Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must be on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Brilliant Essays
Ursula Hackett's tried-and-tested approach for essay success helps students to create brilliant, original, high-scoring essays that are enjoyable to write - and read. With dozens of hands-on exercises and clear examples, Brilliant Essays begins with students' everyday experience of using language, arguing a case, reading, thinking, and communicating with other people. Chapters help students to examine - and dispel - assumptions, build and control their arguments and use evidence effectively, in written assignments and timed exams. The final chapter provides clear, no-nonsense answers to frequently asked questions raised by Ursula's students at Royal Holloway, University of London and the University of Oxford and via her YouTube channel and website. Whichever subject your students study, Brilliant Essays will take them beyond the basics and give them the tools to reach their academic potential. Accompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/brilliant-essays. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.
How to Use Your Reading in Your Essays
Reading is part and parcel of academic writing, and knowing which sources to include in assignments and how to go about this process can be challenging. That's where this handy guide comes in. With over 20 years' experience in the field, Jeanne Godfrey is no stranger to essay writing. Taking students step-by-step through the process, from choosing their sources to checking their work, she helps students to develop the skills and confidence they need to use their reading effectively in their essays and get the best marks possible for their work. Concise and practical, it breaks down the 'why' and 'how' of using reading in academic writing and contains valuable guidance on paraphrasing, comparing the views of different authors and commenting on sources. This book is ideal for students of all disciplines, and can be used by college students, undergraduates and postgraduates. New to this Edition: - Part A contains new sections on how to target your reading, remain focused and know when to stop reading - New section on how to use reading in reports, supported by short report extracts - New two-colour text design to enliven the reading experience and make the text more accessible Accompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/how-to-use-your-reading-in-your-essays-3e. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.
How to Write Better Essays
For every student who needs to write essays, from whatever discipline, this book is an essential resource, offering the help and inspiration they need to tackle their essays with confidence. This book takes the reader carefully through each landmark stage of the essay writing process from the interpretation of the question, to the research, planning and revision. They are shown not just how to improve their study skills such as note-taking, reading, organisation and writing, but their thinking skills too. Full of techniques and worked examples, this bestselling guide teaches students how to analyse difficult concepts, criticise and evaluate arguments, use evidence and develop more ideas of their own. It provides clear and practical advice throughout and gives students the confidence they need to tackle written assignments. New for this edition The fifth edition includes a new chapter on staying focused and managing distractions. It also features new techniques for reading sources that will help you form your own judgements and craft strong and original arguments.
Schaum's Quick Guide to Writing Great Essays
The Fastest, Easiest Way to Learn: Schaum's Quick Guides These concise, quick reference guides are perfect for business people, writers, and students at all levels. Written by top experts, they offer readers the easiest, most efficient strategies to master or learn a new skill. All Schaum's Quick Guides include do's and don'ts for avoiding common errors, handy checklists, and practice exercises for building skills quickly.
A Student's Writing Guide: How to Plan and Write Successful Essays
Are you struggling to meet your coursework deadlines? Finding it hard to get to grips with your essay topics? Does your writing sometimes lack structure and style? Would you like to improve your grades? This text covers everything a student needs to know about writing essays and papers in the humanities and social sciences. Starting from the common difficulties students face, it gives practical examples of all the stages necessary to produce a good piece of academic work: * interpreting assignment topics * drawing on your own experience and background * reading analytically and taking efficient notes * developing your argument through introductions, middles and conclusions * evaluating and using online resources * understanding the conventions of academic culture * honing your ideas into clear, vigorous English. This book will provide you with all the tools and insights you need to write confident, convincing essays and coursework papers.
The Wiley Guide to Writing Essays About Literature
This outstanding practical guide to writing analytical essays on literature develops interpretive skills through focused exercises and modeled examples. The program is tailored to meet the specific needs of beginning undergraduates. Features unique, detailed guidance on paragraph structure Includes sample essays throughout to model each stage of the essay-writing process Focused exercises develop the techniques outlined in each chapter Dedicated checklists enable quick, accurate assessment by teachers and students Enhanced glossary with advice on usage added to core definitions.
