LibGuides: Anatomy & Physiology: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Anatomical Terms and Their Derivation Anatomical terms are the vocabulary of medicine. Anatomy began as a descriptive science in the days when Latin was the universal scientific language. Early anatomists described the structures they saw in that language, comparing them to common and familiar objects, or borrowing terms from the Greek and Arabic masters before them. In anatomic terminology, common Latin or Greek words are used as such for any part of the body for which the ancients had a name.
Anatomy Real life clinical cases for the basic sciences and USMLE Step 1 "This handy little text has everything you need to review gross anatomy... It's] perfect for first-years just starting anatomy, second-years preparing for the boards, and third- and fourth-years going over their anatomy for their surgery rotations."--Kathleen M. Donahue, third year medical student, Midwestern University/Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine "Learning on a cadaver helps you understand anatomy in 3-D; "Case Files: Anatomy" will help you understand that anatomy and how you'll use it in real clinical practice."--Brad Miller, Class of 2006, Weill Medical College of Cornell University You need exposure to clinical cases in order to pass course exams and ace the USMLE Step 1--and this book provides exactly that. It presents 53 real-life clinical cases that illustrate essential concepts in gross anatomy. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, anatomy pearls, and USMLE-style review questions. With this interactive system you'll "learn" instead of "memorize." Features: 53 clinical cases, each with USMLE-style questions Clinical pearls highlight key concepts Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like a doctor Proven learning system improves your shelf exam scores
Anatomy and Physiology for Dummies Learn about the human body from the inside out Some people think that knowing about what goes on inside the human body can sap life of its mystery--which is too bad for them. Anybody who's ever taken a peak under the hood knows that the human body, and all its various structures and functions, is a realm of awe-inspiring complexity and countless wonders. The dizzying dance of molecule, cell, tissue, organ, muscle, sinew, and bone that we call life can be a thing of breathtaking beauty and humbling perfection. Anatomy & Physiology For Dummies combines anatomical terminology and function so you'll learn not only names and terms but also gain an understanding of how the human body works. Whether you're a student, an aspiring medical, healthcare or fitness professional, or just someone who's curious about the human body and how it works, this book offers you a fun, easy way to get a handle on the basics of anatomy and physiology. Understand the meaning of terms in anatomy and physiology Get to know the body's anatomical structures--from head to toe Explore the body's systems and how they interact to keep us alive Gain insight into how the structures and systems function in sickness and health Written in plain English and packed with beautiful illustrations, Anatomy & Physiology For Dummies is your guide to a fantastic voyage of the human body.
Atlas of the Human Body: Central Nervous System and Vascularization Atlas of Human Body: Central Nervous System and Vascularization is a multidisciplinary approach to the technical coverage of anatomical structures and relationships. It contains surface and 3D dissection images, native and colored cross sectional views made in different planes, MRI comparisons, demonstrations of cranial nerve origins, distribution of blood vessels by dissection, and systematic presentation of arterial distribution from the precapillary level, using the methyl metacrylate injection and subsequent tissue digestion method.　 Included throughout are late prenatal (fetal) and early postnatal images to contribute to a better understanding of structure/relationship specificity of differentiation at various developmental intervals (conduits, organs, somatic, or branchial derivatives). Each chapter features clinical correlations providing a unique perspective of side-by side comparisons of dissection images, magnetic resonance imaging and computed tomography. Created after many years of professional and scientific cooperation between the authors and their parent institutions, this important resource will serve researchers, students, and doctors in their professional work.
The Brain Book: An Illustrated Guide to its Structure, Function and Disorders A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals.
Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology Describes and illustrates the important aspects of anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiology.
The Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, from the secrets of DNA to the functions of every major body system, this all-in-one encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.
