Skip to main content

Cite MLA Style

How to cite according to the 8th edition of the Modern Language Association.

Grab a Citation

The easiest way to get a citation is to grab one from the databases where you got your article, book, eBook or media. For other items you can use a free citation generator to build your citation

Britannica

America's News

  1. Every Britannica article has a citation icon at the top of the page. Click on the citation icon and MLA will come up by default.
  2. Grab your citation.


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4. Delete Britannica Academic.
  5. Move the database title, Encyclopedia Britannica, Inc. right in front of the URL.
  6. Remove the http:// from the beginning of the URL.
  7. Delete the last line, Accessed and the date.


It Should Look Like

"Google Inc." 11 Aug. 2015, Encyclopædia Britannica,

Inc., academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/article

/471099.

CREDO

""

Access citations on any entry page by scrolling down below the entry for APA, Chicago, Harvard and MLA styles (CREDO uses MLA 8).



Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.


It Should Look Like

"Rome (Italian Name: Roma)." The Macmillan

Encyclopedia, Market House Books Ltd,

2003, Credo Reference,

https://ezproxy.com.edu/login?url=

https://search. credoreference.com/

content/entry/move/rome_italian_name_

roma/0. Accessed 03 Oct 2016.

CQ Researcher

""

At the top of every article is a citation icon. APA is the default, so when the pop-up window appears, change the selection from APA to MLA.

""


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12


It Should Look Like

Clemmitt, Marcia. "Social Media Explosion." CQ Researcher, 25 Jan. 2013, pp.

81-104. CQ Researcher, library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher

/cqresrre2013012500.

EBSCO

EBSCOhost has a great citation tool you can use to cite your articles. Here's how:

  1. Click on the title of any article or eBook from your list that you want to cite.
  2. Click on the Cite icon on the right side of the item page.
  3. Citation Format will appear above the article or eBook cited in multiple formats. MLA style is the second to last listed.
  4. Copy the citation and paste into your works cited page.

Cite EBSCO MLA

 

Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.


It Should Look Like

Kaye, Barbara K. and Thomas J. Johnson. "Across the

Great Divide: How Partisanship and Perceptions

of Media Bias Influence Changes in Time Spent

with Media." Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic

Media, vol. 60, no. 4, Dec. 2016, pp. 604-623.

EBSCOhost, doi:10.1080/08838151.2016.1234477.

Films on Demand

Access citations on any video page by clicking on Citation below the video. Citations are provided in APA, Chicago, Harvard and MLA styles.

Click for full image


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4.  italicize Films Media Group.


It Should Look Like

 “A Necessary War (December 1941–December 1942).” Films Media Group,
 
2007,  fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=95702&xtid=44292.
 
Accessed 16 Feb. 2019.

Citation Generators

These citation generators can help you build your citations in multiple styles, including APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, ACS, GSA  and more. They can be especially helpful when you are citing something unusual like an image, television or federal statute. 

zoterobib is the quickest and easiest to use. Want to know more? Try How to Use Zoterobib.

Gale

Every Gale article has an MLA 8 citation available under Citation Tools. Click on MLA 8 and grab your citation.

""


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.


It Should Look Like

Berman, Lauren. “Dragons and Serpents in J.K.

Rowling's Harry Potter Series: Are They Evil?”

Mythlore, vol. 27, no. 1-2, 2008, p. 45. Gale,

go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=gale|a188065412

&v=2.1&u =txshracd2496&it=r&p=gls&sw=

w&asid=cbf27d207f8181c5cbcfb291b5464c27.

Google Scholar

Good news! Google scholar provides citations for articles from the search result list ((currently MLA, APA, Chicago, Harvard or Vancouver).

To grab a citation click on the Cite link below a search result and select from the available citation styles.

As with any resource that provides citations, always double check to make sure formatting is correct. See formatting tips below.

