Primary sources are records created at the time of an event or experience, or as told by people who were present at the event, historical works of literature or others works such as historical artifacts, letters, diaries, newspaper articles, government documents. Get Tips for Finding Primary Sources.
COM Library has some great collections of primary sources. Primary sources are records created at the time of an event or experience, or as told by people who were present at the event. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding primary sources? Try Tips for Finding Primary Sources or Tips for Finding Primary Sources Open Access.
Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Defining Documents in World History - The 20th Century (1900-1950)
By 1950, the technological advances of the 20th century were in full swing and several important social and political reforms were making their mark. This set offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents, including legal codes, letters, speeches, constitutions, reports, and books, from "Essential Truths" by Rufus Jones to the Nato Treaty.
Defining Documents in World History: Nationalism and Populism
These volumes investigate important historical documents from influential nationalist and populist movements from countries and territories around the globe. Readers will find in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents, historic events and speeches from leaders that shaped these ideas and movements, combined with documents that define Nationalism and Populism in today's society and how they affect politics, ethnic relations, democracy and international tensions.
Defining Documents in World History: The 19th Century (1801–1900)
The 19th century was an era of rapidly accelerating scientific discovery and invention that laid the groundwork for the technological advances of the 20th century as well as important social and political reforms. This 2-volume set offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents, including legal codes, letters, speeches, constitutions, reports, and books that impacted the world throughout the nineteenth century, from the Napoleonic Code to Darwin's Descent of Man.
The Schlager Anthology of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era by
The Schlager Anthology of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era offers a modern, original sourcebook covering a pivotal era in U.S. history. From the creators and publishers of Milestone Documents in American History, this new title is built on the principles of inclusivity and accessibility. While presenting the essential primary sources from the Gilded Age and Progressive Era, from the Reconstruction amendments to the Sherman Anti-Trust Act to Plessy v. Ferguson, this anthology also emphasizes often-marginalized voices, from women to immigrants to Native Americans, Asian Americans, and African Americans. In addition, document texts are abridged to remain brief and accessible, even to struggling readers (including ESL students), while activity questions range in difficulty from basic to more advanced. Edited by Jennifer Koshatka Seman (Borderlands Curanderos: The Worlds of Santa Teresa Urrea and Don Pedrito Jaramillo, Univ. of Texas Press) and featuring the contributions of numerous scholars, The Schlager Anthology of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era covers 80 milestone sources from this period of American history. An Inclusive Approach The Schlager Anthology of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era includes all of the classic documents from this era while also emphasizing a wide spectrum of voices and perspectives, including visual sources. Chapter 1 ("Reconstruction, Post-Reconstruction, and the Jim Crow South") focuses on the triumph and ultimate tragedy of Reconstruction and the white southern reaction to it. The volume opens with Jourdan Anderson''s letter to his former slave owner, before covering the Sharecropper Contract and Mississippi Black Codes in 1865. The three Reconstruction Amendments are included, as are indelible images such as Thomas Nast''s "Worse Than Slavery" and the Lynching of C.J. Miller. The unit then covers two iconic figures from African American history: Booker T. Washington and W.E.B. Du Bois. In Chapter 2 ("Industrialization, Immigration, and Labor in the City," students and researchers will find coverage of the increasing urbanization of America and its many ills; the reactions to that development via Progressive legislation; the battle over alcohol use and abuse; immigration battles; and the growing importance of organized labor. Here the anthology covers well-known acts such as the Chinese Exclusion Act, little-known voices such as Bettie Gay ("The Influence of Women in the Alliance") and Anzia Yezierska (Bread Givers), and famous images from the muckraking journalist Jacob Riis. Chapter 3 covers imperialism and Westward expansion, through an in-depth look at the destruction of Native American communities. From Chief Joseph to Zitkala-Sa and Black Elk, the unit presents essential voices of the loss of Native American sovereignty. Also included in this chapter are images documenting the Wounded Knee Massacre and the advent of Indian boarding schools, plus sources covering the U.S. imperialism via the war in the Philippines. The volume concludes with a focus on the Progressive Era in Chapter 4. Students and researchers are presented with major legislation via the Pure Food and Drug Act as well as important articles from Progressive figures such as Florence Kelley, Ida B. Wells, and Jane Addams. A Focus on Accessibility The Schlager Anthology of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era features carefully curated primary sources along with highly targeted activities to help students engage with and analyze primary documents from this important era. Document texts are carefully abridged to remain brief and accessible, even to struggling readers (including ESL students), both at the high school as well as early college levels. The commentary that accompanies each source is simple and straightforward. First, a fact box contains the key information about the source: document title, author name, date, document type, and a brief statement of the document''s significance. Next, each document includes a concise overview section that places the source in its proper historical context. Following the document text is a list of activity questions that prompt students to think more deeply about the source and its meaning and impact, as well as a glossary that defines any unfamiliar words or references in the document text. Other Features In addition to the nearly 70 sources and accompanying commentary, The Schlager Anthology of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era includes chapter introductions and Further Readings sections for each of the four chapters in the set. The set also features a comprehensive subject index and an appendix of document categories. The Schlager Anthology of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era represents a modern approach to historical reference. It is an essential resource for students, researchers, and teachers of this important era in U.S. history and is appropriate for high school, academic, and public libraries.
Voices of Victorian England
The Victorian age was a period of transition as Britain industrialized and society underwent profound changes. Here, contemporary voices provide students with an up-close look at this pivotal time. * Presents and comments on 68 excerpts from primary documents of the Victorian era, 1837-1901 * Details selected topics--such as Victorian Ireland, Social Darwinism, the marriage market, and homosexuality--in numerous sidebars * Points readers to books and websites that can expand their understanding of a document and relate it to themes and issues in modern life * Suggests methods students can use to successfully incorporate the documents into school research and reading projects * Includes a chronology listing important dates and events from the birth of Princess Victoria in 1819 to the end of the Boer War in 1902
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
America's Gilded Age : An Eyewitness History
Part of a series of historical references, this volume addresses the period of vast economic and political change that altered the American landscape from 1865 to 1901 by means of eyewitness accounts drawn from speeches, letters, newspaper articles and memoirs. A variety of supporting material is supplied, which includes a narrative introduction to the event or period; a chronology; biographical sketches of key figures; and documents of the period.
Voyage of the Beagle : The Illustrated Edition of Charles Darwin's Travel Memoir and Field Journal by
Enjoy the best-selling memoir of Charles Darwin's journey of discovery aboard the HMS Beagle--now fully illustrated for the first time. The Voyage of the Beagle is Darwin's fascinating account of his groundbreaking sea voyage that led to his writing On the Origin of Species. When the HMS Beagle sailed out of Devonport on December 27, 1831, Charles Darwin was only twenty-two and setting off on the voyage of a lifetime. His journal reveals him to be a naturalist making patient observations concerning geology and natural history as well as people, places, and events. He witnessed and visited volcanoes in the Galapagos, saw the Gossamer spider of Patagonia, sailed through the Australasian coral reefs, and recorded the brilliance of the firefly--these recollections are found in these extraordinary writings. The insights made on the five-year voyage set in motion the intellectual currents that led to the most controversial book of the Victorian age: On the Origin of Species. An introduction on the background to Darwin's work, as well as notes, maps, appendices, and an essay on scientific geology and the Bible by Robert FitzRoy, Darwin's friend and captain of the Beagle, provide context for this incredible story. This volume is the first fully illustrated edition of Darwin's journal and includes excerpts of On the Origin of Species so the reader can connect the author's journey with his discovery that made him famous.
Here are more primary sources. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Check Open Access for primary sources that anyone can access.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
