LibGuides: Airway Management : eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

The Difficult Airway : A Practical Guide Although a cornerstone of the practice of Anesthesiology, airway management is also frequently performed by emergency physicians, intensivists, and other clinicians. Because airway devices and techniques are constantly changing, trainees in these professions must achieve proficiency with a variety of instruments and methods, and even experienced practitioners should continually update their airway skills.The Difficult Airway: A Practical Guide provides practical guidance on improving the success rates of airway managers of all specialties who use modern airway devices and techniques. The book addresses various clinical scenarios in a user-friendly format that mimics the approach clinicians encounter at educational workshops. Sections address airway devices and techniques, awake intubation, algorithms of difficult airway management, pharmacologic adjuncts useful in airway management, equipment, preoxygenation, and patient positioning strategies to ensure effective airway management. The clinically applicable information in The Difficult Airway: A Practical Guide is augmented by a DVD containing video demonstrations of airway management techniques.
Difficult Airway Management Management of a patient with a difficult airway has undergone significant changes in recent years, with the introduction of both new guidelines and equipment. Chapters cover basic topics such as recognition of a difficult airway and general principles of management and then move onto more complicated topics such as the 'anticipated' and 'unanticipated' difficult airway scenarios. New equipment is outlined and reviewed, and a chapter focuses on extubation and itsimportance. The book also includes a chapter on management in common clinical settings and a separate chapter covers paediatric airway management.This book summarises the most up-to-date literature in a style that has direct clinical application to busy healthcare professionals. Designed to give readers a greater insight into the management of difficult airway as a clinical entity, this pocketbook is the ideal easy reference guide.
Manual of Emergency Airway Management Manual of Emergency Airway Management, now in its 4th edition, is a practical guide to emergency airway management in any adult or pediatric patient and offers step-by-step instructions on techniques, drug administration, and prevention and management of complications.The book may be used in conjunction with the Difficult Airway CourseTM, or on its own. The text has been reorganized to reflect the decision-making process of emergency care providers treating the patient in distress. Features include: Completely reorganized chapters into cohesive sections Expanded discussion of videolaryngoscopes, including newer, low-cost alternatives More illustrations, with expanded "how to" descriptions Revised and updated airway algorithms
Master Techniques in Upper and Lower Airway Management Overcome the toughest airway challenges with Master Techniques in Upper and Lower Airway Management! Under the preeminent editorial guidance of William Rosenblatt, MD and Wanda Popescu, MD , a multitude of expert anesthesiologists guide you through all the ins and outs of managing difficult airways. This anesthesiology reference's case-based approach demonstrates the clinical applications of important principles, and a large collection ofonline videos shows you how to perform key techniques successfully. " Two master clinician educators, Drs. William Rosenblatt and Wanda Popescu, calling on their expertise in airway management and thoracic anesthesia, respectively, have developed a unique book which explores the pathway of the airway from lips (nares) to the terminal bronchi to develop a highly focused volume with accompanying e-media to highlight clinical management. Although the organization of the book may seem obvious or intuitive, this is the first time a textbook has been developed in this manner. For the reader, these individuals have assembled the 'go to faculty' for both pre-operative consultation, as well as, intra-operative airway related events in their specialties." - from the Foreword by Paul G. Barash MD Key Features: Be prepared to tackle a complete range of upper airway problems with comprehensive coverage of everything from evaluation and basic management of the difficult upper airway patient, through pre-existing conditions * otolaryngology and maxillofacial procedures * nasal intubation, tracheostomy, and foreign bodies * pediatric patients * the at-risk cervical spine * extubation, and more, as well as lower airway issues including interventional pulmonology * lung isolation devices and techniques * airway surgery * surgeries requiring lung isolation * congenital abnormalities of the lower airway * lung transplantation * lower airway emergencies * and more. Apply principles in practice by reviewing case histories that show concrete applications in the context of managing real patients. Then challenge your decision making with case-based questions and answers that delve into the details that lead to optimal outcomes. Master vital nuances of technique by watching a large collection of online videos derived from more than 700 actual patients. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition , offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages , references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
The Respiratory System
An Update on Airway Management In recent years, there have been many advances in the safe management of the patient's airway, a cornerstone of anesthetic practice. An Update on Airway Management brings forth information about new approaches in airway management in many clinical settings. This volume analyzes and explains new preoperative diagnostic methods, algorithms, intubation devices, extubation procedures, novelties in postoperative management in resuscitation and intensive care units, while providing a simple, accessible and applicable reading experience that helps medical practitioners in daily practice. The comprehensive updates presented in this volume make this a useful reference for anesthesiologists, surgeons and EMTs at all levels. Key topics reviewed in this reference include:· New airway devices, clinical management techniques, pharmacology updates (ASA guidelines, DAS algorithms, Vortex approach, etc.), · Induced and awake approaches in different settings· Updates on diagnostic accuracy of perioperative radiology and ultrasonography· Airway management in different settings (nonoperating room locations and emergency rooms)· Airway management in specific patient groups (for example, patients suffering from morbid obesity, obstetric patients and critical patients)· Algorithms and traditional surgical techniques that include emergency cricothyrotomy and tracheostomy in 'Cannot Intubate, Cannot Ventilate' scenarios.· Learning techniques to manage airways correctly, focusing on the combination of knowledge, technical abilities, decision making, communication skills and leadership· Special topics such as, difficult airway management registry, organization, documentation, dissemination of critical information, big data and databases