Change it Tips MLA

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should look Like MLA

Efron, Bradley, and Robert Tibshirani. "Bootstrap

methods for standard errors, confidence intervals,

and other measures of statistical

accuracy." Statistical Science (1986): 54-75.

History Research Center

American History Online

American History Online, Ancient and Medieval History Online, Ancient and Medieval History Online all use the History Research Center interface and citations can be obtained in the same way in each.

At the top of every article is a citation icon in that you can click on to get an MLA, Chicago Manual of Style or Harvard citation. MLA is the default, so you'll need to click the radio button to get another style.


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4. After the date, remove the comma and replace with a period.
  5. Move Facts On File to right before the URL and italicize it.
  6. Remove the http:// from the URL.


It Should Look Like

Burg, David F. “Declaring Independence: 1776,”

American Revolution, Updated Edition, 2007,

Facts On File, online.infobase.com/article/

details/203427?q=declaring independence: 1776.

Issues & Controversies

At the top of every Issues & Controversies article is a page tools menu. Click on it and select Citation to get a Chicago or MLA style citation, MLA is the default.

""


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.


It Should Look Like

"Fake News: Does fake news pose a significant problem

for democracy?" Issues & Controversies, Infobase

Learning, 2 Mar. 2017, http://icof.infobaselearning.

com/recordurl.aspx?ID=16337. Accessed 30

June 2017.

OneSearch

OneSearch is best used for citing items like books and DVDs that are physically in the library. If you are using an article, eBook or other item from a databases it's best to grab the citation from the database

  1. On the result list, click on the quote icon to launch the pop up citation window.
  2. Select MLA.
  3. Select COPY THE CITATION  TO CLIPBOARD.
  4. Paste into your paper. See the change it tips, below, to make it just right.

Click to see full size

Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like

Brooks, Max. World War Z : an Oral History

of the Zombie War. 1st ed., New York, Crown, 2006.

NewsBank

""

1. Select the "C above the article.

Click to see full size

2. Citation options will pop up. Select MLA.

Click to see full size

3. The citation box with your MLA style citation will pop up. Grab it and paste it into your paper.

Click to see full size

Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4. Change all upper case Words to lower case with beginning letter upper case.
  5. Delete Accessed 7 Mar. 2018 (or date you viewed it)


It Should Look Like

Murphy, Brett. "Prosecutors ask judge to not release

Parkland high school shooting surveillance

video." Naples Daily News (FL), 1,

DailyNews ed., sec. News, 6 Mar. 2018,

p. A4. NewsBank, infoweb.newsbank.com

/apps/news/document-view?p=AWNB&

docref=news/16A79F8F65358728.

ProQuest Research Library & SciTech Premium

""These instructions work for all ProQuest Research Library databases as well as the SciTech Premium Collection.

1. Click Cite on the right side of your article page.

2. By default, APA comes up in the pop up window. To change to MLA style, click on the pull down menu and hit Change. Copy the citation and paste it into your paper. See the change it tips, below, to make it just right.

Cite


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4. After the page numbers, add:
    1. ProQuest
    2. Document URL or DOI (find the URL on the Abstract/Details page)


It Should Look Like

Corthell, Ronald. "John Donne's Articulations of the Feminine." 

JEGP. Journal of English and Germanic Philology, vol.

100, no. 2, 2001, pp. 280-282. ProQuest, search.

proquest.com/docview/217911606?

accountid=7022.

Science Online

At the top of every article is a Page Tools box with a citation icon in that you can click on to get an APA, CMS or MLA style citation. MLA is the default.


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4. After the date, remove the comma and replace with a period.
  5. Move Facts On File to right before the URL and italicize it.
  6. Remove the http:// from the URL.


It Should Look Like

Whittemore, Susan. “Anatomy of the Circulatory System,”

The Circulatory System, 2009, Facts On File, online.

infobase.com/hrc/search/details/368481?q=

anatomy of the human circulatory.