Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must be on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
The AMA Handbook of Business Writing: The Ultimate Guide to Style, Grammar, Punctuation, Usage, Construction and Formatting
Just because you're not a born writer doesn't mean you should settle for less than perfect business documents. After all, every piece you write reflects directly on the quality of the product or service your business offers. Now, this helpful guide takes the guesswork out of more than 50 commonly used business documents, including: Reports * Proposals * Business plans * Presentations * Press releases * Memos * Email * Newsletters * Collection Letters * Sales materials * And more Arranged alphabetically and cross-referenced for easier use, the book presents clear examples of how to (and how not to) create winning materials every time. The authors' step-by-step instructions begin with an overview of the writing process, from preparation and research right through to final review and publication. Sample documents show you how your pieces should look and read, and close to 300 individual entries cover key points of grammar, style and spelling, and present strategies for writing more clearly, avoiding bias, eliminating clichés, and much more.
The Business Plan Workbook : The Definitive Guide to Researching, Writing up and Presenting a Winning Plan
Without a business plan no bank, venture capital house, or corporate parent will consider finance for start up, expansion or venture funding. The Business Plan Workbook has established itself as the essential guide to all aspects of business planning for entrepreneurs, senior executives and students alike. Based on methodology developed at Cranfield School of Management and using successful real-life business plans, The Business Plan Workbook brings together the process and procedures required to produce that persuasive plan. The case examples have been fully updated and include a cross section of businesses at various stages in their development, making the book invaluable reading for anyone in business - whatever their background.
Business Writing for Dummies
Learn how to write for the results you want every time, in every medium! Do you wish you could write better? In today's business world, good writing is key to success in just about every endeavor. Writing is how you connect with colleagues, supervisors, clients, partners, employees, and people you've never met. No wonder strong writers win the jobs, promotions and contracts. Business Writing For Dummies shows you, from the ground up, how to create persuasive messages with the right content and language every time--messages your readers will understand and act on. This friendly guide equips you with a step-by-step method for planning what to say and how to say it in writing. This sytem empowers you to handle every writing challenge with confidence, from emails to proposals, reports to resumes, presentations to video scripts, blogs to social posts, websites to books. Discover down-to-earth techniques for sharpening your language and correcting your own writing problems. Learn how to adapt content, tone and style for each medium and audience. And learn to use every message you write to build better relationships and solve problems, while getting to the "yes" you want. Whether you're aiming to land your first job or are an experienced specialist in your field, Business Writing For Dummies helps you build your communication confidence and stand out. Present yourself with authority and credibility Understand and use the tools of persuasion Communicate as a remote worker, freelancer, consultant or entrepreneur Strategize your online presence to support your goals Bring out the best in people and foster team spirit as a leader Prepare to ace interviews, pitches and confrontations Good communication skills, particularly writing, are in high demand across all industries. Use this book to gain the edge you need to promote your own success, now and down the line as your career goals evolve.
Business Writing for Technical People : The most effective ways to get your message across
Technically-minded people can struggle with business writing and many businesses get it wrong, losing their readers in avalanches of acronyms and jungles of technical jargon. It doesn't have to be that way. In this book you'll discover how to give your communication skills an upgrade, exploring the tips and tricks that will enable you to write effectively and persuasively for any audience. You'll discover how to write for maximum impact and how to make your enthusiasm even more infectious.
Business Writing with AI for Dummies
Learn how to generate high quality, business documents with AI This essential guide helps business writers and other professionals learn the strengths and weaknesses of AI as a writing assistant. You'll discover how AI can help you by chopping through writer's block, drafting an outline, generating headlines and titles, producing meaningful text, maintaining consistency, proofreading and editing, and optimizing content for search engines. Employees in all industries spend enormous amounts of energy writing, editing, and proofreading documents of all kinds. Now, you can improve your efficiency and boost the quality of your work, thanks to AI writing tools like ChatGPT, Jaspar, Grammarly, and beyond. With clear instructions and simple tips, Business Writing with AI For Dummies guides you through the process of using AI for common business writing tasks. Produce high quality, specialized writing quicker and at a lower cost Use AI to draft business-related content like emails, articles, business plans, grant proposals, bios, websites, and many others Incorporate AI into your writing process to make your workday more efficient Take advantage of AI so you can focus your human creativity on going beyond the basics For business professionals facing tight deadlines or large volumes of writing tasks, this easy-to-use Dummies guide will be a game changer.