The Secret Body : How the New Science of the Human Body Is Changing the Way We Live "A perfect blend of cutting-edge science and compelling storytelling."--Bill Bryson A revolutionary new vision of human biology and the scientific breakthroughs that will transform our lives Imagine knowing years in advance whether you are likely to get cancer or having a personalized understanding of your individual genes, organs, and cells. Imagine being able to monitor your body's well-being, or have a diet tailored to your microbiome. The Secret Body reveals how these and other stunning breakthroughs and technologies are transforming our understanding of how the human body works, what it is capable of, how to protect it from disease, and how we might manipulate it in the future. Taking readers to the cutting edge of research, Daniel Davis shows how radical new possibilities are becoming realities thanks to the visionary efforts of scientists who are revealing the invisible and secret universe within each of us. Focusing on six important frontiers, Davis describes what we are learning about cells, the development of the fetus, the body's immune system, the brain, the microbiome, and the genome--areas of human biology that are usually understood in isolation. Bringing them together here for the first time, Davis offers a new vision of the human body as a biological wonder of dizzying complexity and possibility. Written by an award-winning scientist at the forefront of this adventure, The Secret Body is a gripping drama of discovery and a landmark account of the dawning revolution in human health.
Understanding Anatomy and Physiology How do you learn A&P best? Whatever your learning style...by reading, listening, or doing, or a little bit of each...the 3rd Edition of this new approach to anatomy & physiology is designed just for you. Tackle a tough subject in bite-sized pieces. A seemingly huge volume of information is organized into manageable sections to make complex concepts easy to understand and remember. You begin with an overview of the body, including its chemical and cellular structures, then progress to one-of-a-kind portrayals of each body system, grouped by function. Full-color illustrations, figures, sidebars, helpful hints, and easy-to-read descriptions make information crystal clear. Each unique page spread provides an entire unit of understanding, breaking down complex concepts into easy-to-grasp sections for today's learner. "Fast Facts" in each chapter contain interesting tips related to the system. "The Body at Work" addresses physiology of the system under discussion. "Life Lessons" apply A&P information to real-life situations. "Own the Information" exercises ask students to identify the most important points in each chapter and compare them to the learning objectives. Instructor resources: Ebook, testing resources, classroom & lecture planning resources, previous edition resources. Includes webinar recording, rollover guide to the book, questions & scenarios, PowerPoint slides, image banks, testbank Student resources: Interactive resources, flash cards, animations, podcast library, reference resources, audio glossary, PowerPoint slides
The Visual Guides: Understanding The Human Body The Visual Guides series answers the most important questions on topics that fascinate everyone through a series of videos and animations: weather, the human body, the Earth, the universe and plants. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in these areas.

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

Anatomy and Physiology for the Prehospital Provider Each new print copy of Anatomy & Physiology also includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a complete eBook, Study Center, homework and Assessment Center, and a dashboard that reports actionable data. World-Class Medical Content To properly assess and manage a patient, a prehospital provider must have a solid foundation in human anatomy and physiology. Anatomy & Physiology for the Prehospital Provider, Second Edition, uses a systemic approach to building this foundation. It begins by providing an overview of the basic systems of the human body and then explores each system in detail chapter by chapter, delivering a thorough discussion on the system's anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiology. With clear, accessible language and informative illustrations, the Anatomy & Physiology for the Prehospital Provider, Second Edition is an effective and engaging learning experience. Strong Application to Real-World EMS Progressive patient case studies evolve throughout every chapter, offering the learner genuine context for the application of the knowledge presented. This approach shows the learner how all of the information will be used to help patients in the field. The Second Edition content includes: New section on the basics of chemistry Expanded section on joints Expanded content on muscular physiology Updated illustrations Additional pathophysiology, including cellular injury
