LibGuides: Fire Protection Technology: Books & eBooks

Ebook Central

Search for academic eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on Ebook Central ? Try the How to Use Ebook Central Guide. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Distribution System Requirements for Fire Protection, M31 Get specific guidance on designing, operating, and maintaining water distribution systems as they relate to fire protection and fire suppression activities and maximize fire protection benefits, while delivering safe, potable water to customers.
Eating Smoke : Fire in Urban America, 1800–1950 During the period of America's swiftest industrialization and urban growth, fire struck fear in the hearts of city dwellers as did no other calamity. Before the Civil War, sweeping blazes destroyed more than $200 million in property in the nation's largest cities. Between 1871 and 1906, conflagrations left Chicago, Boston, Baltimore, and San Francisco in ruins. Into the twentieth century, this dynamic hazard intensified as cities grew taller and more populous, confounding those who battled it. Firefighters' death-defying feats captured the popular imagination but too often failed to provide more than symbolic protection. Hundreds of fire insurance companies went bankrupt because they could not adequately deal with the effects of even smaller blazes. Firefighters and fire insurers created a physical and cultural infrastructure whose legacy--in the form of heroic firefighters, insurance policies, building standards, and fire hydrants--lives on in the urban built environment. In Eating Smoke, Mark Tebeau shows how the changing practices of firefighters and fire insurers shaped the built landscape of American cities, the growth of municipal institutions, and the experience of urban life. Drawing on a wealth of fire department and insurance company archives, he contrasts the invention of a heroic culture of firefighters with the rational organizational strategies by fire underwriters. Recognizing the complexity of shifting urban environments and constantly experimenting with tools and tactics, firefighters fought fire ever more aggressively--"eating smoke" when they ventured deep into burning buildings or when they scaled ladders to perform harrowing rescues. In sharp contrast to the manly valor of firefighters, insurers argued that the risk was quantifiable, measurable, and predictable. Underwriters managed hazard with statistics, maps, and trade associations, and they eventually agitated for building codes and other reforms, which cities throughout the nation implemented in the twentieth century. Although they remained icons of heroism, firefighters' cultural and institutional authority slowly diminished. Americans had begun to imagine fire risk as an economic abstraction. By comparing the simple skills employed by firefighters--climbing ladders and manipulating hoses--with the mundane technologies--maps and accounting charts--of insurers, the author demonstrates that the daily routines of both groups were instrumental in making intense urban and industrial expansion a less precarious endeavor.
Enhancing Individual and Team Performance in Fire and Emergency Services This book provides an overview of state-of-the-art research that has been conducted within Australia, funded by the Bushfire Cooperative Research Centre. The chapters source and contextualize their own research practice within the context of the international research literature. Therefore, while the research has occurred within Australia it will be of particular interest to scholars, students and practitioners in a number of other countries, particularly within the United States of America and in Europe. The fire and emergency services is a particularly large industry - in Australia alone it employs 250,000 personnel - yet there is very little by way of published human factors books addressing this sector directly. Emergency events frequently involve problems for which there may be unanticipated consequences and highly interdependent consequential effects. In short, emergency events are not necessarily as containable as may be work in other domains. As Karl Weick once commented, emergency events do not 'play by the rules'. This means that these research chapters tell us something about a potential future world of work that is highly dynamic, interdependent and for which improvisation and critical thinking and problem-solving are necessary pre-requisites. The discussions about individual and team performance will also be pertinent to others working in similar high-reliability, high-consequence domains. The chapters connect into an integrated body of work about individual and group performance and their limitations.
Fire-Raising: Its Motivation and Management In recent years, fire-raising has become an increasing problem in Britain and elsewhere, and now involves many professionals in the investigation and management of those who set fires. The motives of fire-raisers are complex and their behaviour is hard to change. Herschel Prins sets the problem in an historical and anthropological context, examines the size of the problem, its investigation and motivation, in a way which will enable more effective management.