Write Great Essays!
This book remains the book of choice for students with essays to write! How to read selectively How to take notes effectively How to understand the 'academic speak' in essay questions How to structure your work How to use and cite your sources accurately Peter Levin has comprehensively updated the book to incorporate student feedback and has included significantly more information on the kinds of material that are available online, and on coping with the attentions of the plagiarism police. The book clarifies all the key issues that students cite as blocks to the development of their writing skills and will help improve the grades of any student who takes the time to adopt the techniques offered. No student with essays to write should be without a copy!
Writing Essays : A Guide for Students in English and the Humanities
Essays are the major form of assessment in higher education today, a fact which causes poor writers a great deal of anxiety. However essay writing is simply a skill to be learned. anyone can learn to express themselves coherently and effectively, and this book explains precisely how. If you are dissatisfied with your essay grades but don't know where to start, read on. Writing Essays reveals the tricks of the trade, making your student life easier. You will; * become proficient in every aspect of composition from introductions and conclusions, down to presentation and printing out * learn how to impress tutors with minimum effort * discover exactly what markers look for when they read your work. In addition, this book explains stress free methods of revision; effective library management; word processing and the internet. undergraduates on English, humanities and modular courses. Constructed around typical essay-writing mistakes as encountered by the author, this presents a refreshing alternative to the usual stuffy guides, written in the right language and focusing on what is relevant for students today. It includes advice on how to reference research done in the Internet.
Writing Essays for Dummies
This straight-talking guide will help you develop your essay-writing skills and achieve higher marks Do ever wish that you could write the perfect university essay? Are you left baffled about where to start? This easy-to-use guide walks you through the nuts and bolts of academic writing, helping you develop your essay-writing skills and achieve higher marks. From identifying the essay type and planning a structure, to honing your research skills, managing your time, finding an essay voice, and referencing correctly, Writing Essays For Dummies shows you how to stay on top of each stage of the essay-writing process, to help you produce a well-crafted and confident final document. Writing Essays For Dummies covers: Part I: Navigating a World of Information Chapter 1: Mapping Your Way: Starting to Write Essays Chapter 2: Identifying the essay type Part II: Researching, Recording and Reformulating Chapter 3: Eyes Down: Academic reading Chapter 4: Researching Online Chapter 5: Note-taking and Organising your Material Chapter 6: Avoiding Plagiarism Part III: Putting Pen to Paper Chapter 7: Writing as a process Chapter 8: Getting Going and Keeping Going Part IV: Mastering Language and Style Chapter 9: Writing with Confidence Chapter 10: Penning the Perfect Paragraph Chapter 11: Finding Your Voice Part V: Tightening Your Structure and Organisation Chapter 12: Preparing the Aperitif: The Introduction Chapter 13: Serving the Main Course: The Essay's Body Chapter 14: Dishing up Dessert: The Conclusion Chapter 15: Acknowledging Sources of Information Part VI: Finishing with a Flourish: The Final Touches Chapter 16: It's all in the detail Chapter 17: Perfecting Your Presentation Chapter 18: The afterglow Part VII: Part of Tens Chapter 19: Ten Tips to Avoid Things Going Wrong Chapter 20: Ten Ways to Make Your Essay Stand Out
Writing for Science Students
Catering to the specific needs of science students, this award-winning guide equips students of all scientific disciplines with the skills they need to communicate effectively in written assignments. The book guides students through each of the key stages involved in producing a piece of scientific writing. It begins by developing students' understanding of the different types of scientific writing, including lab reports, essays and abstracts. Students are then taken through the writing process, from the initial stages of interpreting the question and conducting research through to writing a draft and responding to feedback. The second edition includes new material on criticality in scientific communication and the difference between descriptive and analytic writing. There is also a new section on building arguments using several sources, and new and extended examples of writing that will help students digest the material. This is an essential resource for all science students who are required to produce lab reports, extended essays, dissertations and other written assignments as part of their course. It is also ideal for international students who are new to academic study in the UK.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
Essays in Context
This exceptional anthology of British and American prose provides a chronological survey of over ninety of the most important and popular essays written in the twentieth century. Essays in Context acquaints students with the development and evaluation of the essay form while also introducing them to the key historical, cultural, social, and intellectual issues of the last century. The text is organized into eighteen themes to highlight the various patterns of thought and feeling that developed throughout the century. Comprehensive biographic headnotes for the authors and a timeline of historic events help students to place the authors and their works in context. Extensive discussion questions--organized under two headings, "Understanding and Analysis" and "Comparison"--follow each selection, motivating students to evaluate the work and relate it to other selections in the text. The volume also includes footnotes and an opening chapter on how to read essays. The selections have been thoroughly annotated to explain terms, people, events, and literary allusions. An ideal text for courses in composition and expository writing, Essays in Context provides students with a framework for understanding and interrogating an extensive range of authors, from Mark Twain and T.S. Eliot to bell hooks and Leslie Marmon Silko.
