It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Civilization's Quotations: Life's IdealThese 8,000 clever and insightful sayings, organized by theme, will enrich the prose of writers, public speakers, and anyone seeking to lead or persuade. It also provides a wealth of inspirational affirmations to guide readers in their lives. (Education/Teaching)
People on People: The Oxford Dictionary of Biographical QuotationsThis is the ultimate collection of quotations from famous people about famous people. From Martin Amis on Jimmy Connors and Jane Austen on Henry VIII, to Liz Hurley on Marilyn Monroe, there are over 4,000 quotations about both historical and contemporary figures from all over the world. Thespeakers are often as well known as the people they are talking about, and come from a broad range of disciplines rnd professions, including actors, architects, dancers, historians, mathematicians, literary figures, politicians, academics, sports personalities, and scientists.All the quotations about each individual are brought together in an entry headed by a brief description, making it possible to compare what different people have said about one particular person. A detailed author index gives a context line from each quotation, biographical information on authors,and an overview of their comments, often revealing their personalities. Entertaining and perfect for browsing, it is also a valuable biographical resource.Who could fathom Plato's mind? Unless one is a genius philosophy is a mug's gameIris Murdoch on PlatoHe was a good man, but did not know how to paintEl Greco on MichelangeloMadame Curie is very intelligent but as cold as a herringAlbert Einstein on Marie CurieWe elected a President, not a PopeBarbara Streisand on Bill ClintonHis technique is astounding, yet everything is accomplished with the air of someone sauntering through the park on a spring morningMargot Fonteyn on Fred AstaireKeep your eyes on him; some day he will give the world something to talk aboutMozart on Beethoven
The Quotable Musician: From Bach to TupacFrom Bach to Tupac, musicians through the ages speak out in this collection of quotations. Both the famous and the obscure from every genre of music including classical, rock, Latin, country, blues and hip-hop are celebrated in more than one thousand quotations. Quotes offer individual takes on the music world itself, covering: other musicians; singing and the song; performing and rehearsing; success, fame and fortune; failure and rejection; music critics; and the music business. Readers should also see both the more playful and the more serious sides of the music masters in sections on love, passion, relationships and sex; ageing and death; nature and healing; humour and witticisms; religion and spirituality; and more. Special sections pay particular attention to the words of Ron Carter, T.S. Monk, the Beatles and Benny Golson.
The Oxford Dictionary of American QuotationsWith nearly 6,000 quotations arranged historically and annotated extensively, you'll know not just who said what, but get the full story behind the quote. Follow any of the more than five hundred topics (from Abolition to Zeal) and you will get a nutshell history of what great (andnot-so-great) Americans had to say about each one. Quotations are arranged chronologically in each topic, allowing the reader to trace patterns of thought over time.Fully indexed by author (including brief biographical sketches) and keyword, this is an essential reference for anyone interested in the great people and ideas of American history.
The Oxford Dictionary of Humorous QuotationsDazzlingly entertaining, this new edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations contains over 5,000 quotations hand-picked by the writer, broadcaster, and satirist Ned Sherrin. Containing a wide coverage of themes, including brand new ones such as Autobiography, Awards and Prizes,Parties, Presidents, Smoking, and Tennis, there is something for everyone on every subject imaginable.From sharp one-liners to witty quips, there are quotations from classic humorists such as Mae West, Oscar Wilde, and Groucho Marx, to today's well known comedians and wits including Dick Vosburgh, Maureen Lipman, Tracey Ullman, Ben Elton, and Ian Hislop. There are of course quotations from famousluminaries from walks of life other than comedy, from Samuel Johnson to Tennessee Williams, and Albert Einstein to the Duke of Wellington.With details of where each quotation comes from, who said it, where and when, an author index allowing you at a glance to establish who said what, and a detailed keyword index, this is not just an ideal reference tool but also an invaluable and classic collection.I have a rare intolerance to herbs which means I can only drink fermented liquids, such as ginJulie WaltersFrance is a country where the money falls apart in your hands and you can't tear the toilet paperBilly WilderPeople don't come in my size until they're old. I used to think people were born with big bones and large frames, but apparently these grow when you're about sixty-eightMaeve BinchyThey say the definition of ambivalence is watching your mother-in-law drive over a cliff in your new CadillacDavid MametIt's amazing what you can do with an E in A-level art, twisted imagination and a chainsawDamien HirstI'm President of the United States, and I'm not going to eat any more broccoli!George Bush
The Yale Book of QuotationsThis reader-friendly volume contains more than 12,000 famous quotations, arranged alphabetically by author. It is unique in its focus on American quotations and its inclusion of items not only from literary and historical sources but also from popular culture, sports, computers, science, politics, law, and the social sciences. Anonymously authored items appear in sections devoted to folk songs, advertising slogans, television catchphrases, proverbs, and others. For each quotation, a source and first date of use is cited. In many cases, new research for this book has uncovered an earlier date or a different author than had previously been understood. (It was Beatrice Kaufman, not Sophie Tucker, who exclaimed, "I've been poor and I've been rich. Rich is better!" William Tecumseh Sherman wasn't the originator of "War is hell!" It was Napoleon.) Numerous entries are enhanced with annotations to clarify meaning or context for the reader. These interesting annotations, along with extensive cross-references that identify related quotations and a large keyword index, will satisfy both the reader who seeks specific information and the curious browser who appreciates an amble through entertaining pages.
BrainyQuoteGet quotes by topic, type, in the news and more.