Fire Debris Analysis The study of fire debris analysis is vital to the function of all fire investigations, and, as such, Fire Debris Analysis is an essential resource for fire investigators. The present methods of analysis include the use of gas chromatography and gas chromatography-mass spectrometry, techniques which are well established and used by crime laboratories throughout the world. However, despite their universality, this is the first comprehensive resource that addresses their application to fire debris analysis. Fire Debris Analysis covers topics such as the physics and chemistry of fire and liquid fuels, the interpretation of data obtained from fire debris, and the future of the subject. Its cutting-edge material and experienced author team distinguishes this book as a quality reference that should be on the shelves of all crime laboratories. Serves as a comprehensive guide to the science of fire debris analysis Presents both basic and advanced concepts in an easily readable, logical sequence Includes a full-color insert with figures that illustrate key concepts discussed in the text
Guidelines for Determining the Probability of Ignition of a Released Flammable Mass Complemented by an estimating tool spreadsheet based on a fixed set of chemicals to assist in risk estimations, Probability of Ignition of a Released Flammable Mass converts a "best guess" to a calculated value based on available information and current technology. The text documents and explains the science and background of the technology-based approach. The tool, when populated with appropriate data, yields an estimate of the probability that a defined release of a flammable material will ignite if exposed to an ignition source. This information can be used to make risk assessments with a higher degree of confidence than estimates made before and it provides valuable information for use in the development of a facility′s Emergency Response Plan.
Handbook of Fire and Explosion Protection Engineering Principles Handbook of Fire and Explosion Protection Engineering Principles: for Oil, Gas, Chemical and Related Facilities is a general engineering handbook that provides an overview for understanding problems of fire and explosion at oil, gas, and chemical facilities. This handbook offers information about current safety management practices and technical engineering improvements. It also provides practical knowledge about the effects of hydrocarbon fires and explosions and their prevention, mitigation principals, and methodologies. This handbook offers an overview of oil and gas facilities, and it presents insights into the philosophy of protection principles. Properties of hydrocarbons, as well as the characteristics of its releases, fires and explosions, are also provided in this handbook. The book includes chapters about fire- and explosion-resistant systems, fire- and gas-detection systems, alarm systems, and methods of fire suppression. The handbook ends with a discussion about human factors and ergonomic considerations, including human attitude, field devices, noise control, panic, and security. People involved with fire and explosion prevention, such as engineers and designers, will find this book invaluable. A unique practical guide to preventing fires and explosions at oil and gas facilities, based on the author's extensive experience in the industry An essential reference tool for engineers, designers and others facing fire protection issues Based on the latest NFPA standards and interpretations
Hazardous Materials : Handbook for Emergency Responders Hazardous Materials Handbook for Emergency Responders breaks down the hazards and response priorities according to the nine classes of hazardous chemicals defined by the U.N. and the U.S. Department of Transportation. Designed to prepare HazMat professionals for all three levels of response, as defined by OSHA, the Handbook: Offers the most complete and current coverage of control and mitigation techniques for chemical emergencies. Provides extensive treatment of transportation and storage vessels. Helps users comply with all relevant government regulations and standards, including OSHA and NFPA training requirements.

Print Books

Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.

The Esperanza Fire: Arson, Murder and the Agony of Engine 57 When a jury returns to a packed courtroom to announce its verdict in a capital murder case every noise, even a scraped chair or an opening door, resonates like a high-tension cable snap. Spectators stop rustling in their seats; prosecution and defense lawyers and the accused stiffen into attitudes of wariness; and the judge looks on owlishly. In that atmosphere of heightened expectation the jury entered a Riverside County Superior Court room in southern California to render a decision in the trial of Raymond Oyler, charged with murder for setting the Esperanza Fire of 2006, which killed a five man Forest Service engine crew sent to fight the blaze. Today, wildland fire is everybody's business, from the White House to the fireground. Wildfires have grown bigger, more intense, more destructive--and more expensive. Federal taxpayers, for example, footed most of the $16 million bill for fighting the Esperanza Fire. But the highest cost was the lives of the five-man crew of Engine 57, the first wildland engine crew ever to be wiped out by flames.