Essay Writing Skills : Essential Techniques to Gain Top Marks
Writing essays is a major part of many further education courses. In coursework assignments, dissertations and exams, a well-written essay can make the difference between a pass and a fail, and these essays provide you with the stepping stones that take you towards the degree, qualification and career that you desire. Nothing will expose your uncertainty or lack of knowledge more than a poorly written essay; what Essay Writing Skills does is let you know what is expected of you and how best to go about your research, thus allowing you to get on top of your workload quickly. Essay Writing Skills offers practical and proven ways to maximise your success in all aspects of essay writing. From planning your first essay to assessing primary and secondary sources, it will help you to write in a systematic way that presents a convincing and academically sound argument. A comprehensive guide, it provides guidance and advice on good research techniques, grammar and accuracy, creating an essay plan and correctly citing your sources. It also includes a range of real life example essays and insider knowledge on how your essays are assessed, Essay Writing Skills is an indispensible source of advice, making the writing process clear and manageable to help you improve the quality of your written work.
Great Essays : An Introduction to Writing Essays
Great Essays shows students how to write effective essays and provides practice in a variety of rhetorical patterns. Students will learn to concentrate on grammar while practicing the cohesive elements of writing.
How to Write Better Essays
Have you ever wondered why some people can produce a well-structured, relevant essay written in a style that seems to glide across the page with the minimum of fuss? Do you think some people simply have these skills, and others don't, and that there is nothing we can do about it? This book just might change your mind. Addressing each landmark stage of the essay writing process, How to Write Better Essays teaches you how to... * analyse the question and break down difficult terms and concepts * brainstorm effectively and generate your own ideas * evaluate and criticise arguments * express your thoughts coherently and develop your own style of writing * plan and structure your essay from introduction to conclusion ... and along the way, practical techniques show how to analyse, criticise, discuss and evaluate material, improve your style, revise your final draft and avoid plagiarism. The third edition of this bestselling book includes new chapters on critical thinking, tackling reflective writing assignments, and how to create and analyse concepts. It also features a new companion website providing annotated essays to illustrate the successful outcome of the methods you learn in the book, exercises to develop critical thinking skills, and additional examples of how to analyse concepts. For every student who needs to write essays, from whatever discipline, this book is a constant source of the help and inspiration you need to tackle your essays with confidence.
How to Write Essays and Assignments
This book covers everything a student will need to research, plan and write academic essays and assignments effectively and successfully.
How to Write Themes and Essays
DESCRIPTION: All the essential techniques for writing effective themes and essays, plus 36 sample themes with full analysis. BENEFITS:
Writing History Essays
To write history successfully, it is essential to understand the nuts and bolts of technique as well as the underlying principles which govern the whole process. Writing History Essays takes you step by step through the process of writing an assignment, breaking it down into a series of manageable tasks, including: - Selecting sources - Reading critically - Taking notes - Planning and drafting your essay - Referencing correctly and avoiding plagiarism. This book also takes you beyond the essay, with practical advice on writing book reviews, reports and dissertations, as well as guidance on sitting examinations. This new edition includes reflective questions at the end of each chapter and discussion of visual and web-based sources, making it an indispensable guide for history students.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
