Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
The American Beauty Industry Encyclopedia
The American Beauty Industry Encyclopedia is the first compilation to focus exclusively on this pervasive business, covering both its diverse origins and global reach. Entries were chosen specifically to illuminate the most iconic aspects of the industry’s past and present, exploring the meaning of beauty practices and products, often while making analytical use of categories such as gender, race, sexuality, and stages of the lifecycle.
The City & Guilds Textbook Level 2 Hairdressing and Barbering for the Technical Certificates
this book will provide your learners with everything they need to know to succeed in their hairdressing studies. Complementing quality teaching, this textbook covers all the knowledge required for each unit of study. - Carefully matched to the requirements of the new qualifications, this comprehensive textbook will provide you and your learners all the guidance you need through this period of transition, in clear and accessible language. - Contains over a thousand photographs to ensure learners can visualise all the necessary practical skills. - Provides invaluable guidance on the more rigorous assessment regime including written exams and synoptic end tests.
Cosmetology Career Starter
Explore new careers or discover new opportunities in the career of your choice. You'll get the competitive advantage over other job applicants, too! This exciting series will help you become knowledgeable about careers and opportunities in each field and prepare you to excel during the challenging job application and interview process. Only the Career Starters give you these exclusive features: -- Everything you need to know about certification, licensing, education, and other requirements needed to launch careers in each field -- Directories detailing each field's training programs and financial aid resources, complete with addresses and phone numbers -- "Inside Track" interviews with successful professionals in each field -- Up-to-date starting salaries and details on benefits
Cosmetology Licensing Exam
Passing the Cosmetology Exam is not easy. You need to be prepared in a variety of subject matters, including, chemistry, biology, hair, skin, nails, and more. Minimize stress by practicing for the test with the Cosmetology Licensing Exam, The Complete Preparation Guide. Pass the test and earn your license with this book.
Hair and Hair Care
Reviews the chemical and physical properties, care and treatment of hair, including product development. The book discusses ethnic hair, its appropriate management measures and products; emphasizes manufacturing and sales strategies for domestic and international product viability; surveys instrumental methods for product performance evaluation; presents sensory and market research techniques for optimum consumer satisfaction; and more.
Nails : Appearance and Therapy
A handy reference for diagnosis and management of nail disorders. This second edition contains new material on podiatry and its input for management of nail disorders.
Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.
Andre Talks Hair!
The hairstylist for The Oprah Winfrey Show shares his secrets on how a woman can get the best cut, color, curl, texture, and style to enhance her own natural beauty.
Beauty and Cosmetics, 1550-1950
Exhibiting enormous power or inspiring incredible devotion, throughout history beauty has been women's chief asset. Each age has required its own standard - a gleaming white brow during the Renaissance, the black eyebrows considered charming in the early 18th century, or the thin lips thought desirable to the Victorians. For those naturally blessed, their beauty could ensure a good marriage, offer social mobility, fame or notoriety whereas those without such obvious gifts would resort to anyends to achieve an illusion of beauty. Ours is not the only age when beauty is celebrated but also judged and quantified. From the color of the ear to the transparency of the teeth the benchmark for every aspect of beauty has been set and women - and some men - have applied themselves wholeheartedly risking their lives using poisonous chemicals, their fortunes at the risk of blackmail, or the wrath of God, to reach the desired targets. From Queen Elizabeth I who used dangerous quantities of white lead to give her complexion the illusion of a youthful lustre, to Marilyn Monroe who blended 4 shades of lipstick to emphasise her perfect pout this book will examine some of the more unusual cosmetic practices contemplated in beauty's name.
Can You Get Hooked on Lip Balm? : Top Cosmetic Scientists Answer Your Questions About the Lotions, Potions, and Other Beauty Products You Use Every Day
Why does my shampoo stop working? Are my cosmetics poisoning me? What does hypoallergenic mean? Are organic products better? Every day thousands of people turn to the scientists at the popular blog TheBeautyBrains.com for answers to their most pressing beauty questions. In Can You Get Hooked on Lip Balm?* you'll learn how cosmetic products work, what advertising claims actually mean, and how to make smarter buying decisions. You'll discover that: * Salon products are not necessarily better than products you can buy in the store. * Some of the most expensive cosmetics are made by the same companies that make the less expensive brands, and often the same formulas are used in both. * You do not need to spend hundreds of dollars to look and feel good. You'll also find: * 4 ways to tell if your cosmetic has expired * 5 home beauty gadgets that really work * 4 easy tips to longer, stronger nails * and much, much more! *You can! See chapter 6.
The Complete Book of Hairstyling
The Complete Book of Hairstyling makes fabulous hair accessible to every woman every day of the year. Filled with creative styles, easy-to-follow instructions, valuable tips and salon secrets, the book is an indispensable guide to beautiful, healthy hair in the latest styles. Dozens of useful tips and style variations are complemented by the fun and fictional stories of four young women as they pursue their careers, manage their love lives and solve their own "bad hair day" crises. Hundreds of specially commissioned photographs and how-to illustrations show more than 100 fabulous and easily achievable hairstyles to suit every occasion, from work and vacation to a big date or wedding. The book also features: Color and cut advice for all face shapes, hair types and skin tones Styling basics Tips on the right kinds of hair products How to keep hair in peak condition The dos and don'ts of up-dos Easy ways to jazz up and personalize hairstyles Tips on maintaining hair while on vacation Everyday hair problems and their solutions Emergency quick fixes.