Evidence-Based Practices for Strategic and Tactical Firefighting Evidence-Based Practices for Strategic and Tactical Firefighting is a synopsis of the UL/NIST research studies and experiments on fire behavior and techniques for ventilation, fire suppression, and search and rescue as a result of the changes in modern building construction and furnishing materials. As a result of these changes, today's fires release energy faster, reach flashover potential sooner, may reach higher temperatures, and are much more likely to become ventilation-limited than building fires of even a few years ago. Developed in partnership with the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) and National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), Evidence-Based Practices for Strategic and Tactical Firefighting details many of the findings discovered as the result of an ongoing series of experiments conducted by NIST, UL, and the New York City Fire Department (FDNY) and provides the most up-to-date information available today for Fire Fighter, Fire Officer, and Fire Science students. Additional information about these #65533;and other fire experiments can be obtained online at the NIST website by searching under Fire#65533; Fighting Technology and at the UL website by searching under Fire#65533; Fighter Safety Research Institute.
Fire and Emergency Services Safety and Survival Written with both students and career fire service professionals in mind, Fire and Emergency Services Safety and Survival incorporates the FESHE guidelines and outcomes for the Principles of Fire and Emergency Services Safety and Survival course Modern solutions, procedures, and recommendations that put safety first The Fire service has long been considered a profession plagued with a history of unavoidable tragedy. As the number of line-of-duty deaths and injuries continues to be staggering year after year, Fire and Emergency Services Safety and Survival exposes the false mentality of "doing whatever it takes" and provides solutions for both the individual and fire department. Built around the 16 Life Safety Initiatives developed by the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation, each chapter is written by a contributor with extensive expertise on the topic, incorporates FESHE and NFPA references guidelines, and helps readers understand how to execute procedures and recommendations for putting safety first. Filled with modern solutions, attainable goals, and real-life examples, the text asks each reader to challenge the existing attitudes toward safety and commit to making a change.
Fire Department Incident Safety Officer This third edition of Fire Department Incident Safety Officer prepares aspiring and current safety officers to meet and exceed the specific job requirements outlined in Chapter 5 of NFPA 1521: Standard for Fire Department Safety Officer, 2015 Edition. This extensively revised third edition includes current information on responding to incidents involving hazardous materials, wildland fire, technical rescue, and other disasters. In addition, this edition provides methods for the development and improvement of existing safety programs. Fire Department Incident Safety Officer is divided into three sections: Preparing the Incident Safety Officer, Front-Loading Your Knowledge and Skills, and The Incident Safety Officer On-Scene. Each section comprises chapters related to each of the three main topics, and in a casual, straightforward manner, thoroughly describes the best practices for the ISO, incorporating the most current data available. The Third Edition features include: A new chapter dedicated to the use of ISOs at training activities and planned, nonemergency events Content that aligns with the new NFPA 1521, Standard for Fire Department Safety Officer Professional Qualifications (2015 edition) Updated firefighter rehabilitation strategies Updated content that reflects a complete understanding of the issues and concerns associated with newer and alternative building construction methods, including "green" construction and renewable/alternative electrical power sources Specific ISO concerns associated with fire suppression staffing, deployment, and NFPA 1710/1720 criteria Results from recent fire behavior research projects, conducted by the National Institute of Standards and Technology and Underwriters Laboratories Thought-provoking case studies and follow-up questions in each chapter Constructive tips and safety information noted throughout Plus, each new print copy of Fire Department Incident Safety Officer, Third Edition also includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a complete eBook, Study Center, homework and Assessment Center, and a dashboard that reports actionable data. Experience Navigate 2 today at www.jblnavigate.com/2.