Atlas of Human Anatomy The only anatomy atlas illustrated by physicians, Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th edition, brings you world-renowned, exquisitely clear views of the human body with a clinical perspective. In addition to the famous work of Dr. Frank Netter, you'll also find nearly 100 paintings by Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Together, these two uniquely talented physician-artists highlight the most clinically relevant views of the human body. In addition, more than 50 carefully selected radiologic images help bridge illustrated anatomy to living anatomy as seen in everyday practice. Region-by-region coverage, including Muscle Table appendices at the end of each section. Large, clear illustrations with comprehensive labels not only of major structures, but also of those with important relationships. Tabular material in separate pages and additional supporting material as a part of the electronic companion so the printed page stays focused on the illustration. Updates to the 7th Edition - based on requests from students and practitioners alike: New Systems Overview section featuring brand-new, full-body views of surface anatomy, vessels, nerves, and lymphatics. More than 25 new illustrations by Dr. Machado, including the clinically important fascial columns of the neck, deep veins of the leg, hip bursae, and vasculature of the prostate; and difficult-to-visualize areas like the infratemporal fossa. New Clinical Tables at the end of each regional section that focus on structures with high clinical significance. These tables provide quick summaries, organized by body system, and indicate where to best view key structures in the illustrated plates. More than 50 new radiologic images - some completely new views and others using newer imaging tools - have been included based on their ability to assist readers in grasping key elements of gross anatomy. Updated terminology based on the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, with common clinical eponyms included. Student Consult access includes a pincode to unlock the complete enhanced eBook of the Atlas through Student Consult. Every plate in the Atlas-and over 100 Bonus Plates including illustrations from previous editions-are enhanced with an interactive label quiz option and supplemented with "Plate Pearls" that provide quick key points and supplemental tools for learning, reviewing, and assessing your knowledge of the major themes of each plate. Tools include 300 multiple choice questions, videos, 3D models, and links to related plates.
The Body AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST  LONGLISTED FOR THE PEN E.O. WILSON LITERARY SCIENCE WRITING AWARD "Glorious. . .You will marvel at the brilliance and vast weirdness of your design." --The Washington Post  Bill Bryson, bestselling author of A Short History of Nearly Everything, takes us on a head-to-toe tour of the marvel that is the human body. As addictive as it is comprehensive, this is Bryson at his very best, a must-read owner's manual for everybody. Bill Bryson once again proves himself to be an incomparable companion as he guides us through the human body--how it functions, its remarkable ability to heal itself, and (unfortunately) the ways it can fail. Full of extraordinary facts (your body made a million red blood cells since you started reading this) and irresistible Bryson-esque anecdotes, The Body will lead you to a deeper understanding of the miracle that is life in general and you in particular. As Bill Bryson writes, "We pass our existence within this wobble of flesh and yet take it almost entirely for granted." The Body will cure that indifference with generous doses of wondrous, compulsively readable facts and information.
The Complete Human Body The Complete Human Body, 2nd Edition is the definitive illustrated guide to the human body as we know it today, from its development and form to its functions and disorders. Mysteries remain, but we have come a long way since the sketches and diagrams of the first anatomists in Ancient Greece. Now updated and expanded to include more information than before, The Complete Human Body, 2nd Edition explores the body's forms and functions in greater depth than any other popular reference, from muscle structure and activity to motor pathways within the brain. Illustrated with unprecedented clarity by computer-generated artworks and the latest medical and microscopic imaging, this comprehensive reference shows anatomical structures and bodily processes in incredible detail. We inhabit it, we are it, and we are surrounded by 7.2 billion examples of it on the planet -- the human body. The Complete Human Body, 2nd Edition is your "access all areas" pass.