Fashions in Hair: The First Five Thousand Years
The definitive text on hair fashions through the ages is back. This revised edition has 16 new pages by fashion historian Caroline Cox to bring hair fashions up to the present day. The first to attempt a comprehensive historical survey of men's and women's hair styles through the ages, from Ancient Egypt through Greece, Egypt, Rome, and Anglo-Saxon times to recent trends in fashion, this book is now an essential work of reference. Drawing on many years of research by the author, this is an essential handbook for theatrical designers, hair artists, illustrators, and beauty consultants as well as all those interested in the changing fashions in hair. Guaranteed to entertain and educate the general reader as well as historians of fashion, this is the perfect companion piece to both Fashions in Make-Up and Fashions In Eyeglasses.
Getting it Right : Milady's Survival Guide for Cosmetology Students
Getting it Right: Milady's Survival Guide for Cosmetology Students is a fun-to-read collection of practical, proven tips and hints to make the life of a cosmetology student easier and more productive. Hundreds of short tips are organized by category, making the information easy to find and fun to look through. Tips range from the physical to the abstract and are grouped by categories, such as On the Clinic Floor, Studying for the Exam, and Getting Organized. Compiled from the actual experiences of students, teachers, and professionals throughout the US, the tips are easy to digest and remember. They offer some not-so-obvious ways to make cosmetology school more manageable and preparing for licensure less threatening. The compact size of the book makes it easy to tuck into a handbag or jacket pocket for browsing whenever time permits.
Hair Story: Untangling The Roots of Black Hair in America
Two world wars, the Civil Rights movement, and a Jheri curl later, Blacks in America continue to have a complex and convoluted relationship with their hair. From the antebellum practice of shaving the head in an attempt to pass as a "free" person to the 1998 uproar over a White third-grade teacher's reading of the bookNappy Hair, the issues surrounding African American hair continue to linger as we enter the twenty-first century. Hair Story is a historical and anecdotal exploration of Black Americans' tangled hair roots. A chronological look at the culture and politics behind the ever-changing state of Black hair from fifteenth-century Africa to the present-day United States, it ties the personal to the political and the popular. Read about: * Why Black American slaves used items like axle grease and eel skin to straighten their hair. * How a Mexican chemist straightened Black hair using his formula for turning sheep's wool into a minklike fur. * How the Afro evolved from militant style to mainstream fashion trend. * What prompted the creation of the Jheri curl and the popular style's fall from grace. * The story behind Bo Derek's controversial cornrows and the range of reactions they garnered. Major figures in the history of Black hair are presented, from early hair-care entrepreneurs Annie Turnbo Malone and Madam C. J. Walker to unintended hair heroes like Angela Davis and Bob Marley. Celebrities, stylists, and cultural critics weigh in on the burgeoning sociopolitical issues surrounding Black hair, from the historically loaded terms "good" and "bad" hair, to Black hair in the workplace, to mainstream society's misrepresentation and misunderstanding of kinky locks. Hair Story is the book that Black Americans can use as a benchmark for tracing a unique aspect of their history, and it's a book that people of all races will celebrate as the reference guide for understanding Black hair.
Milady's Standard: Fundamentals for Estheticians
Now in its' ninth edition, Milady's Standard Textbook for Professional Estheticians has been thoroughly revised to include the most up-to-date information available today. This updated text contains all the essential information needed to ensure greater success for students taking the state board examinations. For the first time, this text is presented in full-color, incorporating a brand new, user-friendly four-color design that will help students learn the common links between the concepts and principles of skin care. Over 500 new full-color photographs and illustrations support the text content and include new step-by-step photographs for many of the procedures presented. All new photos have been incorporated in the chapter on skin disorders and diseases, special esthetic procedures, client consultation and skin analysis, and color theory and cosmetic techniques. A running glossary in each chapter helps the student become familiar with the language of skin care, and procedural notes and safety tips help to reinforce concepts. Expanded discussion on safety and sanitation topics reflects changes made in OSHA rulings and decontamination and infection control. Added discussion on advanced topics including AHAs, BHAs, glycolic, and microdermabrasion techniques give students exposure to those skills that will make them more marketable. Milady's Standard Fundamentals for Estheticians is the essential textbook for basic esthetics training.
Milady's Standard Cosmetology Exam Review
The Exam Review contains 1,300 chapter-by-chapter questions in a multiple-choice format to help students prepare for the state board exam. Two 100-question sample tests and answer keys are available as on-line companions.
A Survival Guide for Cosmetologists
At last, the most important guide a cosmetologist could own! Produced in cooperation with the National Cosmetology Association, this guide is chock full of simple tips, reflections and quotes: for those just starting out or seasoned professionals. For cosmetology students and recent graduates, advice has been gathered from experienced leaders in the field to ensure they stay in the industry and succeed. For professionals suffering from burn-out or who simply want to rediscover the joy that lead them to their work in the first place, this guide will help keep them on track and passionate about their work.