Effective Writing for Business, College, and Life
International best-selling author William Stanek helps you get the edge you need. Whether we like it or not, writing is a part of our every day lives and to get by you need an edge. Enter Effective Writing for Business, College & Life: the down in the trenches writing resource you need to be successful. Use this concise guide to help you: write essays, papers, and dissertations; create reports and presentations; develop articles, stories, and novels; publish online, and CD-ROM. Business, college and life always give us writing challenges and it is time you took control. This indispensable resource will help you be creative, get organized, be effective, and complete the task at hand.
The Elements of International English Style : A Guide to Writing Correspondence, Reports, Technical Documents, and Internet Pages for a Global Audience
This easy-to-use handbook is an essential resource for anyone who needs to write English correspondence for an international business audience. In an engaging, accessible style it integrates the theory and controversies of intercultural communication with the practical skills of writing and editing English for those who read it as a second language. The book emphasizes principles of simplicity and clarity, proper etiquette, cultural sensitivity, appropriate layout and typography, and more to increase the chances that a text prepared by a native English speaker will be better understood by a non-native speaker. It also updates traditional advice with new insights into "e-mail culture." Equally useful for students and professionals in business communication, marketing communication, and international business, The Elements of International English Style is filled with realistic examples, problems, and projects, including: 57 specific tactics to internationalize one's English; hundreds of before-and-after comparisons showing the effects of editing for an international audience; models of international correspondence; practical discussion questions and work projects; useful resources for further study, including books, articles, and websites.
The Entrepreneur's Guide to Writing Business Plans and Proposals
Entrepreneurs--and entrepreneurial companies--live or die by the quality of their plans and proposals. Whether it's to get funding for a new product line or business from a client, writing hard-hitting prose that answers essential questions and makes specific requests is an indispensable skill. Entrepreneur, ad man, and writing teacher Dennis Chambers shows how entrepreneurs can persuade people, through skillful writing, to pony up capital or contracts. This ability--which can be learned--is rare in today's media-saturated world. But it counts more than ever if an entrepreneur wants to make it over the magical five-year hump and on into lasting business success. Numerous examples and exercises ensure that entrepreneurs understand how the writing game is played--and that they play it well. Unfortunately, most don't play this game well. Most business writers mistakenly believe their task is to inform. They write to fill an information gap or to update the reader on a particular project. Or they write about what's important to them. What these writers do not take into account is that the speed of today's work world has reached overdrive. The typical reader simply doesn't have time to ponder dense, poorly organized information and intuit the appropriate action. And readers don't give a hoot about what's important to the writer--they want to know what's in it for themselves. Business writers need to use all the tools at their command to persuade, inspire action, and in general move a project forward. This book is about how to be persuasive in two key skills in business: writing proposals and writing business plans. Step by step, Dennis Chambers illustrates the techniques of effective business writing, with numerous examples throughout. Whether the objective is to secure financing from an investor, lay out a marketing strategy, or secure a large contract, getting results requires crafting an effective structure for the proposal, and using words that sell. Chambers is an able guide in saving entrepreneurs time and undue effort while reaching the goal of long-term business success.