Firefighter's Handbook : Essentials of Firefighting The knowledge and skills you need - the way you need it. That is what Firefighter's Handbook: Essentials of Firefighting, Third Edition aims to provide with this new edition of our basic book. Consisting of the newly revised information that is offered in the Firefighting & Emergency Response book, this version of the Firefighter's Handbook removes the hazardous materials related content, providing a more affordable option for those departments, academies and schools in which hazardous materials is taught in a separate course. Current firefighting topics include a new chapter on large incident and disaster response, as well as new information on fire life safety initiatives, managing air supply and performing emergency checks, predicting building collapse, GPS technology, thermal imaging use in search and rescue, new considerations for terrorism response, and much more!
Firefighter Exams Your up-to-the-minute guide for acing the firefighter exam McGraw-Hill Education: Firefighter Exams offers 7 full-length sample exams (two more exams than previous edition), plus valuable instruction and practice in all the most common question types--all designed to reflect today's new firefighter responsibilities as emergency first responders, as well as current fire department recruiting diversity standards. Features: New chapters on cognitive abilities and personality attributes New practice reading passages Sample firefighter qualifying exams like those given in various jurisdictions across America Up-to-the-minute information about all elements of the firefighter qualifying process, including the physical exam and the oral interview
Fire Fighter Safety and Survival Fire Fighter Safety and Survival is an essential guide designed to keep fire fighters safe from the many hazards they will face on-the-job. Developed around the 16 Firefighter Life Safety Initiatives, this textbook provides scores of real-life examples from the fire service and other high-risk industries to illustrate the dangers of fire fighting. More importantly, these examples help readers to stay safe in similar situations by offering helpful information on risk management, how to incorporate safety procedures within their department, and how to foster a culture of safety to ensure that "Everyone Goes Home." The Second Edition features: Coverage of the Fire and Emergency Services Higher Education (FESHE) Firefighter Safety and Survival model curriculum. Updated statistics, references, and examples from recent events Over 100 real-life examples from the fire service and nuclear, medical, military, and airline industries to provide readers with a complete understanding of risk management, safety systems, and situational awareness principles. Fire science students, seasoned professionals, and rookies alike can turn to Fire Fighter Safety and Survival, Second Edition for the knowledge and tools needed to make a difference in their departments without sacrificing cherished, long-standing traditions.
Firefighters From the Heart : True Stories and Lessons Learned Welcome to the world of firefighting - the camaraderie, the challenges, the defeats, and the triumphs. Withinthese pages walk alongside firefighters and fire officers as they fight fires, face career-altering decisions, andlearn critical lessons that forever change their perception on what it means to be a firefighter. ChicagoBattalion Chief and 27-year service member Steve Chikerotis shares stories drawn from some of the mostrespected firefighters in the nation to convey valuable lessons on safety, risk management, education andawareness. Over 45 exciting short stories unfold each heart-pounding incident, promoting the development ofcrucial life-saving instincts and leadership skills as well as inviting readers to develop a sense of appreciationfor the life of a firefighter.
Firefighting Strategies and Tactics This comprehensive text is an ideal building block for aspiring fire officers and an essential review for experienced command officers. Incident command requires background knowledge and application skills in all phases of strategy and tactics - knowing what needs to be done as well as the how it is going to be accomplished. An important element of this book is the use of case studies based on actual incidents to show the applications of the theories to real world situations. The authors' myriad experiences in all phases of the operational fire service are included to detail the command operations from the company level to major alarms. The book uses a clear, systematic approach correlating with the course objectives of Fire and Emergency Services Higher Education enabling it to be used by all levels of fire fighters and fire officers.
Fire Protection Handbook Volume I: Safety in the built environment -- Basics of fire and fire science -- Information and analysis for fire protection -- Human behavior in fire emergencies -- Fire and life safety education -- Characteristics of materials and products -- Storage and handling of materials -- Special equipment -- Processes and facilities -- Building services -- Fire prevention practices -- Non-Emergency fire department functions. Volume II: Organizing for public sector emergency response -- Detection and alarm -- Water supplies for fixed fire protection -- Water-based fire suppression equipment -- Fire suppression systems and portable fire extinguishers -- Confining fires -- Structural fire protection -- Protecting occupancies -- Transportation fire safety.
