York under the pseudonym Diedrich Knickerbocker to great acclaim. The public's appetite for all things Irving was insatiable; his name alone guaranteed sales.
William Cullen Bryant: Author of America
A biography of one of nineteenth-century America's foremost poets and public intellectuals.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