Essentials of Assessment Report Writing
The bestselling guide to reporting writing, updated and reworked for today's practice Essentials of Assessment Report Writing offers effective solutions to the creation of reader-friendly, yet targeted, psychological, and educational assessment reports. Parents, clinicians, clients, and other readers need more than test-by-test descriptions--they need an accessible analysis of the entire situation to determine their next steps. This book provides clear guidance for busy practitioners seeking ways to improve their report writing skills. With a focus on current practice, this new second edition covers DSM-5 updates and the latest assessment instruments including the WJ IV, WISC-V, WAIS-IV, KTEA-3, and the CAS2. New discussion includes advice on tailoring the report to the audience, and annotated case reports provide illustrative models of effective report styles, interpretation, and analysis. Key concepts are highlighted for quick reference throughout, and end-of-chapter questions help reinforce understanding. Reporting styles vary widely within the field, in both content and style; there is no definitive "standard," but many reports fail to reflect best practices and therefore prove less than useful to the reader. This book provides expert guidance throughout the reporting process to help practitioners provide high-quality, accessible reports. Integrate assessment results to provide a person-centered report Identify and navigate critical decision points in the interpretive process Write efficiently yet effectively while enhancing the reader's experience Provide an accurate, informative, and readable assessment report Incorporate practical recommendations to address the referral concerns Expertly-conducted assessments should culminate with a carefully constructed analysis that provides direction via clear communication. Because this report will be used to inform treatment, intervention, and ultimately, the client's quality of life--it is critical that it provides clear, informative guidance in a way that readers can understand. Essentials of Assessment Report Writing provides comprehensive guidelines for navigating through the report writing process.
How to Write a Grant Proposal
Step-by-step guidance on how to write effective grants that get the funding you need. Complete with examples of fully-completed proposals, you'll also get an easy-to-use companion website containing guide sheets and templates that can be easily downloaded, customized, and printed. The authors provide examples of completed proposals and numerous case studies to demonstrate how the grant-seeking process typically works. Order your copy today!
Persuasive Business Writing
This is a guide to how to achieve your objectives and raise your profile through effective business writing.
A Practical Guide to Business Writing : Writing in English for Non-Native Speakers
Nowadays, letters, reports and emails are vital components of business practice. Communication is increasingly global, but it's not any easier to understand or contribute to for non-fluent English speakers. There is increasing pressure to be able to produce effective documents for a business environment but little help out there to do so efficiently, resulting in wasted time and uncomfortable business communication. This book provides a wealth of practical information for any person who aims to produce short, effective documents within the work environment. It offers sensible, valuable and helpful rules for producing effective short reports, memos, letters and e-mails that are clear, concise and easy to read for the busy manager or supervisor working in the demanding setting of modern industry or commerce. But it goes further: not only are rules provided for the inexperienced business writer, but models are proposed which provide solutions for a whole host of business situations - providing help, support and encouragement for the many thousands of business writers who need to feel confident in their writing.
Punctuation at Work: Simple Principles for Achieving Clarity and Good Style
Through his company the Lauchman Group, author Richard Lauchman has trained professionals in the area of business writing for over thirty years. Now, in this essential guide, he reveals how good punctuation is the key to clear written communication and to emphasizing ideas without the help of vocal tone or facial cues. Using eighteen common-sense grammar principles to live by, he teaches readers how to improve their business writing and provides them with the tools to make the whole process go a lot faster--doing away with time-wasting fretting over the placement of a mark and any confusion or accidental unprofessionalism in your compositions. In Punctuation at Work, you'll discover how to utilize all of the most important marks--from hyphens to semicolons to brackets to quotation marks . . . to ellipses--as well as how to overcome the eternal struggle between using "that" and "which," and much more. With hundreds of examples taken from today's workplaces, this book explains the many ways correct punctuation makes successful business writing a breeze.
Style Guide for Business Writing
Style guides come in many shapes and sizes, usually focused toward scientific or academic use only. However, business writing is a space occupied by many individuals that has not been given the attention it deserves. The Style Guide for Business Writing, Second Edition, is designed specifically to assist business writers in both the public and private sector, including those publishing with English as a second language; authors of academic papers; business book authors; financial journalists; and writers of reports, proposals or even just e-mail and memoranda. This book provides a comprehensive guide to clear and precise writing that will help develop basic communication skills for the beginner, and refresh the basics for the experienced business writer. Major topics are arranged alphabetically and the cross references and index enable quick and easy access to information. Michael C. Thomsett is a market expert, author, speaker, and coach. His many books include Stock Market Math, Candlestick Charting, The Mathematics of Options, and A Technical Approach to Trend Analysis.