Gray's Anatomy In 1858, Drs. Henry Gray and Henry Vandyke Carter created a book for their surgical colleagues that established an enduring standard among anatomical texts. After more than 150 years of continuous publication, Gray's Anatomy remains the definitive, comprehensive reference on the subject, offering ready access to the information you need to ensure safe, effective practice. This 41st edition has been meticulously revised and updated throughout, reflecting the very latest understanding of clinical anatomy from field leaders around the world. The book's traditional lavish art programme and clear text have been further honed and enhanced, while major advances in imaging techniques and the new insights they bring are fully captured in new state-of-the-art X-ray, CT, MR, and ultrasonic images. The completely reconfigured accompanying eBook version is richly enhanced with additional content and media, covering all the body regions, cell biology and embryogenesis. This unlocks a whole new level of related information, interactivity and understanding, in keeping with the spirit of innovation that has characterized Gray's Anatomy since its inception. Presents the most detailed and dependable coverage of anatomy available anywhere. Regional organization collects all relevant material on each body area together in one place, making access to core information easier for clinical readers. Anatomical information is matched with key clinical information where relevant. Numerous clinical discussions emphasize considerations that may affect medical care. Each chapter has been edited by experts in their field, ensuring access to the very latest evidence-based information on that topic. More than 1,000 completely new photographs, including an extensive electronic collection of the latest X-ray, CT, MR, and histological images. The downloadable Expert Consult eBook version included with your purchase allows you to search all of the text, figures, references and videos from the book on a variety of devices. Carefully selected electronic enhancements include additional text, tables, illustrations, labelled imaging and videos - as well as 24 specially invited 'Commentaries' on new and emerging topics related to anatomy. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
Human Body Close-Up A unique view of the human body in stunning close-up. The Human Body Close-up provides a spectacular visual experience of the human body and how it works -- as seen through a microscope. In more than 300 extraordinary close-up photographs, the book reveals the intimate details of the body's key systems and parts. These are the closest views that technology will allow. Spectacular high-magnification images zoom in on the most amazing details of the human body. Spreads show a wider view, then a dazzling full-page high-magnification image of the subject, such as muscle tissue or a lung. Like a zooming X-ray, the subject is viewed from the outside to the inside and closer still until it no longer resembles the human body we know. The book covers: The body's building blocks The body's surface systems The skeleton Muscles The sensory organs The nervous system Respiration, blood and circulation The immune system Chemical messengers Fueling the body Reproduction Human development. With expert text and superb cutting-edge imagery, The Human Body Close-up is the definitive home reference for the entire family. It is also a beautiful companion for anyone in a medical or medicine-related field.
Occupational Therapy & Physical Therapy Introduces students and researchers to the fundamentals of the related-yet-distinct fields of occupational therapy and physical therapy, using easy-to-understand language for a solid background and deeper understanding and appreciation of these important subjects.
Photographic Atlas of the Body A dramatic pictorial tour. The desire to see and understand the inner workings of our bodies starts at an early age. The curiosity to glimpse what happens inside the body's systems, organs and even the brain is a continuing scientific quest. The magnificent illustrations in Photographic Atlas of the Body are created by imaging technologies and the latest scientific methods. Dramatic close-up photography of human anatomy is combined with clear, descriptive text to explain the human body's functions and inner workings. The images of Photographic Atlas of the Body are organized in five major sections: Imaging Techniques Cells Biological systems Tissues Brain and Senses. Each section opens with a clearly written introductory essay. Vivid, full-page images follow, each with a simple pictogram identifying the location and concise captions explaining the body part's function and significance. Sixteen types of imaging instruments and techniques are explained including: X-ray and radioactive (Barium meal) CAT scan MRI, SEM, TEM, NMR Optical and microscopy Acoustic and ultrasound. Each of these methods creates a unique portrait of the unseen world within each of us.
The Unofficial Guide to Radiology : 100 practice abdominal X-rays with full colour annotations and full X-ray reports The Unofficial Guide to Radiology: 100 Practice Abdominal X Rays is the sequel to The Unofficial Guide to Radiology, which has sold 1500 copies in just eight months. This book teaches systematic analysis of Abdominal X Rays. The layout is designed to make the book as relevant to clinical practice as possible; the X-rays are presented in the context of a real life scenario. The reader is asked to interpret the X-ray before turning over the page to reveal a model report accompanied by a fully colour annotated version of the X-ray. Uniquely, all cases provide realistic high quality X Ray images, are annotated in full colour, and are fully reported, following international radiology reporting guidelines. This means the X Rays are explained comprehensively, but with clear annotation so that a complete beginner can follow the thinking of the expert. This book has relevance beyond examinations, for post graduate further education and as a day-to-day reference for professionals.
Publication Date: 2020