Fire Protection Systems In addition to architects, engineers, and design professionals, fire fighters also need to understand fire protection systems in order to manage the fire scene and minimize risks to life and property. Fire Protection Systems, Second Edition provides a comprehensive overview of the various types of fire protection systems, their operational abilities and characteristics, and their applications within various types of structures. The new Second Edition meets the latest course objectives from the Fire and Emergency Services Higher Education's (FESHE) Fire Protection Systems model curriculum and covers: * Water supply basics, including sources, distribution networks, piping, and hydrants. * Active fire protection systems and components, their operational characteristics, and installation, inspection, testing, and maintenance requirements. * Passive fire protection systems such as firewalls, fire separation assemblies, and fire dampers * Smoke control and management systems, gas-based suppression, access and egress control systems, and the code requirements for installation of these systems. Ensure that you are completely up-to-date on the latest fire protection systems and their operational characteristics and abilities with Fire Protection Systems, Second Edition.
Fire Service Hydraulics and Water Supply The ability to find a sufficient water supply and use it effectively to control a fire remains one of the most basic functions of the fire service. This text provides detailed information on the principles of water and its movement, determining accurate discharge pressures and fire flows, the types of apparatus and pumps used to move water, and effective means for supporting fixed fire protections systems. This second edition has been redesigned to include up-to-date photos and illustrations.
Fire Suppression Practices and Procedures Written in an engaging, easy-to-follow style, this book exposes the audience to the breadth of Fire Suppression Practices and Procedures without overwhelming the audience with unnecessary detail. Unlike competitors, this book covers all types of fires. Organized to present the theory and application of firefighting principles from the development to the extinguishment phase, it stresses the the importance of safety for firefighters. This book also presents a complete up-to-date coverage of the Incident Command System and its relationship to National Security factors.
Fundamentals of Fire Protection for the Safety Professional Fundamentals of Fire Protection for the Safety Professional provides safety managers with a guide for incorporating fire hazard awareness and protection into their safety management plans. Industrial fires pose one of the greatest threats to organizations in terms of financial, human, and property losses. Understanding fire safety basics, the physics of fire, and the properties and classes of common hazards is key to designing fire safety management programs that not only protect an organization's assets but also ensure the safe evacuation of all involved. Fundamentals of Fire Protection for the Safety Professional takes an in-depth look at fire hazards in the workplace--from the substances required to do business to the building construction itself--and provides practical fire safety principles that can be applied in any work environment. Readers will learn how to develop emergency action plans and fire prevention plans, implement effective alarm and detection systems and fire extinguishment systems, and develop a comprehensive fire program management plan that is in compliance with Federal Emergency Management Agency, Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Environmental Protection Agency, and National Fire Protection Association standards. Each chapter includes a chapter summary and sample problems, making this an ideal training tool in the workplace or the classroom. Answers to chapter questions and a comprehensive glossary and index are provided at the end of the book.