Ultimate Guide to Business Writing
The Ultimate Guide to Business Writing is a comprehensive guide on how to write any kind of business document. Written clearly in an engaging voice, it explains in depth the whole process: from determining objectives to establishing readers' needs, conducting research, outlining, and designing a template; to writing the first draft; to editing for meaning, accuracy, concision, style and emotional impact; to creating glossaries and indices; to proofreading and working with reviewers. The book also explains how to exploit the psychology of perception and motivation, collaborate effectively with business colleagues, manage documents holistically across an organisation, and deal with the other everyday practicalities of managing knowledge in a corporate environment. Every section of the book is packed with questions to stimulate thinking and generate meaningful answers, and dozens of examples of what works and why. The book's also rich in practical examples drawn from real life, anecdotes, humour, and visual aids. But the advice isn't just practical and anecdotal: it's also rigorously supported by scientific evidence from notable linguists and psychologists such as Steven Pinker, Daniel Goleman and Yellowlees Douglas. And anyone keen to explore further will benefit from the bibliography and links to videos and other online resources. The book is ideal not just for professional business writers, such as editors, technical writers, copywriters and creative directors; it's also suitable for anyone whose job requires them to write, whether it's something as simple as an email or as complex as a set of policies or a handbook.
Writing a Report : How to Prepare, Write and Present Effective Reports
In business making a point and achieving an objective often depends on presenting a polished and persuasive case. This text provides a framework for producing effective written reports, detailing the process from collecting and handling information to the final presentation. The book includes suggested style guides for a whole range of reports, from appraisals and agendas to scientific and technical reports. This revised edition contains information on making use of the Internet in report-writing.
Writing Business Bids and Proposals for Dummies
Acquire the necessary skills to win business through proposals, bids, tenders, and presentations--this hands-on guide is your partner for success You have in your hands the collected knowledge and skills of the professional proposal writer. Proposal writing is a profession -- a growing and increasingly important one and an essential part of a broader group of business development professionals who plan and execute strategies for businesses who want to obtain new customers. Proposal writers have a professional organization -- the Association of Proposal Management Professionals (APMP) -- and their best practices are the foundation for this book. Proposal writing is a skill you can learn, practice, and master; you can even go through a professional certification process to prove your mastery. Writing Business Bids & Proposals For Dummies is your no-nonsense guide to finding out what professional proposal writers know and for applying it to your own business. If you're a small- to medium-size business owner, a first-time proposal writer in a medium-size company, or a sales representative, you know that a written proposal (printed or electronic) is still a common, personal, and effective way to win business. Written in plain English, Writing Business Bids & Proposals For Dummies will help you to: Know the difference between reactive proposals (the RFP or request for proposal) and proactive proposals Focus on the customer by going beyond their requirements to address their true needs Know your competition through research and analysis Write persuasively to develop a winning business proposal Plan and use a repeatable proposal process Incorporate a lessons learned aspect to your proposal process Use tools and templates to accelerate your proposals Motivate and lead your proposal team to ensure they're on the same page Use graphics to enhance your proposals Learn ways to automate your proposal development process And a whole lot more Additionally, you'll gain access to ten templates for building a proposal, find out ten common misconceptions about bids and proposals, and add a compiled list of online resources to your toolset. Grab a copy of Writing Business Bids & Proposals For Dummies to start sharpening your proposal writing skillset.
Writing for the Workplace: Business Communication for Professionals
Employers consider communication one of the most critical skills for workers today. Writing for the Workplace: Business Communication for Professionals is an easy- to-follow guide that provides strategies for effective professional communication. Written to address the needs of both students entering the workforce and business professionals looking to improve their written communication, the book offers guides to compose typical workplace documents, from effective e-mails and convincing reports to winning presentations and engaging resumes. This concise book offers busy readers concrete strategies to improve their workplace writing.
