LibGuides: Strength Training: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Critical Readings in Bodybuilding In recent years the 'body' has become one of the most popular areas of study in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Bodybuilding, in particular, continues to be of interest to scholars of gender, media, film, cultural studies and sociology. However, there is surprisingly little scholarship available on contemporary bodybuilding. Critical Readings in Bodybuilding is the first collection to address the contemporary practice of bodybuilding, especially the way in which the activity has become increasingly more extreme and to consider much neglected debates of gender, eroticism, and sexuality related to the activity. Featuring the leading scholars of bodybuilding and the body as well as emerging voices, this volume will be a key addition to the fields of Sociology, Sport Studies, and Cultural Studies.
Essential Strength Training Skills Step by Step Whether you've been weight training for years or are newly interested in getting toned, Essential Strength Training Skills offers advice ideal for both beginners and seasoned veterans, providing clear and accessible exercise tips that can help anyone get into peak physical condition.
Weight Training This edition has been expanded and now features: over 200 how-to illustrations, including three master workout charts; updated references; metric conversions; and additional intermediate and advanced exercises.
Weight Training Basics : A Complete Guide for Men and Women From a longtime physical education expert, proven techniques and helpful nutrition advice for building a bigger, better physique "Weight Training Basics "is the complete guide to strength building for men and women who want to take charge of their physical fitness. Based on the popular "Basic Weight Training for Men and Women"--widely used in physical education programs across the country--this comprehensive book gives beginning lifters step-by-step guidance to develop their own personalized program. It also features dozens of photographs demonstrating proper form so you know you are doing each exercise right. "Weight Training Basics "also includes: An overview of muscle anatomy Detailed weight-lifting techniques for injury-free training Specific exercises grouped by body region Tips on nutrition and losing body fat A training log for tracking progress
Weight Training for Dummies Tone up, burn calories, stay strong Weight Training For Dummies makes it easy to get started with weight training by offering trusted and straightforward guidance on the latest circuit and resistance training, and all-new information on the highly popular bodyweight and High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT). Whether you're working with dumbbells, free weight sets, or machines, you'll find out how to combine weight training with other exercise to properly strength train and get in the best shape of your life. Along with aerobic exercise and flexibility, body weight training is an integral part of a complete physical activity program. But with all the different equipment and techniques available, getting started can feel overwhelming. Want to get pumped about weight training? Consider these facts: strength training, whether via free weights or a machine, builds muscle. And the more muscle you have, the higher your metabolism and the less prone you are to injuries--in and out of the gym. Plus, strength training promotes bone strength, which can significantly reduce your odds of developing osteoporosis. If that's not enough, strength training--unlike cardio workouts like running--reaps benefits almost immediately. So what are you waiting for? Weight Training For Dummies has everything you need to get started. Provides examples and directions for powerful 20-minute weight training routines for the time challenged Features advice to help you choose a weight training system that you enjoy and that fits into your lifestyle Includes new coverage devoted to warm-ups and the hottest and most beneficial stretches Introduces using weight training to address specific health or orthopedic conditions Whether you're already in the gym several times a week or are just starting out with a fitness routine, Weight Training For Dummies shows you how to use free weights or weight machines to get results--fast.

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

Anatomy & Bodybuilding : A Complete Visual Guide Understanding how muscles in action function is key to performing exercises correctly and getting a great workout. In Barron's Anatomy & Bodybuilding, highly detailed anatomical illustrations demonstrate exactly what happens in the body during exercise. The muscles of the back, shoulder, abdomen, arms and legs are featured with special sections for glutes and abs. Health and fitness trainers, students of sports science, and those hoping to start or improve their own fitness regimen will find: An examination of muscle function through exercise Advice for performing exercises safely and efficiently An atlas of the body's muscles and a guide to the planes of motion With more than 150 full-color anatomical illustrations, a glossary of helpful terms, and more, Anatomy & Bodybuilding is an ideal manual for expanding one's understanding of muscle anatomy and improving the effectiveness of workouts.
Anatomy for Strength and Fitness Training Learn how your muscles work before you work your muscles Perfect for beginning and advanced fitness practitioners alike, this is an in-depth look into the most magnificent machine ever created--the human body. Using detailed anatomical illustrations, Anatomy for Strength and Fitness Training provides you visual insight into what happens to this organic machine during exercise--muscles and tendons working in concert to strengthen your body's building blocks. With a basic knowledge of how the body works, you can buff up your body with the book's 90 exercises, grouped by body region and involving gym machines, free weights, and body weight/stretching, as well as yoga and Pilates. Each exercise is vividly illustrated by a full-color anatomical illustration of the targeted muscles, together with instructions on execution and technique.
Principles of Sports Medicine and Kinesiology This volume introduces students and researchers to the science of human performance and health. It focuses on how a healthy human body works during exercise and how sports and physical activity promote health and performance, ranging from the cellular level to whole body perspectives. Coverage also includes exercise physiology, sports psychology, human anatomy and physiology, biomechanics, biokinetics, diet, the nature and pathology of sport injuries, and injury rehabilitation.
Teach Yourself Visually - Weight Training Weight training has become a popular way to get in shape and maintain good health. This book serves as an information-packed guide to getting started with a weight training routine and then customizing the routine to meet the readers' needs. It also covers all the basics of weight training, and includes advanced techniques and exercises.
Weight Training : Steps to Success Take the guesswork out of strength training and understand the details of proper technique, weight loads, and reps. The no-nonsense approach of Weight Training, Third Edition: Steps to Successhas guided more than 175,000 readers to their strength training goals, step by step--and it will do the same for you! You will develop through a thorough, progressive approach to strength training with either free weights or machines. Learn which exercises target what muscles and how to perform each one correctly and safely. Then determine the amount of weight and the number of repetitions and sets that you should lift in order to achieve your objectives. Finally, develop a workout and program that fit your interests and training preferences. Whether your goal is improving muscular endurance, building strength, increasing muscle mass, toning, or enhancing body composition, Weight Training, Third Edition: Steps to Successwill help you achieve it. With more than 30 exercises explained and illustrated, along with guidance on how to approach introductory workouts and create a tailored training program, it's no wonder this is the book thousands of strength training enthusiasts use to get the most out of their workouts. See all the titles available in the Steps to Success Series
A Woman's Guide to Muscle and Strength If you're looking for a guide to strength training that addresses your needs--not your boyfriend's or husband's--then look no further! A Woman's Guide to Muscle and Strength is created for women, by a woman. Designed to target the unique ways your body works and reacts to exercises, this resource will produce the lean and well-toned physique that you seek. Nationally recognized and sought-after personal trainer Irene Lewis-McCormick has packed over 100 of the top exercises for women into this single resource. As a featured writer for popular publications such as Shape and More magazines, Lewis-McCormick makes it easy for women of all ages and abilities to transform their bodies, and she does so by providing progressive training programs while putting common training myths to rest. From free weights and TRX suspension training to foam rollers and exercise balls, this book has the workouts to fit your plan. Whether you're looking for a complete body transformation or simply looking for an easy way to gain strength and definition, A Woman's Guide to Muscle and Strength is your guide to the strong, sexy, and toned body you want.