Handbook of Fire and Explosion Protection Engineering Principles for Oil, Gas, Chemical and Related Facilities Written by an engineer for engineers, this book is both training manual and on-going reference, bringing together all the different facets of the complex processes that must be in place to minimize the risk to people, plant and the environment from fires, explosions, vapour releases and oil spills. Fully compliant with international regulatory requirements, relatively compact but comprehensive in its coverage, engineers, safety professionals and concerned company management will buy this book to capitalize on the author's life-long expertise. This is the only book focusing specifically on oil and gas and related chemical facilities. This new edition includes updates on management practices, lessons learned from recent incidents, and new material on chemical processes, hazards and risk reviews (e.g. CHAZOP). Latest technology on fireproofing, fire and gas detection systems and applications is also covered. An introductory chapter on the philosophy of protection principles along with fundamental background material on the properties of the chemicals concerned and their behaviours under industrial conditions, combined with a detailed section on modern risk analysis techniques makes this book essential reading for students and professionals following Industrial Safety, Chemical Process Safety and Fire Protection Engineering courses. A practical, results-oriented manual for practicing engineers, bringing protection principles and chemistry together with modern risk analysis techniques Specific focus on oil and gas and related chemical facilities, making it comprehensive and compact Includes the latest best practice guidance, as well as lessons learned from recent incidents
Hazardous Materials: Awareness and Operations A fire fighter's ability to recognize an incident involving hazardous materials is critical. They must possess the knowledge required to identify the presence of hazardous materials and weapons of mass destruction (WMD), and have an understanding of what their role is within the response plan. Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operations will provide fire fighters and first responders with these skills and enable them to keep themselves and others safe while mitigating these potentially deadly incidents. Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operations is the center of an integrated teaching and learning system that combines groundbreaking content with dynamic new features to support instructors and to help prepare students for the job. The text meets and exceeds the requirements for Fire Fighter I and II certification and satisfies the core competencies for operations level responders including the eight mission-specific responsibilities for first responders within the 2008 Edition of NFPA 472, Standard for Competence of Responders to Hazardous Materials/Weapons of Mass Destruction Incidents. Additionally, the material presented also exceeds the hazardous materials response requirements of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operations provides in-depth coverage of: the properties and effects of hazardous materials and WMDs; how to calculate potential danger and initiate a response plan; selection, use, advantages, and disadvantages of personal protective equipment; performing mass and technical decontamination; performing evidence preservation and sampling; performing product control. Performing air monitoring and sampling; performing victim rescue and recovery; and responding to illicit laboratory incidents. Listen to a Podcast with Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operations author Rob Schnepp to learn more about this training program! Rob discusses the NFPA 472 standard, changes in responder training operations, and the importance of writing a "street smart" textbook. To listen now, visit: http://d2jw81rkebrcvk.cloudfront.net/assets.multimedia/audio/HazMat.mp3.
Hazardous Materials: Strategies and Tactic Eschewing the traditional topic-by-topic approach to hazardous material training, the author presents information within the structure of the GEDAPER approach to operationally based decision making. GEDAPER is a seven-step approach which includes gathering information, estimating potential course an
Illustrated Guide to the National Electrical Code Illustrated Guide to the NEC represents a dramatic blend of new presentation styles with tried-and-true teaching practices. This text teaches through visualization. Technically accurate, highly detailed illustrations offer insight into Code requirements, and are further enhanced through clearly written, concise blocks of text which can be read very quickly and understood with ease. Information formerly scattered throughout the Code book has been logically gathered and concentrated under the appropriate occupancy: one-family dwellings, multi-family dwellings, illustrated accordingly. After presentation, summaries review the material, while competency tests reinforce what has been learned. Illustrated Guide to the NEC offers a visually pleasing format which stimulates interest and facilitates comprehension, making both teaching and learning easier and more enjoyable.
Introduction to Fire Protection and Emergency Services Designed for use within courses based on the Fire and Emergency Services in Higher Education (FESHE) Principles of Emergency Services model curriculum, this new Fifth Edition will prepare readers for a career in the fire or emergency services. Introduction to Fire Protection and Emergency Services provides an overview of the fire service, from history and culture to the basics of chemistry and physics, fire protection systems, and strategic and tactical considerations for wildland or structural fires. The Fifth Edition has also been updated to include new or expanded coverage of risk management, Next Generation (NG) 9-1-1, the U.S. Fire Problem from local and federal perspectives, wildfire issues and the impacts of global warming, and much more.
NFPA 70E: Handbook for Electrical Safety in the Workplace Working around electricity can be deadly. Understand how NFPA 70E is the key to ensuring an electrically safe working area using NFPA 70E Handbook for Electrical Safety in the Workplace®. Loaded with commentary and art, this comprehensive full-color resource helps you assess risks, determine hazards, select PPE, and use proven electrical safety-related work practices. If you're a manager or business owner, the Handbook helps you reduce the potential for significant liabilities involving loss of life, serious injuries, and damage to equipment due to electrical hazards.