Writing on the Job : Best Practices for Communicating in the Digital Age
A practical and compact guide to writing for professionals Writing is an essential skill in today's workplace. From messaging platforms and social media to traditional forms of communication like memos and reports, we rely on words more than ever. Given how much reading we do on mobile devices, being able to write succinctly is critical to success. Writing on the Job is an incisive guide to clear and effective writing for professionals. Martha Coven begins with the basics, explaining how to develop a professional style, get started on a piece of writing, create a first draft, and edit it into a strong final product. She then offers practical advice on more than a dozen forms of writing, from emails and slide decks to proposals and cover letters. Along the way, Coven provides a wealth of concrete examples and simple templates that make the concepts easy to understand and apply. Based on Coven's popular writing classes and workshops at Princeton University as well as her decades of experience in the public and private sectors, Writing on the Job addresses the real challenges professionals face in today's digital age, and shares essential practices that can improve the performance of any organization.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
The AMA Handbook of Business Documents : Guidelines and Sample Documents That Make Business Writing Easy
Your company's identity, products, services, and strengths are all represented by its written communications. From business plans and sales presentations to newsletters and e-mail marketing, the way the company comes across on a page or screen can make the difference between big success and big trouble. The AMA Handbook of Business Documents takes the guesswork out of preparing firstclass written pieces of every type. Packed with dozens of sample documents and practical tips, this handy guide is everything you need to create: * Proposals * Memos * E-mails * Press releases * Collection letters * Speeches * Technical, research and lab reports * Sales letters * Policies and procedures * Warning letters * Announcements * And much more Suited equally to executives, entrepreneurs, managers, and administrative staff--anyone charged with putting a business's intentions into words--The AMA Handbook of Business Documents is a versatile, powerful, and indispensable toolbox.
The Business Writer's Handbook
More than just a guide, The Business Writer's Handbook places writing in a real-world context with quick and easy access to hundreds of business writing topics and scores of sample documents. Its dedicated author team - with decades of combined academic and professional experience - has crafted the essential reference tool for students and professionals alike, with extensive coverage of grammar, usage, and style. Always anticipating the needs of today's business writers, the book features up-to-date coverage of workplace technology, including the latest types of writing for the Web and advice on repurposing content for multiple aims, audiences, and media. An integrated companion Web site works with the text to offer additional resources and models reflecting the authors' trademark clarity.
Business Writing for Dummies
How many pieces of paper land on your desk each day, or emails in your inbox? Your readers ? the people you communicate with at work ? are no different. So how can you make your communication stand out from the pile and get the job done? Whether you're crafting a short and sweet email or bidding for a crucial project, Business Writing For Dummies is the only guide you need. Inside you'll find: The basic principles of how to write well How to avoid the common pitfalls that immediately turn a reader off Crucial tips for self-editing and revision techniques to heighten your impact Lots of practical advice and examples covering a range of different types of communication, including emails, letters, major business documents such as reports and proposals, promotional materials, web copy and blogs - even tweets The global touch - understand the key differences in written communication around the world, and how to tailor your writing for international audiences
How to Write Reports and Proposals
Getting a message across on paper and presenting a proposal in a clear and persuasive form are vital skills for anyone in business. How to Write Reports and Proposals provides practical advice on how to impress, convince and persuade your colleagues or clients. It will help you: improve your writing skills; think constructively before writing; create a good report; produce persuasive proposals; use clear and distinctive language; present numbers, graphs and charts effectively. Full of checklists, exercises and examples, How To Write Reports and Proposals is essential reading and will help you to put over a good case with style.
How to Write Technical Reports : Understandable Structure, Good Design, Convincing Presentation
Technical Reports are usually written according to general standards, corporate - sign standards of the current university or company, logical rules and practical - periences. These rules are not known well enough among engineers. There are many books that give general advice in writing. This book is specialised in how to write Technical Reports and addresses not only engineers, but also natural sci- th tists, computer scientists, etc. It is based on the 6 edition published in 2008 by st Vieweg in German and is now published as 1 edition by Springer in English. Both authors of the German edition have long experience in educating en- neers at the University of Applied Sciences Hannover. They have held many l- tures where students had to write reports and took notes about all positive and negative examples that occurred in design reports, lab work reports, and in theses. Prof. Dr. Lutz Hering has worked for VOLKSWAGEN and DAIMLER and then changed to the University of Applied Sciences Hannover where he worked from 1974 until 2000. He held lectures on Technical Drawing, Construction and Design, CAD and Materials Science. Dr. Heike Hering worked nine years as a Technical Writer and was responsible for many CAD manuals in German and English. She is now employed at T#65533;V NORD Akademie, where she is responsible for E-Learning projects, technical documentation and software training and supervises students who are writing their theses. Prof. Dr. -Ing.