Opportunities in Fire Protection Services Careers Covers several aspects of the job - from responding to medical emergencies to putting out fires; descriptions of a range of interesting careers in fire protection, including fire educator, fire apparatus mechanic, dispatcher, and more; salary statistics and information on education and training in this field.
The Station-Ready Rookie While fire academies teach the fundamentals and technical skills of firefighting, "life as a rookie" is an area that is mostly overlooked. Three fire service veterans wrote The Station-Ready Rookie to help new firefighters know and understand what will be expected of them during their first assignment to a fire station and throughout their probationary period. This book is designed to shorten the rookie's learning curve and help the reader become an outstanding new firefighter from day one. It is perfect for aspiring firefighters, new recruits, fire departments, and training academies! The second edition of The Station-Ready Rookie takes into account reader feedback and addresses current topics for today's new and seasoned firefighters. It contains an entirely new fourth section as well as new chapters on:* choosing your city of employment* the expanding role of the fire department* hazing within the fire department* utilizing your chain of command* creating and seizing opportunities* the importance of being involved in your community
Strategic and Tactical Considerations on the Fireground This book is written for firefighters, fire officers, and chief officers who hope to improve their firefighting skills. It can be utilized in college fire science courses, or at a fire training academy. It can be beneficial for a candidate preparing for promotion to company or chief officer. Improve readers' understanding with real-world insight and research Blending research and over 40 years of personal experience in the field, Strategic and Tactical Considerations on the Fireground, Fourth Edition, draws on author Chief Smith's career operating in one of the largest fire departments in the United States. This authoritative text covers strategic decisions as well as tactical operations, guiding readers through the process of problem identification and solution response. From planning to incident scene control, this text exposes readers to almost every possible tactical scenario and provides knowledge that can be applied to a variety of complex fire situations. The Fourth Edition is updated and expanded to include information that addresses evolving fire service operational approaches.
Strategy of Firefighting This is a "how to" book written by a "know how" person for anyone who practices firefighting strategy. Deputy Chief Vincent Dunn is passing on to the next generation of firefighters the lessons ("strategy summaries") he learned from his years of firefighting experience. He describes firefighting strategies for the most common types of fire scenarios and identifies specific firefighting problems presented to an incident commander by occupancy and construction type. More importantly, he explains firefighting solutions and offers firefighting plans, standard procedures, action plans, ideas, guidelines, explanations, key steps, and systems of firefighting procedures. This book is not about tactics. It's about strategy - plans of firefighting, logical ways to solve problems at fires.
Structural Firefighting : Strategy and Tactics Safe and effective structural firefighting requires a complex thought process. It is not a simple matter of "how to." Decisions depend on many factors, from the type of building, to the likelihood of occupancy, to the water supply. The third edition of Structural Firefighting: Strategy and Tactics leads readers through all phases of planning, evaluation and implementation to enable them to effectively manage structure fire incidents safe and effective manner, regardless of size or complexity. The third edition has been revised to thoroughly cover the practical applications and limitations of the latest research from Underwriters Laboratories (UL) and National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) as well as: * Discussion of actual, recent fire incidents and what can be learned from them * Updated statistical information and coverage of the latest applicable standards * Use of real-world examples to reinforce chapter concepts * Student exercises based on practical and real scenarios By applying the principles described in this text, even the most experienced incident commander will be able to utilize his or her knowledge more effectively at the scene.
Study Guide for the Firefighter Interview The goal of this insightful book is to prepare aspiring and current firefighters for effective and professional fire department entrance interviews. Practical topics such as recommended attire, language choice, and appropriate responses prepare you for presenting in an interview, while topics such as formulating an answer, developing alternatives and options, and avoiding common interview errors help you face the challenges of the question and answer session. The book describes the importance of interview preparation and outlines several areas that require background knowledge and research. It also provides a framework to structure your overall preparation in order to avoid canned answers and emphasize your unique qualifications, leading to success in acquiring the job.