Models of Proposal Planning and Writing
Grantseeking has become an increasingly competitive process. Beginning grantwriters sometimes assemble a collection of facts and present that information to grantmakers, hoping to receive support. However, sponsors rarely award grant funding just because a grantseeker supports a specific cause or works for a specific organization. Grantseekers must "persuade" sponsors to invest in their projects and organization. Successful grantseekers know that persuasion, not information, attracts funding. Persuasive proposals present a seamless argument that stands the test of reason, addresses psychological concerns, and connects project ideas to the values of the sponsor. "Models of Proposal Planning & Writing" illustrates, in intimate detail previously unpublished, an integrated process of planning and writing persuasive proposals. The grantseeker will see the questions that the authors asked of themselves and those asked of sponsors before they developed a complete grant application. Grantseekers will read the actual proposals the authors submitted to private and public sponsors, including paragraph-by-paragraph analyses of the key features that made them persuasive. The authors provide the reader with a verbatim examination of reviewer comments and grant award notification letters they received back from the sponsors. As a whole, these annotated models serve as a springboard from which grantseekers can begin to develop their own fundable proposals.
Proposal Writing
This book is an expansion of the successful First Edition. This new edition focuses on collaboration and outcomes assessment. Like its predecessor, this book will be an invaluable guide for anyone in the non-profit sector who needs to write grant proposals and compete effectively for funds, and for schools of social work and nursing.
Reporting Technical Information
BETTER WRITING AND SUCCESS AT WORK BEGIN IN YOUR CLASSROOM WITH REPORTING TECHNICAL INFORMATION, ELEVENTH EDITION, A CLASSIC TEXT WITH THOROUGHLY CONTEMPORARY CONTENT.One of the leading texts in technical writing, Reporting Technical Information introduces students to all aspects of effective professional communication, including letters, proposals, progress reports, recommendation reports, research reports, instructions, and oral reports.FEATURES OF THE ELEVENTH EDITION:* A fully integrated companion website--www.oup.com/us/houp--that offers:Additional practical resources for students: chapter overviews, sample writings, self-tests, "current topic" annotated links and additional resources, interactive tutorials, key terms and concepts, downloadable versions of important question checklists from the book, and a collaborative network(message board links and helpful WebCT and D2L content outlines)Resources for instructors: an Instructor's Manual and downloadable PowerPoint files for use as lecture aids (also available on CD), links to online resources including an outline of--and links to--available WebCT and D2L content, and writing assignments instructors have shared for "BetterWriting--Success at Work"Three different types of icons throughout the book that direct students to the website for additional resources: sample documents, exercises, and further reading* New, broader approach that prepares students in a variety of science, health, business, engineering, and technical majors to develop the types of documents they will need to write in their prospective work environments* Strong focus on the rhetorical nature of writing, helping writers to understand their readers and the contexts in which their documents will be read and used, define their purpose in writing, and design documents using these issues as critical guidelines* Updated and additional coverage of current technology, including thoroughly revised chapters on document design and usability that take into account web-based documents and platforms* New opening scenarios for each chapter that demonstrate the impact of technical communication in the real world* New chapters on content management, versatility and creativity for reports, and using design and format to achieve clarity in documents* Increased coverage of ethics and international and global workplace issues* Many new example documents--more than half of the sample documents in the text are new--and more illustrative figures* More end-of-chapter exercises, including projects that encourage student interaction and collaboration, several of which are linked to an online component on the companion website
Writing With Precision : How to Write So That You Cannot Possibly Be Misunderstood
One of the most popular and respected style guides ever written, this handbook by a seasoned writer with more than forty years of experience offers ten principles and seven axioms that professional writers use to express their thoughts clearly and effectively. This latest edition is expanded to include an extensive glossary of American idiomatic expressions, developed to assist users from other backgrounds and cultures; new chapters with tips on little-known facts of usage, such as compound words, hyphenation, numeration, and capitalization; and explanations of technical problems encountered in writing and editing with tips and exercises to help solve them. For anyone faced with the challenges of written English, Writing with Precision can help readers write more clearly, more effectively, and more precisely than they ever have.
Try these videos to get started. Must be on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding media? Try Articles & Media.
Follow the link below to access these resources that can help develop technical and business writing skills:
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
